Back to ExtFS page
ExtFS free download for Mac

ExtFS Reviews

11.2.16
23 February 2019

Provides full read/write access to Ext2/Ext3 file systems.

pfajer
26 June 2014

Most helpful

This product does not work. Consistent kernel panics causing computer to reboot. Corruption of file system (was able to repair using fsck on Linux box). Company does not answer e-mails (3).
Like (5)
Version 9.5.226

Read 16 ExtFS User Reviews

Rate this app:

birou
02 August 2019
Worst support I ever experienced with any software or any type of product or service!! Arrogant and useless.
Like
Version 11.2.16
The software has been very good. It shows the linux partitions on the flash drives and external drives, allows me to edit them, even put custom macOS icons on them. This is an indispensable tool for anyone who deals with Linux on a regular basis from the Mac and **especially* anyone who works with Raspberry Pi single board computers or does custom firmware development for non-RTOS systems (Linux is bloated for embedded work but...) Where this product (so to speak) fails is the company's support. Trying to get an update from the company web site is a challenge unless you take a chance that the trial download is identical to the release (why do they call it trial on the disk image then?). Going to the web site and ending up here: https://www.paragon-software.com/support/update/update.html with broken images broken links (oh like the login link or the password reset system) suggests that the company may be on the skids. Calling the support number 888-347-5462 and pressing 3 for support cycles you back to the artificially cheerful highly irritating lilting female voice telling you to press 3 for support, you press three and she comes back with the same message. (gah!) To reset your password, you have to: 1 - install extFS 2 - open the "Control Panel" 3 - let the control panel stub sub-launch an app (not exactly a control panel...) 4 - click on the silhouette "Sign Up" 5 - Press "forgot password" 6 - enter your email that you used to create your "MyParagon" account 7 - Retrieve the email and click the link 8 - change the password when promoted 9 - re-login with new password If their software did not work so well, their online support would tank this review. Their software had to make up for the online tomfoolery and since this review is about the software and not the online support... the problem outlined here is only a fair warning. Frustrating support, great software and even a great friendly yet technical interface on highly technical utility software which is uncommon. Their web script people need to drop and gimme 20 but their real software engineering and QA... wow.
Like
Version 11.2.16
pcs-1
06 May 2019
Works great on TN200 linux nas drive
Like
Version 11.2.16
Wannes
06 March 2018
Recovered a 700GB lost folder from a Qnap 8-bay volume. So it was very good for me to have this.
Like
Version 11.0.320
Monk-1
18 September 2017
Did not work. Want my money back!!
Like (1)
Version 10.1.109
jeroen-6
10 February 2017
Bought version 10, got a license for 9. Now I can't activate
Like (1)
Version 10.1.109
dyxlesic
21 November 2016
Worked initially, so pulled the trigger and purchased it. About 2 weeks later, it didn't work anymore. Contacted Paragon Support. For every query, a canned response follows saying that they apologise for not being able to respond in a timely manner. Then sporadic responses come, then no response at all. I have been waiting 23 days for them to look at the log files and respond! No resolution to non-working paid-for software in sight. Sigh. Nuf sed.
Like (2)
Version 10.0.751
1 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
07 February 2017
I bought the exFS extension and it worked on 10.8. Then I upgraded to 10.11 and it stopped working. Indeed, it crashed the system until I ripped it out. I tried upgrading their NTFS product and i couldn't get their web site to approve my license. They never responded to emails for help. So I did a chargeback on my credit card and got my money back. I won't use any of their products.
Like
mmt-1
27 May 2016
Hello all,

please be informed, that all purchasers of this bundle offered through the currently running promotion will also get a free upgrade to next version ExtFS for Mac 10! This upgrade is included for free and you will get it as soon as it has been released. All you need to do: Register your purchased license of version 9 to your MyParagon customer account at my.paragon-software.com

So here, you'll get two licenses for only $9.95.

Thanks
Like
Version 9.8.620
1 answer(s)
alextc
alextc
02 September 2016
v10 slows down ElCapitan Finder as well.... are you doing ANYTHING to fix this!?
Like
Murph16
27 May 2016
Does ExtFS work with 10.11.5 and 10.11.4 ? I did not find references to current versions of El Capitan on the Paragon support website.
Like (1)
Version 9.8.620
Atlanx
24 October 2015
The version 9.8.620 works under Mavericks.
Like
Version 9.5.226
bart-4
24 September 2015
I would nobody advise extfs for mac! I have serious critical errors on my ext4 disk. Everytime I use extfs I have tot repair the extfs partition. Sometimes it is so bad that I can't even boot linux. In this case I have to boot a live distro to repair the ext4 disk. This software is of great risk! I have bought a license and now I'm very disappointed.
Like (4)
Version 9.5.226
1 answer(s)
mikerjohnson
mikerjohnson
01 February 2016
Agreed. I'm using 9.8.620 and just submitted a support request to Paragon. Ext4 volume corrupted 4 times in one month.
Like (2)
Lowry76
17 April 2015
Bough it to keep my Lunix external HDD without having to re-format it for my Mac (MacBook Pro, 2.5GHz i7, OSX 10.10.3). I experience constant kernel panics, sudden reboots, disk has to be checked/repaired with DiskUtils everytime you restart the computer and in the rare cases where it doesn't crash it's very very slow. DON'T BUY IT, RE-FORMAT YOUR DRIVE!
Like (4)
Version 9.5.226
pfajer
26 June 2014
This product does not work. Consistent kernel panics causing computer to reboot. Corruption of file system (was able to repair using fsck on Linux box). Company does not answer e-mails (3).
Like (5)
Version 9.5.226
Ongl
26 June 2014
I bought the recent Paragon Mini Bundle. The NTFS works flawlessly for the past few weeks. I just tried the EXTFS and just within first hour, it rendered my ext4 HDD unreadable. I'm on Maverick and latest extfs. I had 4TB HDD with data copied from Synology NAS, I connected the HDD directly with my MBA and it run very slow. After a few minutes, I get a kernel panic that required me to restart my Mac (White screen). After a reboot, the HDD no longer mountable, Disk can't be repaired either. Plugged the HDD back to Synology NAS and it is still readable. This is highly disappointed given EXT4 is an open source and should be more stable to implement than a closed source NTFS.
Like (4)
Version 9.5.226
Monkeyjunkey
07 November 2013
10.9 version 9.3 is available via software update from within ExtFS. The price is quite high since all this does is offer ExtFS support. But it's easy and works. Since there's almost no competition it seems they can demand that price. But 40$ is a bit too much.
Like
Version 9.2.536
1 answer(s)
Jcherian
Jcherian
08 November 2013
Also available on Paragon's website under My Account: My Downloads. I see version 9.3.89 released Oct 31, 2013.
Like
Talaatharb
12 May 2013
Tested this with a drive connect via USB2. The drive is used by a IcyBox media player. Features: It does r/w ext file system - so this is the only software available under OSX. Great! Features missing: assign a name to the partitions. my partitions both appeared as "untitled". I'd like to change the name on the mac side, without messing up the unix side. Option to disable spotlight. It should be off by default - maybe it is? The manual does not mention Spotlight at all. Its easy to use - just connect your etx2 disk and go. Features not tested; repairing ext2 volumes. Didn't dare that (now). Performance: r/w performance is ok, but i noticed occasional slow downs in the finder. Had to wait minutes until a window from the local HFS+ disk opens. Performance monitor does not show which process took so long, neither top. Maybe ExtFS does caching, but again: nothing in the manual. Documentation: Poor Performance
Like (3)
Version 9.0.0