Back to Zooom page
Zooom free download for Mac

Zooom Reviews

2.6.5
17 December 2014

Move, resize, zoom your application windows effortlessly.

Fishscale
20 December 2009

Most helpful

This app is a mess in SL. Nothing works right, use a function key and it locks everything up. Next release that won't happen but press the function key and every window will resize as you move the mouse wherever on the screen. I like this app, it once was the best of it's market, it is still the most feature laden and flexible, but has become useless with late releases. Hope we find a fix for this soon. Thanks for the work anyhow. Would love to use it for many more years as I previously did.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.3

Read 43 Zooom User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
08 January 2018
CodeRage shut down but it was a nice app... :-(
Like
Version 2.6.5
Scott-C-H-
24 January 2017
Here goes another "system enhancement utility" gone abandonware. I've paid for a lot of Mac utility software like this only to end up seeing them become an abandonware, and, while I appreciate all the work CodeRage folks have done in the past, I have to say it is one of them. It is one of the reasons I have decided to never pay for and install “system enhancement utilities" like this on my Mac. Here is how it always turns out; You buy a piece of software like this thinking your workflow would miraculously improve and you would save a lot of frustrations and time. Then, you start spending more time tinkering and troubleshooting as you use this type of utilities more. Soon, you become a volunteer beta tester for these developers while becoming more and more dependent upon a novel way of doing things on your Mac. After a while, you stop seeing updates and bug fixes and then painfully realize that the developers of the utilities you paid for and came to be heavily dependent on abandoned them. You will have to spend a lot of time relearning as you endure a lot of frustration as a result of your workflow ripped apart only because some developers no longer felt like developing their tools. I'm sick and tired of this classic pattern with indie developers. I found that, in the long run, these “system enhancements” added more complexity, frustration and “needs” to tinker with, and that I was much better off just making good use of all the default features on my Mac. Any small gains in UI efficiency are not worth the massive trade-off of depending on this type of utilities. All the best wishes for john-clayton-1. And Thank you for confirming my conviction about never contribute to this type of tools in the future.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.5
1 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
25 January 2017
.
Like
john-clayton-1
21 December 2016
Author of Zooom/2 here. Just a note to let you all know CodeRage & Zooom/2 are shutting down as of now. The website contains a short explanation. Thanks for your support over the years - wish you all the best for the future.
Like
Version 2.6.5
2 answer(s)
Tachy0n
Tachy0n
06 January 2017
That's a shame. It clearly didn't sell enough copies to make it worthwhile or hold your interest.
I'm wondering why you wouldn't release it as Open Source and see if the community could take over and make it compatible with Sierra and beyond. I know its your code and your choice.
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
08 January 2018
My two cents about authors who shut down (quite similar to the above comment): why don't you give the last version as freeware, instead? Especially, if the website remains active!
That was the case of the old iNotePad: there was a SN displayed as long as vojousoftware.com existed.
Like
Tachy0n
24 August 2016
I have to leave a bad review because this thing still aint working. I am on 10.11.6 now and there are all kinds of bugs. • the move-without-clicking feature invokes without the modifier key down • it gets stuck on • the Zooom app loses focus • Running the Zooom app to try to quit it properly (with the UI) invokes OSX full screen mode At least the auto -raise feature still works!
Like
Version 2.6.5
bobembry
05 August 2014
New version didn't fix things on my system. See TachyOn's comment on Oct 26, 2013. Zooom2 essentially locks up my system. I can't even set preferences in Zooom2. Useless!
Like
Version 2.6.0
2 answer(s)
bobembry
bobembry
13 August 2014
Sent the developer an email today describing the problem
Like (1)
bobembry
bobembry
20 September 2014
Version 2.6.4 crashes on launch: *** Terminating app due to uncaught exception 'NSInternalInconsistencyException', reason: 'Modal session requires modal window'
abort() called
terminating with uncaught exception of type NSException
Like (1)
Tachy0n
26 October 2013
Mavericks problem: This seems to have made mouse clicks stop working in a lot of places. SystemUIServer still gets them if you click the menu bar but Zooom2 stops responding to them! I am hoping it might be a conflict with something else I have installed. Anyone else got it running in 10.9?
Like (1)
Version 2.5.0
Dradrienyouell
15 June 2013
Zooom/2 is back, now compatible up to Mountain Lion, 10.8.4. Version 2.5.0 (4009) works beautifully in moving, re-sizing windows with a 'Modifier key' and click window zooming. For X11 users, CodeRage says, holding cursor on a window for two milliseconds enlarges the window; there is an Enable check box. Lots of fun with Zooom/2 v2.5.0 now for the user who likes keyboard control and only two choices; Shift-Option and Shift-Comd for resize and move window. Caution: see check bow in Preferences if you want Move Window to fly away to top left, I do not. Off now to play with Magnetics. (Windownaut is not working well on OS X 10.8.4.) Zooom/2 is back to full production, thank you CodeRage. Adrien (UK)
Like
Version 2.5.0
1 answer(s)
Dradrienyouell
Dradrienyouell
15 June 2013
* Correction para.3: For X11 users: “Auto Raise - bring windows to the front.”
Like
Iliketrash
11 March 2012
Four corner resizing is broken under Lion. I just upgraded to Lion and am disappointed to discover this. Give that Lion has been out for nearly a year and this problem is not fixed indicates that this product is a candidate for abandonware. Please tell me I'm wrong.
Like
Version 2.5.0
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
11 April 2012
Apparently, you are not wrong.
Like
Dana-Sutton
22 July 2011
In general I like Zoom a lot, but although the current version is allegedly Lion-friendly, in my experience it has proved to be highly toxic. At first screen-moving worked fine after I upgraded to Lion. From the first moment resizing didn't, and all of a sudden the Finder's window-management capacity went south big time. Using Activity Monitor to force quit Zooom immediately ended the problem and the Finder started behaving correctly. I'm not going to use Zooom any more until if and when the developers put out a stable and reliable version.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.0
1 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
14 August 2011
Strange, I haven't had any issues at all with Zooom on Lion. It's possible that there's a particular app conflicting with it. For instance, Witch and Zooom have a conflict, and it's necessary to add Witch's background process to the Zooom exclude list to avoid weird behaviour (the actual application that runs in the background is located inside the .prefpane bundle if you have the non-App Store version of Witch). Maybe try excluding any other window management or switching apps you have? Just a thought--it might amount to nothing, but it's probably worth a try.
Like
Works fine, but not for all apps. Overpriced 19,95 $ ! Works unregistered for 30 minutes and not for 1 or 2 hours as mentioned. Flexiglass does the same and even more for 9,99 $ (5,99 € MAS) and is great as well. I am very, very happy with Flexiglass ! Thank you both developers for the good idea ! Thank you "Flexiglass" for your reasonable "Macprice". F Rol (France)
Like
Version 2.4.5
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
20 August 2011
The problem for me is that Flexiglass does not also have the auto-raise feature, as does Zooom. (Unless I'm not seeing it.) That's not an easy feature to find anymore.
Like
Scott-C-H-
27 November 2010
I've been using this for 8 months now, and it has become an integral part of my everyday user interface workflow. I wonder why Apple hasn't added this functionality when they've already added all sorts of gesture controls for interface control and mouse scroll ball/wheel has been around for ages. It just makes sense to have Zooom 2 installed to fill the void. It just makes handling open windows MUCH smoother especially when using a trackpad, because mouse can be anywhere inside an open window. I don't have to move my mouse around and try to grab a small corner or titlebar. Zooom 2 doesn't work with a few apps, but there aren't that many of them, I can add them on Zooom's Exclude list, and it still works well with the vast majority of the apps I work with on daily basis. Zooom makes user interface control go many times faster. Strongly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.4
DragonDan
04 June 2010
Their web site says download for 30 day trial, but when I download & install it says Trial period expires.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.2
Xenophile
18 March 2010
Been using for about a year, awesome app, but lately Zooom has been dorking out the column view in iTunes. I cannot scroll the first column, but behavior reverts to normal upon quitting Zooom. There's even a thread about it at the Apple Forums. I hope the developer squashes this bug soon, because I hate to go without Zooom, but I need to use iTunes as well.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.0
1 answer(s)
Peterpan23
Peterpan23
22 April 2010
Zooom did crash latest iTunes 9.1 (Build 97) even when it is stopped via Pref-Pane (Activate Button is switched-off). To include iTunes in the IgnoreList of the Pref-Pane does not work either. Killing the process (Zooom does not have a shutdown button) before starting iTunes is the only workaround.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.0
Spoinlar
22 February 2010
Zooom2 is a wonderful app - it does its job very well. However, it doesn't work properly under Snow Leopard with a Wacom Tablet in Pen Mode. With a tablet, moving a window also resizes it, even when the resize keys aren't pressed. Take the tablet out of Pen Mode and it works fine...
Like (1)
Version 2.3.6
Scott-C-H-
04 February 2010
It works much more smoothly and more consistently under 10.6.2 as of now. I hope MondoMouse will be updated to work better but I'm taking this one since it's working right now and working very well. This utility (MondoMouse as well, for that matter, if it works again) saves a lot of time. It makes workflow much smoother. Somewhat addictive at first. :) The price could be just a little lower for this one-trick pony, but programming takes a lot of time and effort. I think it's worth the price in a long run. Strongly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.6
Dana-Sutton
04 January 2010
Everybody is dumping on DOOBIEXX for his negative comments, but I think he's right. Neither Mondo Mouse nor SmartScroll work very well either in Snow Leopard either. I tsuspect the reason is that Apple has somehow revised its window-drawing and scrolling code to accomodate the Magic Mouse and programmers don't sufficiently understand the new system. But that's basicallly Apple's fault, for not giving third-party developers adequate information about what it's doing (sound familiar?)
Like (3)
Version 2.3.6
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
25 January 2010
Jeez, thanks man. I appreciate you posting in my defense, what we should really be giving "-" out for is the fact people are posting errors and giving the review 4 stars. That is the crime. 2.3.6 has gotten better but not perfect or back to as reliable as it was on 10.5. If you just want to praise, you will remain with a buggy app, report those bugs and you will receive a stable app. So very simple, we review these items for not only other users, but more so imo for the dev to see generally how the public feels for an app.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.6
Fishscale
20 December 2009
This app is a mess in SL. Nothing works right, use a function key and it locks everything up. Next release that won't happen but press the function key and every window will resize as you move the mouse wherever on the screen. I like this app, it once was the best of it's market, it is still the most feature laden and flexible, but has become useless with late releases. Hope we find a fix for this soon. Thanks for the work anyhow. Would love to use it for many more years as I previously did.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.3
Robotank
09 December 2009
I'm giving this a try, and so far it looks great. I own a licence for MondoMouse, but it has problems on Snow Leopard that have never been resolved (the latest beta suffers from such a serious bug that I literally can't use it) and has received no apparent attention from its developer in at least a couple of months to resolve the SL problems. Zooom appears to offer all the functionality that MondoMouse does (plus more), and I haven't encountered any issues with it yet. I would definitely recommend checking this out as an alternative for people like me who've become discouraged with MondoMouse.
Like
Version 2.3.2
zx
10 November 2009
By now i can't really use a computer without it...! iLife suite still not perfect☹
Like (1)
Version 2.2.9
Dradrienyouell
06 October 2009
Thank God for John Clayton (dev) for 2.2.8 update to Snow Leopard. I was bereft, frustrated, lost my soul ... by missing Zoom2's window moving ability in 10.6. In Snow Leopard I had to go back to hitting the hatched bottom right corner precisely on target to move the window size and equally hunting for the top bar to move the window. I have been spoiled by earlier Zoom2 which made window moves so easily by Shift-Option and Shift-Command; when moving windows in background without them coming to front. Thank you (in as many languages as I cannot speak;-) for restoring the ease of Zoom2's simplicity and efficiency in Snow Leopard. No other app is so intuitive (with a quick installation tutorial). Adrien UK
Like (1)
Version 2.2.8
zx
22 September 2009
Still doesn't play well with itunes...
Like (2)
Version 2.2.8
Nicksloan
08 September 2009
Zooom is unquestionably best-of-class in the window moving/resizing field. MondoMouse is good, MaxiMice and Window Dragon were good, MercuryMover is very good (and a useful companion app, with plenty of added value), but for flexibility, sophistication and elegance, Zooom is way out in front to my mind.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.7
Drdul
05 September 2009
Can't use it to drag windows from one space to another, which for me is a deal-breaker.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.7
djcz
04 September 2009
This is one of my favorite little ad-ons for OS X and it even works with 10.6. Well worth the 15 bucks.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.7
zx
06 January 2009
Needs an upgrade ASAP!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.5
Dnem41
27 August 2008
i feel like this should be a free app or these features should be built into the Mac OS like Linux has them built in. nice app nevertheless. too bad 30-day trial is about to expire and there's no starving student discount...
Like (2)
Version 2.2.3
1 answer(s)
Easer
Easer
04 December 2008
Check out Afloat. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/22237/afloat It gives you at least some of this functionality for free, although I think it's probably a bit less customizable.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.5
Bluloo
23 June 2008
I still can't use Zooom with Pathfinder running. Neither Dev seems to know why. Paid too. :-(
Like
Version 2.2.3
Tryrabbit
23 February 2007
A quick note: Version 1.5.1 begins the 'internationalization' effort with French and German translations. I am looking for translators willing to help - if you'd like a free lifetime license, and can translate Zooom into another language - please contact me (website contains a contact page). Thank you. -- John Clayton
Like
Version 1.5
Flounder
22 February 2007
I love this app and have been waiting for something like it for a long LONG time. I hate it when I move my windows away from the center and over time this happens either by accident or on purpose. But now with Zooom I have the ability to align all my windows to the spots I want. It helps me center or off center my windows so that everything is in proportion. I don't really use the resize ability much however magnetics is what sells me this app. I love it
Like
Version 1.5
Irradiated-Software
12 February 2007
Just wonderful! The developer is very responsive to suggestions and I'm simply delighted to see them appear in this new version of Zooom! Magnetics work great and help me to maximize the use of my tinny 12" PB display. I simply love it!
Like
Version 1.5
JamesHarrisPhoto
10 February 2007
Tried download the DMG for version 1.5 twice. Both times it gave me a "codec overrun" message and wouldn't open.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
10 February 2007
Downloads with no issues here, the .dmg mounts just fine.
Like
Version 1.5
hced
06 January 2007
Just a short response to the previous speaker (NEO979): Try Zooom in combination with USB Overdrive (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/7115), or any similar app that can map mouse buttons to keyboard buttons. I'm pretty sure this will mean a huge eye opener to anyone who's reluctant to remember a lot of modifier keys. By using said method, I recommend mapping middle mouse button to whichever key combo you have mapped in Zooom for moving windows around! Try it! (This of course requires a multi-button mouse other than the Apple 1-button ones.)
Like
Version 1.4.4
Neo979
11 December 2006
I agree with the original poster. Although there are people who use their computers in different ways, I don't know of anyone who just instinctively keeps hitting modifier keys and can't remember to drag the title bar instead. The Zooom method is actually less convenient than the regular method, since it requires both the mouse and the keyboard.
Like
Version 1.4.4
Gody
06 December 2006
I came across a bug in this version (1.4.3) where when I try to resize the window, it only resizes on one side and not the other. A minor bug is that the resizing is not smooth. I am running a 2.16 GHz Intel Core Duo with 2GB of RAM.
Like
Version 1.4.3
1 answer(s)
Tryrabbit
Tryrabbit
07 December 2006
Hi, can you please chuck me the details at: support coderage-software [dot] com However, resize only happens on the bottom-right, so that isn't a bug - and as for speed, please let me know what app you are resizing - it mostly depends on the complexity of the UI, e.g. iTunes isn't quick, TextEdit is FAST, PathFinder is... well... sluggish to say the best (and only works in 1.4.4 anyway - available on forum as beta). Thanks -- John Clayton
Like
Version 1.4.3
Ffass
27 November 2006
There's a bug, I think, that needs to be fixed. When I use the "move" function it causes the selected window to very slowly increase in size (both horizontally and vertically). Seems to happen with all windows. I'm using a Mac Pro with all the latest updates.
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
Tryrabbit
Tryrabbit
27 November 2006
Hi - I'm interested in knowing much more about this issue, please turn on all the logging (from Reg panel) and fire me your console.log to: support coderage-software [dot] com thanks. -- John Clayton
Like
Version 1.4.1
Ramirez-g4
27 November 2006
... command key :)
Like
Version 1.4.1
3 answer(s)
Tryrabbit
Tryrabbit
27 November 2006
Hi - can you please elaborate on 'command key'? Thanks -- John Clayton
Like
Version 1.4.1
Ramirez-g4
Ramirez-g4
27 November 2006
"command key" was to finish my previous post... anyway (a little hint for those who doesn't know): when you drag window that are not in foreground (even overlapped) as always (by title bar for regular windows and by brushed or unified areas for others kinds) but with command key pressed they are not going to foreground - you can move 'em with no window switch. this kind of option will complete Zooom's features list for me.
Like
Version 1.4.1
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
28 November 2006
Wow...I had no idea you could do that. Coolness. =]
Like
Version 1.4.2
hced
27 November 2006
I have tried the other alternatives similar to Zooom, but I find Zooom to best choice! Excellent program, finally done "right". ;) The Ignore List in Zooom (for programs that you want to leave unchanged by the Zooom functions) is just what the doctor ordered. Previously, I couldn't use the other programs in the competition, in programs such as Apple Logic, etc. With Zooom, that works! A definite buy.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Ramirez-g4
27 November 2006
would more useful if windows are left in background like draging with ...
Like
Version 1.4.1
Walt9500
24 November 2006
I like this! Easy to install, does what it claims, and makes my navigation life a lot easier. I usually have loads of windows open, and this helps me a lot. Great! And I love that littel assistant that teaches you the first stteps after installation :-)
Like
Version 1.3.1
Tryrabbit
13 November 2006
Hi - just want to make a note that the comment I wrote earlier re: Microsoft Compatibility can be ignored - since v1.3 now supports the office suite! Happy Zooomin! -- John Clayton
Like
Version 1.3.1
Tryrabbit
07 November 2006
re: compatibility with Microsoft Word. Zooom is *not* compatible with Microsoft Word at present, but work is underway to solve this problem. At the moment, if Zooom resizes a window in Word, you'll see corrupt visual artifacts because Word does not properly implement the Accessibility API commands that most applications do. I plan on fixing this in Version 1.21, release date TBA. Thanks John Clayton CodeRage
Like
Version 1.2
Anon-Bud
06 November 2006
Umm... Sorry. Maybe I’m daft, but 8 bucks just because some folks are too lazy to drag a window by a title bar? Lemme see... do I use a simple mouse drag to move a window, or do I enter a key combination (which I have to remember) and then drag the window?
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Chris-Reed
Chris-Reed
11 November 2006
i guess people may like this because they use their mac in a different way to yourself. i guess you could review the app rather than belittling other mac users. i guess the developer has the skill and confidence to make an app and put it in the public domain. i guess you don't.
Like
Version 1.3
Vasilis
05 November 2006
Very handy! For people like me who work on a laptop and don't like using their mouse too much this is just perfect.
Like
Version 1.2