Back to Firewalk X page
Firewalk X free download for Mac

Firewalk X Reviews

2.3.7
27 September 2004

Firewall config and maintenance utility.

Anonymous
18 September 2001

Most helpful

...
Like
Version 1.3.4

Read 39 Firewalk X User Reviews

Rate this app:

Anonymous
12 October 2005
It was very good but without a stabe OS 10.4 version it is now useless. I've switched to Netbarrier, easier to use and stable with Tiger (NB version 10.3.6). Sad, I liked Firewalk (better price and support than Netbarrier).
Like
Version 2.3.7
Anonymous
29 July 2005
what is the limmit of rules or ranges that can be added before the system is slowed or bogged out ???
Like
Version 2.3.7
Anonymous
25 July 2005
Excellent firewall, but does not work with Tiger, no mention of Tiger on the web site, and no responses from support regarding when a Tiger-compatible version might be available. I'm not looking for a committment, just a general idea....nothing. It's very sad, but I have to switch to another firewall now that I've upgraded to Tiger. Right now, it seems as if Pliris is abandoning the market.
Like
Version 2.3.7
Anonymous
17 June 2005
Hands down, the best Firewall product for MacOS X. Escellent + robust design make it a pleasure to use for both the novice and the power user. Please make a Tiger-compatible version soon.
Like
Version 2.3.7
UmarOMC
30 April 2005
Won't install on 10.4 >:P
Like
Version 2.3.7
1 answer(s)
UmarOMC
UmarOMC
03 May 2005
Me thinks I'll be giving that DoorStop X Firewall software a try (http://www.opendoor.com/doorstop/)... seems it might be intuitive enough for me not to have to disable it entirely just to play multiplayer games as I have to do with Firewalk X because I can't figure out how to open up specific ports just for gaming... :P
Like
Version 2.3.7
Anonymous
20 December 2004
does not work with OS 10.3.7
Like
Version 2.3.7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 December 2004
I had to uninstall and then reinstall the app after the 10.3.7 update. But it does work
Like
Version 2.3.7
Anonymous
28 September 2004
By far the best firewall for OS/X. It's rock solid, highly configurable and easy to understand. This is a MUST HAVE application if you are serious about security and need flexibility. Apple's built in firewall leaves much to be desired. This is NOT a replacement for the Apple firewall. It's a utility to make it more configurable without actually using command line options to IPFW.
Like
Version 2.3.7
2 answer(s)
Macmanx206
Macmanx206
30 September 2004
Actually, FireWalk X is an entirely separate firewall from Apple's IPFW. However, I would agree as it is not a replacement. There is an option (in the setup assistant and "Default and Settings" tab) which allows FireWalk X to be compatible with Apple's IPFW. So, in short, FireWalk X is not a replacement for Apple's IPFW, nor does it configure Apple's IPFW. It is a companion firewall for Apple's IPFW.
Like
Version 2.3.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 April 2005
Um, its actually a replacement. The compatibility option is only for a select few items with Internet sharing. It could be done through Firewalk but the author simply made a select button to save coding. Using both just wastes CPU cycles.
Like
Version 2.3.7
Anonymous
31 August 2004
Excellent firewall, perfect with LittleSnitch (yes I am paranoid LOL). It is stable and it works flawlessly. It is better than Netbarrier IMHO. By the way, I've bought it years ago and updates are still free, that's great.
Like
Version 2.3.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 September 2004
RIght on, totally agree!
Like
Version 2.3.7
Anonymous
15 August 2004
I have been using this app since 3 years. It has never crashed or caused any problems, it is very stable. Ocasionaly, after system updates, it needs to be re-installed. The transition to Panther was handled by the developper quickly and successfully. The interface is mature, easy to use. It is independent of the built-in ipfw. It does not offer all the options of ipfw, but can optionally work alongside it so one can use some of the more arcane rules of ipfw. One feature I miss in other fw apps is monitoring and optional restriction of access of applications to the net - usefull to keep the phone-home applications under control.
Like
Version 2.3.6
Anonymous
06 July 2004
Works fine before and after update. No problem with OS 10.3.3 and 10.3.4. Very good. Add a nicer GUI and it will be perfect.
Like
Version 2.3.6
Anonymous
31 May 2004
If you upgrade from 10.3.3 to 10.3.4, Firewalk X 2.3.6 will quit working...ARGH!!!
Like
Version 2.3.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 June 2004
I discovered I had the same problem. Tried to upgrade again to FWX 2.3.6 in 10.3.4 (I had already upgraded it in 10.3.3). The installer did the upgrade, I restarted and voila FIreWalkX 2.3.6 was working again.
Like
Version 2.3.6
Anonymous
30 May 2004
Not user friendly but a very good firewalk. Use Firewalk X 2.3.6 with OS X 10.3.4, previous version does not work (at least on my computers).
Like
Version 2.3.6
Anonymous
16 May 2004
excellent
Like
Version 2.3.6
Anonymous
27 April 2004
Isn't bad, but there're better options
Like
Version 2.3.6
1 answer(s)
Allen Murphy
Allen Murphy
29 April 2004
so whats better thats out there Is Little Snitch a program thats better?
Like
Version 2.3.6
Anonymous
08 April 2004
excellent firewall.
Like
Version 2.3.4
Anonymous
19 March 2004
An excellent program. Easy to set up and loads of features. Has a slight problem with the MacOS10.3.3 upgrade but a re-install of Firewalk sorts that out. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 2.3.4
UmarOMC
16 March 2004
Freezes up System Preferences when trying to launch after updating to OS 10.3.3- otherwise a great product to have.
Like
Version 2.3.4
Anonymous
01 February 2004
Love this software. I tried Brickhouse, but it did not stealth port 0. Firewalk stealths all ports with ease and the manual is very informative for novices.
Like
Version 2.3.4
Anonymous
20 December 2003
Is there anyone out there who had trouble with 2.3.3 and was brave enough to try 2.3.4? And did you have a problem with 2.3.4? 2.3.3 will work on 10.3.1 on some machines. How does it do in 10.3.2? Thanks for any info.
Like
Version 2.3.4
Kwc
16 December 2003
I have been running FWX 2.3.3 on OS X 10.3.1 with no problems running or installing. Of course I alway run repair permissions before and after installing anything. I look forward to trying FWX 2.3.4.
Like
Version 2.3.4
lpr
15 December 2003
Version 2.3.4 seems to work fine with on 10.3.1.
Like
Version 2.3.4
Anonymous
15 December 2003
If someone is brave enough to install new version (on 10.3.1) please let us know if this time they got it right.
Like
Version 2.3.4
Anonymous
14 December 2003
I loved this program in 10.2.6. Never a problem. I had to go through 3 Archive and Installs trying to get it to work in 10.3.1. It simply won't work. I'm waiting for an update.
Like
Version 2.3.3
Anonymous
03 December 2003
****Warning**** Install 2.3.3 at your own risk on 10.3.1. I was a big fan of this application until 2.3.3. When I installed, my system started to act funny on startup. When I uninstalled all hell broke loose. Kernel panic. I could not even get my system to load. Finally I had to go into safe mode ---back up my data and do a clean re-install of Panther. Again you are warned ---install at your own risk -----
Like
Version 2.3.3
Anonymous
02 December 2003
I just tried this app on a clean install of 10.3. It doesn´t load, so I can´t give it a review.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Anonymous
25 November 2003
bump :-( I use the firewall in Panther waiting 4 a stable version :-(
Like
Version 2.3.1
Anonymous
18 November 2003
Backup. This is not good stuff. Lot of bugs. Please give us a stable version. I am sad to give a bad review, I liked this firewall one month ago.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Anonymous
11 November 2003
Does not work in OS 10.3 and 10.3.1. Froze the system. I had to hard reset and trash it :-( It is so sad, it was a great firewall. Worth nothing in Panther. Maybe 2.3.2...
Like
Version 2.3.1
Anonymous
31 October 2003
Was great till this 2.3 now it is unusable. Don't work in Panther. 10.3 can't boot after install. Need a safe restart holding Shift. Then delete Firewalk. I'm waiting for a fix. I'm using Apple's firewall and think about swithching to Netbarrier. This one was ugly but friends told me that the last version works in Panther.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
28 October 2003
Beware twice over. Also causes Kernel Panics and delays in 10.3. Normally this is very good software (when config'd correctly), but this version 2.3 is not ready for prime time.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
28 October 2003
Yeah i bought this about a year ago, but the built-in Mac OS X firewall is so simple that I haven't used this app for a long time. I got so sick of having an alert every two seconds. I'm sure Firewalk X has settings that are more advanced than i understand, but again.... The stock firewall is SO easy to use and I would like to think that it helps. I'm still on dialup anyway, and I've been evacuated from my house since last Wednesday.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
28 October 2003
Beware...version 2.3 causes application and kernel panics with 10.2.8. Only solution was to uninstall it. Nice idea but had to get rid of it.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
13 October 2003
With the latest Mac OS X updates, it wouldn`t run anymore. But best firewall with many, many features and a nice support from Pliris. No KP at all.
Like
Version 2.2.8
Anonymous
21 September 2003
No KP, never had. Best firewall, far better than Intego's bad products / policy
Like
Version 2.2.7
Anonymous
27 May 2003
Pretty easy to configure and it works very well. Never had a single Panic with it. The best consumer firewall.
Like
Version 2.2.7
Anonymous
13 December 2002
This is a good firewall if you like to use X stuff. as in XFree, Orobor and Fink. And if you want to be very anal about security. The logging is very good. Thus, you can set the default to block everything and slowly open up more ports and allow more IP addresses to access your machine, and enable more programs to use the internet as needed. This is a really time consuming process, but if you have a lot of pressure to keep your network secure, this is not a bad way; You basically allow IP address to access port blank and that is it. You allow program Y to access IP address Blank and only Blank to check for updates. It also comes with a less secure preconfigure for the average user, but it would not allow your computer to act as a xerver for XWindow applications, and so on. Still, I think this is a cut above command-line UNIX tinkering with the native firewall. Also, the ability to creat rules from the log speeds up the configuration. Firewalk X 2 seems to cause a lot of kernel panics, but the most recent update promises to fix this.
Like
Version 2.2.4
MacManX
14 June 2002
Works great. The more firewalls, the better.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Anonymous
15 April 2002
This is a fine program.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
18 September 2001
...
Like
Version 1.3.4