Back to Tembo page
Tembo free download for Mac

Tembo Reviews

2.4.1
10 October 2019

Quick and effective file search tool.

bobembry
11 September 2017

Most helpful

Been using it for years ★★★★★ Very helpful!!! Can use with PopClip—very convenient Give it a test drive
Like (2)
Version 2.1.4

Read 28 Tembo User Reviews

Rate this app:

jack2001
17 April 2018
terribile e pure a pagamento
Like
Version 2.2
Big Johnson
13 February 2018
In the screenshot Tembo is being used to search for "Houdah," a competing app from the same developer.

Apparently even Tembo is looking for a better search tool. :-)
Like
Version 2.1.4
1 answer(s)
Houdah Software
Houdah Software
14 February 2018
Actually, the company name is Houdah Software. That is probably what Tembo is searching for.

Our other products include HoudahSpot (advanced file search), HoudahGeo (photo geotagging) and Type2Phone (virtual Bluetooth keyboard).

Tembo may be considering adding GPS location info to its photos. Seems like a good idea ;-)
Like
bobembry
11 September 2017
Been using it for years ★★★★★ Very helpful!!! Can use with PopClip—very convenient Give it a test drive
Like (2)
Version 2.1.4
richievitale
14 February 2017
"Find My File" quit working, I tried EasyFind, Scherlokk, iFileX, HoudahSpot, nothing knocked me out.

Tried Tembo and searched for a song I have and it divided the search into categories: Sibelius files, messages, folders, PDFs and movies. 10 in each category. To the right of any category is the total amount of files/folders and click on it and you can see ALL of PDFs or movies or folders or whatever.

Purchased and got a license thru Paypal and it was easy. $15 dollars so if discontinued no biggy . . . but I think if will be around to stay since it is smooth, looks Mac-like and even the purchase was easy.

Try EasyFind for free and then this and you can pretty much make a good decision.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Sherman-Wilcox
01 December 2015
Nit-picking about system files aside (and I believe they've revised their description, which now reads "Tembo finds documents, folders, mail messages, bookmarks, images, videos, and more"), Tempo is an excellent tool for people who need to find files FAST with an easy-to-use interface. Well worth the price. HoudahSpot is even more powerful, also worth the price. Very responsive developer.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Big Johnson
15 November 2015
The developer's description is misleading.

Above they said
"Tembo finds files, folders, mail messages, bookmarks, images and anything else on your Mac."

ANYTHING?

NO!

Below they said
"Tembo can find any file included in the Spotlight index.

To prevent clutter, Tembo excludes a couple of file types from search results. You can configure this under Tembo >Preferences > Advanced.

Unlike the default Spotlight interface, Tembo does not hide the contents of the Library folder.

Low level system files however cannot be found as Spotlight does not index these."


Clearly Tembo can NOT find EVERYTHING, but is only capable of finding files indexed by Spotlight.


EasyFind on the other hand, CAN find EVERYTHING...for FREE!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.2
neartheredrocks
28 August 2014
This is not a "search tool" (as advertised) but just a different user interface for OS X' own search tool Spotlight and therefore has the same limitations as Spotlight - i. e. searching within the user library or searching for invisible files. If you want to pay for that - great. If you want to find really every file or folder with a certain name or a certain string in its name I suggest to use EasyFind. It needs a little more time than Spotlight because it does not work with an index but it finds everything - and it is free.
Like (4)
Version 1.8
roydv58
10 February 2014
Pierre, the developer, has proven to be very responsive. Working through the issues listed in my previous review I've learned the Tembo does work as advertised. We've also uncovered some peculiar issues with the file dates in Mavericks. At the current discounted price, Tembo is the same price as DataLore. Both find the files with ease. Tembo's result listing by file type is appealing. DataLore's Quick Reference is very helpful. With a developer so willing to satisfy his customers, Tembo is a good choice.
Like (4)
Version 1.7.7
roydv58
07 February 2014
This product is intended to simplify searching for documents. DataLore, the product that I have used for a couple of years has proved easy to use and reliable. It was only the superior results interface that convinced me to buy Tembo. After using it for a few hours it has proved to be unreliable. It fails to find files that I know are there, and that DataLore detects without hassle. Searchlight also finds the files, so there is a problem with this product. Until this issue is fixed, don't waste your money.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.7
4 answer(s)
Pierre-Bernard
Pierre-Bernard
07 February 2014
Please contact support with details on files Tembo failed to find. Please also check Tembo > Preferences > Advanced for exclusion rules that may prevent your files from being shown.
Like
roydv58
roydv58
08 February 2014
An example: there are a number of pages documents called "International CV.pages" each one files under the project for which it was submitted. DataLore finds all of them. Tembo finds one. The date it finds is the most recent one, but the folder shown is not the folder containing the most recent file, and none of the other files are shown. Before submitting the previous post I'd checked the preferences and that's not the issue. It is possible that this is related to Mavericks, so you may want start looking there.
Like
Pierre-Bernard
Pierre-Bernard
09 February 2014
I can currently think of only one reason for Tembo not to find a file. If you ask for results to be sorted by "Date Last Opened", files that to the knowledge of Spotlight have never been opened will not be listed. Try sorting by "Date Modified" or "Date Created". If that does not help, please email me screenshots of the Tembo search and results as well as screenshots of the files in Finder.
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
25 June 2014
At first I thought Tembo wasn't finding all my files, but then I noticed that if there a lot of hits for a particular file type, the bar sectioning off that file type has a "X Results" with an arrow next to it. Click the arrow and it opens a pane with all the results, as well as the ability to search within those results. You probably already know this, but sometimes obvious things are overlooked :) FWIW, when I compared Tembo's results to those of other search utilities, there was no difference.
Like
Pik80
07 February 2014
Nice app but the developer doesn't update it as much as he updates Houdahspot. For that reason I use Houdahspot more.
Like
Version 1.7.7
Macsylvain
07 February 2014
very useful. i use it almost every day with ton of data (pdf, etc).
Like
Version 1.7.7
fvdgeestdtp
30 October 2013
Am I correct in understanding that it don't find system items? I have Preferences enabled but it does not find system or library items under Mavericks...
Like
Version 1.7.6
2 answer(s)
Pierre-Bernard
Pierre-Bernard
20 November 2013
Tembo can find any file included in the Spotlight index. To prevent clutter, Tembo excludes a couple of file types from search results. You can configure this under Tembo >Preferences > Advanced. Unlike the default Spotlight interface, Tembo does not hide the contents of the Library folder. Low level system files however cannot be found as Spotlight does not index these.
Like (3)
Fvdg
Fvdg
20 November 2013
Ah yes, sorry, this was indeed a old comment; in the meantime I found out how to include and even add library as a favorite ;-) And with Dutch translation now! :-)
Like
alxfyv
01 January 2013
An excellent search program that finds anything anywhere, even in hidden system files and the hidden files and folder themselves, which with Apple is a very good trick. And it's quite fast.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.5
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
14 November 2015
You are incorrect - it does not find everything.

As the dev. posted above:

"Tembo can find any file included in the Spotlight index.

To prevent clutter, Tembo excludes a couple of file types from search results. You can configure this under Tembo >Preferences > Advanced.

Unlike the default Spotlight interface, Tembo does not hide the contents of the Library folder.

Low level system files however cannot be found as Spotlight does not index these."
Like
SickTeddyBear
20 July 2012
Price drop! Currently $1.99 in the MAS: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/tembo-find-files/id402507802?mt=12
Like (2)
Version 1.7.3
Sherman-Wilcox
10 February 2012
Tembo is good stuff.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
Vinkri
12 January 2012
I'm usually using HoudahSpot... But for 90% of my searches require fast launch, grouped results and easy browsing through results. Tembo is absolutely perfect for that. Houdah Spot is file search as an art. Tembo is Spotlight as it should be. I like it a lot.
Like
Version 1.7
bobembry
11 August 2011
I use it all the time and meets my needs 95% of the time. If I need something more precise, I use its big sister/brother app: HoudahSpot
Like
Version 1.6
Macgic
26 July 2011
The items "show in finder" and "get finder info" are switched in Tembo's contextual menu.
Like
Version 1.6
Prologos
12 July 2011
Much better then Spotlight. And now even in German. Just Great
Like
Version 1.6
Pik80
31 March 2011
Looks really good! I wish I had an Intel Mac to try it. Fortunately I can run Punakea and have been very pleased with that program.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Ronl
07 March 2011
Well worth the money. Simpler (in a good way) than Spotlight... with many features, which though Spotlight is also capable of searching... Spotlight makes much more difficult and time consuming to accomplish. (Example... with one click you can choose one of the following: Any Date, Today, Since Yesterday,This Week, This Month, or This Year There are so many easier ways to find what you are looking for than Spotlight, it would take too long for me to describe. Much faster than EasyFind. Does content searches that Find-Any-File can not. Overall... the best I have found so far. I am a professional and work with an enormous number of files... this is a great time saver. I assure you... you will love this app!
Like (3)
Version 1.3
Drdul
03 March 2011
Tembo is much improved with version 1.3, so I'm submitting a new review. I can now create "favourite" folders to search, and a OS X service allows me to right-click any folder and select "Search Folder in Tembo." There's still an issue with lots erroneous results, mostly due to Tembo including items from the ~/Library folder in search results. I have discussed this with the dev, who indicated that he is planning to tweak Tembo to eliminate erroneous results.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
Drdul
27 February 2011
Tembo is an admirable effort to create an easy-to-use search tool. Unfortunately, I find that at this stage the lack of options to filter results means that it is too limited for me to use effectively. For instance: There is no option to exclude certain folders from search results. I have three different mail applications on my Mac, and messages from the two non-Mail apps show up in documents. I would like to be able to exclude these folders, ideally on a filetype basis, but even excluding them globally would be an improvement. The same problem occurs with several other folders, such as 1Password's and Evernote's caches, and even my MobileSync folder. The result is that my search results are usually cluttered with lots of unwanted files. There is no option to exclude specific filetypes from search results. Although you can sort by filetype when you expand a particular section, unwanted filetypes are never excluded and continue to clutter up the display of results. It would be really nice to be able to right-click a file or folder in the search results and choose "exclude all files of this type from search results" or "exclude this folder." There is no ability to sort results in the main window by anything other than date. Options to sort by name, filetype and size would be useful. There is no ability to limit the search to specific folders. In the sidebar, the only options are the user's home folder, all local volumes, or remote volumes. It would be useful to be able to specify a folder, or even better, set up a bunch of favourites.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Pierre-Bernard
Pierre-Bernard
02 March 2011
I really appreciate the feedback. It is heard loud and clear. You will see user-requested features being added to Tembo in future releases. But please understand that the design goal of Tembo is to create an easy and uncluttered tool. Thus each feature has to be weighed against the extra UI elements it adds. Tembo 1.3 has been released today. This is the biggest "dot" update in the history of Houdah Software. It brings a much more evolved query language, AppleScript support, more Mac OS X Services, computed folder sizes, dates of iCal events, … The one feature you are going to love is the ability to specify which folder to search. In Preferences you may set up your selection of folders. Or you may right-click a folder in the Finder and select "Search folder using Tembo" from the contextual menu. BTW, HoudahSpot will continue to live on and be updated. It is really the tool you want for in-depth searches. Tembo is the handy helper for day to day searches.
Like (4)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
11 January 2011
While I was still able to download this app from Mac Update, it would, of course, not run on my OS X 10.6.5 system. I spent this evening reverting to 10.6.5 from 10.6.6 because of serious performance issues with this update. By tying itself to the latest, buggy version of OS X, the Tembo developer may be painting himself into a corner. Besides being able to sell his app through the Mac App Store, what advantage is there to limiting compatibility to a version of the OS that most people don't yet use? I think he, like many other developers, may have been overcome with enthusiasm for the MAS, sacrificing common sense in the process.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Pierre-Bernard
Pierre-Bernard
11 January 2011
Tembo could indeed work with any version of Snow Leopard. Unfortunately, being currently available on the App Store, Tembo can only support Mac OS 10.6.6 and upwards.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
12 January 2011
That is, indeed, a choice some developers have made. Others, interested in the wider Mac market - and in supporting their existing customers, have made a version for the MAS and one for their web site, so that users will have a choice. Licenses for these products are not transferable, which can create some confusion at first, but, ultimately, this system is more user friendly. Because the first version of Tembo was available without a license or a fee, the cross licensing issue doesn't pertain at the moment. Still, those who tried it out previously are left without an option now. If not bad faith, this is certainly bad business.
Like (2)
Panthera
06 January 2011
Beware, for now the vendor has stated that he intends to exclusively sell this application only through Apple's new store. That means that the vendor will constantly have to weigh whether new or novel features will stand muster with Apple's approval process. It means that if Apple, for any reason at all, decides it doesn't like a feature of the software (it could be confused with Spotlight!), they can demand the vendor change it or be banned. Finally (if that isn't enough), if the vendor needs to urgently distribute an update with a fix to an inadvertently incorporated bug, it may take several weeks for the update to be approved into the store and become available to you.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
5 answer(s)
Pierre-Bernard
Pierre-Bernard
06 January 2011
Apple typically approves updates within 1 week. Should an urgent update be required, the developer may request an occasional expedite review. I agree that the Mac App Store is not perfect, but it does have its advantages for both users and developers. We should give it a fair chance. There is always the option of adding alternate distribution methods later on.
Like (3)
Chas-m
Chas-m
11 January 2011
This is one bullcrap-filled nonsensical ball of blather from someone who clearly hasn't the slightest clue as to what they are talking about.
Like (1)
Jmsm
Jmsm
11 January 2011
I cannot update to 10.6.6 (Too large download for the 3G USB key) and previous version of Tembo does not lauch, not usable anymore and I had purchased it (indeed, it launches, redirects to the new version, and quits). NOT GOOD.
Like
Pierre-Bernard
Pierre-Bernard
11 January 2011
@Jmsm Where did you purchase Tembo? Tembo is currently sold only through the Mac App Store. This is available only on Mac OS X 10.6.6.
Like (1)
Jmsm
Jmsm
13 January 2011
@Pierre Bernard-my error about purchase, confused with other apps. Still does not understand your choice of having it working on 10.6.6 only
Like
Wagstaff
17 December 2010
Tembo is excellent. I will use it all the time. Fast and efficient. I would like to be able to option+space click pdf into full screen however, like spotlight. I eagerly await the out of beta version. Thanks developers - a really good useful one here.
Like (2)
Version 1.0 draft 7
2 answer(s)
Pierre-Bernard
Pierre-Bernard
17 December 2010
Do you want to see a QuickLook preview? This may be achieved by hitting the space key.
Like (2)
Fontbot
Fontbot
23 December 2010
In Finder, option+space opens the Quick Look preview in full screen rather than a window.
Like (3)
Fishscale
14 December 2010
Simple and intuitive interface but there has to be many more options added for it to be worth $30. That is a lot of money for a super simple interface that searches your hard drive like a pretty front end to a finder smart search. HoudahSoft makes good software so I hope to see more out of this app in the near future but as it stands considering the features and interface vs. price there is no way I could justify purchasing Tembo. Worth the small download to try it out imo, quick little app.
Like
Version 1.0 draft 7
3 answer(s)
Pierre-Bernard
Pierre-Bernard
14 December 2010
Thank you for the feedback. The target price is $20. There is a mistake in the MacUpdate listing.
Like
Fishscale
Fishscale
18 December 2010
$20 sounds a bit more reasonable, thanks for clearing that up. Are there any future plans for implementing custom searches? For instance the user can supply bundle identifier or extension etc... so that you can setup custom searches and not be limited to the built in searches like applications, docs, pdf's, etc...? Thank you for your response.
Like
Pierre-Bernard
Pierre-Bernard
18 December 2010
The very purpose of Tembo is to keep things simple. I will be very careful in adding features so as not to overwhelm the first-time user. For power users I keep recommending HoudahSpot with its powerful and flexible template system.
Like
paulsrandall
14 December 2010
Nice clean interface, but the amazing thing is how fast it finds lots of information. I get a couple of pages of information in a second.
Like (1)
Version 1.0 draft 7