Back to Radium page
Radium free download for Mac

Radium Reviews

3.1.3
26 August 2015

Multi-network radio player.

star-affinity
06 April 2013

Most helpful

What's up with this chocolate stuff? I liked the previous radio icon. After all this software is about radio not about… chocolate. Oh, well…
Like (14)
Version 3.0.1

Read 103 Radium User Reviews

Rate this app:

MnogoMnogo
11 October 2019
Not compatible with Catalina. Crashes immediately upon loading. Developer looks like they're not in business any more — nothing recent on website, no activity on Twitter account since 2017.
Like
Version 3.1.3
Macgerry
23 January 2019
all you need to listen to radio stations ...
Like
Version 3.1.3
Eveningclouds
20 July 2018
When's the last time these folks updated their desktop app? Seems kind of nasty to keep selling a product you've abandoned. More and more stations don't work, and developer is completely unresponsive. They used to be helpful. . . .
Like (2)
Version 3.1.3
2 answer(s)
Eveningclouds
Eveningclouds
10 October 2018
I am a fool to keep checking back. The most recent version of the desktop app is 3 years old. The developer is still selling something that is no longer being worked on. Is this not some kind of fraud, and shouldn't MacUpdate drop it from the site?
Like (1)
mikaelaarsenault
mikaelaarsenault
05 September 2019
The developer is no longer selling it anymore.
Like
Version 3.1.3
Spudboy
13 December 2017
Is streaming of SiriusXM working for anyone?
Like
Version 3.1.3
3 answer(s)
Tony-Hartt
Tony-Hartt
21 December 2017
Not for over a month now. I've tried contacting the developer with no reply as of yet. I wish there were an alternative app to Radium.
Like (3)
PRjohnson
PRjohnson
01 January 2018
Same here…not working for well over a month. A couple times I was able to get it working again by logging out and back in to my SiriusXM account under subscriptions, but it quickly becomes disconnected again at next launch. No word from the developer. My temporary solution is to create a Fluid app for the SiriusXM web streaming player and pin it to the menubar—it works great for now, but I'd much rather have Radium working again. To the dev: please, PLEASE, PLEASE get Radium working again or at least let your customers know what is going on. We would HAPPILY pay more money for an updated version. Radium has been around for years and NOTHING comes close—we absolutely love it! On our knees begging…
Like (1)
Tony-Hartt
Tony-Hartt
04 January 2018
Thank you PRjohnson for the tip about the Fluid app, it's a workaround, but I do hope Radium gets this issue figured out soon.
Like (1)
Mjmsmith
02 October 2017
Was a nice app once, the current UI is a disaster.
Like
Version 3.1.3
Peterpan23
27 July 2017
Best radio app for Mac.. Only 4 stars because streaming over AirPortExpress only practical, if you do not use build-in or directly connected speakers simultaneously. You will get an unacceptable delay over the AirPortExpress connected speakers. Airfoil ( https://goo.gl/tR5oVR ) instead of Radiums own streaming feature transfers the sound perfectly in sync.
Like
Version 3.1.3
1 answer(s)
Peterpan23
Peterpan23
29 July 2017
....and the UI is - like already mentioned from others - definitely a mess but the transfer is perfectly stable with around 2% CPU load which is extremly low for a streaming app !!!
Like
Zx81
16 May 2017
I had to revert to version 3.0.7 to make it work again.
Like
Version 3.1.3
Zx81
16 May 2017
It just does not work any more. Abandonware?
Like
Version 3.1.3
Hugo-and-Luigi
28 October 2016
I love version 2, but since changing computers I can't authorize it and get no response from the developer. Version 3 won't work for me since I have OS 10.8
Like (1)
Version 3.1.3
MnogoMnogo
30 July 2016
Is this now abandonware? After releasing this crazy version with the new dysfunctional interface, it doesn't look like the developers have communicated with the outside world about Radium since about December 2015 and the most recent update of the app was a full year ago (August 2015). For the moment, the previous version with the original interface still works, (thank goodness Time Machine allowed me to restore it) but I dread the moment when it no longer does, and would love an update that restores its functionality.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.3
Mauko
09 January 2016
Was very good once, when I bought it, but in El Capitan it just doesn't play any station at all. Total useless now, very bad, sorry.... Like previous replies told you. The GUI is now terrible
Like (4)
Version 3.1.3
Dan-D
05 July 2015
The previous version (v2) was a great, minimal menubar app – the current version (v3) is just an annoying, floating window with a menubar icon! The frustrating GUI is a tiny, unresizable pop-up window which needs to be closed manually. Horrible UI/UX, Just sad.
Like (6)
Version 3.1.1
Eveningclouds
01 July 2015
I don't like to diss this developer who has over the years been extremely responsive and conscientious. But this new interface is really annoying, almost enough to make me look elsewhere. Having it in the menubar is great, but why the separate floating window and, most important, why design it so that the window pops up unbidden and randomly. Gotta stop what I'm doing and close it. Have no idea what triggers it to appear but have to believe it's a programming flaw, and so far the developer has been unwilling to either acknowledge or fix it. And that's a bad sign.
Like (4)
Version 3.1.1
MnogoMnogo
13 June 2015
If there is such thing as a tragedy in the world of software, this is it. Version 2 was wonderful: an unobtrusive menubar icon that, when clicked, brought down a helpful list of radio stations that you'd tagged as favorites, and could provide lists of its own when you search by categories. The list was unobtrusive and instantly dismissable with the escape key. When you picked a station, you had a full set of standard controls to start and stop play, and a nice buffering system that allowed you to stop for a while and resume where you left off, if you wished. For reasons completely unknown and non-obvious, version 3 replaced the menu bar app with a floating window app that can only be dismissed with a mouse click and a new set of controls missing functions such as a volume control. It's not the end of the world, but what on earth were the developers thinking? They replaced a beautiful, usable concept with a clunky, inconvenient one for no obvious reason whatsoever. Really sad. For shame!
Like (4)
Version 3.1.1
emce
04 June 2015
The UI makes absolutely no sense at all, but it currently streams with fewer interruptions than the other streaming app I use (Vox) so I definitely appreciate it for that.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1
Wts
25 March 2015
Actually this radio works in Mavericks ( 10.9.5 ). Support is fantastic. I was unable to find a local radio station and support provided me the URL. The price is not that bad albeit it could be about half that asking price. I found that i was unable to create a playlist other then using favorites. The in prgramme help file did not answer my problem and i am somewhat tired of always asking about this or that since the web site is also rather limited. Never the less for my purposes this "radio" works as long as i start up my computer.
Like
Version 3.1
Andsim
08 March 2015
Great piece of software, I've been using it every day for quite a long time with great satisfaction but version 3.1 crashes at every start. Do not update. iMac 27 OS X Yosemite 10.10.2
Like
Version 3.1
2 answer(s)
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
12 March 2015
3.1 seems als incompatible with Little Snitch: no iCloud sync of favs App removed
Like
Andsim
Andsim
13 March 2015
Update.
I contacted the customers support, after a week they sent me a beta 3.1.1 for testing, The crashes are gone. Everything works fine and nice.
I think they are going to send it public soon.
Like
BobbyThompsonRocks
17 November 2014
I love the app but it's been broken for me for the past couple months. The developer took 2 weeks to confirm it's broken with all stations that are I Heart Radio based. Since that is all I use the app for it's effectively a brick for me at the moment. The developer gave me no indication as to when or even if this problem will be fixed...
Like
Version 3.0.8
JennyI3567
03 July 2014
best radio app ever!
Like
Version 3.0.7
bbbc
04 May 2014
I still enjoy using the old Radium 2.8.4 under Mavericks 10.9.2. This developer offers good support, but I believe they have abandoned the Lion and Mountain Lion platforms too soon. I wish they would still sell the old version (license) outside of the MAS.
Like
Version 3.0.7
2 answer(s)
libuznik
libuznik
26 October 2014
Does this older version run under 32bit-systems? And where could be done
the download?
With an older iMac G5 both FStream and VLC 2.1.4 are costfree & useful for elective webradio-recording.
Like
Loehman
Loehman
28 November 2014
I changed my SiriusXM subscription and it includes Internet streaming. I came looking for a simple radio player. Based on your comment, I tried my old version of Radium (2.8.5). Works just fine with Mavericks on an old MacPro.
Like
distreszed
17 April 2014
10.9 only? must be too difficult to maintain backward compatibility with the ancient year of 2011
Like (3)
Version 3.0.7
1 answer(s)
iindigo
iindigo
12 July 2014
It’s more of a hassle than it might seem. To put it simply, supporting older systems makes taking advantage of features in newer system much more difficult. That said, 10.8 is reasonably easy to support for now (this will change when 10.10 is released). 10.7 and 10.6 on the other hand are increasingly difficult.
Like
TiagoP8705
14 March 2014
Radium may have a cleaner look but myTuner is a much more complete app.
Like
Version 3.0.6
Moxiesozo
05 February 2014
Really? REQUIRES 10.9? Come on! Not a nice way to treat those who choose to not use Mavericks, or cannot use it.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.6
2 answer(s)
Kitmos
Kitmos
24 February 2014
I hadn't noticed that it requires 10.9. No wonder it wouldn't work. It still would be nice if the developer would respond to support questions. I emailed him asking why it wouldn't launch weeks ago and never heard back.
Like (1)
Mikeaugustleo
Mikeaugustleo
01 March 2014
Well, I'm running 10.9.2 and it doesn't launch anymore since upgrading to the current version.
Like
Mhoutman
03 February 2014
Great app, great support. I am a previous Snowtape user but that app seems abandon ware. Snowtape has more features but Radium will do. Also have a look at Radium for iOS
Like
Version 3.0.6
Chas-m
01 February 2014
I have loved the program since its inception, and it has become my go-to radio app. I hated (*hated*) the move to the chocolate icon and am very glad to see the back of that. FB integration is great and the developers just keep making the program better. The iOS version is nothing short of awesome. Thanks, gang!
Like
Version 3.0.6
Kitmos
01 February 2014
I tried repeatedly contacting the dev. But never heard back. This version (3.0.6) when downloaded still shows as 3.0.4 and when launched nothing happens.
Like
Version 3.0.6
monet
02 December 2013
Why is htis not compatible with Mountain Lion? I like the app but cannot upgrade because I cannot go to Mavericks for the unforeseeable future due to other application incompatibilities with Mavericks. So again, I have wasted cash on an app that is not upgradeable. Remember Radio Gaga. I bought that one too, and it no longer exists. Lesson: be careful what apps you purchase.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.5
Sascha-77
30 November 2013
If you dont want this ugly Heart/Choclate design in your Menubar replace the files within this zip: http://ul.to/qqtgylo1 With yours in Radium.app/Contents/Resources ;)
Like (1)
Version 3.0.5
Gl0tzk0wski
27 August 2013
How iCloud sync works? I bought Radium for iOS and enabled in Settings iCloud but no favs are synced from my Mac to iPhone.
Like
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
Gl0tzk0wski
Gl0tzk0wski
27 August 2013
Got it.. sorry =D
Like
Unblocktheplanet
15 May 2013
I found Radium quite counterintuitive to use. There was no easy way to get rid of the (PAY!) presets nor could I find a way to create a drop-down menu for my favourites. Antenna, on the other hand, an Adobe AIR application, just works.
Like
Version 3.0.1
2 answer(s)
Funjoy
Funjoy
18 May 2013
'Presets' simply have the heart-icon attached to them (which you see as you mouseover next to the station name). Un-click on the heart and the preset disappears. Pretty simple.
Like (4)
Molamola
Molamola
01 August 2013
"an Adobe Air Application..." - have you every compared how many resources (CPU, Memory...) Antenna + Air needs to play a stream? Besides you need to install the Adobe Air bloatware with all it's security breaches? I have not tried antenna, but was extremly happy when I finally could deinstall Adobe Air after I got rid of the last app I had which needed it.
Like (2)
star-affinity
06 April 2013
What's up with this chocolate stuff? I liked the previous radio icon. After all this software is about radio not about… chocolate. Oh, well…
Like (14)
Version 3.0.1
3 answer(s)
Egirao
Egirao
12 May 2013
agree 100%
Like (7)
Gsteiner
Gsteiner
18 May 2013
It'a a boring and ugly icon. The previous was appropriate and sweet. Please bring it back!
Like (8)
Molamola
Molamola
01 August 2013
yes, the new heart icon is just meaningless nonsense...
Like (3)
Happy-Dance
30 March 2013
My favorite new feature is the ability to pause the stream for up to an hour and then pick up right where you left off. If you press the option key the pause control becomes a stop button so you're not using bandwidth for no good reason. I asked for a particular station from a state that doesn't go on DST because sometimes I forget when it starts. They added it within a few days (unusually long for their great customer support). Now if I forget about my program, I can catch it from the beginning since it comes on an hour later in Arizona.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Mrchips
28 March 2013
When v3 first came out I was a bit taken aback by the new look. It seemed like it was less capable and I was also a little confused by the changes to the controls. And there were some bugs... When v3.0.1 came out I decided to take another look - after all Catpig Studios has consistently delivered a good product. So I took some time, played with the new version, and discovered it was actually easier to use and better looking than v2. So I upgraded. Catpig's support is good, too. I couldn't find a local station I liked so I wrote them asking if they could add it. In short order I received an email telling me what to search for to listen to that station. I searched and now have my local station as a favorite! I'm very pleased. Bottom line: Radium is a handy little (Internet) radio that's easily accessible from the menu bar, and v3 makes it even better. John
Like
Version 3.0.1
Creidenouer
11 March 2013
I like this the best for the Menubar. It's just right. I've tried a lot of the radio apps like snowtape. This was the easiest to configure and had the best features for this type of application. The developer was VERY helpful loading the station I like to listen too which is very pesky to find and load the url. I'd buy this one any day.
Like
Version 3.0.1
zaydon
08 March 2013
Great app IMHO. I still love my squeeze radio but can see myself using this often. BTW. Just went on sale today for $6.99 if you've been holding off.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Sonnendeck
07 March 2013
Der alte Batu Khan würde heute vor seinem Mac sitzen und Radium hören. Jede Wette!
Like
Version 3.0.1
Dvdesign
06 March 2013
Very sad, v3 not available for Lion !!! Must keep and use older version :( MacPro user who can't update to ML ! Waiting for the new MacPro, promised a year ago from Apple...
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Funjoy
03 February 2013
Easy, simple and powerful, and more convenient than the radio built into iTunes. This is now my favorite radio app. My one wish is that it could somehow link to my TuneIn account and access my favorite stations (and TuneIn's amazing selection).
Like (1)
Version 2.8.4
1 answer(s)
Funjoy
Funjoy
13 February 2013
Just upgraded to version 3.0, worth the price. Keyboard shortcuts, AirPlay-capable, equalizer.... very nice. Still wish I could share TuneIn stations and faves, tho'
Like (3)
Pokari
22 December 2012
Excellent app and even better support. It works very well with a minimal imprint. It allows streaming to other speakers in the house as well. It is a simple program but very well done. The attention to each the needs of each customer sets this program apart.
Like
Version 2.8.4
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
17 November 2012
Very good. That said, Otto's Baroque Musick, one of my favourite radio stations, is missing. Could you add that one, please? Thanks.
Like
Version 2.8.4
1 answer(s)
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
28 November 2012
Sent the very amiable developer a request to add Onno's Baroque Musick to the channels' list - my wish was fulfilled in no time. Excellent customer support, Kirill, thanks! The CPU footprint is minimal. The app encompasses a wide range of online radio stations. Contains an integrated equaliser. Sports social services' (fromTwitter to Google+) integration. What else is there to wish for in a Radio player app?
Like (2)
Gary30
24 October 2012
I just bought this through the latest MacHeist bundle. Very nice app and works great. I contacted the developer with a problem I was having with a stream and they got back to me in less than an hour. It turns out that the stream has now changed and the problem is solved another way, but the attention was startling! This app has helped me convert a huge mess of streaming URLs and apps into one simple app. Handles paid subscriptions. Gets all the usual stations plus many that I had never heard of
Like (2)
Version 2.8.4
Jazzyguy
04 October 2012
Excellent App overall. The developer is very responsive and helpful.Of all the radio apps this is the best. I have paid for them all and I have to say this is the best of all.I have Radioshift,Snowbird ,Snowtape ,Fstream which somehow no longer works in 10.8.2 but this one stands above all others.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.4
schmappel
02 September 2012
It's a really nice app that I would not mind paying for, but I really can't justify dropping $24.99 (!) for a streaming radio app. In comparison, Pixelmator - a full fledged graphics editor and competent Photoshop alternative - is cheaper! "Email me when discounted" > Check!
Like
Version 2.8.3
David-573c214b
14 August 2012
I took a free trial of Radium and was thoroughly impressed with it all round. But at the end of the trial I just could not believe the cost of the app. How are normal people supposed to be able to pay £17 for such a simple app?? My only other suggests are to change the Icon, and to include a recording feature. Great app, but get the price down for us please!!
Like (1)
Version 2.8.3
Mrchips
30 July 2012
I'd be lost without Radium - it keeps me company during the day while I slave over my computer... ;-) It's working fine under Mountain Lion. My registration didn't work at first, but thanks to a quick response from CatPig Studios I'm all set again! Radium is so easy to use and does exactly what I want. I can quickly select the station I want from my favorites, adjust the volume, and even set equalizer settings for the type of music or voice I'm listening too. And it lives in the menubar (on the right) for quick and easy access. Also there's no cruft - all the essentials but no fat. Great app and highly recommended! John
Like (1)
Version 2.8.3
Nick-Collingridge
30 June 2012
One additional feature I would love to see added to Radium - the ability to display the name of the track currently playing in iTunes when I am using it rather than playing a radio station.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.3
Dana-Sutton
06 April 2012
Gawd, that icon has to go!
Like (1)
Version 2.8.3
Nick-Collingridge
29 December 2011
Radium continues to be one of my most-used utilities and I find it invaluable for listening to internet radio - it is hard to see how it could be improved in a functional sense. One thing that seems to have improved recently is its ability to recover from interrupted streams - if a stream is interrupted it stops playing when the buffer is exhausted but then as soon as the stream is accessible again it now fades back in, whereas in the past it would never restart. The only feature I would like to see now (that I can think of) is the ability to change its position in the menu bar. Because of its ability to display the artist and track name the most suitable position (imho) is to be the furthest menu item to the left, but I have not found any way of ensuring this. All Apple menu items can be moved by holding down the command key while dragging them, but this doesn't work with Radium. It doesn't seem to be anything to do with launch order as the order of the items is not in any way related to their order in my login items list, and they are not alphabetical either, so I don't know how they end up in the order they do. Whatever the answer to this, it would be great if Radium could add a "Force leftmost position in menubar items" or similar option to its preferences.
Like
Version 2.8.3
alas!
11 October 2011
I, belatedly, became aware of something a bit troubling about Radium. While Radium uses streams from iTunes, its streams are plagued with commercial interruptions. Most of the same streams on iTunes are entirely commercial and interruption free. Apparently, Radium adds commercials to the streams and then charges for a subscription for commercial free listening. Anyway, Radium is, no doubt, financially tied in to Live-95, the subscription driven commercial free service, at $71 per year. While Radium is a handy little gadget, I have to ask myself whether it's worth the ad infinitum subscription price, especially when the same streams are available free of charge on iTunes. And at this point, I have to say no. When my current live-95 subscription expires soon, I'll likely not continue with it. I really have no issue with utilizing iTunes directly for my listening needs.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.1
4 answer(s)
Catpig-Studios-Inc-
Catpig-Studios-Inc-
12 October 2011
Radium does not inject ads into anything. Apple has made an agreement with a radio provider to provide streams for iTunes that are commercial-free. We don't have access to these streams, which is why we use the "official" streams that sometimes do have commercials. Our radio directory is not related in any way to that of iTunes; in fact, we are not tied to any radio provider, financially or otherwise.
Like (9)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
20 November 2011
I have a logitech squeezebox and many of those streams are free but still have ads, how do you expect them to survive. I also have Radium which is the best and most of the streams I listen to via it have no ads so it is obvious that some do and some don't but I think blaming Radium is wrong
Like
alas!
alas!
20 November 2011
When I exchanged emails with CatPig many months ago about a problem that I was experiencing with Radium, the CatPig person DID say that they obtained their streams via iTunes. But no matter, the fact is that most of the streams available on Radium.....certainly the ones that I listen to, are also available in iTunes( I favor Electronica, Ambient and Trance, with a sprinkling of Middle Eastern and Indian). I've got no problem with the way Radium performs, it generally works pretty smoothly. My issue is with the optional Live 65 ad free subscription tax at $71 per year. My only use for Live 65 would be for Radium. iTunes fits my needs just fine. It offers all the streams and genres that I go for. The one plus that Radium offers, as far as I can determine, is its handiness. Accessing one's streams via Radium's drop down menu is quite nice but I just don't feel that the yearly tax is worth my while for that one feature alone when I can access my ad free music of choice through iTunes. If anyone wants to purchase the Live 95 subscription, then fine, no problem. I just don't regard the yearly tax as money well spent. If it's worth it to you, then by all means go for it.
Like
alas!
alas!
22 January 2012
I've been spending more time with Radium and am delighted to find that its developers have made some very welcome improvements; firstly, the subscription only streams do not appear in one's menu unless, I imagine, one has actually subscribed. I no longer have a Live-95 subscription so can't be sure. Those streams persistently appeared on one's list of streams even though one hadn't subscribed. Clicking on those streams just yielded silence and one was then prompted to pay for a subscription. The whole thing seemed very 'in your face' and blatant. I suspected that the developer was financially tied in with the subscription scheme…this was a major 'bone of contention' with me. Ok, the developer says that he's not and I'll accept that. The subscription option is now quite subtle, thank you. There are now a plethora of available free streams to choose from….many more than before. Yeah, some streams do have adverts but more than enough don't. iTunes does offer as many as 1000 streams for some genres but that IS superfluous and overkill. The number of Radium's available free quality streams is more than adequate…certainly enough of them to keep me smiling. Sorry for the bad vibes engendered by my previous post; I'm now loving Radium once again, oh yeah!
Like (1)
alas!
21 August 2011
I'm on my Mac for many hours throughout the day and night working on various projects and Radium is a godsend. Gotta have my music to keep me centered and sane( I'm an electronica, trance, ambient sound hound) and Radium delivers beautifully. It's all easily available via a menu bar drop down menu. One issue really pisses me off, though. Most, if not all, genres are pummeled by an almost continuous barrage of commercial interruptions which makes for a totally hellish listening experience. A "Live 65" VIP subscription is required for commercial free listening, at $41.70 for 6 months or $71.400 for a year. Of course that makes Radium a more costly proposition, but without the additional subscription what's the point?.... unless one is a sucker for punishment(think psychological torture). Be that as it may, Radium does put a smile on my face and makes my world a more pleasant place.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.1
1 answer(s)
Catpig-Studios-Inc-
Catpig-Studios-Inc-
12 October 2011
Radium is certainly usable without Live365, and comes with thousands of stations in addition to providing access to those of Live365, many commercial-free. Send us an email if you have any questions.
Like (1)