Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to iExplorer page
iExplorer free download for Mac

iExplorer Reviews

13 November 2020

View and transfer files on your iOS device.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ivanyak3019
ivanyak3019
May 4 2021
4.4.1
5.0
May 4 2021
5.0
Version: 4.4.1
It helped me a lot, thanks for it
alfbaez
alfbaez
Apr 24 2021
4.4.1
0.0
Apr 24 2021
0.0
Version: 4.4.1
So I take most of those positive reviews are paid reviews. I'm trying to use the paid version myself but it's awfully slow. It's been trying to load the backup for the last hour. About to quick it.
henningklibo
henningklibo
Apr 5 2021
4.4.1
5.0
Apr 5 2021
5.0
Version: 4.4.1
great app
joesm1959
joesm1959
Jan 3 2021
4.4.1
5.0
Jan 3 2021
5.0
Version: 4.4.1
Very useful software to get files transferred from my old iPod to my new MacBook Pro. Works well with easy transfer.
ericpayne26
ericpayne26
Dec 27 2020
4.4.1
4.0
Dec 27 2020
4.0
Version: 4.4.1
Works exactly as advertised. A bit expensive, though
jecook4707
jecook4707
Sep 29 2020
4.4.0
0.0
Sep 29 2020
0.0
Version: 4.4.0
Very thorough, accurate, and FAST
biancabob
biancabob
Sep 12 2020
4.3.8
5.0
Sep 12 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.8
Love this app! Sometimes it will crash if you try to move/change too many items. But it is still a great solid tool for many specific tasks that I don't find in any other app.
jpw0526
jpw0526
Sep 2 2020
4.3.8
0.0
Sep 2 2020
0.0
Version: 4.3.8
ALWAYS EXCEPTIONAL
erin4fitness
erin4fitness
Aug 9 2020
4.3.8
5.0
Aug 9 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.8
OH MY GOSH AMAZING! It took less than 3 minutes to get all my playlists back after a 2 hour phone call with Apple that didn't get my any results!!! DO IT!!
woodsdvw
woodsdvw
Jun 20 2020
4.3.8
5.0
Jun 20 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.8
worked well for me.
woodsdvw
woodsdvw
Jun 20 2020
4.3.8
5.0
Jun 20 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.8
works for me
ggnelson317
ggnelson317
Jun 19 2020
4.3.8
5.0
Jun 19 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.8
Great Product and very easy to use. 5 STARS
grahambilt
grahambilt
May 30 2020
4.3.8
0.0
May 30 2020
0.0
Version: 4.3.8
you suck you lost my playlist and half my music
Paule
Paule
Mar 1 2020
4.3.7
5.0
Mar 1 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.7
very pleased with the App.was glad to be able to get tunes and stuff of an old iPHONE 3 I had forgotten about!
aurora-leticia
aurora-leticia
Feb 6 2020
4.3.7
5.0
Feb 6 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.7
Very useful. Thank you
studio-144
studio-144
Jan 22 2020
4.3.7
1.0
Jan 22 2020
1.0
Version: 4.3.7
I lost 15 years of communication because of this application! DO NOT USE IT! Two years ago I bought this application to download my iPhone system into a desktop backup in order to start a fresh phone. I often accessed this iExplorer backup to reference my history of communications. This backup held FIFTEEN YEARS of communication with loved ones, friends and colleagues. It was my life line to archiving my past which is at the center of my art practice. Not to mention the sentiment of this archive. Conversations with friends lost for Christ Sake! When attempting to access the backup via the app this week... NADA! The backup is GONE! It exists NOWHERE on my desktop. I have never reinstalled my system and this backup is by the APP's discretion buried on my hard drive. A folder I could never possibility delete something by accident. The useless tech support regurgitated the online text book support, "Go to Home/Library/Application Support/MobileSync/Backup/" On my mac there is NO "MobileSync" folder within Application Support. There is NO MobileSync folder to be found anywhere. Nor a "BACKUP" folder related to iExplorer. The APP however remains in my application folder with NO backup to be found anywhere on my MAC. Its as if I never used the application before. Tech support has disappeared leaving me with no explanation as to why I have lost almost TWO DECADES of my history. I'm devastated and dumbfounded. DO NOT USE THIS APP!
faizalstar
faizalstar
Jul 30 2019
4.3.0
5.0
Jul 30 2019
5.0
Version: 4.3.0
AWESOME!!! Coming from Windows all my life and purchasing my first Macbook this made moving all my music so easy and painless. The hardest part was paying $40 but definitely worth it and strongly recommend. Moved all my MP3's from my iPhone to iTunes on new Macbook. Thank you!
mookster007
mookster007
Jun 20 2019
4.2.10
5.0
Jun 20 2019
5.0
Version: 4.2.10
Super groovy, I lost, by operator error, all my itunes on my imac, bought this program and reinstalled everything without a hitch; a great program!!!
tsatryan
tsatryan
Apr 6 2019
4.2.9
1.0
Apr 6 2019
1.0
Version: 4.2.9
Won't even open. Crashes on launch. Using Mojave, and the update says it fixes the crash. Nope. Immediate crash.
deajim
deajim
Mar 17 2019
4.2.8
1.0
Mar 17 2019
1.0
Version: 4.2.8
I wish I had better things to say but I don’t. The actual program worked okay for me, but the customer service is AWFUL. I couldn’t access my registration code and obviously needed it to start the program, but i did not hear back from them for maybe 3 days and I had emailed 3 times saying I needed help ASAP as I was running on a deadline. I tried contacting through every way possible and there is no phone number. They say they provide support “ 7 days a week within 24 hrs”, but that’s not true. It really bothered me to not receive help in decent timing. Unfortunately I can’t recommend buying from this company
jkofferdahl
jkofferdahl
Jan 25 2019
4.2.8
2.0
Jan 25 2019
2.0
Version: 4.2.8
Buggy. Quits before finishing. I'm unable to completely copy all music from either my iPhone or my iPad. I'd rate it even lower but it worked until copying about 75% of the music, but since it simply repeatedly "unexpectedly quits". I'm disappointed that I spent $40 for this buggy software.
jameslfrees
jameslfrees
Dec 20 2018
4.2.7
0.5
Dec 20 2018
0.5
Version: 4.2.7
I bought the dual location ( double license) version so I could use it on my home PC and my out of state PC. I ran it tvtt the first time and it seemed to work. I got my texts and photos and voicemail off. I checked the file integrity a few weeks later and all was good. After the software updates I trie to back up my phone to have a safe copy of data like my last voicemail from my dad and now my mom's memory is failing I wanted to save all of her voice messages as well. Everything that I had saved before is gone and now it will NOT create a back up or update my backup at all. I assume the first back up I made is corrupt explaining all the missing files. I've requested MANY support tickets and get no help from the company at all. Total waste of time and money. And I lost my dad's last voice message as well as my mom's last coherent voice message. DO NOT BUY
ocean22959
ocean22959
Dec 13 2018
4.2.7
5.0
Dec 13 2018
5.0
Version: 4.2.7
Brilliant. annoying apple forced me to update iTunes to match my iPad4... as a consequence I lost all my playlists etc. An utterly ridiculous process. I used iexplorer to rebuild it all from my older ipad. Doesn't apple piss you off !!!
user57
user57
Nov 20 2018
4.2.7
1.5
Nov 20 2018
1.5
Version: 4.2.7
I purchased this app to save long text and iMessage threads to PDF files. The Mac version is at best only beta quality; it crashes while exporting long text message threads to PDF files. The Windows version is better; it hasn't crashed and the PDF files it creates look better than the PDF files created by the Mac version. When creating PDF files of text threads, neither version includes embedded video files (ony text and pictures). Customer support is poor; they will open a ticket but there is no follow up and they ignore emails.
srooriano
srooriano
Oct 13 2018
4.2.5
5.0
Oct 13 2018
5.0
Version: 4.2.5
Extremely easy to use and the price is right. Very glad I found this app.
phoweniii
phoweniii
Sep 30 2018
4.2.3
5.0
Sep 30 2018
5.0
Version: 4.2.3
So glad I found this. Easy to use and saved a lot of music and playlists from an old iPod.
rebecca8828-rm
rebecca8828-rm
Aug 16 2018
4.2.2
4.5
Aug 16 2018
4.5
Version: 4.2.2
super great. the ONLY thing that i don't like is that they make me leave a rating
diva-tee
diva-tee
Apr 28 2018
4.1.17
5.0
Apr 28 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1.17
This app was a god-send. I had an old click wheel iPod from 2005. At that time I had transferred a lot of the music I had on CD to my iPod (over 1500 tracks). Unfortunately, I had long since gotten rid of the computer that the iTunes library had been stored on. I had no idea how I was going to consolidate all of my music onto iTunes until I stumbled upon this app. The $39 charge was money well spent in being able to recover a large portion of my music library.
sahirahsan
sahirahsan
Mar 2 2018
4.1.14
5.0
Mar 2 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1.14
Amazing app. Needed for all Iphone/ipad owners who own a Mac Computer!
bnorozi
bnorozi
Feb 19 2018
4.1.14
5.0
Feb 19 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1.14
Excellent app. It does what it says and it does it well.
s3johnson
s3johnson
Feb 15 2018
4.1.14
5.0
Feb 15 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1.14
Here's what I sent to iExplorer after my first use: Your software is great! More than a year ago I had to rebuild my Mac. Recovered my music but lost my playlists which then lived only on my iPod. Far too much work to rebuild them by hand. I simply mourned. But I just bought a HomePod and really wanted them to use with it. Searched and found iExplorer. It is miraculous. I don't understand why Apple won't tell customers about it. I discussed my plight with them many times and they act like any solution is illegal. Once I finish tweaking all of my newly acquired playlists I may never need it again. But it was worth buying the license! Susan--a very happy customer!
alligator69
alligator69
Jan 3 2018
4.1.13
4.5
Jan 3 2018
4.5
Version: 4.1.13
iExplorer successfully duplicated all the music on my iPhone into iTunes on my MacBook when no other program worked for me. Apple's impossibly onerous syncing platform in iTunes makes it impossible to transfer anything on your iPhone that doesn't exist in a library on your other devices. "Syncing" via iTunes would have needlessly deleted everything on my iPhone! This app is perfect for anyone tired of the unnecessary constraints and needless limitations imposed by Apple in managing music libraries via iTunes. The only thing it didn't do was transfer the existing smart playlists on my iPhone to iTunes on my MacBook
marshallartguy
marshallartguy
Nov 26 2017
4.1.11
5.0
Nov 26 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.11
Just wanted to say that iExplorer is pretty awesome. Apple makes some amazing software/hardware, but there are certain things that should be easy to do, but aren't. Copying music off of my iPhone is a great example of something that should be effortless, but turns out to be very troublesome. My iTunes library file got nuked when my hard drive died. Most of the music was on my phone, and your app made it a breeze to recover. Obviously, I should have had the iTunes library backed up to begin with, but I was moving files around due to storage limitations...anyway, pulling music from the phone is now a piece of cake.
SpiessensMark
SpiessensMark
Nov 25 2017
4.1.11
3.0
Nov 25 2017
3.0
Version: 4.1.11
Locks up my iPhone ones in a while when transferring files. A hard reset is then needed for my iPhone. Any other suggestions for alternatives?
Scotty321
Scotty321
Nov 7 2017
4.1.6
5.0
Nov 7 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.6
Wow! This app really works!! We wanted to archive all of our Messages from our iPhone onto our Mac, and this app works easily, beautifully, quickly, amazingly well... and it even supports most of the iOS 10 messaging features such as tapback!! This app is a ZILLION TIMES BETTER than all the other apps we tried to use for this exact same purpose!! The only minor thing that we wished this app supported was the mini-previews of URL's that you see within the real Messages app.
kevinpcarty
kevinpcarty
Nov 2 2017
4.1.5
5.0
Nov 2 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.5
Love the app! it's kinda annoying sometimes but ultimately it works well!
NMM
NMM
Oct 10 2017
4.1.3
5.0
Oct 10 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.3
AWESOME app. It had trouble finding my device at first but the automatic link to the help screen which contained the answer I needed allowed me to process. Took about 20 mins to recreate my itunes library on my MAC (1680 songs and 17 playlists). whoohooo.
Egclone
Egclone
Sep 30 2017
4.1.3
5.0
Sep 30 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.3
I was trying the demo and couldn't get it to transfer one song. The problem was that in Preferences under Transfer the location for the iTunes folder was not showing in the box. I clicked the button "Change" and the window showed the iTunes folder had been selected, so just clicked "Choose" and the box then showed the correct path. Tried transferring a song and it quickly transferred. I bought the app and then selected Auto Transfer and it did the job.
thomasadore
thomasadore
Sep 18 2017
4.1.3
5.0
Sep 18 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.3
Excellent Product, does exactly what it sets out to do and makes it incredibly easy to do so.
abad83gh656
abad83gh656
Sep 14 2017
4.1.3
4.0
Sep 14 2017
4.0
Version: 4.1.3
good
circleworks
circleworks
Aug 30 2017
4.1.2.0
5.0
Aug 30 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.2.0
It worked. A decade of music collections secured from an old iPhone onto my iMac. Fantastic!
ajr493
ajr493
Aug 21 2017
4.1.2.0
4.0
Aug 21 2017
4.0
Version: 4.1.2.0
I was a bit annoyed that the free version only downloaded 10 items before the ad appeared - when trying to restore a library of 4,800 items it made the free version useless. However, the paid for version ripped through my iPod and imported all the music into my iTunes library in short time. Very satisifed.
ads-10
ads-10
Aug 12 2017
4.1.2.0
1.0
Aug 12 2017
1.0
Version: 4.1.2.0
Purchased iExplorer ($70CDN) and it was unable to download any files from my phone. Nada. Zip. Zero. Nothing but red x's next to the files.
tx517
tx517
Jul 22 2017
4.1.2.0
1.5
Jul 22 2017
1.5
Version: 4.1.2.0
Beware, beware: very limited shelf life.

I purchased iExplorer in June 2015 (version 3.x), and when trying to recover content today, not a lot appears (I was looking especially for messages), as if my iPhone was virtually new and without much content.

Since my purchase, Apple has released a new iOS, but it is quite disappointing to see i) that the previous generation of the app became useless so quickly, meaning you need to upgrade to the new version 4.x but ii) I can only get a 15% discount off a high price.

Clearly not worth the high price tag / limited shelf life for me.
oeoe15
oeoe15
Jun 19 2017
4.1.1.0
5.0
Jun 19 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.1.0
I have to give credit where credit is due: this app was so easy to use and so fast. I accidently deleted my most recent itunes library while trying to clear out some memory on my laptop and lost basically all of my music (a little over 4,000 songs). I needed to sync my phone because I was taking in for a repair and worried they might have to reset it. It took about an hour and it just automatically moved everything into my itunes library and even regenerated my playlists so easy and worth the money!
Don28
Don28
Apr 24 2017
4.0.12.0
5.0
Apr 24 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.12.0
It is worth every single penny!
pnhn
pnhn
Apr 21 2017
4.0.12.0
5.0
Apr 21 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.12.0
An excellent app for merging iPhone and Mac resources. Definitely worth the investment!
DouglasS9325
DouglasS9325
Apr 3 2017
4.0.12.0
5.0
Apr 3 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.12.0
My go to app when iTunes fails to do what I want.
trash-sister
trash-sister
Mar 25 2017
4.0.12.0
5.0
Mar 25 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.12.0
The app is super easy to use and super functional. I'm glad I could use it to recover all the files I lost when my hard drive broke.
kkmcnenly
kkmcnenly
Mar 10 2017
4.0.11.0
0.5
Mar 10 2017
0.5
Version: 4.0.11.0
this is a robbery and crap. it DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. save your money. this must be a fake website. beware.