Back to NotLight page
NotLight free download for Mac

NotLight Reviews

1.4
02 August 2006

Simple Spotlight front-end substitute.

Socalmtnbiker
30 January 2006

Most helpful

Works as advertised. A complete interface and not a front end to Spotlight. Nice that the default is File Name, since I think that's one of the more irritating features of Spotlight--defaults to contents without that being obvious. I gave it a 4 for features, because I didn't see a "Show File in Finder." If it's there (meaning maybe I haven't seen it yet), I'd give it a five. Pay attention to adding asterisks. It's nice to see Matt sharing his vast knowledge of AppleScript. The book is great, but useful apps are nice to have.
Like
Version 0.1

Read 6 NotLight User Reviews

Rate this app:

Markus-Winter
03 April 2012
Download link is no longer valid - you can get it directly from Matt Neuberg's site at http://sbc.apeth.com/downloads/NotLight.zip
Like
Version 1.4
Qwerty-Denzel
07 March 2006
Minor Interface Bug? Tick and untick 'Auto-Contains Mode', button 'Insert "Contains" Wildcards' is enabled. Either the tick button or the other button should be enabled/selected on startup.
Like
Version 1.0
Szabesz
15 February 2006
It deserves 5 stars just for the effort itself! Thank you! Please keep up the good work and add a "reveal in Finder" feature which is a must I think. (I cannot really explain how much I hate Apple's Spotlight interface, which is the worst thing they have ever "invented", because it is far from being userfriendly. Why do they suppose that I want to search in "everything"? Why do they suppose that I want to replace my active(!!!) Finder window with a search interface???????? This is so micro$oft like. These are the things why we do hate the interface of windows....)
Like
Version 0.9
Foulger
06 February 2006
At Last!!! Spotlight is too in depth, the normal Find Command is clunky and doesn't allow a user specified primary search field. This is quick & dirty & can only get better. Thanks for this simple little app.
Like
Version 0.5
Sjj-public
31 January 2006
This is a good idea, but of limited value at the moment. The dialog results window isn't an improvement over spotlight, but the search itself is. However, the use of kMDItemDisplayName for filename searches is inherently problematic. When you have a wildcard name search, people are going to expect *.doc to match all .doc (Word) files. The problem with kMDItemDisplayName is that if there is a .doc file for which the filename extension is hidden, then *.doc will not find that file because the ".doc" is not "displayed". As such, I think filename searches should be created that have as criteria: kMDItemDisplayName = *.doc || kMDItemFSName = *.doc. The bad news is that while kMDItemFSName searches will find all those .doc files with their filename extensions hidden, searching on the "FSName" takes a lot longer than DisplayName-only searches. You ought to search on both, and not just FSName, because some users will not realize that, for example, a saved search actually has an extension of .savedSearch - it's normally hidden. Anyway, this is definitely a good direction to go and warrants further development.
Like
Version 0.1
Socalmtnbiker
30 January 2006
Works as advertised. A complete interface and not a front end to Spotlight. Nice that the default is File Name, since I think that's one of the more irritating features of Spotlight--defaults to contents without that being obvious. I gave it a 4 for features, because I didn't see a "Show File in Finder." If it's there (meaning maybe I haven't seen it yet), I'd give it a five. Pay attention to adding asterisks. It's nice to see Matt sharing his vast knowledge of AppleScript. The book is great, but useful apps are nice to have.
Like
Version 0.1
1 answer(s)
Billy-The-Biker
Billy-The-Biker
06 March 2006
socalmtnbiker, This from the help: To reveal a file in the Finder, double-click that match in the dialog. To reveal multiple files in the Finder, select them in the dialog and press Return. MNssbiker
Like
Version 1.0