Back to ACLr8 page
ACLr8 free download for Mac

ACLr8 Reviews

1.4
10 August 2014

Command-line utility to remove file ACL errors.

info-803
18 October 2009

Most helpful

Thanks! Worked great on my iMac with Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.1!
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1

Read 19 ACLr8 User Reviews

Rate this app:

Eric•Woehler
07 November 2017
Seems to be dead - not working under 10.11 El Cap was excellent utility for clearing pesky ACLs and permissions errors etc looking for similar alternative 4 stars for past excellent delivery
Like
Version 1.4
Lo116
05 January 2015
Worked like a charm for so many ACL errors on Mavericks 10.9.5. I wasn't sure because it abruptly quit after the remove files state but after running Disk Utility again there were absolutely no ACL errors. Thanks so much!
Like
Version 1.4
JohnD5443
17 October 2014
Great
Like
Version 1.4
Quang-Ho
26 September 2014
Work perfectly. It fixed all permission issues on my Macbook. Thanks a lot
Like
Version 1.4
GianMarco-Tavazzani
14 September 2014
Can someone explain me why the bloody hell Apple's folk couldn't solve this ancient annoying problem and 'the creator of this program' (yes, 'program' by his own words! Do you remember this word used in the past century?) could? Or they don't care? What is worst? It belongs to the long list of sign of its decadence, which deeply hurts me!
Like (2)
Version 1.4
Gseifert
11 August 2014
Well done Thanks!
Like
Version 1.4
Xenos
11 August 2014
AFAIK, there are not too many apps or tools that unanimously have a 5 star rating - this has and fully deserves it
Like
Version 1.4
Pbeaudet
11 August 2014
This works like a champ!
Like
Version 1.4
chrisa7132
09 June 2014
Awesome.Used it under Mavericks 10.9.3 after restoring from a Time Machine backup. I had a TON of ACL messages in permissions repair and this cleared up every last one!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
jh02472
05 May 2014
What a lifesaver! Not only did it clear up error messages that Apple says are unimportant -- it saved me from constantly appearing Beachball and weird slowdowns. Thank you a thousand times to the developer.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.1
Iancrew
08 August 2013
A great little script. One very reassuring thing: If you look at the "ACLr8" file within the download using any text editor, or just the unix "more" command, you can see the full text of the python script. That reassured me that it's not doing anything evil or stupid. This worked well on Mac OS X 10.8.4--it cleared out 48632 files with incorrect ACLs.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.1
GianMarco-Tavazzani
01 November 2012
Finally! Works! Perfect! THANKS!
Like
Version 1.3.0
espnyc
04 April 2012
Worked like a charm. Fixed the password required for drag&drop to trash.
Like
Version 1.3.0
Frank-Martin
17 October 2011
Thanks for this and for maintaining it to work under Lion!
Like
Version 1.3.0
Bobbysdad
23 March 2011
I'm having problems getting this to work. (10.5.8 on a 800MHz iBook.) I get the following: bobbys-ibook-g4:~ bobby$ /Applications/ACLr8 ; exit; env: python: No such file or directory logout I know it's not much to go on, but does anyone have any clues, please?
Like
Version 1.2.2
Snowwhitesickette
09 November 2009
Does just what it says. Also can be used to repair permissions. I had one "ACL found but not expected," and this got rid of it like a charm. (Leopard 10.5.8.) Thanks for this useful program!
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
info-803
18 October 2009
Thanks! Worked great on my iMac with Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.1!
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
GeogProf
GeogProf
09 October 2011
Any sense of if and how well this works in Lion (10.7.1)?
Like
Mitch-de
18 October 2009
Worked ! Used with 10.5.8 and cleared 10 ACL "problems". Thanks
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
Thomas-Evers
09 September 2009
This worked. I read all the unix-flavored fixes to get rid of this problem in disk utility. That looked like a huge amount of tedious work. Ran this, and the hundreds of ACL errors are finally gone. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 1.1