Safari Technology Preview
Safari Technology Preview
14.0.1

4.8

HomeInternet UtilitiesBrowsersSafari Technology Preview
Safari Technology Preview free download for Mac

Safari Technology Preview14.0.1

24 September 2020

The newest browser tech from Apple.

Overview

Safari Technology Preview contains the most recent additions and improvements to WebKit and the latest advances in Safari web technologies. And once installed, you will receive notifications of updates from the Mac App Store.

Features
  • Shared Links Extensibility. Use the new Shared Links API extension to add link suggestions to the shared links feed on Safari for OS X and iOS.
  • Content Blocking API for Safari extensions. Easily block content from a large collection of webpage resources with minimal overhead and incredibly high performance.
  • Force Touch Trackpad Mouse Events. Create interactivity like never before using new events and force information from the Force Touch Trackpad.
  • CSS Scroll Snapping. Use CSS scroll snapping to keep the focal point of your content in view when scrolling momentum stops.
  • FairPlay Streaming. Stream premium web video content securely with FairPlay Streaming support in Safari on OS X.
  • AirPlay for HTML5 Video. If you use custom controls for your HTML5 media, use JavaScript AirPlay support to add your own control to stream video to Apple TV.
  • HTML5 Video PiP. Use new JavaScript PiP support for iOS to add your own Picture in Picture control to custom controls for HTML5 videos.
  • Backdrop Filters. Add advanced image filters to the backdrop of your elements to achieve modern iOS and OS X material effects in your web content layouts.

What's new in Safari Technology Preview

Related articles

Join over 500,000 subscribers.

Subscribe for our newsletter with best Mac offers from MacUpdate.

How would you rate Safari Technology Preview app?

34 Reviews of Safari Technology Preview

Vlado
21 March 2020
Version: 13.1

Most helpful

The only thing I haven't got is how to uninstall? I still have some artifacts in my Trash, which can't be removed during a permission problem.
(1)
1
ivryernest
23 September 2020
Version: 14.0.1
English unilingual... Not yet ! And... why "Preview" ?
(0)
2
Derekcurrie
10 May 2020
Version: 13.2
Dated April 20th, v13.2 (105) may already have been downloaded and installed on your Mac. Apparently, its late posting here is MU catching up. - - For me, the Technology Preview series has been a way for me to keep Safari v12.1.2 (which has far superior extensions available, including the must-have brilliant uBlock Origin (whose developer gave up on Apple when Safari 13 was foisted upon us), while being able to play around with Safari 13.x. - - The awful, abysmal extension selection for v13.x remains its profound failing, yet another clobberingly stupid Apple Bungle, so common over the last 4 years. /rant
(1)
ivryernest
31 March 2020
Version: 13.2
Is this a multilingual application? If YES, I will try it. If NO, I continue to use Safari.
(0)
Vlado
21 March 2020
Version: 13.1
The only thing I haven't got is how to uninstall? I still have some artifacts in my Trash, which can't be removed during a permission problem.
(1)
4
iMacWare
20 November 2019
Version: 13.1
Safari Technology Works nicely. Please note that if you are a CleanMyMac user, you can no longer uninstall this application from CleanMyMac.
(0)
OhEssex
25 January 2019
Version: 12.2
The description at the top of the MacUpdate page says this is also available for MacOS Sierra (10.12) but if you go to Apple's website it only provides links for 10.13 and 10.14. The download link on MacUpdate for 10.12 is for release 49 and it hasn't been updated in pretty much a year now.
(1)
Derekcurrie
10 January 2019
Version: 12.0
And now we're at v73! Again, until Apple get their lagging butts in gear, it is HIGHLY recommended to use Safari Technology Preview and NOT regular Safari due to a published exploit present in ALL of version 12.0.x. These latest betas have solved the exploit. Why Apple hasn't formally updated Safari is beyond comprehension. I'm starting to think of the word 'irresponsible' at this point.
(1)
Show comment (1)
Derekcurrie
19 December 2018
Version: 12.0
Safari Technology Preview is now at v72 (aka compiled Safari v12.1 beta, WebKit 14607.1.17.1). It is highly recommended over regular Safari v12.0.2 as it includes a critical security hole patch.
(0)
Derekcurrie
09 December 2018
Version: 12.0
IMPORTANT! Release 71 (Safari 12.1, WebKit 14607.1.15) is the current version of Safari Technology Preview as of December 5, 2018. This version is particularly important because all previous versions of Safari 12 (up through 12.0.2) have a vulnerability currently called "WebKit-RegEx-Exploit", for which a PoC, Proof of Concept, has been published. IOW: If you demand maximum Safari security, you MUST upgrade to this current version of Safari/WebKit. More about the exploit is published here: https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/webkit-vulnerability-affects-latest-versions-of-apple-safari/ The page providing the most current Safari Technology Preview is: https://developer.apple.com/safari/download/
(1)
1
YvesG3963
17 May 2018
Version: 11.2
L'appli depuis sa dernière mise à jour, fait planter l'application Safari qui quitte sans prévenir…J'ai donc désinstallé. YG
(0)
Leesa
11 August 2017
Version: 11.0
I guess MacUpdate no longer Updates Mac Apps? The update for this has been out for days now.
(3)
0.5
Leesa
10 August 2017
Version: 11.0
This latest Version has lost the Keyboard Commands. Didn't remember the Previous Session. Pages take forever to Open. This is as bad as MS Office 2016.
(0)
Show comments (3)
Albabe
09 August 2017
Version: 11.0
DO NOT D/L TODAY'S LATEST VERSION: Release 37 (Safari 11.1, WebKit 12605.1.2)

KEYBOARD COMMANDS DON'T WORK. LOST ALL PREVIOUSLY OPENED SESSION PAGES. POS!!!
(0)
Albabe
18 July 2017
Version: 11.0
This version was released on July 12, 2017. Get on the ball MacUpate.
(0)
Albabe
06 June 2017
Version: 10.2
For some reason my Apple Updates doesn't see this version and it's not on the Apple Safari Technology page.
(0)
1
Ecmarco
07 April 2017
Version: 10.2
There seems to be an issue with the bookmark drop down menu. maybe it's how it's being drawn, maybe not. but the app freezes anytime I try the bookmark menu. No issues with any other Safari or browser. Can't use it as it is now.
(0)
Show comments (2)
Mruben
07 April 2017
Version: 10.2
Release 27 just came out (April 6, 2017) and on my two systems it fixes the spinning beachball and super-high CPU usage problems that made Release 26 unusable.
(0)
Show comment (1)
2
Mruben
23 March 2017
Version: 10.2
Build 26 is a bit of a disaster - spinning rainbow on many web sites.
(1)
Show comment (1)
anonymous-thrush-1121
11 February 2017
Version: 10.2
Release 22&23 broken Extension of Preference...
(0)
3.5
Noraa
25 December 2016
Version: 10.1
Getting there, still lags behind other browser in HTML 5 compatibility though. According to html5test.com: Firefox scores 466/555 Chrome scores 507/555 Safari Technology Previews scores 416/555 For reference, current version of Safari only scores a 383/555 - so the TP is an improvement, but still a long ways to go.
(1)
Show comments (3)
1
xcoxco
07 December 2016
Version: 10.1
My experience -- Release 19 (Safari 10.1, WebKit 12603.1.14.2) Search bar bug for me. Type in the search term "executable" and the latest Safari Preview crash instantly and every time while typing. This is not the case for other search terms however. Have submitted a bug report to Apple. Otherwise prior Safari Technology Preview versions have worked fine. The problem occurs with all extensions off or on. No difference.
(0)
Show comment (1)
4
MQLe
13 November 2016
Version: 10.1
Pros: Fast and secure
Cons: extensions not available. In addition, some websites don't work properly in the latest version. For example, Pinterest
(1)
Show comments (2)
4
zbysio
27 October 2016
Version: 10.1
Wow. It works and really fixes some bugs. Well done.
(1)
4
DJSquint
01 October 2016
Version: 10.1
This fixes a LOT of bugs. Finally Safari is again useable. Still I prefer Chrome though.
(0)
Fyreflye
29 September 2016
Version: 10.1
This edition (10.1) appears to have eliminated Top Sites. Please bring it back.
(0)
5
ottoarimatheia
19 September 2016
Version: 10.0
You receive notifications of updates from the Mac App Store! Great!
(1)
snozdop
19 September 2016
Version: 10.0
WARNING! If you're not logged in to MacUpdate, the download provided here is NOT the Safari Technology Preview, it is MacUpdate's malware installer crap. Download directly from Apple instead here: https://developer.apple.com/safari/download/
(6)
Show comments (2)
marnold2000
18 August 2016
Version: 9.1.2
FYI, doesn't work with macOS Sierra 10.12

This version does: http://appldnld.apple.com/STP/031-72345-2016008017-A6486170-6411-11E6-A46A-7743474FE3CA/SafariTechnologyPreview.dmg
(1)
anonymous-thrush-1121
22 July 2016
Version: 9.1.2
from About Release 9 (Safari 10.0, WebKit 12602.1.41)
(0)
Show comments (2)
5
tno
21 July 2016
Version: 9.1.2
Release 9 (Safari 9.1.2, WebKit 11602.1.41), works very well and is noticeably faster than the regular (Version 9.1.2 (11601.7.7). The extensions I use are working fine: AdGuard, Ghostly, Shortly, PriceBlink, and a few others. The recent Previews seem to manage memory and sleep background windows and tabs better.

Some issues with Cookie Version 5.0.10 (or could be with Cookie itself).

(This on a MacBook Pro retina, and images look fine. I haven't used on a non-retina.)
(0)
Harry Flashman
08 June 2016
Version: 9.1.2
I really wish they would fix the messed up retina images in Safari that appear mushy and soft on non retina displays. Chrome has the same problem but Firefox is fine.
(0)
Rjmorita
30 April 2016
Version: 9.1.1
The only problem I've found so far is with extensions. Some will not install or they will install but not work.
(0)
4
Swo
15 April 2016
Version: 9.1.1
Unlike what users with a serious Apple hangup (Helmo Hass) who misuse the Discussions page, I have found nothing wrong with the Safari Technology Preview application. It's significantly quicker than regular Safari, imports bookmarks just fine, and has the access to the Keychain as well. Like most things from Apple, it just works. That being said, I have only been using it for a little while, and it works great.
(11)
Show comments (4)
Akanico
14 April 2016
Version: 9.1.1
Well, guys, maybe you're not familiar with beta or nightly builds. There is no point installing them and using them unless you're willing to experiment with whatever's implemented (detailed in the release notes) and ready to face whatever bugs you will experience. New features needs testing before being implemented in a future stable release. All your complaints are simply related to the fact you are using an unstable preview release of a browser and therefor is irrelevant. Clauclau, 1. & 2. the preview uses a different profile, that's protecting your primary and default one. 3. Since it is a different profile, of course it doesn't sync with the default. 4. Installing a beta system is an all different concept from installing a browser beta, a frontend developer (for example) might want to experiment with a beta browser without having to install and deal with an unstable system, that's the point. Helmo Hass Seems like you have a problem with Apple that goes way beyond a browser preview release, an all different subject. About your BTW paragraph, same as above, different profile is way better than using your default one, guess you would have been complaining if it did mess something up in it anyway.
(6)
Show comments (2)
Free

4.8

App requirements: 
  • Intel 64
  • macOS 10.15.0 or later
License: 
FreeAbsolutely Free

Downloaded & Installed 16,242 times

Similar apps
Firefox Developer Edition
Firefox Developer Edition
Official Firefox release channel for experimental (beta) builds.
Is this app is similar to Firefox Developer Edition? Vote to improve the quality of this list.
Vote results
7
Upvotes
6
Total score
-1
Downvotes
Tor Browser
Tor Browser
Anonymize Web browsing and more.
Is this app is similar to Tor Browser? Vote to improve the quality of this list.
Vote results
5
Upvotes
5
Total score
0
Downvotes
WebKit
WebKit
Open-Source Web-browser engine.
Is this app is similar to WebKit? Vote to improve the quality of this list.
Vote results
1
Upvotes
1
Total score
0
Downvotes
OmniWeb
OmniWeb
Web browser with Safari engine and many enhanced features; now free.
Is this app is similar to OmniWeb? Vote to improve the quality of this list.
Vote results
1
Upvotes
0
Total score
-1
Downvotes
Vivaldi
Vivaldi
An advanced browser made with the power user in mind.
Is this app is similar to Vivaldi? Vote to improve the quality of this list.
Vote results
1
Upvotes
0
Total score
-1
Downvotes