Back to ViddyUp! page
ViddyUp! free download for Mac

ViddyUp! Reviews

1.8.4
15 August 2008

Reformat your movies into iPod-ready files (was Podner).

Anonymous
25 October 2005

Most helpful

10 Bucks? So i cant just use QuickTime 7 to automatically create an .m4v file containing H.264 video and AAC audio that is optimized for iPod? I mean should i pay $10 to save my video's as .m4v, .mp4 and .mov with video specs up to 768 Kbps, 320 x 240 pixels, 30 frames per second? With audio as AAC-LC up to 160 Kbps, 48 KHz, stereo audio I'm not sure if this makes sense to compile or not
Like
Version 1.0

Read 14 ViddyUp! User Reviews

Rate this app:

For-Nextsoft
15 May 2008
I have tried a number of apps to export muxed mpeg1's to iPod and this is the only one that could, so it's worth the $10 to me.
Like
Version 1.8.2
Khanh
09 June 2006
Podner changes to ViddyUp!. Apple releases 5G iPod U2! Now, the next upgrade is 6G iPod, the real video iPod with full support for Blu Ray Hi-Def!
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
19 November 2005
Still crashes with a couple of my QuickTime movies. I believe they're Muxed MPEG1 files.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Splasm Software
Splasm Software
19 November 2005
Just last night we received a report of Podner crashing with a particular movie file. We later found the file also crashes QuickTime Player. If that's the case there is a good chance the file is somehow damaged or the QuickTime component for that file's format is not up to the task for that particular file. It would be great if you could send a sample of one of the movies that doesn't work correctly to support@splasm.com so we can duplicate the issue and resolve it.
Like
Version 1.1
Halgumbert
18 November 2005
Podner is amazing. I've tried just about every video converter for the iPod and this one is fast, stable, and WORKS! Now that it supports a queue, it's even better. Previously, I made four copies of the app on the same computer and encoded four movies at a time, but now, I can drag an entire season of shows at once.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
13 November 2005
a good encoder but has the same problem of Quicktime Pro 7.0.3... when you try to compress a DV/File from FCP that the size is 720x480 the Podner ( like the QT) squeeze the picture at 320x213 instead to 320x240... Podner and Apple has to fix the problem !!!!!!!!!!!! In any case I prefer Podner than MoviePod... Podner shoul have a batch list
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Splasm Software
Splasm Software
18 November 2005
Podner 1.1 includes support for non-square pixel aspect ratios, allowing your DV source to be scaled correctly. Please contact us at support@splasm.com if you encounter any issues with this new functionality. We hope you enjoy it!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
01 November 2005
Let us specify exact bitrate!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
01 November 2005
This is pretty awesome. I managed to convert a few short DivX files into H.264 and it works like a charm. However, I have yet to try them in a video iPod (I don't one yet but will get one someday) but I really do dig the program. However, I have a couple suggestions for new features. One feature would be a batch converter. It would be nice if I could throw in a bunch of files into this thing before I drive off to work, come back from work, and see them all done. That would freakin' own! Another feature would be some cropping options. Sometimes, I like to crop the letterbox out of certain videos or turn a 16:9 video into a 4:3 video. Other than that, I think this program is worth the 10 bucks!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
31 October 2005
Without a doubt the BEST of the iPod video encoders whenever previously-downloaded videos are concerned. Handles practically every type of file I've thrown to it: .mov, .mpeg, .avi (maybe .avi because its using the plug-in Toast 7 installs, I'm still not sure). For DVDs the best is still Handbrake. But everything else, nothing beats Podner as of yet. Defintely worth the $9 bucks.
Like
Version 1.0
Jimothy
28 October 2005
Great program, works quickly, and the only one that does so. Its kindof annoying it only works on 10.4 (Tiger). (Hint: it only works on TIGER Mr. Anonymous)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
27 October 2005
Awesome application. I've been encoding movie trailers all day long and the application just does its work with no shakes, no crashes whatsoever. I gave it 4 stars at features since I think it would be cool too be able to crop movies in the application. Other than that, WORKS+CHEAP=awesome.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
25 October 2005
Quick question.Is this app actually encoding the video or is it just telling quicktime to encode it?
Like
Version 1.0
25 October 2005
I downloaded and tried with two NIN videos I downloaded yesterday, it did encode them and transfer them to my iTunes. I have to give it 5 stars to make up for the moron below who needs lessons on program launching.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
25 October 2005
Ollie`s iPod Converter is free. haven't played with them yet to see which is better, but they look like they'll be comparable. just an fyi. what i am interested in is the claim that this can encode in a different format without losing any quality. that seems impossible, i'd love to hear from others on this.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 October 2005
yeah, played with Ollie's iPod Converter. first quicktime movie I tried caused an error in the app, and offers zero encoding options. Comparable it is not.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
25 October 2005
10 Bucks? So i cant just use QuickTime 7 to automatically create an .m4v file containing H.264 video and AAC audio that is optimized for iPod? I mean should i pay $10 to save my video's as .m4v, .mp4 and .mov with video specs up to 768 Kbps, 320 x 240 pixels, 30 frames per second? With audio as AAC-LC up to 160 Kbps, 48 KHz, stereo audio I'm not sure if this makes sense to compile or not
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 October 2005
actually, you cant with quicktime 7... if you buy quicktime 7 pro for 30 bucks you can. So this is definately a cheaper option.
Like
Version 1.0