Back to Do It page
Do It free download for Mac

Do It Reviews

2.6
19 November 2007

Manage categorized to-do lists (was ToDo).

Jakefowler
05 February 2007

Most helpful

This is a cool little application. I had been searching for a way to display my iCal todos on my desktop. This doesn't quite do that, but it allows me to sort my todos more sensibly. Now I can stress more effectively about what I have to get done!
Like (1)
Version 2.1

Read 11 Do It User Reviews

Rate this app:

Penguirl
29 April 2011
Oh and I might add that Do It seems to run flawlessly on Snow Leopard 10.6.7.
Like
Version 2.6
Penguirl
29 April 2011
Do It fits my needs better than any of the other similar apps that I have tried. It has more features than most it's size without getting bloated. Task catagories, three level priorities, built-in notice and click to add iCal event, and the ability to link to a file or url. I don't need 10,000 different status' or the ability to break tasks down into steps, there are other apps for that like OmniOutliner or Task Coach. All I need is a reminder and Do It does this flawlessly for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.6
Tim27
01 March 2009
Not much has been done with this lately. I still think it's a good app, but I still think it needs to be able to add our own custom statuses to it. Rather than just having high, medium and low priority. For example: In Progress, Client Review, Completed, Ready to Bill, etc.
Like
Version 2.6
Tim27
12 August 2007
good app. any chance of adding our own custom statuses to it? rather than just having high, medium and low priority.
Like
Version 2.5
Onlyone-Jc
16 March 2007
Is there any chance of multi-line support? I don't really like abbreviated, single-lined to-dos. Sometimes, I wish to write a whole sentence about what I have to do. Also, the way in which the interface is done, isn't so good. The graphics stretch upon resizing the window. You can see this, by the way the rounded edges pull out the more you stretch it. An option of some alternative skins would be nice, too. I hope you can implement/fix these features. Thanks, onlyone-jc.
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
29 April 2011
If you hover the cursor over the small box with three dots in it at the top, it will open a notes field.
Like
Neonblue2
06 February 2007
Why have you changed the name to DoIt? Sorry I just had to say that, look here why http://www.folklore.org/StoryView.py?project=Macintosh&story=Do_It.txt
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Jim-Mcgowan
Jim-Mcgowan
06 February 2007
The new name is indeed a homage, in part, to that story!
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Jakefowler
05 February 2007
This is a cool little application. I had been searching for a way to display my iCal todos on my desktop. This doesn't quite do that, but it allows me to sort my todos more sensibly. Now I can stress more effectively about what I have to get done!
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
19 February 2007
If you want your iCal info on the desktop take a look at iCalViewer: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/11500
Like
Version 2.2
Mrsteveee
28 January 2007
Nice program, but be careful. It will install itself in your .Mac sync preferences pane. If you later decide to delete it, it is a pane to remove this application from the preferences list.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Dlfoster
Dlfoster
19 February 2007
Could you provide more detail by what you mean by 'pain'? Perhaps some directions to minimize it.
Like
Version 2.2
Simichavel
10 December 2006
Very nice piece of software, but requires you to fill in all fields when setting up a new to do, and overall seems to force you to do things a certain way. Some recommendations: In creating links, drag and drop is nice, but for some links selecting through a dialogue box would be better. Within categories, I may like to set up folders. Also, you can only view one category at a time, but I may like to see all at once. Finally, a drop down menubar item would be a nice adition.
Like
Version 1.7
Amartsin
10 December 2006
The name ToDo has already been taken by Omicron Software. Please rename your application.
Like
Version 1.7
1 answer(s)
macupdate-robert-dreamcore
macupdate-robert-dreamcore
10 December 2006
Has Omicron also "taken" X?
Like
Version 1.7
Rampancy
12 November 2006
An awesome program that does exactly what I want it to do and what I need it to do - nothing more, nothing less. Thanks! - the only thing I'd like to see is Address Book integration (allowing for contacts to be linked to items alongside URLs and files...
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Jim-Mcgowan
Jim-Mcgowan
12 November 2006
ToDo can indeed link to do items with contacts from Address Book. There are a several ways to do this. The first is to simply drag a contact from Address Book's main window into the linked item field in ToDo's inspector window. The Second is to install the ToDo Address Book plugins (by selecting ToDo>Install Address Book Plugins from the menu bar). This allows you to click on a phone number or email address in Address Book and create a new call or email reminder item from the contextual menu. Finally, you can install the Quicksilver Plugin (ToDo>Install Quicksiver Plugin) and when you select a contact in Quicksilver there are actions to create contact reminders in ToDo. A ToDo item that is linked with a contact will give you the option in the inspector to set a call reminder or a email reminder. If call reminder is selected, when you click on the open link arrow for that item a bezel is drawn onscreen with the telephone number in large type. If email is selected, clicking the open link arrow creates a new mail message addressed to the contact in your default mail client. Hope this helps, Jim
Like
Version 1.6