Back to Dock Gone page
Dock Gone free download for Mac

Dock Gone Reviews

1.4
28 November 2010

Hides Dock entirely until specifically requested.

Tlance
01 May 2009

Most helpful

Does NOT totally hide the Dock. What it does is shrink it down to something a bit longer than a quarter inch and sticks it way to the right. Better than nothing but definitely not hiding. Oh, sure, if your Dock is set to hide it will be hidden until you drag over it, then you will see it and actually be able to use it. Why, oh why did Apple make Leopard unable to allow the Dock to be shrunken away to the top behind the menu bar?! So, worth the full $10? Arguably not since it is not truly hidden. Still, I'll probably end up buying it. Dang.
Like (2)
Version 1.0b1

Read 13 Dock Gone User Reviews

Rate this app:

F451
30 April 2013
No longer supported or available.
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
clakes
clakes
09 November 2013
Which is extremely *sad*... There's no other helper which can hide the Dock, and just ask yourself: how many times you went " *urgh* what with this thing popping out just when I needed to quickly reach the bottom (right, left, whatever) of the screen?!?" Please come back to me... I don't want you to be Gone
Like (1)
clakes
06 April 2010
I truly love Dock Gone. It really keeps me from swearing at times when I'm nervously tweaking fullscreen applications on stage such as Ableton Live and Modul8. Those are the times when you really don't want the Dock to pop-up, believe me! I'm experiencing a weird issue though. The background process (DockGoneBG) only appears to start as soon as I enter Dock Gone's Preference Pane, but fails to automatically start at login. Can't say whether this appeared in the last Mac OS X update, but I think I had the same problem with 10.6.2... MBP5,2 running Mac OS X.6.3... and... Quite a lot of login items? (this shouldn't be a cause for DG not to launch tough).
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
28 November 2010
Try putting dockgonebg, the background process, in your startup items. I had a similar problem with Lazymouse by the same dev and this fixed it so it would start when I booted up as it should have with the start on login but for some reason does not. Try it, it works until the issue is addressed by the dev. It doesn't slow it down or anything, just gets it started... you could right an applescript to launch it and just run that manually or put it in the login items but that's the same amount of work as going into the preferences pane so that solution is useless. Hope that helps.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
Musubana
10 March 2010
Well… If you rely a lot on widgets, you'd better stay away from Dock Gone. (Widgets are a part of my workflow.) DG restarts the dashboard every time the dock status is changed. This really annoys me. Furthermore, sometimes the dock isn't realy gone - point to the bottom middle of the screen, and you'll see a tiny micro-dock so small that the individual icons can't be discerned. But nonetheless - it's there. I sent a refund request to Kagi, but have got no reply (or money!) so far.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
2 answer(s)
Easer
Easer
12 March 2010
I can't speak to the Widget issue, although I would write to the developer and not to Kagi. (They just process purchases.) The developer has always been very responsive to me. As for still seeing a teeny-tiny dock, yes, that's pretty much about the only solution one is likely to have. I remember, even before Leopard, that there was a post on the internet about how to hack the dock preferences to accomplish the really tiny dock trick. I had tried it, and it worked, but it also wreaked havoc with my system overall. DockGone seems to have found a way to accomplish this without the havoc, and adds a number of additional features. I don't use Widgets, so this is not an issue for me. As I suggest, write directly to the developer and see if solutions cannot be found for your concern.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.3
Musubana
Musubana
12 March 2010
Thanks for the advice. Yes, I'd better contact the developer instead whining about Kagi! :-)
Like
Version 1.0.3
Dameian
19 January 2010
I am LOVING this little utility. Thank you for finally coming up with a way to rid us of the dock in a way that is both safe and effective. I've been using it now for about a week and can say I've had no problems at all with it. I only wish it would automatically disable the dock at start up, but I've now gotten used to the Control + Option + Command + D shortcut. I've combined Dock Gone with LaunchBar to create a very minimalist and unobtrusive version of OS X that stays out of my way until I need it. Dock Gone keeps the dock out of my work space and LaunchBar makes everything on my Mac (and the Internet for that matter) just a couple of keystrokes away. Cheers!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
F451
25 May 2009
One of those little apps that you never thought you really needed until you try it. Positively a feature Apple should have incorporated in its OS in the first place. I purchased a license as the developer is responsive and has also remedied a slight issue with other apps that hide along the screen's edge.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b7
Robotank
22 May 2009
Very good overall. I think DockGone may be a little expensive for a simple app, but I've been wanting something that will get the Apple dock out of my face for a long time. There are far better alternatives to the dock out there (DragThing, A-Dock, Application Wizard, etc.), and being able to make the dock actually disappear is very handy.
Like
Version 1.0b6
Tofic
11 May 2009
VERY SMALL APPLICATION; HUGE RELIEF FROM ANNOYING DOCK, THAT POPS HER HEAD OUT, WHEN I DON'T WANT IT
Like
Version 1.0b4
Noriker
06 May 2009
This is exactly what I always needed (and as Apple should have built the Dock). This comes in very handy when drawing or using the entire screen in graphic design applications, where you don't want panels to be trapped behind the Dock. No more sizing the Dock down. No more Pull Down Menus behind the Dock. No more "I hope I don't get too close to the edge of the screen". Here's why it's great: 1. I can still call/hide the Dock just as used to, nothing new to learn. Only this time it stays away, as it should. 2. I can replace the standard shortcut or add an additional one, so the old mode (auto activating Dock) is still available at the same time. 3. Some older applications (DockBlock etc.) were built for Tiger and don't work anymore. This works under Leopard. 4. Other methods of getting rid of the Dock also kill functions like the Application Switcher. No such problems with Dock Gone. 5. By triple clicking the item in the menu bar, the Dock shows/hides. By single clicking the item, you get a menu.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b3.1
2 answer(s)
Croupier49
Croupier49
10 May 2009
Maybe I'm crazy, but how is this any different than simply typing Command + Option +D? Whenever I type this, the dock completely disappears and doesn't return until I type the command again.
Like
Version 1.0b4
Noriker
Noriker
10 May 2009
No you're not crazy but you probably won't need this app. Whenever you get close to the bottom of the screen (or wherever you have placed your Dock) it will pop back up. This can become extemely annoying when drawing or when using auto scrolling in an application. Worst case would be a slow computer that is stopped processing by the Dock because it suddenly has to reveal it and blend in the name of the app that is below the cursor. It might also pop up when you open a drop down window, such as your list of bookmaks in a browser, as soon as you get close enough to the edge. In this case it will pop up BEHIND the window, completely useless. And who needs the Dock to show up below the cursor while drawing a selection in Photoshop? Most people never use their entire screen and leave some space for the Dock. Given how huge the standard Leopard Dock is, that's a lot of space. This tool allows you to use the entire screen and hardly ever use the Dock. I use Quicksilver to launch apps, so I don't have much need for it.
Like
Version 1.0b4
Rich-K-
04 May 2009
With respect to the Devs effort: i've been using Dock Block http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/13261/dockblock for years to get rid of the dock although its performance in leopard is a bit flakey so i searched and found http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/27841/dock-spaces which is more user configurable and free!
Like (1)
Version 1.0b2
Dana-Sutton
04 May 2009
Yes, Dock Gone works as advertised, and yes, it performs a valuable function, so I'll almost certainly purchase it. But it's not the solution I want. The problem is the Dock's "hair trigger" responsiveness: if your cursor grazes the edge of your screen for even a millisecond while you have the Dock hidden, up it comes, I deal with this nuisance a dozen times a day. But I think there's a potentially a better solution than Dock Gone. Back in the OS9 days I used A-Dock, which has a feature where the cursor has to stay in touch for a user-defined period (say, a half a second) before its dock would pop up. Rather than being forced to remember yet more hot-key command and have one more icon in my dock (with Dock Gone running I currently have 17), I'd rather have a Preference panel which made Apple's Dock behave like A-Dock in this respect.
Like
Version 1.0b2
Easer
04 May 2009
For me, the issue is whether it's out of the way and unobtrusive. I use one of those customized dock programs (Workstrip; there are others, such as A-Dock and DragThing) that lets me choose what does and does not appear in my "dock." I use command-tab when I need to switch to something that isn't in my custom dock. Since I cannot really control much of what shows up in the Apple dock, it is of limited value to me. I have tried working with it and making friends with it. I just don't like it or use it. So having it out of the way - somehow - is a boon to my personal productivity. As I said, DockGone still does better than anything else I've found.
Like
Version 1.0b2
Tlance
01 May 2009
Does NOT totally hide the Dock. What it does is shrink it down to something a bit longer than a quarter inch and sticks it way to the right. Better than nothing but definitely not hiding. Oh, sure, if your Dock is set to hide it will be hidden until you drag over it, then you will see it and actually be able to use it. Why, oh why did Apple make Leopard unable to allow the Dock to be shrunken away to the top behind the menu bar?! So, worth the full $10? Arguably not since it is not truly hidden. Still, I'll probably end up buying it. Dang.
Like (2)
Version 1.0b1
2 answer(s)
Easer
Easer
02 May 2009
Yes, I had not noticed this earlier. It appears to be based on an old trick I had read about several years ago. However, I tried that trick, and while it worked, it also very quickly hosed my system. So far, Dock Gone does not appear to be having adverse effects. And the teeny tiny dock one is left with (mine appears in the lower right corner) is still unobtrusive enough to be satisfactorily out of my way. So, no, it's not the perfect solution. But it's the best I've seen to date. I think people should at least check it out.
Like
Version 1.0b1
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 May 2009
Hi Ossie, The new 1.0b3 should keep the little phantom tiny dock thing away most of the time. I'd be curious to hear your opinion of it.
Like
Version 1.0b2
Easer
01 May 2009
I know there are many people who love the dock. I am not one of them. Years - literally years - I have looked for every means by which to keep this thing out of my sight and out of my way. Apple at the very least could have provided that option. When I first saw this on MU, I was a sceptic. But I went to the developer page, and it's the same developer for LazyMouse, Trampoline, etc. These have always been solid programs for me. The bottom line is that Dock Gone actually works. So far, I've had no troubles with it. I gladly paid what I consider to be a nominal fee for it.
Like
Version 1.0b1
1 answer(s)
Tlance
Tlance
02 May 2009
Agreed and not so sure they shouldn't make it a feature. Best of both worlds kind of thing. Just shouldn't claim it's gone.
Like
Version 1.0b1