Back to FlexCal page
FlexCal free download for Mac

FlexCal Reviews

1.16
08 October 2010

Get to-dos into your calendar/mail to-do list quickly (was FlexTD).

Pinkskittles
09 February 2009

Most helpful

i really didn't like this widget. quickcal is much better, though not perfect, still a much bigger improvement. this widget makes inputting information in iCal just as tedious. whether you go through the long steps in iCal or in a widget, you're still doing it. this isn't a shortcut.
Like (2)
Version 1.10

Read 17 FlexCal User Reviews

Rate this app:

Penguirl
24 October 2013
The only request I have would be the ability to set more than one alarm for any event like Apple's Calendar does. I like an alarm 1-3 days ahead AND an alarm an hour or two before the event. Other than that it is very convenient.
Like
Version 1.16
Neil420
30 June 2011
It is fast, stable, easy to use, and it does what it says. On my PPC and even Core2Duo Macs, iCal was horribly slow. It isn't so bad on my Core i5, but FlexCal still streamlines the entry of new events and to dos.
Like (1)
Version 1.16
Nmege
16 June 2011
Great app. The download link is down though, and the right one is
Like
Version 1.16
1 answer(s)
Nmege
Nmege
16 June 2011
Macupdate killed the link. New try: http://flexgames.com/downloadflexcal.php
Like
Randy-Crawford
19 October 2010
This is an incredibly helpful tool. It is fast and always handy. I can enter tasks/events before my mind moves on to the next issue. It integrated perfectly. I'm donating!
Like (2)
Version 1.16
OliverTerrier
02 October 2010
This is great. I like the interface about 1000% better than the transparent black. Works well and nicely designed, and it's free! Thanks!!
Like (1)
Version 1.15
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
09 September 2010
One year later after my first post and still no advice on how to make FlexCal start running without me manually having to open open the pref pane and clicking run. The pane loads ok, but just doesn't run between restarts.
Like
Version 1.14
Cocoanut
20 April 2010
I like it and it works well but there is one thing I really dislike: the transparent black interface. I've really grown to dislike this in my daily computing life in general and this program in particular. I think it's simply ugly, difficult to view and adds tons of visual pollution for which there is absolutely no advantage. The option to make the window standard gray would be a welcome addition. Otherwise it's great and works well.
Like (1)
Version 1.14
E-
12 March 2010
Very happy to see that this is now 64-bit. iCal is clumsy and sorely in need of an overhaul, but FlexCal provides a quick and graceful method for iCal entries. Tip: FlexCal 1.14 is running smoothly on Snow Leopard, but for some reason I could not double-click on the prefpane to install. Installing manually in ~/Library/PreferencePanes worked fine though.
Like (1)
Version 1.14
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
11 October 2009
FlexCal used to be a great program and very helpful. Before I installed Snow Leopard and enabled all 64-bit functions, it worked flawlessly. Now, FlexCal won't run in the background anymore unless you manually start it up by opening System Preferences, start the FlexCal preference pane twice (twice because it has to be closed and reopened), and then click on start for the magic to begin. With all these steps, it's much simpler of course just to open iCal or switch to a different utility like MenuCalendarClock. Too bad, because while FleCal worked, it was the best. I hope the developer fixes this probelem soon by making it Snow Leopard compatible and 64-bit compliant.
Like
Version 1.13
1 answer(s)
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
09 September 2010
I contacted the developer and am hoping to get some advice on how to fix this. It's pretty much useless now.
Like
Version 1.14
Fishscale
23 June 2009
Love this simple app, does everything you need unobtrusively. Keep up the great work and please never let it become more complicated, only more sophisticated. Simplicity makes it a pleasure.
Like
Version 1.13
Khatib-Hotmail
03 June 2009
excellent app .. :)) juste i sugest that you give us the ability to change between todo or tasks in the main windows (not on pref pane). Thanks to the developer.  
Like
Version 1.12
1 answer(s)
Oneblessedguy
Oneblessedguy
21 June 2009
You can. To initiate a Todo, hit the hot key you have assigned. To change it to an Event, hit the same hot key again. And there ya go. : ]
Like (1)
Version 1.13
Rangerrick337
03 April 2009
Hmmm, I agree with the last poster. I'm not sure how you can fault this little preference pane addition. It does what it claims to smoothly and unobtrusively! It is much faster than opening up iCal or even flipping to Mail and clicking on the "new to-do" or "note" buttons. I love that you can hit your designated hot-key twice to toggle between adding a new to-do or a new event. Thanks to the developer, keep up the superb work :)
Like
Version 1.10
Oneblessedguy
20 March 2009
I don't know why people would give this app a negative review! This pref pane is awesome! I use it all the time. It quickly lets me enter a todo, or event, with relative ease. Just hit F6 and type in the details! Perfect to use with Todo on my iPhone. It syncs with iCal and it gets out of the way the minute you add something. Very stable! I don't even notice it is running until I need it. It has NEVER crashed on me either. I also use this with the DoBeDo widget to manage my todo list on my Mac. The workflow is seamless. Thanks for making it FREE!!!
Like (2)
Version 1.10
Pinkskittles
09 February 2009
i really didn't like this widget. quickcal is much better, though not perfect, still a much bigger improvement. this widget makes inputting information in iCal just as tedious. whether you go through the long steps in iCal or in a widget, you're still doing it. this isn't a shortcut.
Like (2)
Version 1.10
Bulldog09
02 October 2008
Seems really buggy. I have an iMAc with OSX 10.5.5 running on it and this app, unfortunately, just doesn't work for me. I can not get a To-Do screen to come up, usually, only Events. When the To-Do does come up, it is very small and unreadable. It's really frustrating because it seems like exactly the useful kind of application that I've been looking for. Oh, well. I will keep an eye out for n update. Maybe a later release will fly for me. At least I'm hoping so.
Like
Version 1.07
1 answer(s)
Tornad02000
Tornad02000
04 October 2008
Please make sure that you are using 1.07. The 1.06 had the bug that was mentioned where the to-do window was not displayed correctly and was fixed in 1.07. If you're still seeing it in 1.07, please let us know at our site or by sending us feedback [at] flexgames dot com.
Like
Version 1.07
Oneblessedguy
11 September 2008
I like the quick add benefit of this app. Especially that it does both Events and To-dos. I've noticed that when you create a new to-do it remembers what category you were last in. This is great! However, it also remembers that category when you key twice to Event. I was wondering if it would be possible for it to remember two different settings so that the to do category would remember Work (for example) and the Event would remember Home (e.g.). Then I would always be able to quickly enter my preferred category for todos and my preferred category for events. One more addendum, is there a way to add relative date? It would be nice to be able to enter in today, tomorrow, next week, etc. Very nice app though! Thanks!
Like
Version 1.03.1
Wayne-Welsh
10 September 2008
I am unable to find a list of calendar or mail programs which would be compatible with this application either on MacUpDate or on the apps homepage.
Like
Version 1.03.1
1 answer(s)
Tornad02000
Tornad02000
04 October 2008
To the other person wondering what calendar this is compatible with, it is intended to be used with iCal.
Like
Version 1.07