Back to Xyle scope page
Xyle scope free download for Mac

Xyle scope Reviews

1.2.4
27 February 2009

Analyze complex CSS designs with ease.

Cerebrl
26 December 2008

Most helpful

An absolute must have, but realize that it is not a competitor of CSSedit or any other CSS writing app. This is meant for the polishing stage of web design. It helps with CSS rules, drilling down to what line of code is causing the problems and experimentation. I do a lot of redesign, so I am not worried about writing CSS from the ground up. I usually have to modify someone else's work. And since all programmers don't code in the same fashion, it can take hours of work to figure out how some people layout the styles. Xyle scope gets right down to the lines of code that I need to modify to change HTML elements, easily, effectively and efficiently. I use this app every damn day!
Like (8)
Version 1.2.3

Read 15 Xyle scope User Reviews

Rate this app:

Cerebrl
26 December 2008
An absolute must have, but realize that it is not a competitor of CSSedit or any other CSS writing app. This is meant for the polishing stage of web design. It helps with CSS rules, drilling down to what line of code is causing the problems and experimentation. I do a lot of redesign, so I am not worried about writing CSS from the ground up. I usually have to modify someone else's work. And since all programmers don't code in the same fashion, it can take hours of work to figure out how some people layout the styles. Xyle scope gets right down to the lines of code that I need to modify to change HTML elements, easily, effectively and efficiently. I use this app every damn day!
Like (8)
Version 1.2.3
Mistersquid
18 November 2008
Stick in a fork in it. With CSSEdit around, Xle scope is done.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Strider72
Strider72
28 February 2012
CSSEdit is discontinued. Rolled into the all-in-one Espresso. (*sigh* Why....?)
Like
zo219
19 May 2007
Brilliant. Nothing like it. An amazing app, which must be tried to be believed.
Like
Version 1.1.8
Jdub800
19 March 2007
Brilliant app! Shame it hasn't been updated in a while tho - Hope it hasn't been left to gather dust..?
Like
Version 1.1.8
Blahblahblah
04 July 2006
No web developer should leave home without it. If this isn't worth like 15 minutes of your salary then nothing is!!!
Like
Version 1.1.8
Ric-Liu
01 April 2006
I had just installed version 1.1.7, and it is working fine now! (Fixed the problem with the recent Apple security update!) Am a happy user again! :)
Like
Version 1.1.7
Ric-Liu
15 March 2006
Not working under Tiger OS 10.4.5. Was working fine before, but it broke after I installed the latest security update from Apple.
Like
Version 1.1.6
Anonymous
30 September 2005
This program rocks! It's definitely work 15 bucks.
Like
Version 1.1.5
Anonymous
29 September 2005
Truly phenomenal. While there have been ways to kluge together similar info, nothing has ever put it all together so quickly and easily. A very well thought-out and elegant interface, better than on many apps costing several times as much. This is the kind of development I love to see on the Mac! I registered mine already -- these folks deserve or support.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Anonymous
07 September 2005
This is a useful app if you have to do any work with CSS. While there are some tools in Safari and Firefox that can provide similar information, as well as some bookmarklet javascript/css hacks, this is the best implementation I've seen. I registered it after about 10 minutes of use.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
15 June 2005
This application is just so slick. I used it on one of my own sites and it helped me visualise the structure (which I had forgotten and which would have been less clear from the xhtml and css files).
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
01 June 2005
sexy and fine app, does what it says very well and with elegance. i'd be curious if it could provide a way to add new attributes to CSS styles (or i don't know how) beyond just tweaking & altering existing. But it's incredibly well done and really awesome, showing it to other web developers at my job to show how nice it is :)
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
24 May 2005
A very well implemented idea. You can get similar functionality w/ Firefox developer plug in + "show DOM tree" from Safari debug menu, but this is far more elegant and pleasant to look at, which is a very important factor for this type of app I think. This app is well thought out and just "feels right." The reason why it doesn't get 5 stars is because of some strange rendering bug associated with the scroll bar in the 2nd from top right panel. When scrolling up/down the graphic becomes all garbled and I have to resize the panel to "reset" the display to normal. It doesn't happen all the time though so I couldn't troubleshoot it... It could be a "tiger issue" too - not sure... I'm not sure if I actually really need this app though... But I can see how it would be a grate learning tool for CSS beginners. If a CSS editor was implemented as tastefully as what's in there already, then I'd probably buy it in the blink of an eye ;)
Like
Version 1.0
timothy-c-bates
19 May 2005
This is a gorgeous and clever idea. Very intuitive, interactive way to explore and learn about css
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
18 May 2005
As it's a bit new, I don't know if and how I will use it but this is a really good and well done idea.
Like
Version 1.0