Back to USB Network Gate page
USB Network Gate free download for Mac

USB Network Gate Reviews

5.0
13 June 2019

Share remote USB devices over the Internet.

fostersjack47
25 September 2015

Most helpful

Very useful software to work with virtual machines. My Hyper-V doesn't recognize the usb port, which I need for everyday work. This solution had saved me :)
Like (7)
Version 3.1

Read 15 USB Network Gate User Reviews

Rate this app:

ylluminate
10 May 2018
This is fantastic software, I really hope to see this updated. It appears the last update is from September 2016.

There's an AMAZING deal going on right now over at bundlehunt.com for this.
Like
Version 4.1
tiimo_f
15 February 2018
Great software for sharing usb devices! I've been using it to share usb hard drives between the computers located in the different networks, and so far it worked like a charm. Client machines are not always Macs, but this software is cross-platform, which really helps.
Like
Version 4.1
b-j-
04 January 2018
Cannot get this to work with iLok dongles. Try VirtualHere instead. Works with all of the dongles i've tried. http://www.virtualhere.com and much better price.
Like
Version 4.1
2 answer(s)
kowacz
kowacz
13 February 2018
Did not have any troubles with my Sentinel HASP HL dongle. USB Network Gate worked like a charm. Besides, VirtualHere does not seem to offer support for the latest macOS versions at all.
Like
b-j-
b-j-
13 February 2018
No support yet, but VirtualHere works without any problems on MacOS High Sierra 10.13.3. I'm talking about iLok dongles.
Like
ylluminate
16 October 2016
Seems to be having trouble with 10.12. `ionodecache` is going nuts all of the time as per experiences from others with Eltima software. After removal things calm down...
Like
Version 4.1
1 answer(s)
Eltima Software
Eltima Software
25 October 2016
This was a minor bug of macOS 10.12. We knew about this issue and contacted Apple Developer Center. They had fixed this issue in the 10.12.1 update, and now USB Network Gate works with macOS Sierra without CPU overload.
Like
helicos
20 August 2016
Full disclosure: I requested a discount to purchase USB Network Gate in return for writing this review. However, I kept my review as objective as possible. USB Network Gate is an interesting and unique solution to many problems. In my particular case, I needed to have access to multiple hard drives across several mac and windows computers and also be able to share input devices among them. To use the same hard drives across multiple computers, I was using the traditional method of unplugging each drive from one computer and plugging it into another computer. This can work fine for occasionally doing so with small, portable hard drives that are powered by the same USB cable that transfers the data. However, this process can quickly get inconvenient and burdensome when it needs to be done several times a day, especially with desktop hard drives that also have a power supply cord. USB Network Gate provides a unique solution to this problem: It lets me leave all my hard drives connected to a single computer with USB Network Gate installed and easily access them from any other computer that also has USB Network Gate installed. So no more un-plugging, re-plugging and physically moving around the hard drives—saving a great amount time and effort. I found the app itself to be very straightforward to use: on the Host side, click on the "Share" button next to the device I want to share and on the Client side, click on the "Connect" button next to that same device. I tested USB Network Gate across the following operating systems: Host side || Client side (1) Mac Pro [OS X El Capitan 10.11.2] || Macbook Pro [OS X El Capitan 10.11.2] (2) Mac Pro [OS X El Capitan 10.11.2] || Lenovo Miix 2 PC [Windows 10] (3) Mac Pro [OS X El Capitan 10.11.2] || Windows 10 running on VMware on the same Mac ================================ Devices: 1. Samsung D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 External Hard drive 2. PNY 256GB USB 3.0 Flash drive 3. Monoprice USB Mouse 4. Logitech G13 Gameboard I mainly needed to access the Samsung HD and the PNY Flash drive (which are connected to the Mac Pro) with the Macbook Pro and the Lenovo Miix 2 Windows PC. These connected quickly and without any issues. Both these drives appear on the Client computers as being directly connected to their respective USB ports, just as USB Network Gate promises. I have a spare Monoprice (generic) USB mouse connected to my Mac Pro just as a backup. Purely for testing purposes, I shared this mouse and connected to it with the Lenovo Miix 2 Windows PC. Once again, the connection was quick and the mouse worked smoothly without any hiccups. I have VMware running Windows 10 on my Macs to be able to run some windows-only software. I use Logitech's programmable G13 gameboard with application-specific custom shortcuts across both Mac and Windows. So when I launch VMware Windows 10 on the Mac, I usually need to manually unplug and replug this device so I can use it inside VMware Windows 10. Now with USB Network Gate, I can have this gameboard plugged in and just connect to it from within Windows 10 without having to physically mess around with the USB plug. This may not sound like a big deal, but not having to do this several times a day saves me from a lot of inconvenience. There is a lot of software out there with little support from their developers, and I am happy to report that USB Network Gate is an exception. During my testing, the developer responded quickly to all my concerns and helped me understand how this application works so I can get the most out of it. If you need a solution to share a USB device between 2 or more computers without having to physically unplug the device repeatedly, I highly suggest giving USB Network Gate a try. Pros: 1. Effortlessly works with many types of USB devices. 2. Easy to setup and use, even between different operating systems. 3. Connection is stable. 4. Excellent support from developer. Cons: 1. A bit expensive, but worth it in many cases. 2. Can be a bit tricky to identify between multiple, identical devices, but this can be solved by labeling the USB ports within USB Network Gate.
Like (4)
Version 4.0
kornyfrog
13 April 2016
Thanks for 10.11 support. Finally, I can manage devices from my MacBook.
Like
Version 4.0
lacwbo
27 November 2015
I don't see anything here that indicates it is compatible with El Capitan. Looks as though it has not been updated since 16 July 2014.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
27 November 2015
Compatibility with El Capitan is high on our list and will be added soon. Please stay tuned for updates.
Like (4)
mandfloo
02 October 2015
Really works. Great tool for everyday usage. Shares usb port even over another part of the world.
Like (8)
Version 3.1
fostersjack47
25 September 2015
Very useful software to work with virtual machines. My Hyper-V doesn't recognize the usb port, which I need for everyday work. This solution had saved me :)
Like (7)
Version 3.1
2 answer(s)
drot389
drot389
18 November 2015
It also works with VMware. Really useful app. I had used trial for free 14 days and bought the license!
Like (1)
Brian-Lazarz
Brian-Lazarz
27 November 2015
[oops, replied to the wrong thread...]
Doesn't look like it does. It's too bad, because I was actually looking for something like this a couple months back. From their website:
---
Re: USB Network Gate does not seem to work on OS X 10.11 El Capitan
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2015, 08:42:13 AM »
Sorry, but El Capitan is not currently supported.
Like (1)
Crus13
12 April 2015
1 star for price! No matter how cool this is, the price is just absurd almost an insult. Do they hope to buy Ferraris really fast or something?
Like
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
filkasdreid
filkasdreid
24 September 2015
You really should try it out, before posting that. Such software, which helps to share the device from all over the world, just couldn't be free or even cheap. You need to pay for the quality.
Like (8)
mmiglio
20 June 2014
I bought the software when it was in deal and I found it very interesting and ingenious. Too bad that the crazy cost of licensing makes this software useless. I ask myself which company or which private user might think to spend $90 for sharing 1 usb device on a single workstation with the choice of a single operating system, all this without even lifetime updates! When I saw that sharing unlimited usb devices on a single pc with a single operating system without lifetime upgrades costs $700 I said to myself: at the head of their sales office there must be Mr. Scrooge. In conclusion: very nice software, but absurd prices of licenses.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.0
2 answer(s)
Arnauld
Arnauld
20 June 2014
First I thought this "USB Network Gate" could be promising but after reading about the licensing-politics I absolutely have to agree with mmiglio's words. 90 bucks for one device? (And I'm allowed to plug it twice a day?). Even for a MU Promo discount price Eltima's licensing-model is - pardon me - ludicrous. (And with the next upgrade we have to nail the licenses on our foreheads?). For a purpose like this I prefer a hardware solution - e.g. a Silex USB Device Server. Of course introductory costs may be (just a little bit) higher but every USB-device works properly, even several hub-equipped USB-gadgets do - all together and with the same "license".
Like (4)
Uncoy
Uncoy
21 September 2016
Wow is that pricing and licensing ridiculous. Eltima have outdone themselves!
Like
HloeMiller
18 June 2014
Solution I've been waiting for. No need to run over the office with my USB dongles over and over again.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.0
Pirx
30 November 2012
USD 90 seems a bit inflated, but I really can't judge just how much good work has gone into this. But can't you achieve the same functionality by simply using ShareTool?
Like
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
muhammath6707
muhammath6707
20 June 2014
wow
Like
TricTrac
06 April 2012
great idea! this exactly what i need to access my office security webcam from home iBook pro. And cumon guys, this app allows to ырфку devices without any hardvare or connectors, in spite of the distance, it simply couldn't cost 15 bucks :)
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Macnerd1984
05 April 2012
Looked at this, thought "Nice; excellent idea". Then I looked at the price and found myself flat on my arse, having fallen off my chair. Perfectly willing to pay a reasonable price for something like this, but a hair short of $90.00 is just excessive, IMHO.
Like (4)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Xirtam
Xirtam
05 April 2012
Agreed! For less money you can have access to not only a remote USB, but you entire computer plus anything that is plugged into it via any interface. Nice idea, bad financial approach.
Like (3)
Solosaint
Solosaint
05 April 2012
yeah, I would want this, but for that price I would rather hire a butler to fetch me my peripherals
Like (3)