Back to SideFolders page
SideFolders free download for Mac

SideFolders Reviews

1.8.1
30 October 2013

Instant access to your files.

Apple-Boy
26 March 2011

Most helpful

No demo version, no sale at macupdate. Here is not apple store. This is the reason why I am at macupdate.
Like (11)
Version 1.0.1

Read 20 SideFolders User Reviews

Rate this app:

Maclover1-1
15 August 2014
Very practical ! I just don't like the way the resizing works.. I'd prefer a more standard approach.. one side at a time or corner grab to expand both ways... Also I REALLY appreciate the small memory/resources footprint. No excessive graphic-hungry eye candy gimmicks, just a useful tool.
Like
Version 1.8.1
polocanada
03 June 2012
Don't seem to find a way to disable certain windows from appearing in the list. So for instance, Eset Cybersecurity. It has a window ese_gui. Even if I add this to filter list and select ignore it's still going to be in the list. I activate it accidentally all the time. Please add a proper "ignore window" list which will completely take out the things out of the list. Take example from Witch application, they have implemented it well.
Like
Version 1.6.0
1 answer(s)
polocanada
polocanada
03 June 2012
So sorry - please delete my comment. This comment was supposed to be for another application. I am so sorry for cluttering this space. Please delete this.
Like
NotUsed
14 March 2012
3 Monitors. This only works when docked right and always uses the right most monitor. It would be nice to specify a monitor edge. Or, for that matter use the left most monitor.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.0
1 answer(s)
DennisVR
DennisVR
15 March 2012
Hi, thanks for your feedback. It should work with multiple monitors both left and right. Haven't been able to test with 3 monitors though. If you could send a mail to sidefolders@code529.com we could figure out what's going on.
Like (3)
Wdanthan0
25 November 2011
I installed the trial version. The sidebar worked (appeared) only once and there is no response anymore on moving the pointer to the edge of the desktop. Does this mean that the trial version works only for one appearance?. I am using 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon with OS Lion 10.7.2
Like
Version 1.5.2
Drdul
14 August 2011
This would be a killer app if it supported smart folders. In other words, I could create a folder with rules that specified what was included in it, similar to a saved Spotlight search. It would also be nice to be able to specify the sort order in a folder. Currently it sorts alphabetically, but an option to sort by modified date or file extension or size would be useful.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
bunco
16 July 2011
First of all, I have not tried it. But nevertheless I would like to make 2 suggestions. I don't like to install apps and add more clutter and files unless I am really convinced that they improve functionality and work flow. I was kind of disappointed that the developer's website is not that very informative. A screencast that shows exactly what the app does would be very handy. At least some more info. So far, I understood that it is "just" another way to organize ur folders. But going to the dock (finder) or to the side of the screen is not making that much difference to me. And I already use apps that group my favourite or recent folders. However, if this app could combine all this with a similar functionality as the discontinued StickyWindows (Donelleshi) was having... and allow the user to drag folders and windows to the side of the screen where they nest as tabs... Well, that would make it really worth it for me.
Like
Version 1.5.2
2 answer(s)
DennisVR
DennisVR
16 July 2011
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. Didn't the annotated screenshot explain it well enough ? I guess not :) I got the idea to develop SideFolders because i didn't find it practical to drag a file from a Finder window into the application i was working with. Typically you loose sight of your application as soon as you switch to Finder since all Finder windows are put in front. What SideFolders has over files/folders in the dock is that it offers a contextual popup menu. I especially like this for recent downloads. You can add files and folders to SideFolders but it's not mean to be a StickyWindows kind of application. SideFolders is a file/folder management utility not a window management utility, if i understood correctly.
Like (1)
bunco
bunco
17 July 2011
Hi Dennis, Thanks for the reply. Yes the screenshot gave me pretty much an idea, but somehow I was thinking that there might be more to it... The info was straightforward, just the essentials. This might seem sufficient... if u already know how it works. But people who are new to this, will always have more questions. Anyway, I do appreciate the effort to explain it to me. It shows that as a developer, u care about what ur (potential) clients think and need. Ur app does seem handy. And yes u can make the distinction btw window management utilities and finder management utilities; I am using apps from both categories. But I need both, so I still feel that a combination would be a winner! This said, I will give ur app a try.
Like
Eric•Woehler
13 July 2011
Updated review after discussions and positive engagement with the developer. I made a couple of suggested features/ideas to the developer that were incorporated into revised version. Overall a handy little app that I am sure many will find useful
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
NotUsed
30 June 2011
Very poor implementation for multiple monitors.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
DennisVR
DennisVR
30 June 2011
I've started implementing better multi monitor support a while ago but there are still a few technical hurdles which prevent me to include it in the release. But this ongoing.
Like
dojitrading
25 June 2011
This is fast becoming my go to app for file management. Having a finder that's only a keyboard shortcut away is an incredible time saver. Looking forward to the great enhancements planned for the future versions. Support is incredibly fast and requested enhancements are always considered if not immediately implemented.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
DennisVR
24 June 2011
I've put a new version online which allows registration from within the app itself.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
Eric•Woehler
22 June 2011
unable to get it to work - the toolbar icon is there, but no matter what settings I have, it doesn't behave. It doesn't appear, doesn't do anything. the toolbar icon tells me its running, and the menu shows for preferences etc but nothing else works. I have a trial licence and I am assuming that it is working? I have no idea, this is frustrating. Half a star for a potentially good idea but it would be nice to try... Just noticed the price in the AppStore in Australia is AUD$5.99 compared to USD$4.99. The AUD is worth MORE than the USD, so it should be LESS in AUD, not MORE!! I guess Apple Australia just ripping us off... wish we could buy direct from developer...
Like
Version 1.5.0
2 answer(s)
DennisVR
DennisVR
22 June 2011
Hi, i've sent you an email regarding this issue.
Like
DennisVR
DennisVR
23 June 2011
Hi, you have been able to test it almost 2 days now. Could you update your reviews ? 2 times half a star without even testing is a bit harsh don't you think ?
Like (1)
DennisVR
20 May 2011
Version 1.3.1 is now available on the Mac App Store.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Mathew
14 May 2011
Very confusing about version number. Here it says 1.3.1. At MacApp store says 1.1.2. And I have no option to buy from developer directly. Nor is there any info at developer website about what has changed. At any rate, looks to be very interesting but I don't want to buy an "old" version from App Store when a newer version is out.
Like
Version 1.3.1
4 answer(s)
Dennis Van Roeyen
Dennis Van Roeyen
15 May 2011
Version 1.3.1 is waiting on Apple's approval. This can be a slow process. I expect version 1.3.1 to be available on the App Store within 2 weeks. In the meantime the trial version is fully functional. And a new trial license can be requested if necessary. If you have any feedback regarding the app itself please let me know so i can improve it.
Like
Bunky
Bunky
17 May 2011
I can see how this little app can be useful. Probably has room to expand its capabilities in the near future. I downloaded the trial version (1.3.1) and was tempted to buy it, but would like to know if I am buying V1.3.1 or what? Clicking 0n the "buy" button takes me to the App Store V 1.1.2. Do we get to license the (installed) trial version or what is gonna happen?
Like
Dennis Van Roeyen
Dennis Van Roeyen
18 May 2011
@Bunky When you buy from the Apple Store now you will get version 1.1.2. You will receive the update as soon as it is approved by Apple. I would suggest you use the trial until version 1.3.1 is available on the App Store. Hope that helps.
Like
DennisVR
DennisVR
20 May 2011
Version 1.3.1 is now available on the Mac App Store.
Like
DennisVR
06 April 2011
A trial version is available
Like
Version 1.0.1
Puc
26 March 2011
Is there a trial version?
Like (11)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
DennisVR
DennisVR
27 March 2011
there will be a trial of next version.
Like
DennisVR
26 March 2011
I'm giving away 10 promocodes for SideFolders. Check out http://twitter.com/code529
Like
Version 1.0.1
Apple-Boy
26 March 2011
No demo version, no sale at macupdate. Here is not apple store. This is the reason why I am at macupdate.
Like (11)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
DennisVR
DennisVR
26 March 2011
Hi, Just to be clear, macupdate added SideFolders here. I didn't do that. I suppose it does that with anything that appears on the app store. A demo/trial version is coming. I have to prioritize things and currently i'm putting all my efforts towards improving the actual software. Hope you understand, just a little more patience.
Like
Mac007
26 March 2011
This is just a suggestion but it might be helpful to post a small video on how this is supposed to work at your website. Here's a URL that should be helpful. http://www.squidoo.com/macscreenrecorder
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
DennisVR
DennisVR
26 March 2011
Thanks, will try it out.
Like
Djefis
26 March 2011
Very useful and accessible, perhaps a few more options could improve it.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
DennisVR
DennisVR
26 March 2011
Thanks for the positive review. You can always drop me an email with suggestions.
Like
Ronl
21 March 2011
Absolutely NO preferences to change, and no help manual or online help (just an email address for tech support... time consuming if you may have a simple question or problem you would need answered... no matter how fast the author is in replying). Also clicking on items in the SideFolders pane only take you to the item which you then have to click on and close the enclosing Finder window that it is located (i.e. additional clicks that apps like YouControl don't require). I just purchased this through the Apple App Store and emailed tech support. Waiting for a reply before I rate this, but so far it doesn't look good.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
.
.
21 March 2011
I take it there's no trial available on their website. Very poor.
Like (1)
DennisVR
DennisVR
21 March 2011
Hi, I'm the developer of SideFolders. Version 1.0.1 has been submitted to the appstore and will include the change you suggested plus a bugfix. I choose to provide email support as i prefer to be able to contact an app developer myself instead of being forced to go through a FAQ. That being said a FAQ will be added. A trial version will be added at some point but concentrating my efforts on paying customers at this moment. I hope i was able to help you. kind regards, Dennis
Like (2)
Fishscale
Fishscale
26 March 2011
DennisVR: "A trial version will be added at some point but concentrating my efforts on paying customers at this moment." The trial version will get you more paying customers if it is indeed good software. I have found that those who offer their applications only through the app store and do not offer a trial version of any kind usually do it because the software is not very good. MAS has allowed developers to take advantage of the app store pay up front before trying policy to sucker people into buying bad software. I am not saying your software is bad, I have not been able to try it or learn much about it at this point. I am just stating what I have noticed since the mac app store has appeared. Sorry if this sounds harsh but it's these $2-3 apps that are most suspicious. Thanks for coming around MU and answering questions. That is a good sign to start. Hope to see this develop into a nice useful app. I will wait for more reviews or a trial version until I spend my money on it but I am indeed going to watch this app. Thanks and goodluck!
Like (2)