Back to JungleDiskMonitor page
JungleDiskMonitor free download for Mac

JungleDiskMonitor Reviews

3.1.6
25 May 2011

Store files, backup data to Amazon.com S3 service.

Lee123
12 March 2009

Most helpful

I wonder why people just do not use MobileMe (used to be mac.com). It already has all these tools and does a whole bunch more stuff. You can create web pages and get to your whole computer contents from anywhere. Email is also in there. So what is the deal with S3? Is this service free? Even if it is MobileMe is only $100 a year and you get more.
Like (3)
Version 2.60a

Read 23 JungleDiskMonitor User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sampler
13 August 2015
I'm updating my previous comment. .For the last few yearss, JD has operated flawlessly. I recently had two questions for Tech Support-neither was about a JD bug, and I got nearly immediate responses. I'm still omitting a star for the frustrating restore window, but, in fact, I find it faster to use in practice than that in Arq, 4 another excellent backup client, which I also recommend.
Like
Version 3.1.6
Sampler
27 June 2011
I use the USB desktop version which has no background processes and backup my most critical files every 15 minutes. This has saved me many times.JD service is fine and I've never had an insoluble problem, and tech support has been helpful. But the web and in-app Restore Windows are primitive, compared to, say, Mozy. The in-app restore window closes after a download. Meaning, that to download another file you must navigate than entire JD file system again. I complained over a year ago.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.6
Bigboysdad
16 April 2011
I eventually closed my Jungledisk account as I found that using Arq for backups and Transmit 4 for storage was an even better way of utilising S3. Also, the fact that you can't access data uploaded through Jungledisk from any other app than Jungledisk somehow felt a bit restrictive considering the virtually unlimited space available on the S3 servers. Now I can access my data, which is easily encrypted, from anywhere. This is not to slate this software - whilst it didn't suit my particular needs, its still great product and miles better than iDisk. However, one thing to watch out for which could potentially cause immense grief (and the main reason for me posting this review) is the Jungledisk cancellation procedure. Be very very careful, if cancelling Jungledisk, not to cancel your entire S3 account as the procedure makes it very easy to do this.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.5
GNews
06 April 2011
I've used this over a year with only problem, quickly solved by the Support staff. (Lesson: Clear caches, or the apparent contents of the Network Disk might not match what is actually in the Cloud.) I have one gripe. The Restore Files window closes after each download, making it necessary to re-open the window and re-navigate the file system if you want to download some more.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.5
Cerebrl
02 April 2011
I hate to say this because I had high hopes for JungleDisk, but it did not fit my needs. Disclosure: I was using ChronoSync for the actual syncing as I found the native JungleDisk app just too awkward, so this is more a review of the service. I found the service a little unreliable, and it had too many disconnects during the syncing. This meant I had to babysit the process, and it ended up being not worth the effort. I now just use Dreamhost's backup service with ChronoSync since I use them for my web host and have a lot less problems.
Like
Version 3.1.5
Bigboysdad
26 January 2011
C'mon, it IS a good product for the storage/backup/ uploading and downloading of data/ disk usage, its hard not to recommend this to the average user. We're not talking iDisk here or some other sub standard product.
Like (1)
Version 3.06
Mam1977
08 September 2010
Do not install Jungle Disk on your computer. It leaves a lot of junk behind that it impossible to remove. The little icons on your folders are impossible to remove. I've made several attempts to get this issue resolved with tech support but no one has been able to resolve the problem. This is junk. I can't believe Jungle Disk has this poor of customer service and technical support. I repeat. Save yourself a lot of headaches and do not install their junk software.
Like (1)
Version 3.06
Cerebrl
19 June 2010
Just wanted to provide a little feedback for JungleDisk. I just started using it, so I am not going to rate it yet. After I installed the program, I ran into a problem, so I sent them a support ticket. They replied within 24 hours and helped me out. So far, so good! I am backing up 5GB to test it out as I write this. I will rate this once I have spent enough time with it. Talk to you then! [Cerebrl]
Like (1)
Version 3.06
Atpase33
13 May 2010
Update. After several days of hearing nothing from Jungle Disk, I was contacted by one of their techs who explained that they have been busy and that is why I hadn't heard from them. In any event, we have resumed our emails trying to get the sync folders option to work. I don't know why we can't seem to get it all on one try, but I will give them credit for continuing to work with me, albeit sometimes after a little lag. I will report back once I either get it to work the way I want it, or just give up.
Like (1)
Version 3.06
Atpase33
12 May 2010
Be wary of this software. I have used Jungle Disk to back up my office computer and my home computer for more than one year, and it works fine. Recently, however, I decided to use their Sync Folders option to synchronize files between the two computers. For about a month I have been going back and forth with Jungle Disk people with no success. At first they replied to my emails for advice (they have no telephone support), but when I cut and pasted comments from different emails into one that expressed frustration that the information I had received was inconsistent and contradictory, they simply stopped responding to me. I am not a naive computer user. I have a Ph.D. in Biophysics and I run a research lab in which we have about a dozen computers. It would be very nice to be able to access data files generated on any computer from my office or from another lab computer, which is why I decided to try this product. Needless to say, I do not recommend it, and I am very disappointed in the poor product support.
Like (1)
Version 3.06
1 answer(s)
Jayhawkbabe
Jayhawkbabe
19 March 2011
Ugh. Sorry about your problems and sorry that I just read this. I am also a biophysicist who was hoping to use this to synchronize data across computers. I just started the process, so we'll see how it goes....
Like
Windrider104
30 March 2010
Before purchasing, you need to be aware of several things. First, support of any kind is via very slow email. After waiting for days, called the parent company looking for help and was told "email only" no phone numbers exist. When told of my two issues (CC was charged and can log into account, the PC install attempts verification and sez I don't have an account. The other issue is the Mac install doesn't even load right. I have carefully reviewed their "tutorials" and I'm not an idiot. - I was told "sorry, can't help you". When I asked if this was the type of help and support to expect from Rackspace or it's companies, I was basically told "too fricken bad" and there was not ANYONE at any level (support, sales, management) to talk to and to send an email. When told her that I had done that already and did not get a response and still have an open ticket - get this - she told me to send them an email asking why they weren't answering emails. Second issue - be aware that you should NOT expect either PC or Mac products to smoothly install and be ready for use. One would expect that when the CC is charged and one can download the product that it would quickly install and be ready for use right away. That is not the case as they clearly have issues. If you want to be able to use a backup product as soon as you purchase it, look at other products. It is very disappointing as the majority of reviews have been very positive. I need a backup solution today - not next month.
Like (1)
Version 3.06
Winco
22 March 2010
This is a very stable backup solution that is constantly being developed and improved. Pricing is fantastic as a affordable insurance for your valuable data. The interface is a little overwhelming for the first time user and could do with some thought on improvement though. A solid alternative to other 'cloud' backup solutions out there. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 3.06
Sampler
29 April 2009
JD combines the advantages of a sophisticated backup program (versioning, backing up only changed portions of files, multiple back up jobs) and a good Network Drive. I back up all my user files with two different backup jobs, one hourly, one daily. I also use aliases (actually Dragthing items) for fast access to those files. Of course one can just treat the drive as an ordinary network drive--copy files to it and work with files on it. Note that you can create as many drives as you need, and also backup multiple computers to a single drive. For the best features, pay for JungleDisk Plus and get web access away from your machine. Backup with JD and Amazon S3 is much faster than it is with other programs that I've tried. Even so, an initial backup might take days if you have many GB of data. Start with essential files and add on, rather than trying to backup everything at once. I think that JD lacks one feature: the possibility of restoring files by DVD or portable hard drive. Carbonite, Mozy, and BackBlaze (I believe) all offer this option. Some companies also offer the possibility that you can ship a portable drive with your initial backup on it.
Like (1)
Version 2.61
Lee123
12 March 2009
I wonder why people just do not use MobileMe (used to be mac.com). It already has all these tools and does a whole bunch more stuff. You can create web pages and get to your whole computer contents from anywhere. Email is also in there. So what is the deal with S3? Is this service free? Even if it is MobileMe is only $100 a year and you get more.
Like (3)
Version 2.60a
2 answer(s)
Blacksmith-tb
Blacksmith-tb
12 March 2009
S3 isn't free, but it's cheap: http://aws.amazon.com/s3/#pricing You do need some sort of interface to it, hence JungleDisk. JungleDisk is a one-time price, after which I believe all upgrades are free, and the license is good for OS X, Linux, and Windows versions: https://www.jungledisk.com/desktop/faq.aspx I'd say the MobileMe appears slightly less appealing as a backup solution, but it does offer other functionality (syncing mail, calendars, etc.). They're really not too similar.
Like (2)
Version 2.60a
Blacksmith-tb
Blacksmith-tb
05 December 2009
I see that since I commented, JD has been sold to Rackspace, and they've changed the license quite a bit (glad I'm grandfathered in, apparently), making it more of a subscription-based service.
Like
Version 3.02
Winco
17 October 2008
Excellent backup solution for value and ease of use especially coupled with the super affordable Amazon S3 hosting service. $20 + $1pm for JungleDiskPlus is well worth it.
Like (1)
Version 2.10a
Inik
08 May 2008
Jungle Disk is a phenomenal online backup solution. Amazon S3 is the cheapest online storage you can get, and JD makes it quick and simple to back up your files to S3. All transmissions are encrypted, so you don't have to worry about Amazon employees getting at your stuff. As a basic synced remote disk program, you can do better, but you'll pay more for storage. It does not have the simplicity of .Mac's iDisk. Of course, if you're already backing up with it, there's no reason to worry about storing a few extra files on S3. The JD Plus service is also very nice if you're backing up large files that change frequently since it permits block-level backups. (I'm looking at you, Entourage database!)
Like (1)
Version 2.0b2
vcolombo
08 May 2008
I haven't tried the 2.0 beta but I've been using Jungle Disk for a while now, on both Mac and Linux, and have to say that I've been completely satisfied. I do agree that there should be a way to get rid of the activity window. The developers should take a look at MacFusion (the MacFuse application, not VMware Fusion) for future functionality and UI inspiration. I do agree that it would be nice if directories and files created by Jungle Disk would be easily manageable with another S3 utility, but since Jungle Disk is cross platform and offers the option of a web UI I haven't had much need to manage my S3 content with anything else. Jungle Disk is not without its cons but overall I've been very satisfied.
Like (1)
Version 2.0b2
Akrobat
21 April 2008
No. The window's there and you can't remove it. I bought this rather poor app and then discovered Forklift FTP which can do the same thing, only much better and more besides. Also can't access my account and the developers don't answer mails.
Like
Version 1.50c
hced
12 March 2008
Is there any way to permanently dismiss that obtrusive Activity Monitor window at startup?
Like
Version 1.50c
schmelding
21 February 2008
Nice idea. Bad implementation. I don't like connecting through JungleDisk's servers because of the potential for security problems. The UI needs serious, serious work. IMHO, they "free" version should just be a dockless app that mounts an s3 volume like a regular disk in the Finder. Done. Call it a day. It doesn't. Rats.
Like
Version 1.50c
1 answer(s)
Adam-Preble
Adam-Preble
05 May 2008
I recently joined Jungle Disk as the resident card-carrying Mac guy and while I believe we've made some great strides with the now-in-beta version 2.0, there is still a lot of room for improvement to make Jungle Disk feel as 'Mac-like' as possible. One of these ways is, as you point out, to provide an app that lives in System Preferences, or the menu bar, rather than the Dock. At the moment we're concentrating on adding features and keeping the application rock solid, but rest assured that we strongly value the Mac experience and will be making more and more improvements in that area.
Like
Version 2.0b1
Beige
22 January 2008
This is a nice idea with a still-faulty execution. It failed to create a bunch of directories and trying to use anything other than this program to edit the created folders/files is a nightmare since it creates a wackload of incomprehensible files in a flat list on S3. God.
Like
Version 1.50b
1 answer(s)
Adam-Preble
Adam-Preble
05 May 2008
@BEIGE - Amazon S3 buckets do not support hierarchies of files in the familiar paradigm of nested folders, but instead are comprised of a collection of objects (flat, if you like), accessed by key. A number of applications out there store files keyed by the full path. While this is very readable, imagine how expensive (time and money) it would be to rename the root folder of all of your music files, given that Amazon S3 does not allow you to rename keys. You would have to delete the entire 'tree' and re-upload it just to rename a folder. Jungle Disk's bucket format (which is freely available for your perusal - 2.0 format coming soon) allows you to rename that tree, and perform many other operations, in a fraction of the time and money required by using a full path key format. That said, version 2.0 provides a new Compatibility bucket type which will allow you to use the full path scheme if your application calls for it. Finally, if you are having trouble with the application please do not hesitate to contact me through MacUpdate, or post on the Jungle Disk forums. We are completely dedicated to making the best product possible.
Like
Version 2.0b1
zo219
20 August 2007
No longer free ... but can't complain about the cost of storage at AWS.
Like
Version 1.41a
taglia
05 February 2007
I have tried this software and it is great. It works out of the box as expected and handles correctly all Mac-specific files (i.e. DS_Store, resource forks, bundles, etc.). Astonishing if you consider that it's still in beta. The possibility to have encrypted backups on S3 is very nice, and the price is completely honest (I mean the proposed price for the first official release).
Like
Version 1.13e