Back to MenuAndDockless page
MenuAndDockless free download for Mac

MenuAndDockless Reviews

2.1
01 July 2015

Choose whether or not Cocoa apps show dock or menu bar (alpha).

MichaelHaeusler
03 January 2011

Most helpful

Amazing. Easy. Does what it's supposed to… well, almost. When using MAD with Finder, the original dock settings (in my case always show dock) are not restored. I had to manually activate (or rather deactivate) it in the Dock PrefPane. (10.6.5, MPB '10 i7 15'')
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2

Read 16 MenuAndDockless User Reviews

Rate this app:

Apfelz
01 July 2015
10.11 (El Capitano) users, please note that you have to disable the System Integrity Protection in order to use SIMBL and some (many like TotalFinder won't work) SIMBL plugins again. You can find a tutorial here: http://createlivelove.com/1048/.

MenuAndDockless 2.1 will work (for now) with 10.11
Like (1)
Version 2.1
El-Duderino
27 February 2015
I cannot undo a hidden menu bar effect once enabled on the Finder even after trying to undo it using the SIMBL and even after deleting the SIMBL and even after disabling all SIMBL. This is on 10.6 by the way. Does this hack alter something in the Finder files themselves because at the moment I am finding the effect impossible to reverse and I think it is causing some sort of occasional windowserver memory leak issue meaning increased kernel panics. Help?
Like
Version 2.0.1
Apfelz
19 August 2014
Today Apple released the latest Developer Preview of Mac OS 10.10, also know as Yosemite. Unfortunately it causes problems for the most important piece of software of mine :-( It works for all apps except for the Finder. The moment you restart the Finder it will crash. The last couples of hours I tried to understand what the heck is going on and to find a way how to fix it. To be honest, I still don’t completely know why :-0 If you like you can download a very first and very quick and very, very dirty solution. You will have to manually drop it into your SIMPL plugins folder for now… Download MenuAndDockless for 10.10 (Alpha): http://myownapp.com/downloads/MenuAndDockless_Yosemite_Alpha.zip
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
05 September 2014
I LIKE THIS GUY!!!
I like his taste, philosophy, humor! (see his site!)
Und ich liebe es auch, dass er 'ein Berliner' sei! :-)
Mach's gut, Michael!
Like
LeMerlot
26 May 2014
That's exactly what I searched for a long time – and for me it works like a charm in native cocoa apps. Thanks sooo much to the developers!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Jimw
08 February 2013
Unlike its marketing this product is not trouble free. When run with X-Plane Flight Sim the product caused the X-Plane menu to be hidden by the Mac menu bar when in full screen resolution. Given that X-Plane from my knowledge is based on X-11 code, this product may produce issues with other X-11 products, many of which are open source. I am absolutely certain that this product is the culprit because as soon as I removed it and relaunched X-Plane the problem disappeared. Free is not so free when you have to spend most of a day troubleshooting an issue. MenuANDDockless resides in your root library folder:Applications Support Folder:SIMBL folder, not in your user library folder or system library folder. When you find it, just toss it in the trash to get rid of it. The reason I am so annoyed by this is that the developer claims it is trouble free. It is not.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Apfelz
Apfelz
13 February 2013
What is unclear about it is SOLELY for NATIVE COCOA Apps ONLY??? I'd rather not say what I'm often annoyed by :-)
Like (4)
Island-Preacher
Island-Preacher
03 November 2014
Thanks for the location of the bundle. I thought that I had looked everywhere. The program has some nice features, but I'm not ready for all those additions to my menus.
Like
Kornichon
12 January 2013
I love it. I wish Apple would implement this as a standard feature, the menu bar looks old and tired, and I mostly use keyboard shortcuts anyway.
Like
Version 2.0
Sleek
20 March 2012
I love this Application! only wish there was systemwide setting to open all applications in full screen. I have set up MenuAndDockless systemwide to hide Menubar and Dock, when i open application Menubar Hides but leaves toolbar of application at same spot so the space I see on top of Toolbar where Menubar was looks little annoying. I wish Developers fix this Issue By the way this Application Rocks! Running MenuAndDockless on Early 2011 Macbook Pro, Mac OSX 10.6.8 Snow Leopard 8GB Memory.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Apfelz
Apfelz
26 March 2012
There is nothing I can do about that. But you can enable to start individual Apps with saved window size/position (btw. for different display setups) and they will resize after the Menu bar is hidden - so no space left :-)
Like (1)
meme12
24 August 2011
Thankyou so much for this utility. I've been looking for something like this ever since i switched to OSX. Thankyou!
Like
Version 1.1.2
Jimw
11 August 2011
I really would like to use this product but unfortunately the issue with hiding X-Plane menus and not being settable in X11 precludes this possibility in the latest release as of Aug 10,2011. What is needed is an exclusion list so the user can list programs in which the product is disabled,
Like
Version 1.1.2
ttlcntrlprint
07 August 2011
Absolutely fantastic application. Seems stable too. If the developer added the option to change the default keyboard shortcuts then five stars. totalcontrolprint
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
Jimw
11 April 2011
Unfortunately this product hides X-Plane menus, even though you don't tell it to.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.7
thec13
01 February 2011
Great App. Would definitely pay for this. Would love to see some of the afloat features in this.
Like
Version 1.0.7
MichaelHaeusler
03 January 2011
Amazing. Easy. Does what it's supposed to… well, almost. When using MAD with Finder, the original dock settings (in my case always show dock) are not restored. I had to manually activate (or rather deactivate) it in the Dock PrefPane. (10.6.5, MPB '10 i7 15'')
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
3 answer(s)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
03 January 2011
Another bug: When using MAD with Safari, everything works fine until I control-click on a link to open a URL in a background tab. All of a sudden the menu and the dock appear again, but the Safari window is only partially adjusted to the newly reduced space, i.e. to the menu, but not to the dock.
Like (1)
Apfelz
Apfelz
03 January 2011
Hm - can't reproduce one of that 'bugs' Is it possible that you've some other tools installed with same features that could cause this?
Like (1)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
03 January 2011
It could be related to "Afloat": http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/22237/afloat Additional SIMBL plugins: GreaseKit, Safari Cookies, Saft, Afloat (see ablove) Additional Finder plugins: TotalFinder, FinderPop, ShortcutObserver, DockView, Switché etc.
Like (1)
zx
03 January 2011
Thank You! The Full Screen transition could be faster and hopefully you'll keep on improving the wonderful utility:)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2
Dave-Creek
02 January 2011
The app cannot be downloaded from either MacUpdate or the developer's site
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Dave-Creek
Dave-Creek
02 January 2011
A few hours later, I was able to download the app
Like
Fishscale
02 January 2011
Very cool little plugin, I appreciate you making it free and will find many uses for it. My only gripe is the hotkey (control + enter.) I use control + enter already as a hotkey for an application launcher so is it at all possible in future releases to maybe see customizable hotkey? I realize it's just a plugin and has no windows really but maybe there is hack we can do here as an end user or would you have to compile a new plugin with a different key combo in the code? Anyhow, thanks for the plugin, so far it's worked well on all my apps. Much appreciated.
Like (1)
Version 1.0