Back to Typinator page
Typinator free download for Mac

Typinator Reviews

8.2
05 October 2019

Speedy and reliable text expansion solution.

johnny-thompson
08 April 2016

Most helpful

I've switched to Typinator! I'm a long-time (~4 years) user of TextExpander, and I've been unhappy with TextExpander even before their insane pricing change. TextExpander is super slow at executing scripts (about 5-10 seconds on a non-SSD, about 2-5 seconds on an SSD), which was one of the main new features in their new version. Speaking of which, their major versions barely add any features and cost an arm and a leg. Their recent switch to a ridiculous subscription-based pricing model made me look at alternatives. I am so happy I discovered Typinator instead.

The winner of them all is Typinator by a large margin.
[*] Fair pricing.
[*] Everything it does is *super fast* and it includes extremely advanced power-user features. Everything I always wished TextExpander would have is here in Typinator!
[*] Full Dropbox (and others) syncing of your snippets and shell scripts, simply by moving the "Sets" folder location to a cloud-synced location like your Dropbox folder. Any changes to the files are instantly detected by all Typinator apps on all computers, even when it's running at the time. This is a far cry above the unreliable sync that TextExpander had.
[*] Shell scripts are literally shell scripts. They're stored in a special "Scripts" folder, end in ".sh", and are marked executable. This means you can use your full, syntax-highlighting text editors to write long, advanced scripts that have full access to the web, your filesystem, etc, so that they can do very advanced things.
[*] Shell scripts execute *instantly*. This is thanks to Typinator just needing to execute the script and capture the output (unlike TextExpander which runs osascript and uses temp files, and aType which must write the script to a file before executing it). I made a PHP shell script that outputs the current date, and Typinator expanded it in about 100ms every time, even on a non-SSD. My jaw dropped. This finally gives me access to super fast scripting in my snippets, allowing me to do things like a web scraper that pulls down prices and outputs the latest up-to-date price.
[*] You are able to use regular expressions as your snippet type, which means that you could use something like "(ee|rr|nn)name" as your "abbreviation" and a single snippet will react to eename, rrname and nnname, and your snippet itself can be script-based and use the "ee", "rr" or "nn" portions to determine what to output based on how you typed that abbreviation. This is great for snippets where you want tiny variations in output. It's also great for things like currency formatting (make a snippet that reacts to a sequence of numbers followed by some special characters, and make it grab those numbers and format them and output them).
[*] Shell scripts can receive arguments, i.e. "{Scripts/Test.sh what}" to send "what" to the script. That makes it easy to re-use the same script across multiple snippets and give it an argument that tells the script to slightly adjust the output based on what snippet is executing it. Heck, you can even execute the same script with different arguments via a single snippet by using Typinator's regular-expression text snippets, to capture custom input every time, like "{Scripts/Test.sh $1}" to send it the 1st captured regular expression argument (that you typed) from a regex-based abbreviation.
[*] Typinator includes built-in functions like regex replacements inside of your snippets which lets you do many advanced things without ever needing to create a shell script at all. For instance, I made a Regular Expression snippet with "([0-9]+(?:\.[0-9]+)?)xx" as the pattern, and set it to Plain Text and wrote the following as the text replacement just to test it: "Please pay me \${/Regex /[0-9]/1//$1/}!". The result is that if I type "293.22xx", it expands to "Please pay me $111.11!". That was just a test of the built-in regex replacement function, which in this case replaces all digits with the number "1". There are many built-in functions and I am very impressed.
[*] Fill-in forms, dropdown menus, variables etc are fully supported and work better than TextExpander ever did. The popup window is faster, clearer and only asks for the field values (instead of showing all the distracting boilerplate text too).
[*] The "place text cursor at location" feature is instant (unlike TextExpander, which crawls one character at a time). Typinator just jumps directly from expansion to placing the cursor at the correct location. It's a godsend since I use lots of snippets with text cursor placement and it's wonderful to be able to keep typing instantly after expansion, instead of waiting for the cursor to move (like with TextExpander and aType).
[*] The Typinator language is very easy; all functions are within {} brackets, and you learn them quickly. For instance, {"xxdate"} would include the contents of the "xxdate" snippet, etc. It's therefore super easy to include snippets in each other, etc. Even script-based and input-form based snippet inclusions work perfectly.
[*] The company has an unbeatable track record of excellent OS support and stability year after year for all of their applications, and friendly customer support.

If you need extremely fast shell scripting, cursor movement, powerful built-in functions (like regex text replacement), and *mindblowing regex pattern matching as your abbreviation triggers*, buy Typinator.

I will never again give a single cent to TextExpander. They've shown their greed for *years* and now yet again with their latest money-hungry scheme, and they're not even the best on the market. Typinator is light years ahead in power and speed.
Like (24)
Version 6.8.1

Read 187 Typinator User Reviews

Rate this app:

info-2724
31 August 2019
Congratulations for the quality of this software, I am delighted with my purchase! It works perfectly, every detail is neat and thank you for the valuable translation of the manual in French ! The sync between two Mac is perfect. Congratulations for the care given to the details !
Like (2)
Version 8.1
rodriguezcastro
19 August 2019
Typinator for me has saved me lot of time, as mention before it does simple expansions, as well you can design complicated forms, with the help of the support team that gives you ideas and solutions to suit your needs. Do not hesitate to give a try, you'll love the ease of use and thank the time saved.
Like (2)
Version 8.1
Jopaskins
19 August 2019
Wonderfully useful little app. I use Typinator every day for quick email sign offs and pasting the contents of the clipboard as plain text (very handy when copying and pasting between different programs). It also comes in very handy when filling in forms. It is the first thing I install on a new machine; I am so used to writing shortcuts that I feel a little lost without it. If you dig a little deeper it has an array of functions that allow you to insert all sorts of things like dates and images. It also allows you to work with variables, giving you the ability to include input fields into expansions, something that came in very handy when I had to report a mountain of statistical results in a consistent format.
Like (2)
Version 8.1
MJPhotoFRA
02 July 2019
I'm using Typinator for many years and it's a fantastic application. 100% reliable, I can't remember it ever crashed. I'm using it countless times a day while writing e-Mails or filling out text on websites saving me a huge amount of time. It's very simple to use and the friendly developers answer your questions pretty fast. With the regular upgrades for a fair price this app is a must have on any Mac. Even the newest version 8.0.1 still works on my 12 year old MacBook Pro.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.1
Lcrooks
30 June 2019
I've used Typinator for years, and really love it. Recently, I had a problem where, after I updated a particular program, Typinator would make it crash. Ergonis tech support found the OTHER program's bug (not Typinator's) and fixed the problem, even though it wasn't Typinator's issue. 5-Star product, 5-star support! Highly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.1
Mediocrites
30 June 2019
Typinator is a must-have app for FileMaker Pro developers. There is an entire snippet library already available for calculations, and with a clever combination of Typinator and AppleScript, you can also easily insert blocks of script steps into FileMaker's script workspace, or layout objects onto layouts. Typinator has saved me countless keystrokes, hours and headaches over the years. Ergonis's customer support is incredibly responsive, and they don't charge a subscription model. 6 Stars!
Like (2)
Version 8.0.1
peterdignam
21 June 2019
I have been using Typinator for a number of years, which in itself suggests that this is an app with a difference. Possibly, like me, you download an app and use it for a while and then stop using it because it's usefulness is not what you thought it would be. Think again with Typinator from Ergonis. I have used it and used it and used it through numerous upgrades, all of which further enhances a tremendously useful, easy to use and time-saving app. It may be a cliché but I couldn’t do without Typinator. The few times that I have asked for technical support this has quickly and efficiently solved my own self-inflicted problems. It is a great app provided and supported by a super company.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.1
Eric-Erickson
19 June 2019
I’ve been using Typinator for several years now. It is fantastic. Typinator allows you to type in a snippet of text and have it expanded into much longer text that otherwise might be tedious and time consuming to type repeatedly. At its heart, that is what Typinator is all about, but it does so much more. If there is something you need to do repeatedly, regardless of how complex, Typinator can save you time and effort. While there are several companies making software that competes with Typinator, its feature set, build quality, usability, price, and finally their service and support, are outstanding.
Like (2)
Version 8.0
Jpf55
19 June 2019
I have been using Typinator for since 2015 and I keep finding new ways to save keystrokes. Also their support team is great.
Like (3)
Version 8.0
Maddogiam66
18 June 2019
This app has so helped me out. Saved ton of time for me. Well worth a 5 star rating.
Like (2)
Version 8.0
fm1964
16 April 2019
I've used Typinator for years, and it has saved much time and drudgery. It helps with accuracy as well. Yes, Apple has a built it text expander, but it is highly limited. For instance, with Typinator, I can add a multi-line contact and information text that includes formatting and links. It has special sets for particular apps you use which makes keeping track of it easier. I've never had a problem with it and, to the best of my knowledge, it has never caused problems with other apps. I honestly do not know how people get along without it.
Like (2)
Version 7.9
forwardleaps
11 April 2019
Fantastic. An TextExpander converter here. What can I say, it's fast, efficient, and always works… no bs subscription fees either.
Like (3)
Version 7.9
Goldfrog
06 March 2019
It took me no time to learn the simple ways of Typinator, and I was soon writing templates for my most common emails .But then I hit a snag .. I needed to colorise the outputted text dependent on the input. I didn't see anything in the normal forms so I wrote to support. And I was amazed at the speedy response—in less than six hours I had a program that did exactly what I needed using Case functions with variables. Thank you Typinator Support for your speedy and mast satisfying response to my problem.
Like (2)
Version 7.8
Rkudasik
08 October 2018
I've been using Typinator for around ten years. I had to wipe my hard drive recently and Typinator was the third app I installed. I don't think I could compute without it. I have saved SO much time with Typinator.
Like (5)
Version 7.7
1 answer(s)
Mediocrites
Mediocrites
30 June 2019
So funny -- this weekend I had to start over again with my MBP and Typinator was probably the second or third app I installed, too -- can't live without it!
Like
Gilbrh03
20 September 2018
Typinator does not only allow the insertion of simple snippets. It allows much more complicated replacements. It is a very great application. In addition, they have an absolutely outstanding service department, professional, reliable and extremely fast. Quality is really the master word for Ergonis and for their whole set of applications (Typinator, Popchar, Keycue,…).
Like (7)
Version 7.6
1 answer(s)
Prof-WalterKindler
Prof-WalterKindler
13 August 2019
alles OK
Like
nono3
25 June 2018
This is not a free application, but I strongly recommend it to all Mac users. I am using this wonderful tool under Japanese version macOS, but it works perfectly. Regular expression mode is really powerful. Sometimes the command is tricky, but the support by email is amazing! Again all Mac users need to use this!!!
Like (3)
Version 7.6
Typinator is an excellent little tool that just quietly in the background and does it's job. I find it very useful when typing up Minutes of Meetings. eg I just type dotvwdot and it types in my name. Similarly for most attendees who have long, differently spelled names. Saves me a lot of time! Thank you! BTW, As with most programs, it's really easy to set up, once you've done the first expansion gotten your head around the way it works.
Oh, it works well with my database programming too, and has survived many updates of my software with no problems
Like (5)
Version 7.5
Dellu
02 April 2018
Very advanced. It is not just for expanding texts. I can take variables, control the cursor and do calculations (days). Now, it takes abbreviations only to trigger a macro. I wish it also can be triggered with hotkeys. That is the only issue I have. Otherwise, it is great; closest you can get to Keyboard Maestro.
Like (4)
Version 7.4
Jlock
23 February 2018
I love this app and use to everyday. It saves me time not having to type out things that I have to type out repeatedly. A must have for anyone that has to send the same response often or wants to have their signiture available to them with just a few key presses! :)
Like (4)
Version 7.4
Giant-Microbe
23 February 2018
Textexpander does not work properly with Citrix sessions in Windows. Typinator does (mostly). Critical everyday for me so I was happy to make the switch. Increasing its reliability expanding into Citrix sessions will bump it up to five stars. Thanks for a great bit of software.
Like (3)
Version 7.4
Ronald213
16 February 2018
An outstanding app. As a former user of Textexpander, I was pleasantly surprised by Typinator. Intelligent and intuitive design. Now essential for my workflow. Excellent support by email: detailed answers to my questions within an hour.
Like (4)
Version 7.4
YHC
25 January 2018
This app makes my life convenient, but it's my top CPU usage app, when i didn't open Chrome.

It doesn't take a very high CPU usage, but it's still the top one (FYI: I have lots of "Start at Login" Apps).
Like
Version 7.4
Sergesouszero
17 January 2018
The best of the best. Do more than just expand simple text (just take a quick look at the user guide to get an idea of what Typinator can do). One of the best investments I made in years.
Like (3)
Version 7.4
Joi
07 January 2018
I just purchased a copy of Typinator and PopCharX from this developer! Nice program very powerful. Highly recommended!
Like (3)
Version 7.3
tobytwirl
24 July 2017
I've only had a Mac for a couple of months and finding Typinator was a massive step forward in allowing me to perform so many tasks. I can't deny that scripting has been a bit of a learning curve but success is very satisfying. The best licence fee I ever paid ...
Like (5)
Version 7.2
Joe-95c6091a
05 July 2017
as others have posted, I too have switched to Typinator from Textexpander and for similar reasons. I also had issues with Textexpander upgrades on both desktop and iOS versions and have removed both. Fortunately I had an earlier version of Typinator that I kept updating, including snippets as a backup but never used.
Typinator has been a better app in all my workflows than textexpander. It works with all the applications that I use. The best thing that happened was when Smile decided to go the route they took and forced me to use a much better application.
Like (5)
Version 7.2
andrew-115
28 June 2017
I just wanted to say that Typinator is just amazing. My snippets work, and the depth and breadth of the app is just amazing. I love it and wish I moved over from TextExpander years ago!!!
Like (6)
Version 7.2
Pavel231
30 April 2017
As a long-time TextExpander user, I was unhappy with their new subscription model and decided to use the old app as long as it lasted. Today it failed to open. Fed up, I searched for alternatives. Found Typinator. Tried it. Love it. It can do all my old TE expansions, some far more easily. Example: I often use text expanding to change the case of text copied to the clipboard. In TE it took a PERL-script to do that. In Typinator, a simple code like this {Lowercase {clip}} does the trick. I look forward to using Typinator for a long time.
Like (4)
Version 7.2
Bobalaska
24 March 2017
I started re-using Typinator after several years of trying TextExpander. After upgrading to current version (7.1), and reading the manual, I found that for my purposes Typinator worked quite well. I had a couple of technical questions, and had very quick and accurate responses. The manual is very well written, and in fact after looking at it more closely information about my questions was right there. So if you are looking for a useful text expanding app from a developer who provides updates, good documentation and excellent customer service, I highly recommend Typinator.
Like (4)
Version 7.1
BobbyRay
24 February 2017
One of my favorite "go-to" apps. I use it for tons of shortcuts ("expansions" in Typinator terminology) include inserting formatted card symbols in a bridge book I am writing. Even more importantly, their service is the best I've ever encountered! Quick replies, often sending an expansion that I need.
Like (3)
Version 7.1
Tharpold
24 February 2017
An invaluable productivity tool, as necessary to my daily workflow as an email program, word processor, or web browser. Really; I think of it as an invisible extension of my keyboard. Unobtrusive, immensely capable, and fast. The very few times I've had to contact tech support to report a glitch or ask about a feature, they've been quick to reply, courteous, and helpful. (I had *very* different experiences with tech support for Typinator’s major competitor, one of the reasons why I switched a year ago, apart from the obvious technical superiority of Typinator.) If you type, you need a tool like this, and Typinator is clearly the best of kind for macOS.
Like (3)
Version 7.1
Dwboston
14 February 2017
How many of my macs can I install this on... and can I store my library of texts in dropbox? And finally... is there or will there be an iOS version anytime?
Like
Version 7.1
1 answer(s)
chrei
chrei
14 February 2017
1st question: The short answer is: 2. The details can be found here: https://store.ergonis.com/licensepolicy.
2nd question: The short answer: YES. The details can be found here http://www.ergonis.com/products/typinator/features.html and in the User's guide: http://www.ergonis.com/products/typinator/TypinatorUsersGuide.pdf
And finally the 3rd question: At the time being, there is no iOS version of Typinator - and I don't expect one in the near future.
Like
Geric
26 January 2017
This is a great reliable tool for quick typing. It significantly helps me to save time when writing business letters. I think, the price is not cheap but reasonable, the app has been serving me well for years and works fine on Sierra as well.
Like (4)
Version 7.1
Mdognrdog
22 January 2017
I downloaded Typinator to see whether it would let me do something that I was unable to do with TextExpander, which I have owned for years. Typinator didn't let me do that thing, so I decided I probably won't buy it. But if I didn't already *own* TextExpander, the choice between the two wouldn't be close. Typinator is faster by a lot (especially when I'm executing external scripts), and better designed.
Like (2)
Version 7.1
1 answer(s)
chrei
chrei
05 February 2017
Dear Mdognrdog, I invite you to contact our technical support. Maybe we have an idea how your "something" can be done in Typinator. You wouldn't be the first one getting a great solution for a tricky task from our technical support;-) Talk to you soon ...
Like (1)
Quorm
07 January 2017
Typinator 7 is a very good and flexible product. Ergonis support, however, is very poor and completely not interested in user suggestions.
Like (1)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Levelbest
Levelbest
09 February 2017
Excuse me? It sounds like somebody had a bad day. I have been helped by Ergonis support numerous times. They have gone out of their way to understand the challenges that I have presented. They have even gone as far as to offer me custom scripts when I wanted a thing done. I can't recommend them enough for being open to suggestions or being helpful.
Like (3)
End3r
14 December 2016
I too am a recent convert from TextExpander. However, my reasons for switching were not related to the changes in pricing put forth by Smile. I switched because Typinator is simply better at performing the same roll in my workflow. - Typinator is faster (expansions can keep up with my typing with no noticeable/appreciable lag) - Typinator is more powerful (RegEx expansions are a particularly nice touch, with applications I've only begun to explore) - Typinator is better organized (Somehow the organization of the window fits my thinking process better, calling external scripts is cleaner) Given that it's a background utility, it was easy for me to forget about how often I use text expansion in my day to day work, and not really experiment with any alternative apps. If you are like I was, and are using TextExpander (or some other program) because it's what you've been using for a while and what you've let sit in the background unquestioned, you owe it to yourself to try Typinator and see what you're missing.
Like (4)
Version 7.0
marmotfang
10 December 2016
I’ve now been using Typinator constantly for a couple years, and I’m completely pleased, which is hard to do (I‘m a power-user and a curmudgeon). I’m really impressed with the steady maintenance and development of the app. In addition to a rich set of features that just keeps growing, I’ve encountered almost no bugs at all, and certainly no serious ones. I’m sure they must be there, but Ergonis (developer) seems to be super diligent about squashing them.
Like (4)
Version 7.0
Eblynn2
04 December 2016
I have been using Typinator for years and recommend it to my family and friends. That is why I have a family license. It is fast and easy to use. I started out using TextExpander because a Mac tech podcast recommended it. It was slow and somewhat difficult to use. Then I found out about Typinator and downloaded it. I realized right away how much better life was using Typinator. Typinator costs less and works better. I also appreciate that the great people at Ergonis haven't tried to gouge their customer like Smile software did recently. Typinator is one of the first programs I install when I do a clean install. Do yourself a favor and go to http://www.ergonis.com/products/typinator/. Then click on the Try button at the top right of the screen to Typinator. You will be glad you did. Also be sure to check out the date expansions. For example, I have set .d0 as my expansion of the current date.
Like (3)
Version 7.0
Ptk3
04 December 2016
I switch from TextExpander to Typinator several years ago (and before from the pionneer TypeIt4Me to TextExpander), that means I'm a long time user (about 20 years now) of this kind of software. I really LOVE Typinator, which is very reliable, discreet and editable on the flow (when you write a text with specialized vocabulary, you can put a new snippet on the flow, after writing 3 times the same annoying word or sentence). It's simple : i use it everyday, on a hourly basis, and some of my typing habits are born within Typinator. The 7.0 version promises to be a step forward, but it seems that you're allowed to manage your learning curve (your actual behaviour can stay identical), so I will try it right now and come back to give my further impressions. I only have one thing to ask to Ergonis Software: can you find solutions to export the power of Typinator to iOS device? I use to use my iPad more and more with a bluetooth keyboard (the lightweight and compacity of this combination is a game changer in my daily professional life), but I really, really miss my Typinator snippet while working on the iPad. I know Apple don't make it easy and I also now that TextExpander tries solutions that don't really work, but you're great devs, don't you? It really be a real opportunity to offer conversion of Typinator Snippets in the iOS system. Thank you for your great work.
Like (3)
Version 7.0
jGregoryBarton
02 December 2016
This powerful app is one of my workhorse, hourly-used, favorite apps. I've used it for years and will continue to because it is consistently maintained and updated. It's smart. It is as powerful or as simple as I need for a variety of tasks: replying to emails and letters, coding css, html, etc, and designs with font callouts and paragraph formatting. It isn't flashy; it isn't "flat" design. It's smart, fast, and consistent. I'm not a pushover and don't give reviews unless I know the product, have found the support strong and on-going, and actually use the app daily. You will not regret this app, and I encourage you to play with it and get to know all it can do. The longer I use it, but more ways I find to rely on it.
Like (4)
Version 7.0
Monty-Lewis
01 December 2016
Powerful and elegant. This latest version makes it the leader in this category. It's fast, it's got really nice tools to build your expansions with and the new features in regards to the expansion dialogs are great. I've contacted support several times to get help with some of the more advanced features and have always heard back quickly and the help has been thorough. Can't recommend this any more highly, especially this new 7.0 release.
Like (3)
Version 7.0
Crab430
30 November 2016
A great program. I fill in address information easily with it!!!!! Not just my address but the addresses of friends and acquaintances around the world. Saves me time and reduces the likelihood that i will mistype some information. Been using it for many years!!!!! I strongly recommend it!!!!
Like (3)
Version 7.0
Levelbest
30 November 2016
Typinator is one of those apps I would call “must have”. I tried using expansion snippets years ago, nervously at first then suffering through years of slow response times and frequent crashes followed by upgrades which never fixed the problem with TextExpander. Typinator has TE beat hands down in the following areas: 1) it is reliable 2) it is fast 3) it is customizable using scripts 4) it sits in my menubar so I can easily and frequently update a snippet when I want to 5) because it runs as an independent app from the menu bar and TE runs from a different aspect of the system, Typinator is far more dependable in actual use. Typinator also has great customer support although so did the TE folks so I didn’t list that - here. TE taught me to believe that using a text expander tool was always going to be a bit problematic at best. Typinator has retrained my brain as to the ease and the power I experience using Typinator. I have some rather tough memory problems and if I start using an expansion program, it simply HAS to be consistent. Otherwise I will become confused, frustrated and I will stop using it. Typinator (Ergonis) customer support is fantastic. The guy who develops this app has gone out of his way on more than one occasion to assist me. I use a long expansion every morning. It has several calls to scripts that have been developed by Typinator and even improved with version 7. I take advantage of the ease I can pull Typinator’s main window up with a click on the menubar icon to keep my project data updated there. When I trigger the expansion it tells me how many days it has been since I submitted a letter, or how many days until I have a presentation or ... I have always wished that calendaring programs could do this too. But with Typinator, it’s easy - and reliable. This is one of those programs that is so good that I will never fuss about upgrades. Scrivener is another one.
Like (5)
Version 7.0
Zx81
17 November 2016
Just a first impression after downloading a trial version ; the developer is very quick to answer mails.
Like (3)
Version 6.11
ecdltf
11 October 2016
The best snippet expander. Period.
Like (3)
Version 6.11
barry-14
09 September 2016
Typinator technical support is excellent! The app works great, but there was an issue where I did not fully understand how to use it. Ergonis support is fast and efficient and quickly walked me through what I did not understand. Very satisfied.
Like (4)
Version 6.10
Woodjoe
29 August 2016
I'm a long time aText user but aText is abandonware. I switched to Typinator and I can fully recommend it to anyone who is looking for a text expanding software. I tried Textexpander but I wasn't satisfied. It is slow and sluggish and costs twice as much.
Like (4)
Version 6.10
SegN3rd
09 May 2016
Ergonis may be a bit opportunistic, but they have made good use of an opportunity rather than just exploiting it. With TextExpander going into a meltdown over subscription pricing, Typinator's cross-grade pricing has made it painless to switch, both on the wallet and in importing your snippets from TE. Most of my snippets imported with zero effort from me, although I did have to slightly tweak an AppleScript snippet. Now everything works just like with TE, except that Typinator runs faster and their company has not entered "take the money and run mode." If you're a TextExpander user and you're worried that switching to a new program would be too much of a hassle, Typinator has literally made it so that switching is less of a hassle than staying.
Like (5)
Version 6.9
read-more
01 May 2016
I recently switched to Typinator and found it to be an excellent alternative to TextExpander. I used TE for some time and never had a problem with the software or the tech support. But I'm not a fan of cloud-dependent software or subscription pricing, so when TE announced the big change, I went to look at the competition. Typinator caught my eye with its advanced features such as expansions that incorporate regular expressions, and built-in formulas to act on text as you type. For example, you can have a keystroke that returns a date x-number of days before today, exclusive of Saturdays and Sundays, or one to convert a paragraph to all-caps. Typinator converted all my TE snippets without problem, and tech support has provided fast and detailed answers to my questions about features I was unfamiliar with. All in all, switching has been a very positive experience.
Like (6)
Version 6.9
PHUBB
21 April 2016
I switched to Typinator for the same reason-subscription plan. And you know, it's just better. It's faster as others have mentioned. Great software and developer. I use their PopChar character insertion utility which is also fabulous. Yes, both those programs have paid upgrades from time to time, but in the long run, it's a better deal. FYI, TextExpander users, Typinator has an excellent way to import TextExpander snippets.
Like (7)
Version 6.8.1