Back to Return Lyrics page
Return Lyrics free download for Mac

Return Lyrics Reviews

1.9
14 June 2005

Display lyrics for popular songs.

ianianianian
26 May 2005

Most helpful

This is a fairly neat little program. However, it could use some work. First, it needs to have scroll bars. As it is, the only way to scroll the window down is by selecting downwards, or using the arrow keys. Not my favorite method to scroll through large amounts of text. Second, it seems to have some problems with songs that have strange characters in their names. For example, I got the current track from itunes, which was "Shine (YZ250F Mix)" by "Newsboys", and it gave me this error: AppleScript Error sh: -c: line 1: syntax error near unexpected token `(' sh: -c: line 1: `curl http://www.seeklyrics.com/lyrics/Newsboys/Shine-(YZ250F-Mix).html' (2) But overall, I'd say this program has alot of potential. I look forward to future updates!
Like
Version 1.0

Read 13 Return Lyrics User Reviews

Rate this app:

Leif Heflin
29 September 2005
I recommend going back to version 1.8, which can be found at http://returnlyrics.netfirms.com, because I'm not working on this anymore and I admit 1.9 is a bit buggy. Sorry I don't know why.
Like
Version 1.9
Elwood371
10 July 2005
Yeah...Getting AppleScript errors too Gonna fix it?...or shall we move on?
Like
Version 1.9
Anonymous
30 June 2005
If this is a product from Leif Heflin, why is the developer Phillip?
Like
Version 1.9
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 July 2005
I made this on my grandfather's computer. His name is Philip. Where does it say Philip in the app?
Like
Version 1.9
Anonymous
16 June 2005
Worked fine in Version 1.7, but with latest update, I get an Apple Script error: Can't get character 1 of {"a", "r", "t", "i", "s", "t"}. (-1728)
Like
Version 1.9
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 June 2005
What song did you search for?
Like
Version 1.9
Anonymous
06 June 2005
Comment by Anonymous : Uh - ACP Web Services. Then you don't need an app to do this - you get your lyrics RIGHT off your Services menu - straight away with no further steps needed. It's free too. (http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/15073) (6/3/2005, Version: 1.6) *********** : Uh, I don't think so. Each version gets better and better. There is now a simple interface with tho buttons: basicaly; source and search. You set the source, click the search button and in seconds,the lyrics appead in the attached screen. Neat, fast and I'm sure the devloper will find a way for me to get a higher % of "hits." A keeper. JB
Like
Version 1.71
Anonymous
03 June 2005
Uh - ACP Web Services. Then you don't need an app to do this - you get your lyrics RIGHT off your Services menu - straight away with no further steps needed. It's free too. (http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/15073)
Like
Version 1.6
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
03 June 2005
I think full disclosure is necessary, you should state that you are the developer of ACP Web Services.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 June 2005
I agree. But I'm not. I'm a user. Who are you?
Like
Version 1.9
Anonymous
01 June 2005
When I clicked on the Download Now link, I got directed to a page that said: "Directly downloading images is not permitted on the Netfirms FREE plan. If you are the owner of this site, either ensure that this image is embedded in a web page, or upgrade to one of the Netfirms premium plans." But then I just clicked in the address field in Safari and hit return, and the zip file downloaded quickly. Go figure.
Like
Version 1.51
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 June 2005
The site I hosted it on requires that the last page you visited be http://returnlyrics.netfirms.com/* so that's why return worked.
Like
Version 1.51
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 June 2005
Hold down the option key and then click on the link, the file will download without the error message.
Like
Version 1.51
Anonymous
27 May 2005
This would make a pretty wicked dashboard widget...
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
27 May 2005
No review as it does not function properly yet. - seems to have problems with non US number formats ("Can't make "1.4" into type number. (-1700)" while checking for updates); - please name the the song/artist fields or at least add a "clear" button; - not resizable window and no scroll bar? big problem... Keep it up!
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 June 2005
I just tried this on my 10.2 Mac and it looked different and nothing worked, so if you have 10.2 that's the problem. I know my description said 10.2 but that's what Xcode said it would be, so I changed it to 10.3. The change will be visible when the new version is posted.
Like
Version 1.51
Chad
26 May 2005
Hello, I just want to say that I don't normally leave reviews, but this app is really cool. It lets you find them pretty darned easily... -Chad
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
26 May 2005
i get eveytime this message! curl: (7) couldn't connect to host (7) on a imac g5 with tiger 10.4.1
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 May 2005
Apple changed applescript in Tiger, this might be why the error comes up. I heard someone talking about checking a box in Unviersal Access in System Preferences. I think its "Enable access for assistive devices". Try checking that, quiting Return Lyrics, and reopen and see if that fixes the problem.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
26 May 2005
1 - didn't find any of the songs i tried. perhaps search more lyrics sites? 2 - i shouldn't have to click the (unlabelled) button to perform a search. the enter key should either switch focus to the other text field (if one of them isn't filled in) or go ahead and do the search. great idea for an app tho.
Like
Version 1.0
ianianianian
26 May 2005
This is a fairly neat little program. However, it could use some work. First, it needs to have scroll bars. As it is, the only way to scroll the window down is by selecting downwards, or using the arrow keys. Not my favorite method to scroll through large amounts of text. Second, it seems to have some problems with songs that have strange characters in their names. For example, I got the current track from itunes, which was "Shine (YZ250F Mix)" by "Newsboys", and it gave me this error: AppleScript Error sh: -c: line 1: syntax error near unexpected token `(' sh: -c: line 1: `curl http://www.seeklyrics.com/lyrics/Newsboys/Shine-(YZ250F-Mix).html' (2) But overall, I'd say this program has alot of potential. I look forward to future updates!
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 May 2005
Thanks. I've made an update that fixes songs with periods and backslashes. Go to Check for Updates... in the app to update. I'll work on the error and the scrollbars. If you find any other problems then post them.
Like
Version 1.0