Back to Today page
Today free download for Mac

Today Reviews

2.5.2
25 October 2011

Task manager shares iCal data engine.

Steven-Goodheart
15 October 2009

Most helpful

This is a great "front end" for iCal, or my preferred calendar program, BusyCal (think of BusyCal as iCal Pro..one of my best software purchases this year.) I can invoke Today from the menubar or with a global hot key -- and quickly see what's up and also add Events or Tasks, with priorities, alarms, and due dates on the fly. Also will do a nifty printout of your day's taks and events. Simplicity itself and great functionality -- highly recommended.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.1

Read 22 Today User Reviews

Rate this app:

anonymous-heron-1581
13 February 2012
I wish I could give Today a better review. It used to work reliably, although lacking features and capabilities that would have made it much more useful. I purchased this version (the third time I've purchased Today) since the developer said that the App Store version was the route to future update. But what I've received is a version less functional than the previous version - 2.9 won't update reliably and frequently has to be quit and relaunched to get it to update at all - much less a version with new features. The developer appears to be much more interested in his iOS app. That's fine if that's the interest or what's making the money, but when you urge people to purchase yet again, at least have the courtesy to fix the bugs before you abandon development of the app. I can give this only a lukewarm rating. It's useful, but it often irritating. If you like menubar utilities, there are others that are better value for the money.
Like (1)
Version 2.9
1 answer(s)
anonymous-heron-1581
anonymous-heron-1581
16 May 2012
Developer has now apparently admitted that he is not working on any updates to Today, though said admission has been made only in a web interview on another site. Really poor customer support; he's well within his rights to move on to other things, but if he's stopped development and won't even update to fix the bugs, he should say so publicly and pull the application from sale.
Like
45caliber
14 December 2011
I want to like this application because it reminds me of a similar feature I miss from Entourage 2004. I'm afraid it's fallen behind in this category, however, alongside apps such as QuickCal that do more for less. For as long as it's been around, there's still little you can do to customize the display of events or tasks besides sorting. For example, it would be nice if you could have events that have passed drop off the list or dim or something. It would also be nice if you could display the name of the calendar (either inline or as a grouping). Though the colors make a visual distinction, they don't indicate context (like @work, @home, @computer, etc.). Also, I would like to see a better method for getting it out of your way most of the time. It does have a menubar toggle to make it disappear, but I would prefer to have it autohide from a side of the screen, like (the unrelated application) Adium.
Like (1)
Version 2.9
Drdul
11 November 2011
Crud! The new Lion-only version comes with a dock icon that I can't get rid of.
Like (1)
Version 2.9
Parkerbennett
25 October 2011
I really like Today — and the developer is a first-rate human being — but I'm stuck on machines that can't upgrade to Lion so I'll have to rely on Fantastical now. I'm afraid I'm going to see more and more software going Lion only because I'm guessing there's no easy way for developers to add new Lion features and keep it backwards-compatible.
Like
Version 2.9
Bigboysdad
23 October 2011
Although not identical products, I think a lot of people will be comparing Today with Fantastical. Sure, Today does what it does and does it effectively (including providing a list of To-Do's from the Menu Bar, which is more than you can say with Fantastical), but I think the devs are going to have to either radically overhaul the product or significantly reduce the price to beneath that charged by Fantastical, if Today is going to continue to prosper.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Dtruett1
08 August 2011
Early this year I paid for the upgrade to v.2. This was based on their trumpeting BusyCal integration. On March 18, I notified them that this was not working unless iCal was open. Three days later I got a reply, "Hi Don. I've just found out there is a known (now) bug regarding the recent build and BusyCalc {SIC}. We're working hard to fix it right now." On April 18, another reply, "There is one in the works, I don't have an ETA on its release yet." Soon I realized that this was due to Apple's switch to CalDAV, meaning iCal has to be open to sync with BusyCal. On June 18 I asked for a refund of the upgrade price based on the above and the fact that BusyCal support is STILL prominently displayed on the site (any calendaring app will have to have iCal open) and that based on the promise of a fix I have been waiting for 2 months for a fix. The response was that they are unable to process a refund 60 days after purchase, as they use Fastspring. If they hadn't told me there was a known bug (which there really isn't) and promised to fix it, I would have been able to get a refund at that time. It's not the lousy $15 or whatever I spent. It's the fact that Second Gear was not truthful in their Emails or on their website and strung me along until it was too late.
Like (3)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
18 August 2011
This is an important matter to consider. I too use Busycal instead of iCal and am dependant on tasks/ to dos syncing. As this can't currently happen directly between Busycal and Today, I can't really use Today either.
Like
Evaluator
04 August 2011
Why would anyone just want to see a day? The whole point of iCal is to zoom from month view, to week view, to day view. Seeing a day at a time defeats the whole point.
Like
Version 2.5
gcoghill
01 October 2010
The original comment was that it was "much better and easier to use". That is what I disagreed with. Saying it suits your needs betternis another thing entirely. Both can exist for those who needs the features offered by each. No reason to say one is better than the other, they fill different niches.
Like
Version 2.5
OliverTerrier
16 June 2010
There is really only one thing missing: iPhone application. Can't imagine why the developer hasn't shown an interest in doing this... it fills such a gaping need and all the other solutions are either overkill (omnifocus) or poorly implemented, all others.
Like (4)
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
30 August 2010
The developer has made iphone apps, just not one for "today." Because today syncs with your calendar app, whether it be ical or busycal there is no real need for a today application for the iphone imo. I'm sure many others will find many reasons why they want an iphone app but truthfully because it syncs automatically with your calendar app and your calendar syncs with your iphone's calendar system you can see all entries when you connect your iphone and the iphone OS has the ability to add tasks and events to your calendar when you sync everything should all be in your calendar. I believe that is why the dev has not gone out and thought about an iphone app for an application that is made to be on your desktop, Today. The goal of today is to have quick access via menubar or hotkey to enter tasks and events w/o having to open your calendar application on desktop and enter the info. It is just a quick way of entering tasks/events and showing those that are coming soon. The iphone has these features and it would be more work to have a separate application named Today on your iphone to enter info you could have entered just by opening the calendar app in your iphone. I know it seems like going in circles but your desktop is cluttered and can multi-task, your iphone really can't unless altered... hope this makes some sense. I have no idea what the developer's reason is for not making an iphone app but this is my explanation of why I don't see one necessary.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Macbliss
13 March 2010
Would strongly consider buying this if it had three things: Ability to hide events, just like you can hide tasks (so you can see only tasks). Ability to hide overdue tasks. Sometimes you only want to see what is on today's agenda, not yesterday's, etc. Keeps the list from getting too long, too fast. Built in search.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Dtruett1
Dtruett1
03 June 2010
Agree with you on hiding events. I'd use it if I could set it to just show my To Dos.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.1
Gazman
02 February 2010
I own a licence to version 1 of Today but have stopped using iCal for my todo's since I got my iPhone (I still have trouble believing that my iPhone can't sync my todo's when my old iPod and old phone can). If Today was released for the iPhone I would snap it up in a sec and upgrade to version 2.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
Abelle
06 January 2010
Very well this new version 2, thank you
Like
Version 2.0
Fanchee
06 January 2010
I love this and have been using it for a couple of months now. It's a front end to BusyCal for me, and allows me very quickly to see my day/tasks without having to open the calendar. I can quickly add events/tasks and it appears instantly in BusyCal (and vice versa.) I can print my day/tasks directly without having to open my calendar It's been extremely stable, zero crashes or issues. I have tested its effectiveness with Things, and it syncs immediately, no matter if the task is entered from Things (syncs immediately to Today) or the task is entered in Today (then syncs immediately with Things.) I like having access to it in my menubar, and it uses precious little system resources. I use it to very quickly see my events and tasks for the day without having to open BusyCal and Things. Is it necessary for me? Most definitely not. But it's so convenient and saves a few clicks every morning when I just want to view an outline of my day. Very well done, and I would recommend this product!
Like (4)
Version 2.0
Abelle
13 November 2009
I bought " Today " to replace " Things ". " Today " is much better and more convenient to use, thank you.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.2
2 answer(s)
gcoghill
gcoghill
06 January 2010
I disagree, there's no way simple iCal to-do items can replace scheduled projects/tasks, the ability to have a project with nested tasks, a today, Next & Someday list, etc. Today looks nice for simple to-do lists, but is nowhere near powerful enough to replace an app like Things is you need/use the power features of Things. I think they are two different apps for two different types of users.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
Px9-855
Px9-855
01 October 2010
More features isn't better if they're features you don't need. I find Things is too much for a simple list and too light for heavy use. The solution that's best for you is the solution you end up using - happily. Period. Today is better. To me and as it seems, to Abelle as well.
Like
Version 2.5
Steven-Goodheart
15 October 2009
This is a great "front end" for iCal, or my preferred calendar program, BusyCal (think of BusyCal as iCal Pro..one of my best software purchases this year.) I can invoke Today from the menubar or with a global hot key -- and quickly see what's up and also add Events or Tasks, with priorities, alarms, and due dates on the fly. Also will do a nifty printout of your day's taks and events. Simplicity itself and great functionality -- highly recommended.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.1
Frankns
27 February 2009
I may be missing something obvious, but date entry feels clumsy to me. Sure, natural language input is great, but I found myself correcting almost each entry I made in the first day or two of use, and the process was actually SLOWER than iCal's standard entry method. For example: Enter "Today 10 p" and you get a mixed response: Today's date, 10:00 am. Cool, except it's *am.* On Friday, enter "Saturday 2 p" and you get the second day of the month (e.g. Monday, Feb 2 for me now) and 12:00 pm. Ugh
Like (1)
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
Justin-Williams
Justin-Williams
24 March 2009
Hi, I invite you to try Today 1.7. We decided to remove natural date entry and return to a traditional iCal-style date picker because it was far too confusing for too many people.
Like (4)
Version 1.6.1
Macbliss
29 July 2008
Watching this one develop. Sounds like some nice updatess. But, unfortunately not open for testing to unregistered users. May want to consider enabling new demo for each semi-major update. If you can't try -- it's hard to buy. Just some food for thought.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Justin-Williams
Justin-Williams
18 November 2008
Version 1.5 has a reset trial period.
Like
Version 1.5
Rpphoto
13 July 2008
I like this calendar viewer, and use it on a regular basis now. Two things I would really like are the ability to rearrange items, and an easier/faster way to toggle between calendars so the view isn't so crowded if you, like me, have lots of calendars.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Peedeebee
10 July 2008
There was a Yahoo Widget that did the same thing, but it doesn't work with Leopard. It would show items for today AND tomorrow, which was great. The Today developer says they're working on this feature, which MIGHT make it worth the $.
Like
Version 1.2.1
thec13
15 May 2008
Good stuff. I bought this and received three coupon codes. Enjoy: - 10% Off Coupon Code: TY0QON3P - 10% Off Coupon Code: KVTF6ZKV - 10% Off Coupon Code: ZOEKZGR0
Like
Version 1.1
Jerrodho
29 April 2008
Nice start... but before I buy this as an upgrade to Anxiety (which I donated to, but which after a nice launch has been at a complete standstill), there are a few things I'd like to see. A few fairly minor suggestions: 1- Better contrast on displayed text for calendar and to-do items. I like how Today dynamically tries to find appealing text colors for each item background color, but I find its decisions to be too low-contrast for an application designed for quick glances. As it is, it's very zen, but my eyes hurt trying to read it. 2- Ability to control which calendars are shown (give me a list of my calendars -- local and subscribed -- in Today's preferences and let me check/uncheck them individually). 3- Ability to see tasks due "X days in the future" (and highlight them further as a due date approaches). 4- Ability to sort tasks by priority, due date, or some combination thereof. 5- A redesigned calendar/task entry panel that facilitates very fast entry. For example, keyboard navigation doesn't work now, as you can't tab to the Calendar pull-down menu, and picking start/stop datetimes isn't as quick as it could be with big popup calendars. For now, I've been leaving iCal open on a second monitor (or on another Space), but with these improvements, Today could be a more powerful, concise way to keep an eye on things.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Wzrdjr
23 April 2008
I've only spend a few hours with this so far, but I really like it. I wish you could turn off certain calendars though.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Justin-Williams
Justin-Williams
12 May 2008
We added the ability to filter calendars in Today 1.1.
Like
Version 1.1