Back to Search&Replace page
Search&Replace free download for Mac

Search&Replace Reviews

1.8
24 April 2011

Search and replace batch processor for text files.

Loony
16 June 2009

Most helpful

I truly trust this developer. Search&Replace is very stable, and it works as announced and quickly. I decided to finally rename 2500 of my pictures last week and tried it on my website's files: I replaced both content & file extensions and updated internal links (over 12,000 php, html, po and mo files). Now everything works perfectly and it only took me a few minutes. Thank you for your work!
Like (4)
Version 1.3

Read 21 Search&Replace User Reviews

Rate this app:

Unicorn
25 February 2012
No foreign Language support
Like
Version 1.8
Koolzone
06 May 2010
I never buy any applications on Mac, but this is a cheap investment for all the possibilities this application offers. I really needed something like this to simplify my work, I have found the stability and ease of use I was looking for. I would like to thank the developer for his time, he was incredibly quick to respond and of good support before I purchased his application, and he gave me valuable advice as to how to use it properly.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.7
Kobrasio
25 March 2010
Another renamer , which was free in the past, and now we have to pay for it. The dev writes in his discription: "You can get the older versions for free but as they are full of bugs and have less functionalities, it is highly recommended to update to version 1.5.5." Why did you make buggy software? Its really painful!! The software has still major bugs. I won't pay 1 cent for such a soft ware. Search for freewares on Macupdate. You will find good works. If you need much more features search for shareware tools which works without any bugs.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.5
3 answer(s)
Bs0d
Bs0d
26 March 2010
Every application has bugs, and every developer spends their time correcting them. That's the point of updates, but you probably wouldn't know since, not only are you not developing anything, but also you seem to spend your time bashing other people's hard work (cf. your last comments). And you talk about bugs... point them out to me, please, you haven't even had the chance to try out the new version. And for the record, I'm not worried seeing as your comments are as unconstructive and obnoxious as the one here, and your reviews are all 1-star! Well, at least you gave me good laugh, thank you! Now, don't pay a cent for my app if you don't want to, but admit that it is cheap compared to others, and stop spitting on my work.
Like (8)
Version 1.5.5
Lookin2it
Lookin2it
25 April 2011
Surely you must know that the evolution of software includes a beginning during which time it is tested and is often offered for free since the bugs have not yet been worked out. Some devopers can afford to continue offering the improved versions of the software for free, others must try and feed their family. I see nothing wrong with this. P.S. Look up the word review next time - your economic woes, philosophy about paying for software, and obvious suggestion of doing a search, does not constitute a review.
Like (3)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
04 July 2012
Evidently your spellchecker has a bug too, because software is one word, not two, and it's freeware, not freewares. You better contact Apple (or is it Apples?) and let them know they made "buggy soft ware," then they can release an update. Oh, I forgot, you don't believe in updates, do you? If it isn't perfect out of the box you won't buy it. Guess you'll just have to keep spel ling likes htis than.
Like
info-803
14 February 2010
It's easy to use, it's free and it is stable. What can you ask more for? Good job developer!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.4
Jobauma
24 October 2009
I noticed the app doesn't support characters like Ê, ¯, Â, ≈, Û and È. It is such characters I'm trying to replace. Hope it will be supported soon. ;D
Like
Version 1.5
3 answer(s)
Bs0d
Bs0d
24 October 2009
Hello JOBAUMA, I haven't had that complaint before, but I'll see what I can do about it. Note that characters such as "&", "
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
Bs0d
Bs0d
24 October 2009
slashes, etc... are currently supported (talking about the content replacement, right?). As for other encodings and special characters I have some work to do, maybe in a future release. Best regards
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
Jobauma
Jobauma
25 October 2009
>> talking about the content replacement, right? Yeah, I forgot to mention that. ;) >> As for other encodings and special characters I have some work to do, maybe in a future release. Sounds good! Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Matt21
03 September 2009
"Dropped support for 10.4." Well no contribution from me then. -- OSX 4.11 and loving it :)
Like (2)
Version 1.4b1
1 answer(s)
Bs0d
Bs0d
03 September 2009
Hello, It might still work under 10.4 but I don't have any way to test it (it's the only reason why I "dropped support for Tiger"). Give it a try anyway, it would be nice to see if it works...
Like (3)
Version 1.4b1
Loony
16 June 2009
I truly trust this developer. Search&Replace is very stable, and it works as announced and quickly. I decided to finally rename 2500 of my pictures last week and tried it on my website's files: I replaced both content & file extensions and updated internal links (over 12,000 php, html, po and mo files). Now everything works perfectly and it only took me a few minutes. Thank you for your work!
Like (4)
Version 1.3
Anonymous
11 June 2009
Hello all, I'm waiting for more comments, feedback and suggestions to update the application... Please do not hesitate to contact me and let me know what you would like to see in S&R!
Like (2)
Version 1.3
Altab
10 February 2009
so simple, i love it and it free too
Like (3)
Version 1.2.4
Mr-abc
15 January 2009
I will definitely be looking out for this one. I've been trying out renaming software and none of the ones I found worked with content, that's a great feature. I did notice that the updates are frequent and clearly the application is evolving fast. This last version is really not bad, it's got support for all the files that I work with. I especially like the statistics option.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Bs0d
Bs0d
23 February 2009
Hello, Glad it helps. There should be more features to come, but I lack time. I think the next update should be a major one, so it will be a little while, and I'm still thinking about the most important features I'd like to implement. Don't hesitate to comment here and leave suggestions!
Like (2)
Version 1.2.5
Phaleron
14 January 2009
Getting error: sh: line 1: xattr: command not found (127)
Like
Version 1.2.3
3 answer(s)
Bs0d
Bs0d
14 January 2009
Known bug, no solution yet. I bet you're using a 10.4 PPC Mac I'm still looking into that ...
Like
Version 1.2.3
Bs0d
Bs0d
15 January 2009
Could you please give me more details on the error? What does the console say? What is your computer configuration (Proc, Architecture, OS Version...) ? The more detail you give, the faster I can fix this recurring problem. It pains me to know that some people are still getting errors and that there is nothing I can do about it...
Like (3)
Version 1.2.3
Phaleron
Phaleron
15 January 2009
I am not sure if this will be entered as a new comment, or under my previous one, as indented. In response to the developer: I would like to help any way I can by submitting the details you ask. Email me with details.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Phoenx
12 January 2009
I have just found what I've been looking for for a looong time! Runs like a charm on my Intel 10.5! What I love the most about Search&Replace is its ease of use: it takes one second to get familiar with the interface. You don't bother with a configuration panel or anything, everything is right THERE. It is powerful and it does the job in no time, which is all I ask for. Needless to say, the fact that it is free makes it even more attractive. In short, thank you for this !
Like (3)
Version 1.2.2
Bs0d
09 January 2009
Guys, I haven't changed the build settings for the app before releasing version 1.2 or 1.2.1 I guess the source of the problem is PPC compatibility: I have no solution for that (that I know of). Please E-mail me and I'll send you different versions of the app just for you guys, with other build settings and we'll see if it works. 4 your 411, I haven't had any complaints about the app not launching this time, except for you guys who run PPC-based Macs (I guess that's a good start).
Like (3)
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Bidule
Bidule
10 January 2009
Yes, as I said, it launches on Intel 10.4.11 but hangs too. So why announce Platform:PPC/Intel and REQUIREMENTS Mac OS X 10.4 or later ?
Like
Version 1.2.2
Bs0d
Bs0d
10 January 2009
Seriously ? ...because it works perfectly for everyone but you! I think the comments on this page blatently suggest that I struggle to make this accessible to as many people as possible. So I'm sorry dude, I was nice enough to offer you to email me so I could make you a specific build and you never did (find ONE developer ready to do that...especially for a FREE application). I'm trying as hard as I can to find a solution for you, but you're not helping by criticizing my hard work and giving no precise feedback. For example, you could email me what the console tells you, make a sample of the app from the Activity Monitor... that kind of thing?
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Bidule
09 January 2009
I guess it's Leopard only : tried both on PPC 10.4.10, doesn't launches and Intel 10.4.11, hangs. Perhaps, you could change the Requirements announce to "10.5 Intel only" ?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Tubo
09 January 2009
Since 1.2 (?), on PPC and 10.5.6, the application is marked as Intel Only - (start impossible). Could you build a universal binary version again? Thanx
Like
Version 1.2.1
Trance
01 January 2009
any possibility of support for .pages? thanks
Like
Version 1.1
6 answer(s)
Bs0d
Bs0d
01 January 2009
You mean documents from iWorks? I'll look into that for the next version... what the iWorks formats ?
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Trance
Trance
03 January 2009
I don't know the format, but here is a pages document you can check, thanks http://www.sendmefile.com/00664884
Like
Version 1.1
Bs0d
Bs0d
05 January 2009
Done, buddy. It should work with .pages files in version 1.2, but if it doesnt please let me know...
Like
Version 1.2
Trance
Trance
05 January 2009
Thanks, but it doesn't work ....I get an applescript error (-1409) and then the app hangs.
Like
Version 1.2
Bs0d
Bs0d
05 January 2009
OK, please email me details about the error. What's the context, how many files, what type of files, what tab are you using ? I can't fix a bug if I don't know anything about it ...
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Trance
Trance
05 January 2009
any folder with any number of .pages documents inside will cause the error and hang, requiring force quit, I have attached a sample that you can check if you can get any information from it, otherwise there is no other hang or crash log that I can find http://ultrashare.net/hosting/fl/115c47c3cf/Sample_of_Search&Replace.txt
Like
Version 1.2
Bidule
01 January 2009
Sorry, but I still have "sh: line 1: xattr: command not found (127)" and then can't quit without forcing (v.1.1 on PPC 10.4.10).
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Bs0d
Bs0d
01 January 2009
Right, I use a command line to unquarantine the files and make sure they DO get processed. You know that message you get when you download a .dmg from the net ("blah blah was downloaded blah blah - are you sure you want to open?") Well it can keep some files from being processed, a problem that I had at first... So I'm guessing taht command line isn't valid on PPC? Sorry, I'm not sure what I could do for you here...
Like
Version 1.1
Bs0d
31 December 2008
A new version with quite a few bug corrections is on the way... I've also added features to make the app more practical for the user (modified the interface a bit). Please be patient ;)
Like
Version 1.0.1
Bidule
31 December 2008
Now, it launches on PPC 10.4.10 but after clicking on "Go", I get an "Applescript error" : "sh: line 1: xattr: command not found (127)" and I have to "force quit".
Like
Version 1.0.1
Bs0d
30 December 2008
My bad, I probably didnt choose the right options for the build. Give me a while and I'll recompile it so that it works on PPC...
Like (1)
Version 1.0
8 answer(s)
Deerskin
Deerskin
30 December 2008
I tried it on an Intel 10.4.11 it doesn't launch on that either. I hope your fix works for that also. This looks like an app I would like. Thanks for your efforts.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Bs0d
Bs0d
30 December 2008
Apparently it just doesnt support 10.4 then? I just messed around with the build settings and recompiled it: could you re-download it and tell me if it works now? I have no idea what went wrong, Xslimmer tells me it is actually a universal binary and includes 4 architectures...
Like
Version 1.0
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
30 December 2008
Just now tried latest version (408 KB) and on my MBP C2D (Intel) running 10.4.11, the app would not launch, sorry...
Like
Version 1.0
Deerskin
Deerskin
30 December 2008
Same results as MACUPDATE ADMIN on my Macbook 10.4.11. It bounces in the Dock for just a second and quits, as if it were a 10.5 only app. Please keep on trying, this app looks good.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Bs0d
Bs0d
30 December 2008
Of course I'll keep trying, I want to make this accessible to as many people as possible. I'm currently inspecting my build configuration. I will be sure to let you guys know when it's ready. Cheers for your comments ;)
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Bs0d
Bs0d
30 December 2008
Can one of you guys email me at search.replace[at]gmail.com so I can send them the app to try? I have no way of testing it under 10.4 which makes everything much more tedious and complicated !
Like
Version 1.0
Bs0d
Bs0d
30 December 2008
Alright, the newly compiled version is online ... I don't know if it is any better, but i've had feedback that it runs on 10.4 now. Let me know, please...
Like
Version 1.0
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
30 December 2008
This developer worked hard to make a version that would launch on my MacBook Pro C2D running 10.4.11. Very nice! Thank you and Happy New Year!
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Bidule
30 December 2008
Tried on PPC 10.4.10 : it doesn't launch.
Like
Version 1.0