Back to Rivet page
Rivet free download for Mac

Rivet Reviews

2.8.0
02 February 2011

Store, browse, display and manage your media files on Xbox 360 and PS3.

Takn
24 February 2009

Most helpful

Back to Connect360 I go.... Sorry Rivet I originally switched from Connect360 to Rivet a few months ago. This was mainly due to stagnant development & non responsive support for Connect360. Rivet also had a few neat features such as auto media updating, and better file organization, both of which appealed to me. Unfortunately, over the past few months I have become annoyed with the need to constantly restart Rivet in order for it to function properly (both with the 1.x and 2.x versions). This can be caused by: 1. Moving between wireless networks. Once I reconnect to my home network, the Xbox won't detect my MBP until Rivet is restarted. 2. Sleeping. Once the MBP has been woken up in the morning, Rivet must again be restarted. 3. Occasionally, Rivet also stops working when new movies are added to one of my shared folders. This I can't explain. It has come to a point where 50% of the time when I want to use Rivet, it needs to be restarted before anything will work properly. Although Connect360 lacks a few features, it is ROCK SOLID on the network side. As long as the MacBook Pro is turned on and connected to my wireless network, it always works! No fiddling required. If you have a desktop computer, definitely get Rivet. But when it comes to a laptop and network connectivity, Connect360 just can't be beat. P.S. - This review was censored on the Cynical Peak forums.
Like (5)
Version 2.0

Read 17 Rivet User Reviews

Rate this app:

digi-apper
10 May 2012
iv got to say that rivet is a hell of a lot better than connect360, for one you get to see the artwork for your dvds and cps on your xbox and best of all rivet is FRRE! CHECK HERE http://digi-apper.blogspot.co.uk/
Like
Version 2.8.0
FunkyFaulc
24 April 2012
Rivet is now Free and works like a charm for streaming to PS3. Playback has a nice interface, and can convert MKVs to mp4, but if you already have your files in the right format and want to stream to a PS3, you only need select the folder where you are storing them and start Rivet. They'll show up on the PS3 and all is well.
Like
Version 2.8.0
Timta2
28 September 2011
According to the developer's news page this application is no longer in development. Rather disappointing considering I really like it.
Like
Version 2.7.1
2 answer(s)
Timta2
Timta2
28 September 2011
And in addition the last version is actually 2.8.0 and downloadable at the link above.
Like
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
28 September 2011
Thanks for pointing this out. I've updated our listing to reflect 2.8.0 as the last version, and noted that development has seized.
Like (1)
hermans
26 September 2011
great with xbox360 and iMac
Like
Version 2.7.1
Atalantia
17 July 2011
This app does not work at all on my iMac 2.66Mhz It shows the green light for a moment and then switches to gray.
Like
Version 2.7.1
Y-Guy
13 September 2010
FYI to all AirPort Extreme & Time Capsule Users, this app no longer works with the Apple hardware. When Apple upgraded the firmware on the AirPort Extreme and Time Capsule it not long functions. You will have to downgrade your firmware to 7.3.2. Sadly the comments from TLAF just point the finger at Apple, with no other solutions.
Like
Version 2.6.2
Blueillusion
01 May 2010
I cant ever watch a whole movie or series episode without xbox360 throwing an error saying format is not supported, then i click resume and it starts playing again. Normally on a 40min episode it happens twice.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.0
YEEZUS
01 May 2010
Awesome update. When does the iTunes app come out?
Like (2)
Version 2.5.0
Trondah
06 January 2010
This is a crappy update considering what Playback/Medialink is doing...
Like (5)
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Joshk
Joshk
10 July 2010
I've used Connect360, Rivet, and Playback, and Playback is, without question, far superior to any of the other offerings. You must be getting downranked by the developer.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.10
Castle
20 August 2009
Loved Rivet, paid for it and it worked a treat with my router setup. Now I'm trying to get Rivet to work with my Xbox via sharing my Mac's internet with it. No dice. According to the Rivet forums this isn't possible with Rivet. But it is with Connect 360. Wasted $20. Well, I did use Rivet for a month or so, so not totally wasted, but if you want to share your Mac's internet with your Xbox you'll want Connect 360, not Rivet.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
2 answer(s)
Revco
Revco
26 August 2009
Try this: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/31698/playback
Like (3)
Version 2.2.1
Joshk
Joshk
10 July 2010
Sorry but Connect360 is terrible. It hasn't been updated in years. I trashed it for playback.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.10
Takn
24 February 2009
Back to Connect360 I go.... Sorry Rivet I originally switched from Connect360 to Rivet a few months ago. This was mainly due to stagnant development & non responsive support for Connect360. Rivet also had a few neat features such as auto media updating, and better file organization, both of which appealed to me. Unfortunately, over the past few months I have become annoyed with the need to constantly restart Rivet in order for it to function properly (both with the 1.x and 2.x versions). This can be caused by: 1. Moving between wireless networks. Once I reconnect to my home network, the Xbox won't detect my MBP until Rivet is restarted. 2. Sleeping. Once the MBP has been woken up in the morning, Rivet must again be restarted. 3. Occasionally, Rivet also stops working when new movies are added to one of my shared folders. This I can't explain. It has come to a point where 50% of the time when I want to use Rivet, it needs to be restarted before anything will work properly. Although Connect360 lacks a few features, it is ROCK SOLID on the network side. As long as the MacBook Pro is turned on and connected to my wireless network, it always works! No fiddling required. If you have a desktop computer, definitely get Rivet. But when it comes to a laptop and network connectivity, Connect360 just can't be beat. P.S. - This review was censored on the Cynical Peak forums.
Like (5)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Cynomyso
Cynomyso
22 July 2009
I agree with this. If it worked reliably, I would prefer Rivet. I prefer the way that it presents data on the XBox, requiring less digging through long lists to find the content I'm after. I have also gone back to Connect360 however because I'm simply tired of running upstairs to restart it everytime a piece of content won't load on the TV. It has just gotten to where it doesn't work more often than it does whereas Connect360 works fine. I should note that my situation sounds similar to the other commenter in that my network situation changes a lot. Everything is hosted/served from my laptop that changes network environments many times a day. If you have a server that never moves in your house, your experience may be far better.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Zaph47
23 January 2009
This app does exactly as described and works great. Rivet does a much better job than the rarely updated Connect360 managing your media as you have it setup without the user accommodating the app. Though 2.0 wasn't a major update for XBOX360 users, it's still a sigh of relief to see the developers are actually continuously working on it...A+
Like (3)
Version 2.0
Blafusel
13 September 2008
This is a great app. It does exactly what I was looking for. Recommended over Connect 360.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Tournesol
19 August 2008
Works great! To bad Xbox 360 wont recognize any video formats at all.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Revco
24 April 2008
Why is Rivet's interface identical to Connect360? Did you have anything to do with Connect360?
Like
Version 1.0.1
Jobby
22 April 2008
Looks good, but a couple of nits: If you have a load of playlists in iTunes, and you're trying to share just a couple, you *really* could do with a "deselect all" button in the Music tab :) I see "share photos from iPhoto"... but where's "share photos from Aperture"? I don't want to have to export all my photos just so my 360 can see them (one copy of each is quite enough to have lying around)
Like
Version 1.0.1
Xpander
16 April 2008
I got in on the beta for this app and it totally demolishes the competition (Connect360). It allows you to share multiple folders, and I'm not plagued by Connect360 pegging both my cpu's for no reason. If you are considering connect360, do yourself a favor and get this instead. Great app.
Like (1)
Version 1.0