Back to Play MiTunes page
Play MiTunes free download for Mac

Play MiTunes Reviews

2.1.2
28 January 2008

Type a song and that song will play.

The1andonly
28 September 2007

Most helpful

This is a really neat program. Although not as small as I would like, the GUI looks great and blends in really well with iTunes. All the buttons work properly,but the preferences window is a little lacking ;) I love the type and play feature, it makes it so much easier to play songs that comes to my head. Thanks for this great iTunes controller :)
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1

Read 14 Play MiTunes User Reviews

Rate this app:

The1andonly
28 September 2007
This is a really neat program. Although not as small as I would like, the GUI looks great and blends in really well with iTunes. All the buttons work properly,but the preferences window is a little lacking ;) I love the type and play feature, it makes it so much easier to play songs that comes to my head. Thanks for this great iTunes controller :)
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Cassiotones
25 September 2007
I thought it was something like a QuickSilver for music, like pressing a hot key, typing a few letters and getting the song. Well, maybe I got it wrong, but for what I can see it is not much different then opening iTunes and clicking the green button to get its mini version. Of course there is the search option in MiTunes, but I also preffer maximizing iTunes and using its search since I dont need to specify "artist" or "title" there, I just type what comes to mind first and get what I want.
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
ianianianian
ianianianian
16 December 2007
If you want a quicksilver for itunes, you can use quicksilver. Just set up a custom trigger to whatever key combo you want (I use option+space), and for the 'Item' select 'iTunes', hit /, and then select 'Music Library'. For the 'Action' enter 'Search Contents'. Then go to quicksilver preferences>actions>iTunes Music and make sure that whatever you want to do with the songs selected by this trigger is at the top. Personally I have 'Play next in Party Shuffle' first. Then you just hit your key combo, type a bit of the song title and hit enter. (note that you cannot search artists/albums with this method, but you could swap out 'Music Library' for 'Browse Artists', 'Browse Albums', et cetera to get this behavior)
Like
Version 2.1.1
Cassiotones
24 September 2007
I thought it was something like a QuickSilver for music, like pressing a hot key, typing a few letters and getting the song. Well, maybe I got it wrong, but for what I can see it is not much different then opening iTunes and clicking the green button to get its mini version. Of course there is the search option in MiTunes, but I also preffer maximizing iTunes and using its search since I dont need to specify "artist" or "title" there, I just type what comes to mind first and get what I want.
Like
Version 2.0.1
5 answer(s)
Hendo
Hendo
24 September 2007
Ok, well, thats all good, but I am questioning why you gave it's value 1 star...value means how good it is compared to how much it costs. Since it is free and a quality piece of software (whether you think so or not) be more mature about your ratings. You have it bad feature ratings because it wasn't what you wanted. It's not like they don't work. If you don't like it, don't use it.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Cassiotones
Cassiotones
24 September 2007
Oh, sorry, didnt mean to offend or anything. I wasnt going to give a score to value in the first place (its a free app), but the site does not allow me to do a half evaluation. So I gave 1 thinking that, if it wasnt a free app, I wouldnt get it, since I can have the same features for free on iTunes. Sorry...
Like
Version 2.0.1
Hendo
Hendo
25 September 2007
usually the value is 5 if its free...but hey, im not too upset. I just hope your ratings won't reflect how my program performs.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Cassiotones
Cassiotones
25 September 2007
Sorry, I didnt know that. I tried to fix it but I guess there is no way to change it now. If you know how just let me know and I can change the valeu score.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Hendo
Hendo
25 September 2007
I believe if you just rate it again, and give everything but the value the same score it should work. Thanks :)
Like
Version 2.0.1
Hendo
29 June 2006
Hey everyone, I have made a new iTunes controller called Play MiniTunes, its smaller, easier to use and better looking. Recommended over Play MiTunes. Check it out at http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/22076
Like
Version 1.4
Hendo
25 June 2006
Thanks for the comment. Good news by the way! I am making a new program called Play MiniTunes. It is the exact same as this except way smaller and better looking! It will be out soon, just a few bugs to fix
Like
Version 1.4
Ca
24 June 2006
Very easy to use, fast, stable. And free! What else could you ask for? A nice little iTunes controller.
Like
Version 1.4
Hendo
18 June 2006
Ok, try again in a few hours, I uploaded the new file just now so give it some time and download again. Tell me if it will actually open now:P Thanks for all your help guys!
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
18 June 2006
New file has been uploaded and posted...
Like
Version 1.2
Dogtown08
Dogtown08
18 June 2006
Works Now. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.2
Dogtown08
18 June 2006
Hey, this sounds like a really cool app, but it doesn't open on my computer (iMac G5, 10.4.6) From the crash report, it looks like you have zeroLink turned on. That would prevent it from opening on other people's computers. If you are using Xcode, make sure you are either building with either a "release" or "deployment" build configuration. Hope that helps.
Like
Version 1.2
Wozardofiz
17 June 2006
Doesn't open in 10.3.9/
Like
Version 1.1
Zohar-ma
16 June 2006
I haven't dowloaded it yet, 'cause I'm running 10.4.6 But I was wandering if it could be integrated to Growl or Quicksilver. I think it would be nice as a bezel inteface. Sound really cool, though.
Like
Version 1.1
Hendo
16 June 2006
ok, thanks guys...i'm running 10.4.4 right now and it works...i don't know what to do for 10.4.6 I really should update my computer except I have dial-up and that would take a long time:( oh well thanks guys
Like
Version 1.1
Harpastum
16 June 2006
Does not Start in 10.4.6 (PPC)
Like
Version 1.1
Darth-Brooks
16 June 2006
Play MiTunes 1.1 does NOT launch on my G5 running 10.4.6.
Like
Version 1.1
Attentionwandered
16 June 2006
The application doesnt seem to even open it would be nice if all ti was was like a small text box and it played stuff without having to call itunes to the front(which is the fault of every script ive seen) i think the script would be much biggerhelp to me so i could program it to a hotkey or something. free software is always appreciated though thanks.
Like
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
Hendo
Hendo
16 June 2006
Yes I realize that it calls iTunes up but when you search for a song and hit play it minimizes the window right after you type the song. In later versions I will try and have it minimized all the time. I am a new programmer so I don't know how to assign hotkeys...sorry:( but I will try and learn so don't lose hope! Thanks for the feedback!
Like
Version 1.1
Hendo
Hendo
16 June 2006
Oh, and I downloaded it and it worked fine...You need 10.3 or higher remember. Can someone else tell me if it it opens or not...
Like
Version 1.1
Tom-Hancocks
Tom-Hancocks
16 June 2006
Did you code it in Xcode? If so did you set it from Debug configuration to Release configuration? a Debug build will work on your computer no matter what, but not everyone elses. Go to the Project > Set Active Build Configuration > Release to make sure it is set for Release.
Like
Version 1.1