Back to iExplorer page
iExplorer free download for Mac

iExplorer Reviews

4.3.7
13 October 2019

View and transfer files on your iOS device.

faizalstar
30 July 2019

Most helpful

AWESOME!!! Coming from Windows all my life and purchasing my first Macbook this made moving all my music so easy and painless. The hardest part was paying $40 but definitely worth it and strongly recommend. Moved all my MP3's from my iPhone to iTunes on new Macbook. Thank you!
Like (1)
Version 4.3.0

Read 282 iExplorer User Reviews

Rate this app:

faizalstar
30 July 2019
AWESOME!!! Coming from Windows all my life and purchasing my first Macbook this made moving all my music so easy and painless. The hardest part was paying $40 but definitely worth it and strongly recommend. Moved all my MP3's from my iPhone to iTunes on new Macbook. Thank you!
Like (1)
Version 4.3.0
mookster007
20 June 2019
Super groovy, I lost, by operator error, all my itunes on my imac, bought this program and reinstalled everything without a hitch; a great program!!!
Like
Version 4.2.10
tsatryan
06 April 2019
Won't even open. Crashes on launch. Using Mojave, and the update says it fixes the crash. Nope. Immediate crash.
Like
Version 4.2.9
deajim
17 March 2019
I wish I had better things to say but I don’t. The actual program worked okay for me, but the customer service is AWFUL. I couldn’t access my registration code and obviously needed it to start the program, but i did not hear back from them for maybe 3 days and I had emailed 3 times saying I needed help ASAP as I was running on a deadline. I tried contacting through every way possible and there is no phone number. They say they provide support “ 7 days a week within 24 hrs”, but that’s not true. It really bothered me to not receive help in decent timing. Unfortunately I can’t recommend buying from this company
Like
Version 4.2.8
jkofferdahl
25 January 2019
Buggy. Quits before finishing. I'm unable to completely copy all music from either my iPhone or my iPad. I'd rate it even lower but it worked until copying about 75% of the music, but since it simply repeatedly "unexpectedly quits". I'm disappointed that I spent $40 for this buggy software.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.8
2 answer(s)
cade1
cade1
29 January 2019
I'm using imazing 2.8.1 on older iPhone w/ my iMac running sierra and so far, pretty good. got a 2 l license for half price special offer at xmas so I'm pretty pleased. hope you have better luck and can get a refund.
Like (1)
barbhewitt
barbhewitt
24 March 2019
I've been using it successfully for a few months, and just this morning it began doing the same thing to me. Any time I try to backup now it just quits. Have you found a fix or has there been a resolution for you?
Like
jameslfrees
20 December 2018
I bought the dual location ( double license) version so I could use it on my home PC and my out of state PC. I ran it tvtt the first time and it seemed to work. I got my texts and photos and voicemail off. I checked the file integrity a few weeks later and all was good. After the software updates I trie to back up my phone to have a safe copy of data like my last voicemail from my dad and now my mom's memory is failing I wanted to save all of her voice messages as well. Everything that I had saved before is gone and now it will NOT create a back up or update my backup at all. I assume the first back up I made is corrupt explaining all the missing files. I've requested MANY support tickets and get no help from the company at all. Total waste of time and money. And I lost my dad's last voice message as well as my mom's last coherent voice message. DO NOT BUY
Like (1)
Version 4.2.7
ocean22959
13 December 2018
Brilliant. annoying apple forced me to update iTunes to match my iPad4... as a consequence I lost all my playlists etc. An utterly ridiculous process. I used iexplorer to rebuild it all from my older ipad. Doesn't apple piss you off !!!
Like (1)
Version 4.2.7
user57
20 November 2018
I purchased this app to save long text and iMessage threads to PDF files. The Mac version is at best only beta quality; it crashes while exporting long text message threads to PDF files. The Windows version is better; it hasn't crashed and the PDF files it creates look better than the PDF files created by the Mac version. When creating PDF files of text threads, neither version includes embedded video files (ony text and pictures). Customer support is poor; they will open a ticket but there is no follow up and they ignore emails.
Like
Version 4.2.7
srooriano
13 October 2018
Extremely easy to use and the price is right. Very glad I found this app.
Like
Version 4.2.5
phoweniii
30 September 2018
So glad I found this. Easy to use and saved a lot of music and playlists from an old iPod.
Like
Version 4.2.3
rebecca8828-rm
16 August 2018
super great. the ONLY thing that i don't like is that they make me leave a rating
Like
Version 4.2.2
diva-tee
28 April 2018
This app was a god-send. I had an old click wheel iPod from 2005. At that time I had transferred a lot of the music I had on CD to my iPod (over 1500 tracks). Unfortunately, I had long since gotten rid of the computer that the iTunes library had been stored on. I had no idea how I was going to consolidate all of my music onto iTunes until I stumbled upon this app. The $39 charge was money well spent in being able to recover a large portion of my music library.
Like
Version 4.1.17
sahirahsan
02 March 2018
Amazing app. Needed for all Iphone/ipad owners who own a Mac Computer!
Like
Version 4.1.14
bnorozi
19 February 2018
Excellent app. It does what it says and it does it well.
Like
Version 4.1.14
s3johnson
15 February 2018
Here's what I sent to iExplorer after my first use: Your software is great! More than a year ago I had to rebuild my Mac. Recovered my music but lost my playlists which then lived only on my iPod. Far too much work to rebuild them by hand. I simply mourned. But I just bought a HomePod and really wanted them to use with it. Searched and found iExplorer. It is miraculous. I don't understand why Apple won't tell customers about it. I discussed my plight with them many times and they act like any solution is illegal. Once I finish tweaking all of my newly acquired playlists I may never need it again. But it was worth buying the license! Susan--a very happy customer!
Like
Version 4.1.14
alligator69
03 January 2018
iExplorer successfully duplicated all the music on my iPhone into iTunes on my MacBook when no other program worked for me. Apple's impossibly onerous syncing platform in iTunes makes it impossible to transfer anything on your iPhone that doesn't exist in a library on your other devices. "Syncing" via iTunes would have needlessly deleted everything on my iPhone! This app is perfect for anyone tired of the unnecessary constraints and needless limitations imposed by Apple in managing music libraries via iTunes. The only thing it didn't do was transfer the existing smart playlists on my iPhone to iTunes on my MacBook
Like
Version 4.1.13
marshallartguy
26 November 2017
Just wanted to say that iExplorer is pretty awesome. Apple makes some amazing software/hardware, but there are certain things that should be easy to do, but aren't. Copying music off of my iPhone is a great example of something that should be effortless, but turns out to be very troublesome. My iTunes library file got nuked when my hard drive died. Most of the music was on my phone, and your app made it a breeze to recover. Obviously, I should have had the iTunes library backed up to begin with, but I was moving files around due to storage limitations...anyway, pulling music from the phone is now a piece of cake.
Like
Version 4.1.11
SpiessensMark
25 November 2017
Locks up my iPhone ones in a while when transferring files. A hard reset is then needed for my iPhone. Any other suggestions for alternatives?
Like
Version 4.1.11
Scotty321
07 November 2017
Wow! This app really works!! We wanted to archive all of our Messages from our iPhone onto our Mac, and this app works easily, beautifully, quickly, amazingly well... and it even supports most of the iOS 10 messaging features such as tapback!! This app is a ZILLION TIMES BETTER than all the other apps we tried to use for this exact same purpose!! The only minor thing that we wished this app supported was the mini-previews of URL's that you see within the real Messages app.
Like
Version 4.1.6
kevinpcarty
02 November 2017
Love the app! it's kinda annoying sometimes but ultimately it works well!
Like
Version 4.1.5
nmaluso3-1
10 October 2017
AWESOME app. It had trouble finding my device at first but the automatic link to the help screen which contained the answer I needed allowed me to process. Took about 20 mins to recreate my itunes library on my MAC (1680 songs and 17 playlists). whoohooo.
Like
Version 4.1.3
Egclone
30 September 2017
I was trying the demo and couldn't get it to transfer one song. The problem was that in Preferences under Transfer the location for the iTunes folder was not showing in the box. I clicked the button "Change" and the window showed the iTunes folder had been selected, so just clicked "Choose" and the box then showed the correct path. Tried transferring a song and it quickly transferred. I bought the app and then selected Auto Transfer and it did the job.
Like
Version 4.1.3
thomasadore
18 September 2017
Excellent Product, does exactly what it sets out to do and makes it incredibly easy to do so.
Like
Version 4.1.3
abad83gh656
14 September 2017
good
Like
Version 4.1.3
circleworks
30 August 2017
It worked. A decade of music collections secured from an old iPhone onto my iMac. Fantastic!
Like
Version 4.1.2.0
ajr493
21 August 2017
I was a bit annoyed that the free version only downloaded 10 items before the ad appeared - when trying to restore a library of 4,800 items it made the free version useless. However, the paid for version ripped through my iPod and imported all the music into my iTunes library in short time. Very satisifed.
Like
Version 4.1.2.0
ads-10
12 August 2017
Purchased iExplorer ($70CDN) and it was unable to download any files from my phone. Nada. Zip. Zero. Nothing but red x's next to the files.
Like
Version 4.1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Macroplant, Llc
Macroplant, Llc
13 August 2017
Hi Ads,

I'm sorry to hear you ran into an extremely rare issue with iExplorer.

Did you try contacting our technical support team about this at all? We offer support 7 days a week. For red X's, I presume you mean transferring music and other iTunes media to your computer which iExplorer is specifically designed to do just that very well without any hassle 99.9% of the time for people. It usually "just works" by clicking a transfer button (Auto Transfer is the easiest btw). If you mostly saw red X's next to your tracks after a Media Library transfer, I would simply try the transfer again as it may be as simple as a bad USB cable or some other connection issue unrelated to iExplorer. Regardless of the reason for the music not transferring, our technical support team is available to help anyone using iExplorer every day of the week including Saturdays and Sundays, and we can resolve most issues very quickly and easily.

I see you just today created a MacUpdate account without your full name and have only reviewed iExplorer, and yet I'm unable to locate a purchase for you or an attempt to contact our support team about this at all, so I hope you do decide to contact us for assistance. I guarantee that our company and support team can help make this right for you.

Whether you are using the paid/full version of iExplorer or using the free demo, I'd recommend that you contact us immediately at http://iexplorer-support.macroplant.com/customer/portal/emails/new, and our support team will be more than happy to help you resolve the issue and help you transfer ALL of your music and playlists to your Mac or PC.
Like (1)
tx517
22 July 2017
Beware, beware: very limited shelf life.

I purchased iExplorer in June 2015 (version 3.x), and when trying to recover content today, not a lot appears (I was looking especially for messages), as if my iPhone was virtually new and without much content.

Since my purchase, Apple has released a new iOS, but it is quite disappointing to see i) that the previous generation of the app became useless so quickly, meaning you need to upgrade to the new version 4.x but ii) I can only get a 15% discount off a high price.

Clearly not worth the high price tag / limited shelf life for me.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.2.0
oeoe15
19 June 2017
I have to give credit where credit is due: this app was so easy to use and so fast. I accidently deleted my most recent itunes library while trying to clear out some memory on my laptop and lost basically all of my music (a little over 4,000 songs). I needed to sync my phone because I was taking in for a repair and worried they might have to reset it. It took about an hour and it just automatically moved everything into my itunes library and even regenerated my playlists so easy and worth the money!
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1.0
Don28
24 April 2017
It is worth every single penny!
Like (1)
Version 4.0.12.0
pnhn
21 April 2017
An excellent app for merging iPhone and Mac resources. Definitely worth the investment!
Like (1)
Version 4.0.12.0
dwsptf
03 April 2017
My go to app when iTunes fails to do what I want.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.12.0
trash-sister
25 March 2017
The app is super easy to use and super functional. I'm glad I could use it to recover all the files I lost when my hard drive broke.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.12.0
kkmcnenly
10 March 2017
this is a robbery and crap. it DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. save your money. this must be a fake website. beware.
Like
Version 4.0.11.0
1 answer(s)
Macroplant, Llc
Macroplant, Llc
06 April 2017
Have you tried contacting us? This appears to be a simple misunderstanding where you may be confused with a different app since I can't find any support cases for you. So, if you could please contact us ASAP to help get this straightened out by going to http://iexplorer-support.macroplant.com/customer/portal/emails/new. We are a very reputable and successful software company that develops high quality apps with top notch technical and customer support and even offer a 30 day money back guarantee on all of our software, so I'm not sure what happened in your case or whether you are reviewing the right app, but we can certainly help you either way if you simply contact us. We offer support 7 days a week, 365 days a year and are available for anything you might need.
Like (1)
ewww-dylan
04 March 2017
wow thanks. worked perfectly
Like (1)
Version 4.0.11.0
aroad243
27 February 2017
My hard drive on my old black Macbook died in 2015, taking along with it all the photos I thought I had previously backed up on an external. Luckily, I did have the photos also stored on my old classic black iPod. The problem I now had was transporting the photos from my click wheel iPod to my new computer. I went to the Apple Store, Micro Center, and Fix Ur Gadget. All three stores told me it couldn't be done. I am So Glad I found a review for iExplorer. Before I purchased the license, I wrote an email asking that they confirm this produce would work. They quickly responded to my questions so I tested the demo and purchased the license. I was able to use this app to successfully retrieve all my photos, including the puppy photos of my dog who recently passed away. I was also able to pull my old music off as well, which felt like an added bonus as I wasn't previously interested in the music. The app was very easy to use and worked quickly. Thank you very much for this app! It gave me back my priceless photos of my childhood dog!
Like (1)
Version 4.0.11.0
Oldmiller
29 January 2017
As can be seen from my reviews I much respect that developers work has to be paid. Today I wanted to buy an update to v4 for iOS10. From the good old shareware-days I was used to be offered a discount of something like 50% off or at least 30% off, if the app version you wanted to buy an update for was not extremely old. I had bought v3 in August 2015, 1 year and 5 months ago. It's only 15% off for me.
For me their offers for existing customers are unattractive - short periods with too small discounts. , I'm not willing to pay so much so soon.
Following are their discounts as of today (29.1.2017), see for yourself: iExplorer 3 Purchase Date: < 30 days ago = 100% OFF, < 40 days ago = 40% OFF, < 60 days ago = 30% OFF, < 90 days ago = 25% OFF, < 365 days ago = 20% OFF, Any Time = 15% OFF
I will not downrate the app, this is only a comment, because I think customers should be aware of this
Like (1)
Version 4.0.11.0
Barband
25 January 2017
Easy to use. Finally I can access everything on my Apple devices. Thank You!
Like
Version 4.0.11.0
nehakinjal
17 January 2017
Worked great!
Like
Version 4.0.11.0
mldbayern
07 December 2016
This App is amazing. With IOS updates Apple has completely wiped out tons of music I've purchased through the years, and the most recent update to IOS 10 was no exception... 85% of music/playlists were gone. The only device that had everything completely intact, was my iPad (hadn't used it in 20 weeks - thank God). I spent hours on the phone with Apple iTunes reps who did nothing, before searching the web for an App that may help me transfer all my music to certain devices (since the syncs were also not working properly). Was able to get ALL my music back, playlists back as well, and on all devices.. thanks to iExplorer! Relieved to have recovered over 1K songs. Also, I tried different approaches - new MacBook has usb-c cable, so that posed a challenge for a minute as well - Air drop, bluetooth seemed to want to try and accomplish transfer, but was really complicated. This App makes it SOOOOO easy, and literally within seconds. Where there's a will there's a way, thanks to iExplorer developers. If it wasn't for you Apple was about to lose a long time customer (still irked w/them).

PS - was just reading through some other reviews, and I am used this on my new MacBook Pro, which is Sierra, and while I did get an error at one point, it was after having transferred several playlists. The program then immediately reopened where it left off, and completed transferring all the other playlists (button at bottom 'transfer to iTunes library'.
Like
Version 4.0.10.0
1 answer(s)
Steve K
Steve K
20 February 2017
Sync your iOS device with your Mac and you'll never lose anything
Like
ottojohnson363
01 December 2016
I use it pretty often
Like
Version 4.0.10.0
Steinar-Helgesen
07 October 2016
So deleting this, bought 3.5 few months ago now with update its demo and 40dollar please... with NO update from current version.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.10.0
1 answer(s)
Macroplant, Llc
Macroplant, Llc
04 November 2016
Please contact us at https://www.macroplant.com/contact, and we'll get you taken care of. I searched with your name and found a license from 2 years ago but none from a few months ago, and I'm not finding any attempts to contact us about how to upgrade to version 4 which is a separate download. It's always best to contact us before leaving ratings and comment based on assumptions alone.
Like (2)
foxy-v
26 September 2016
Good alternative for Dropbox and other similar apps. I prefer iExplorer as it's the fastest and has great user-friendly interface. Previous versions sometimes had few bugs but this one works fine so far. I'm satisfied with it.
Like
Version 4.0.9.0
jf-hg
20 September 2016
Ridiculous
Bought it a year ago from their website
Updated to new version ten days ago as previous one is not compatible with Sierra
Since update :
- my product key is invalid
- support don't reply to ANY contact
- automated request to redeem key doesn't generate any mail, contrary to what they say

Piece of crap and thieves of my time and money
Like (1)
Version 4.0.7.0
3 answer(s)
quesnel
quesnel
23 September 2016
I've had exactly the same experience. I will certainly not upgrade to version 4 with that kind of totally unacceptable treatment. There are alternatives. The software is fine. But the people behind it...
Like (1)
jf-hg
jf-hg
23 September 2016
Impossible not to upgrade, as previous version is not compatible with Sierra.
Crap.
Like (1)
Macroplant, Llc
Macroplant, Llc
02 November 2016
Anyone who downloaded and installed iExplorer 4 and would like to find out how to upgrade from an iExplorer 3 license, simply contact us at https://www.macroplant.com/contact so that we can verify your iExplorer 3 purchase first.

Name calling, false accusations, and jumping to conclusions is completely uncalled for here though I see you are brand new to MacUpdate, and we apologize for any confusion with the major version 4 upgrade or inconvenience.

Please also be sure to mention that you left a comment here so that we can see what happened to your support case and code recovery. That's very abnormal to not receive your code unless you entered the wrong email address or didn't have a v.3 license.

We are experiencing higher than normal case volume due to the interest in iExplorer 4 which does use a different registration code than version 3, but we should get back to you within 24 hours in most cases.

We certainly still value the business of all version 3 license holders, and this review and comment does not represent us as a company at all. Simply contact our support for any assistance which we provide 7 days a week free of charge.
Like
tony-56
19 September 2016
excellent product,simple and effective. tony
Like (1)
Version 3.9.14.0
aaron-30
09 September 2016
Awesome features and incredible customer service! Definitely recommend for IOS file transfers.
Like
Version 3.9.14.0
1 answer(s)
Winstonsmith
Winstonsmith
11 September 2016
Tell us about the awesome features. Tell us about their customer service. The same day you join Macupdate you leave one of these garbage "reviews" so either you work for them or are otherwise affiliated. I've seen it before with some of the tech companies we work with and they all read the same. It drives me nuts. Either put some effort into it or don't do it.
Like
pettifogger0712
26 August 2016
Looks like version 4 was released a week or two ago...no upgrade path appears to be available at the moment :-(
Like
Version 3.9.14.0
4 answer(s)
Winstonsmith
Winstonsmith
31 August 2016
Yeah, I just finished going through their site and then did a web search. The fact that they don't mention an upgrade path is bad customer support. I'm not talking how it might be priced - that's another issue. As someone who has used it since the first version (all through the crappy, crashing years) this is annoying as I would no doubt be an early upgrader.
Like
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
03 September 2016
Me too - I started using it in 2010 when it was still Pod-to-Mac and I would likewise have been an early upgrader if there was a reasonable upgrade price...but $39.99? No sale :-(
Like
Winstonsmith
Winstonsmith
11 September 2016
So the upgrade email came - 40% discount. The new version vis a vis the old one looks and behaves the same (other than the nifty new icon). The release notes indicate little has changed so even at 40% off I'm not paying $25 for this. I passed on Apple's beta OS test this time so maybe when I have it installed I'll change my mind. If so I will come back here and give another opinion.
Like
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
13 September 2016
Still waiting for mine LOL Still not 100% convinced to upgrade either!
Like
missiondoc
22 August 2016
Just bought the product and used it to move music files from my old iPad to my laptop. It was quick and simple. So happy for the product.
Like (1)
Version 3.9.14.0
christina-gindl
21 August 2016
Amazing program!!! I lost my whole i-tunes library, all songs playlists etc.. I downloaded the program, payed 35€ or so for it, connected everything (very easy, every step very well explained), did a full transfer of all my i-tunes data and within 5 minutes, everything was back there. I was VERY relieved and can reccomand this program!!
Like (1)
Version 3.9.14.0
dannyburkeman
19 August 2016
This is an invaluable piece of software. With all of the limitations from Apple in the way that the iPhone can be accessed from a computer this program allows you to overcome almost all of them. Highly recommended for backing up and for transfer of content from the phone to computer.
Like (1)
Version 3.9.14.0