Back to Exhaust page
Exhaust free download for Mac

Exhaust Reviews

0.3
11 February 2011

Control the timing and sequence of login items.

Rob-h
09 August 2010

Most helpful

Interesting little app that has the potential to be quite useful, but obviously a very early version that still requires a bit of work. My observations (and these may well be fixed/changed in later releases): 1. If you use different Automator Actions in your login items, Exhaust shows them all as 'Application Stub' with no way to tell between them unless you select the item and go and look at the command string. Would be nice to have the name of the Automator Action in the list, or the ability to label entries. 2. There is no way to resize the Exhaust window making the interface rather cramped. 3. There is no obvious way to change the order of items in the list. You can't drag items up or down the list and there are no gadgets on the interface to 'move up' or 'move down'. I got the impression from the description of Exhaust that this feature is already supposed to be there? 4. There is no easy way to export your login items back out of Exhaust. On launching Exhaust for the first time it 'imports' all your Login Items then promptly removes them and replaces them with a single entry for Exhaust itself. This is all well and good if you decide you like Exhaust and want to use it, but if you don't then you have to manually recreate all your Login Items (which can be tricky if you have various 'helper' apps that run at startup and that are buried inside application bundles). The ability to re-instate your Login Items is a must IMHO, especially at this early stage of Exhaust's development. I have (had!) 38 entries in my Login Items list which have now all disappeared and which I am now having to put back the hard way. 5. Just an observation really - Exhaust has no menu bar, so you can't set Preferences, e.g. frequency to check for updates, frequency to make backups of your Login Items list, etc. (Alternative would be to implement it as a Pref Pane?). Overall - not for me just yet, but an interesting app that I will keep an eye on.
Like (6)
Version 0.1

Read 5 Exhaust User Reviews

Rate this app:

YHC
07 March 2018
The following information was copied from the developer's website, ------ Updated: February 11, 2011 ------
Like
Version 0.3
hced
25 October 2012
Two things: 1.) MacUpdate: the release date of the current version (0.3) is not 11 feb 2011 as stated here, but 8 aug 2010 (according to vendor's site). 2.) Developer: the feature that draws my interest judging by the screenshot is that "Wait for previous" checkbutton. How does that work, technically?
Like
Version 0.3
1 answer(s)
Mr-Gecko
Mr-Gecko
20 July 2013
It waits until the previous application in the list is finished launching, then it starts the next one. There is a huge update coming soon.
Like
Gitte79
12 February 2011
Great tool to get control of the startup items. Not for noobs I guess.
Like (1)
Version 0.3
Ean
20 August 2010
Hah! I managed to delete the whole lot of login items in seconds with this. Idiot? Or, maybe I love scouring filesystems for obscure bits of blah... Okay, idiot.
Like (2)
Version 0.2
3 answer(s)
Mr-Gecko
Mr-Gecko
11 February 2011
Read the documentation and you'll see how much of an idiot I'm not.
Like (1)
Ean
Ean
12 February 2011
Oh, Mr. Gecko, I didn't mean that you're an idiot! I was speaking of myself! It's a perfectly adequate tool, but in the hands of an idiot like me...
Like (5)
Whateverrrr
Whateverrrr
16 May 2011
Errr, does anyone know how to make an application load as "hidden" in Exhaust, just like when you check the tickbox in Login Items ? That to me seems like something obvious that should've been added to the program from the start... :-|
Like
Rob-h
09 August 2010
Interesting little app that has the potential to be quite useful, but obviously a very early version that still requires a bit of work. My observations (and these may well be fixed/changed in later releases): 1. If you use different Automator Actions in your login items, Exhaust shows them all as 'Application Stub' with no way to tell between them unless you select the item and go and look at the command string. Would be nice to have the name of the Automator Action in the list, or the ability to label entries. 2. There is no way to resize the Exhaust window making the interface rather cramped. 3. There is no obvious way to change the order of items in the list. You can't drag items up or down the list and there are no gadgets on the interface to 'move up' or 'move down'. I got the impression from the description of Exhaust that this feature is already supposed to be there? 4. There is no easy way to export your login items back out of Exhaust. On launching Exhaust for the first time it 'imports' all your Login Items then promptly removes them and replaces them with a single entry for Exhaust itself. This is all well and good if you decide you like Exhaust and want to use it, but if you don't then you have to manually recreate all your Login Items (which can be tricky if you have various 'helper' apps that run at startup and that are buried inside application bundles). The ability to re-instate your Login Items is a must IMHO, especially at this early stage of Exhaust's development. I have (had!) 38 entries in my Login Items list which have now all disappeared and which I am now having to put back the hard way. 5. Just an observation really - Exhaust has no menu bar, so you can't set Preferences, e.g. frequency to check for updates, frequency to make backups of your Login Items list, etc. (Alternative would be to implement it as a Pref Pane?). Overall - not for me just yet, but an interesting app that I will keep an eye on.
Like (6)
Version 0.1
3 answer(s)
Rob-h
Rob-h
09 August 2010
I ought to add - the 'remove' button doesn't work. You can't delete entries from the list, only add them.
Like (2)
Version 0.1
Tlance
Tlance
09 August 2010
Much thanks, Rob.H for your comments. I would love what this app does but your comments will now have me wait a while, too. Good luck and my thanks to the developer!
Like
Version 0.1
Mr-Gecko
Mr-Gecko
11 February 2011
I have fixed the dragging issue in 0.2 and I have also fixed the remove button in 0.2. I never knew you could add automator scripts as a login item, so I never knew this problem existed. I just recently made it open source with 0.3, so maybe you can fix that. In 0.2 I added to the documentation an explanation of how to uninstall (get your items back into the login items), and 0.1 had the way that was explained in the documentation. I made this application mostly for people who wants to organize the login items easily and a lot of these people don't want another menubar item in the list, I just made it so if you double click the icon in the finder or dock it'll open up the manager window. I saw no reason for resizing as it'll be hard to lay it out unless I just made it resizable by the width. The way it is now is good enough for people who want to see what settings there are and modify them. The updates would be checked once a day, if you want to change that, it's just the standard sparkle so you can set the preferences manually. I have a limited area to test with which is a 32bit machine and a lot of the problems you encountered were 64bit only problems. I don't usually check the reviews here as there is no way for me to get updates via email (I broke their system or something), so if you want to ask a question or report something, use my support forums at http://mrgeckosmedia.com/support/.
Like