Back to Loginox page
Loginox free download for Mac

Loginox Reviews

1.0.9b1
15 October 2015

Customize your Mac OS X login screen (beta).

Gryffin
06 July 2011

Most helpful

Free. Simple. Does what it says on the tin. Works for me! (Five stars mostly to offset the half-brained half-star review from Soo-Soo.)
Like (6)
Version 1.0.3b5

Read 13 Loginox User Reviews

Rate this app:

Eric•Woehler
13 November 2013
Dev and others looking to replace login screen - please have a look here - in case you haven't seen these instructions: http://osxdaily.com/2013/11/04/change-login-screen-wallpaper-os-x-mavericks/ hoping to Loginox for Mavericks soon!!
Like
Version 1.0.7b1
Eric•Woehler
23 October 2013
I hope to see update for Mavericks - I hate Grey screens!
Like
Version 1.0.7b1
Perculsion
04 August 2012
It will not work if FileVault is turned on. It worked fine without FileVault, but after I had encrypted the hard drive, the Login background, as well as the Login logo, were not showing.
Like
Version 1.0.7b1
Acuraice
21 June 2012
simple free feature already included with onyx!!
Like (2)
Version 1.0.6b6
2 answer(s)
Richard-Dick-Peters-III
Richard-Dick-Peters-III
08 July 2012
Wow, what an incredibly helpful "review". It's so fun when "reviewers" believe this section to be a forum where they can share their opinion with everyone, and not an actual review. "What the crap?! That looks stupid, plus I already have the function in another app! Man I'm going to let everyone know how stupid this is! The internet should be glad I'm still around to tell them when I think something is stupid and is another app already, instead of actually reviewing the app...yeah!".
Like (3)
Slippyd
Slippyd
27 January 2013
@Richard: The primary reason I still use MacUpdate over the Mac App Store or dev sites directly is to scope out what people think of a particular app relative to similar apps. The “Similar Software” section above does part of this job, but I do highly appreciate user reviews weighing these factors. While @Acuraice may have been a little snarky, it should also be clear that he/she isn't dismissing Loginox as inferior, only a subset of what Onyx offers. For me, this was very helpful; Onyx is already on my computer, so I'll try that first and come back if it doesn't meet my expectations. It does also look like @Acuraice has a fairly negative score from dishing out critcism elsewhere. However, I believe those who are most critical are those who we have the most to learn from.
Like (2)
Eric•Woehler
15 May 2012
Doesn't work on unibody Mini running 10.7.4, 4GB RAM when I drag my current desktop image (jpg) onto app, nothing happens - the image is not 'accepted' and the default linen background remains. needs more work, but hope it sees success because I hate linen
Like (3)
Version 1.0.6b5
Steven-Sky
24 March 2012
Plain simple to use and it works.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Colette
25 August 2011
Works great on 10.7.1 Lion now. Loginox is an amazing application that will bring "joy" to your login screen by easily droppin your pictures. Cool app, thanks guys!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5b3
Colette
05 August 2011
The current version is not working on Lion. The home page says they are working on a Lion version. Keep it alive guys!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3b5
Lvdoc
06 July 2011
What, are we all in petty mode today? This program does what it purports to do. It's features are sufficient for many of us. And, ya, it's ridiculous to even try to argue about the size of the program in this age of gigabytes and terabytes. Go find something genuinely worthy of picking on.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.3b5
Yet another one function program for a function found in so many system tweaking packages out there. Even if free, its just not worth cluttering up a system with one more such utility. Most people don't change their login screen that often. It's a nice experiment for someone learning to program, so hopefully it will lead to something more sophisticated.
Like
Version 1.0.3b5
1 answer(s)
Sheagirl
Sheagirl
06 July 2011
I understand if you decide it is not a program you need but to be so concerned about others buying a program you have not even tried (for whatever reason) seems strange to me. Almost like those reviews that are so good they are over the top and you know the person has an interest in your buying the product (work for the designer, makes a profit on sales). Yours almost seems like a review from a competitor. It's the US and we are capitalist so everyone can and should bring their products to market…demand will determine the outcome unless an outside force chimes in to influence peoples opinion in a way that has nothing to do with how the product works.
Like (2)
Gryffin
06 July 2011
Free. Simple. Does what it says on the tin. Works for me! (Five stars mostly to offset the half-brained half-star review from Soo-Soo.)
Like (6)
Version 1.0.3b5
HugeBubba
06 July 2011
I was looking a long time for such an app. It works excellent and it isvery easy to use. Smokin' and customizing! I like it.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.3b5
Colette
06 July 2011
  Works great. Loginox is an amazing application that will bring "joy" to your login screen by easily droppin your pictures. Now, you can change the logo too. Cool app, thanks guys!
Like (5)
Version 1.0.3b5