Back to OmniGraphSketcher page
OmniGraphSketcher free download for Mac

OmniGraphSketcher Reviews

1.2.4
01 August 2012

Create elegant and precise graphs easily (discontinued).

Pablito
26 March 2009

Most helpful

I am wondering to buy this software, but 30 bucks! sounds expensive, once OmniGraffle is a more complete software, even iWork with all the features. Well, let's see. Omni do a good job always. To me is one of the best software-houses, and this software shows potential. But it is expensive at moment.
Like (7)
Version 1.0b1

Read 18 OmniGraphSketcher User Reviews

Rate this app:

open sourced Releases · graphsketcher/GraphSketcher · GitHub https://github.com/graphsketcher/GraphSketcher/releases 2.0 v45 now.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Thresher-the-Shark
10 July 2012
Attention MacUpdate admins. The current version is 1.2.3.
Like
Version 1.2.2
3 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
10 July 2012
Thresher-The-Shark, Thanks for the info. The listing's been updated to reflect the newer version.
Like
Dano45
Dano45
08 November 2013
As of July 2013 this app is updated to 1.2.4 but it has been EOLed by Omni Group and disappeared from their website.
Like
bumper314
bumper314
22 January 2014
Omni made GraphSketcher open-source: http://www.omnigroup.com/blog/setting-omnigraphsketcher-free
Like (2)
Libertyforall1776
17 August 2011
rc1 is BETA! Not too clear from VT...
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
01 June 2012
VT? Did you mean Version Tracker? 'cause this is the vaunted MacUpdate, not that other site. Which died and was absorbed by CNET. Good riddance I say.
Like (1)
Brookhaven
17 January 2011
In general I like this app with its uncluttered approach, however, when importing excel data to produce some simple line charts (like the inverse sine curve) it produces some strange kinks in the curve which looks really odd especially as a sine curve is supposed to be nice and smooth. Increasing the number of data points doesn't necessarily help either. Datagraph does a nice job but is pricy.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
M-Rick
26 November 2009
Can't draw pies charts.
Like (6)
Version 1.1 beta 2
5 answer(s)
Bluestar
Bluestar
06 May 2010
Use Excel, Numbers or PowerPoint
Like (5)
Version 1.1.1 beta 4
M-Rick
M-Rick
06 May 2010
so in this case, i use them for all the other tasks too !
Like (7)
Version 1.1.1 beta 4
Aus
Aus
21 May 2010
Hey, m-rick - what part of 'graph' do you not understand?
Like (10)
Version 1.1.1
myschizobuddy-1
myschizobuddy-1
26 November 2010
@CKM. bar graphs and pie charts are both used for quantitative relationships. graph term and chart term are used interchangeably as well next thing you'll say that it doesn't do plots cause the name of the program has the word graph in it. its surprising you got 4 points for your idiotic explanation.
Like (5)
Version 1.1.2
rspeed
rspeed
11 February 2011
Myschizobuddy: I think people voted it up because it was funny.
Like
Dremwkr
24 November 2009
Wow! This app is so intuitive. I wish Numbers could be this way. (For that matter Excel). It is innovative and raises the bar for data visualization. Um, data visualization for the rest of us! And,... the price is right! Even as a beta it proved to be stable. My guess is Omni still has some more features to add, which is OK with me.
Like
Version 1.1 beta 2
Pablito
23 April 2009
I bought it two weeks ago. No regrets. Works smooth, even being a beta. I work with sheets with more than 2k lines, and the plot here happens. Faster and more beautiful than using Numbers. I am excited about the software evolution. I hope it keeps the track. I recommend it.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b3
Pablito
26 March 2009
I am wondering to buy this software, but 30 bucks! sounds expensive, once OmniGraffle is a more complete software, even iWork with all the features. Well, let's see. Omni do a good job always. To me is one of the best software-houses, and this software shows potential. But it is expensive at moment.
Like (7)
Version 1.0b1
2 answer(s)
mswfujowdffyc
mswfujowdffyc
26 March 2009
I demo'd graph sketcher about a month ago and absolutely and was so impresssed that I ended up purchasing it within the hour. Yesterday I received a free upgrade for OmniGraphSketcher, and although it's very similiar to GraphSketcher, the upgrades are mostly tweaks that enable quicker graphing by way of shorter-shortcuts. I use this software while taking in-class econ notes, meaning this software is fast and user friendly enough where I can create graphs as quick as the teacher can put them on the blackboard. I can't even tell you how much easier it is to comprehend these graphs as opposed to the dozens of pencil-drawn messes in my spiral notebook when reviewing!
Like (2)
Version 1.0b1
Pablito
Pablito
26 March 2009
Thanks for the reply. I am really encouraged to test - I will do it this weekend. Omnigroup is very gentle and attentive. This software looks great, but unfortunately, as I said, a little bit expensive to me. I hope it keeps evolving and more integrated with iWork (specifically Numbers).
Like (3)
Version 1.0b1
Maher
01 May 2008
Thanks to the Developer, he fixed the incompatiblity and everything is back to normal. Great job and support
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Maher
01 May 2008
Finally I found why this version is crashing when launched. The problem is an incompatibility with Default Folder. I just add it to the excluded application in Default Folder and everything is working perfectly. May be the developer could check why it's incompatible with Default Folder
Like (2)
Version 1.5.2
Maher
01 May 2008
I love this little app, but since I installed the last version, it launchs but quit immediately. I sent an email to the developer. The version before is still working properly.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Marie Curie
Marie Curie
28 November 2009
I love it too.
Like
Version 1.1 beta 2
Coolmemin
22 March 2008
I absolutely love this fantastic little program. I am a Math instructor and it is incredibly easy to make graphs for lectures and exams in literally seconds, and they look great to boot! With an educational license the price is a steal too!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Macintosh-Sauce
12 October 2007
I love this program, because I find it so incredibly useful and very simple to use. Since I am studying to become a Social Science teacher, this program has helped me with a major assignment in one of my Foundations of Teaching courses. I always pay for Shareware programs that make my life easier, and this program is going to do that for me when I get my first secondary Social Science (Economics, Geography, History) classroom.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.8
Mrfizx
04 September 2006
I've used this with my regular-level high school physics students with no problems for the past year or so. They can use the program without much instruction from me, which goes to show how simple the program is to use (they couldn't use Excel to save their grades, let alone lives!). I can read their data, they get their labs done more quickly and accurately, and it's all done with a minimum of effort on everyone's part. And until the graphing features of Pages/Keynote match Graph Sketcher's ease and control, this will be my graphing program of choice.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Arvidtp
26 February 2006
awesome! as a geologist and electronic musician who often finds that standard graphing software makes it difficult to represent simple but specific things, this is great! For simple displays to demonstrate concenpts in geology, or to do approximate frequency/musical activity or stereo-image graphs for studio techniques class… Great for graphing subjective things where the visual is more important than the numbers! I just would like some way of making a curve - bezier?, or some other method? rather than just line segments. But otherwise excellent. Interface is clean and easy easy to learn.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b4
2 answer(s)
Arvidtp
Arvidtp
26 February 2006
and nice screenshot! I took a paleao-oceanography class last semester and might be doing more this summer… cool stuff!
Like
Version 1.0b4
Robinstewart
Robinstewart
28 June 2007
As of version 1.4.5, Graph Sketcher now supports curves. They are similar to the bezier paths found in many illustration programs, but with a more intuitive interface.
Like
Version 1.4.7
153957photography
26 February 2006
eeer, well in your startupdisk/Applications/Utilities you will find Grapher! its free, and does many graphs. "Oh, right. For now at least, Graph Sketcher is not a function graphing program (try Grapher in Mac OS X Tiger)." well, in Grapher you can also just input coordinates ("New Point Set") which it will draw, (also the option to create a trend/formula best fitted to those cordinates.) and Grapher does 3D graphs. I guess that if you want basic graphs, take this. (Grapher is more useful, IMHO, ... if you know how to use it)
Like (1)
Version 1.0b4
osgames.net
15 August 2005
Perfect! every student should have this on their Mac! Now I don't have to dish out $200 for an expensive calculator just to draw graphs - and here I can do it even better!
Like (1)
Version 1.0b3
Anonymous
14 August 2005
Wow! Terrific. I copied data from a Pages table, pasted into graph area, presto-data points. Click best fil curve and the graph is complete with equation! Export to jpg drag to Pages resize. Works perfect. Thanks Robin et al.
Like
Version 1.0b3