Back to Bowtie page
Bowtie free download for Mac

Bowtie Reviews

1.5
24 February 2012

Control iTunes with keyboard shortcuts; last.fm integration.

Leo-Spill
16 February 2010

Most helpful

Great software, I own Coversutra and this is surely far better. My one request would be controls in the Menu bar, shortcuts are OK - but I think that this app is just a funky visual song changing notice - without being a controller. ( Shortcuts to learn, or use a skin that has controls... are the only supported options ) The other thing to mention - is why no central resource of themes/Skins ? They are scattered about all over the place. Darrin Horn's 'CD jewelcase with text' theme is amazing - but was nearly impossible to find. ( http://macthemes.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=16791239&p=1 ) Download and enjoy this little Jewel.
Like (5)
Version 1.0

Read 12 Bowtie User Reviews

Rate this app:

Hachepunto
30 May 2015
excellent. hop someone update improve this piece of software.
Like
Version 1.5
Mikael-B
11 September 2012
One and a half point off for not having a shortcut for fast forwarding. Otherwise seem well behaved and except play/stop the shortcuts are basically the same I choose myself when I used ByteController. Great!
Like (1)
Version 1.5
MacBunny
11 August 2012
Perfect workflow enhancer! Now I don't have to switch to iTunes or Spotify to change track or set volume, all done with keyboard shortcuts! Love it!
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Shock-J
27 June 2012
Love this little app. Switched to this after TunesArt went from free to paid. Does everything I need. Love the variety of themes. One thing I wish it had though is preferences for Last.fm integration. I don't like the fact that it scrobbles EVERYTHING. I don't necessarily want it to scrobble songs I'm just sampling in the iTunes Music Store, or songs I only listened to for 10 secs and then skipped. TunesArt had some prefs to control when/how a song was scrobbled. This app could benefit from this as well.
Like
Version 1.5
VRH
24 February 2012
Wonderful, wonderful application -- and it's free! I love that they added control for Rdio! I may give MOG a try in the future and it would be great if control for that gets included, too. I'd also like to see them include a keyboard shortcut for switching sources. Great stuff! Thanks for an excellent and useful app so well done!
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Sachi
23 November 2011
get beta 1.4: http://updates.13bold.com/release-notes/bowtie/1.4beta
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
Aetnaria
28 July 2011
Good little application, but I wish they fixed the issue with vertical text (That is, taking a long segment of text and rotating it 90°). It gets cut off!
Like
Version 1.3.1
andyselby
16 January 2011
This is such great software, except for 2 problems. There is a huge memory leak (still) and it revs my MacBook Pro's GPU like crazy.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
andyselby
andyselby
17 January 2011
Okay, scratch this. It was VLC that had the memory leak, and there's an easy fix for. Back to BowTie!!!!
Like
Leo-Spill
16 February 2010
Great software, I own Coversutra and this is surely far better. My one request would be controls in the Menu bar, shortcuts are OK - but I think that this app is just a funky visual song changing notice - without being a controller. ( Shortcuts to learn, or use a skin that has controls... are the only supported options ) The other thing to mention - is why no central resource of themes/Skins ? They are scattered about all over the place. Darrin Horn's 'CD jewelcase with text' theme is amazing - but was nearly impossible to find. ( http://macthemes.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=16791239&p=1 ) Download and enjoy this little Jewel.
Like (5)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
16 March 2010
Can you comment on how this is way better than CoverSutra? I can see how it is different, but better? For example, how do you go about lookup songs like you can with CoverSutra? Or switch to a playlist?
Like
Version 1.1
cottinghamk
cottinghamk
16 June 2010
Coversutra is designed better and has much more in the way of control (like you said: switching playlists and searching [I liked the mini-window as well]), but Bowtie is faaar more responsive and more customizable. CS lagged so much for me it was unusable. I own it too, but have fully switched over to Bowtie.
Like (4)
Version 1.1
Mcyukon
13 February 2010
Great software! I love the way it fades in and out of view when I quit or start iTunes. That way it is only there when I need it, and never in the way when I don't. It is very easy to use and has some nice features, like Last.Fm support. I also like the fact that anyone can make themes for it if they have even a basic knowledge of HTML/CSS. I made my own in under 10 minutes using one of the default themes as a template. For even more themes than the included ones, SmokingApples has a nice list. http://smokingapples.com/software/10-beautiful-bowtie-themes/
Like
Version 1.0
Doug-S-
13 February 2010
This is a great piece of software. There are loads of free themes already available from the community surrounding it, it's extremely easy to use and very easy to configure. Also, it comes with a number of nice features like Last.fm support. The only criticism I have is that before this latest release the software was rather unstable with the controls portion crashing rather regularly. Since this latest version I haven't seen one issue but I am keeping my eyes open given how frequent they were before. If you're looking for a great alternative to the CoverSutras ove the world this is the app for you. Assuming the stability issue is now fixed this app is, as far as I'm concerned, the new king of iTunes controllers.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
17 February 2010
Just a follow-up: I've been using it on a daily basis and it has yet to crash or do anything untoward the entire time. It is now extremely stable and behaves perfectly. Well done! Wish I could edit my review and make it a 5/5.
Like
Version 1.0
Btgxcell
13 February 2010
This has been a long time in the making, but has been oh so worth it! Bowtie simply has a unique philosophy of end user customizability that makes it gorgeous to use. In fact, Ecoute took this philosophy and even posted up instructions on how to convert Bowtie themes into Ecoute themes. Bowtie is the original! It may not have the largest feature set or any fancy display with which to interact with your library, but it fits a nice niche that I'm sure many will appreciate. If you need the library interactivity, check out Cover Stream or CoverSutra. If you want a standalone player that can access the iTunes library, check out Ecoute or Everplay.
Like (2)
Version 1.0