Back to Apple Pages page
Apple Pages free download for Mac

Apple Pages Reviews

8.2
02 October 2019

Apple's word processor from the iWork suite.

ylluminate
10 November 2013

Most helpful

The user interface for this release is quite poor. I am shocked that a company that prides itself so much in elegant and simple designs has crippled their application suite. The way the styles and various elements are presented are simply presented in an inferior fashion that requires more drilling to find things than before. This really feels like a significant downgrade and I'm highly disappointed.
Like (8)
Version 5.0

Read 170 Apple Pages User Reviews

Rate this app:

miikee86
03 August 2019
yesss
Like
Version 8.1
Yazarim
15 April 2019
We have TOC again! Splendid idea, which makes me use Pages again after years of different (rather difficult) word processors novel-writing oriented. But which is the use of having a TOC if you do not see INSIDE IT where you are in your text while editing it or researching something? Or am I missing something? Version 8
Like
Version 8.0
This software would improve by a huge margin if you could directly save to a Format like ooXML or ODF. Nobody can use the native Pages format, except other Pages users.
Like (3)
Version 7.3
1 answer(s)
zsky
zsky
29 March 2019
Couldn't agree more. But knowing Apple this is highly unlikely to happen.
Like
ianrid
01 October 2018
Discovered an alarming bug (or is it a 'feature'?) in the latest version of Pages. Documents created in V7.2 on High Sierra will still open in Pages 5.6 on El Cap, but when resaved in 5.6 on El Cap they cannot then be opened again. Same happens to Keynote files. Is this a bug or a deliberate move from Apple because El Cap is no longer supported? Beware or you will lose files and data this way.
Like (2)
Version 7.2
Lvdoc
27 September 2018
I haven't played with Pages in some time, but this latest iteration seems stable; the dark theme is nice; and mostly (for me, at least), it once again opens and saves in rich text format.
Like (1)
Version 7.2
Eric•Woehler
04 May 2018
Dumbed-down, stripped down version of earlier Pages version. Still using Pages 4.3 from iWork 09 bundle. "Streamlined" app means loss of features, and a more challenging GUI and UX when using the latest versions of Pages/Keynote/Numbers. I am assuming loss of features etc is to ensure compatability with iPad versions of the same apps. A pity - Apple dumbed down the OSX versions rather than beefing up the iOS versions. Sticking with iWork 09 apps for as long as OSX allows! 5 stars for '09 apps, 1 star for current.
Like (6)
Version 7.0.1
1 answer(s)
Yazarim
Yazarim
17 May 2019
You have SAVED ME! Pages 8 is the slowest, most cumbersome wordprocessor in the history of word processing (i.e: writing real texts and not simple pages). Pages 4 is the REAL THING! Never thought before to downgrade, but i did it yesterday! Many, many, many thanks.
Like
Aargl
11 April 2018
I can't get why Apple now offers iWork's apps free for OS 10.12 and doesn't bother offering a DL link for El Capitan! :-o The only option is to use iWork '09 32 bits if you had it on a DVD with your old Mac...
Like
Version 7.0
2 answer(s)
teddystoddart
teddystoddart
27 March 2019
I think I'm having a similar issue to you – I'm using a mac from 2009 running El Capitan, and pages won't open, saying that's it is missing files. I can't update it however, as when I click update in the app store it loads indefinitely. How did you fix this issue?
Like
Aargl
Aargl
27 March 2019
I still use iWork '09 32 bits (aka 4.3) and frankly, having tried without satisfaction the more recent versions, I'm totally happy with it. ;-)
I was pretty surprised how many old apps are still working under El Capitan (and even High Sierra), sometimes performing better or in a more satisfactory way than the recent versions (Betterzip 2, Fantastical 1, Transmit 4, Office 2011, Movist 1 to name a few).
Like
Maclover1-1
24 January 2018
Pages does not play well with my Intuos Wacom tablet, impossible to select a line or block of text, it becomes unselected right away. some people never use or even own a mouse..
Like
Version 6.3.1
GLW
08 December 2017
I cannot get Pages 6.3.1 to open .doc or .docx documents (which I often receive from my Windows-using associates.) Accordingly, I have reverted to version 6.3 of Pages, which does not have this problem.
Like
Version 6.3.1
Mark-7faf4d14
21 September 2017
I want the most suitable version of Pages for my Early 2008 the last 17 inch MacBook Pro. I have to use it with El Capitan, because it would not take Sierra! I have to use 17 inch screen because of my eyesight. Where do I get proper version of Pages? I wish Pages could develop blue background with white or orange letters – best visibility of text, proven at stock exchanges and flight controllers. I am a journalist and translator and have to read hundreds of pages every day. I hope Pages with blue background would help me. Mark Lech Jaworski latarnik@mac.com
Like
Version 6.3
lazk
21 September 2017
When I tried Swift Publisher for the first time about 4 years ago, I was amazed how superior it is over Pages. It took me about 10 minutes trying to realize that Pages are simply incomparable to SwiftPublisher.. I don't even update Pages since then, and have no desire to do so. Because SP is the BEST.
Like
Version 6.3
Maclover1-1
15 June 2017
Linked text boxes, what a concept :0) Finally.
Like
Version 6.2
john-roehling
14 June 2017
This seems to be a fairly recently active thread, so if you've read the gist of my assertions elsewhere, please excuse. Pages5, compared to the last usable version Pages4 (09), is nothing other than an iOS trinket of little value to the even most marginally serious writer-publisher. Apparently it has some value for slickened real estate sales flyers, holiday newsletters, and sundry brochures clogging up life while also littering the landscape. They're gee-factor is going to grow nauseatingly thin quicker than is currently imagined. While Pages5 is not an acceptable document format for term-papers for most high schools in the US--conversion to Word notwithstanding because of the botched up result--you can still use Pages4 in spite of its age. If you have deleted yours or never had it, you can badger Apple on the phone if you have a computer that originally came with it (2012). Discs are available from Apple and will be sent to you free of charge shipping included. That's how I got my copy. I then had to then drag Pages5 to the trash over its unasked for attempts to interfere with Pages4 with queasy routines to "upgrade", prying into documents with itself without asking, and just general childishness. There was no loss. Staring too hard into the stale brilliance of the iStuff light-bulb, Apple has blinded itself to the damage things like Pages5 have caused. When, very reluctantly, dedicated Apple computer users since the first iMac/MacBook G4's with OS X 10.0 leave for a seriously supported other, the gadget-crowd will follow them, not vice-versa in spite of proselytizing otherwise. The bottom will have fallen out. Pages5, and I suppose its sister software, is the harbinger. Please excuse me for repeating this again, but for us Apple's reputation is self-sullied enough that at some point, regardless of a return to the software standards Apple once held, the cost in trying to regain it will become too expensive to sustain. Also please excuse me for repeatedly embellishing someone's comment to an article that was unrelated: the what seemed to be the fantastic, "Apple declares bankruptcy in 2020-something". More likely to be, "Tim Cook steps down as ....", but I have fresh evidence, our kids, who are now both near receiving their baccalaureates. Following their trail since we traded in their huge G3's for Christmastime MacBook Airs during 11th. grade. One still has his MacBook Air, because of the high school-furnished Word, hasn't brought either an iPhone or iPad in years. The other still has his traded for MacBook Pro, again because of university-furnished Word, and his iPhone6. There was a ping in his daddy's heart when he told me he too wouldn't buy either again--citing lack of quality. The mother did acquire his iPad, which she uses quite happily for putzing with emails and as a camera. She recently said she wants to get an iPhone from our carrier. Imagine her two tech-savvy sons (with a saddened husband boycotting in protest) telling her in unison don't. The quote is right in one aspect, 20-somethings will do it
Like (2)
Version 6.2
Dumbing down their apps has been a common practice with Apple for years. Long ago they did it with iMovie. More recently they replaced iPhoto and Aperture with Photos. It's a habit they cannot seem to break. The only time they listened to complaints was with Final Cut, which they eventually brought back, more or less, to par. For the rest, there are alternative applications. The advantage Pages has over other word processors is that it is template driven, which originally made it more accessible to non-expert (that is to say, average) users. Problems arise when you ask it to do things it is simply not designed for. Or, in this case, to do things it is no longer designed for. LibreOffice is a powerful app, and it's free, but it's intended to be a Microsoft Office replacement. It's overkill if all you want is a capable substitute for Pages. Personally I like InDesign for layout and even word processing work. But it's not cheap. Recently I was helping a friend design a photo book. We tried it first in Pages, but couldn't get the page numbering to work. We switched to InDesign which handles things like that with ease. There was a bit of a learning curve as I taught my friend how to use master pages (over the phone, no less), but once he got the hang of the app, things went smoothly. In the meantime, continue to bang away at Apple for how they disrespect users by stripping features out of their apps. It may not help, but it can't hurt.
Like (5)
Version 6.1
1 answer(s)
ysgad
ysgad
14 June 2017
I totally agree. iWork 09 was going somewhere. Everything after has been a disaster. Nisus Writer Pro is my new goto word processor. I wish there was something less daunting and expensive than InDesign for more advanced but sill relatively simple DTP work.
Like (2)
Jokyo
28 March 2017
Apple continue to dumb everything down because that is what they think of us. We are just dumb punters who finance there ambitions. We should look elsewhere for answers.
Like (1)
Version 6.1
Alvin-H
28 March 2017
this is simple word processors for me and most people. if you need more you can find another option, but for the price, its enought for me
Like
Version 6.1
kclind5
18 December 2016
I'm so disappointed. I wish I could undo the update and go back to what I had before. The functionality of Pages is amazingly diminished. Makes no sense at all. I use pages for simple word processing, a few charts, and columnar lists. Nothing fancy; it's a simple program. I cannot duplicate half of what I have previously done, and I've had to re-do the forms that I've been using for years because Most of the styles and layouts are not available. Are they deliberately trying to get people to stop using Pages???
Like (2)
Version 6.0.5
orourk0919
04 November 2016
I am so frustrated with Pages 5.6.2 It came with my computer so I don't have the option of going back to an earlier version. I have spent literally hours trying to enter sequential. numbers. What ever I try it either starts at page 7 (title page Preface etc before actual page 1) or if I just enter page#2 then it enters 2 on every page. Cannot seem to separate the sections.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
giselaraeber
03 November 2016
I still have version 4.Pages. Didn't use it for a while but it seems that it has been upgraded automatically ? I hate it. Nothing works anymore. I'm writing books and the links just disappear. I even can't copy a word text into the model anymore. Looking at the negative reviews of later versions I even don't feel like downloading a later update.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
CAN I PPPPLEASE HAVE BACK MY GOOD, OLD APPLEWORKS?? No? Apple Write? No? MacWrite? Where is the ruler of the footer? Stop searching, I tell you: REMOVED! And this is only one of the many ways they made our life harder with no benefit at all! What's the use to run after MircoBrain's way to 'develop' software (see also Skype, another destroied product, once wonderful, now all my notes disappeared, exempli gratia!)? And the same for Numbers, another SW that brought me to stop to use Apple SW for spreadsheets, then Draw… Once upon a time all my high tech company business documents of this 3 types were made by anyone quickly, easy, with a light and perfectly integrated SW (AppleWorks), light as its document were. And the worst news is that no one else made a replacement of it. I would like to say that my died litte brother Steve was innocent but he wasn't fully; unfortunatey I can't tell him anymore: STEVE, WAKE UP, YOU'RE GOING TO LOSE YOUR VISION!!!
Like (4)
Version 5.6.2
2 answer(s)
Yazarim
Yazarim
21 September 2016
I totally, totally, TOTALLY AGREE. I am a writer, but had to stop using the unusable and useless Pages. And simply become crazy to try and use the whale named Numbers for very simple tasks. And so on
Like (1)
Mark-7faf4d14
Mark-7faf4d14
21 September 2017
I am sorry to say that Apple is killing her own children. Claris Works and Organizer were the best ever. I wish they will be back, so I could read my old documents. Apple developed Organizer, sold it to Palm and it died with Palm. Wasn't it nice to see the dates when entries were made?
FireWire was a great success, why was it killed?
Like
Mcr
11 May 2016
In my opinion, the vast majority of complaints regards the reduction of functionality in Pages from v4 to v5 relate to functionality that is, (and again , just my opinion) more about desktop publishing as opposed to basic to moderate word processing. I'm not an Apple apologist, but it is clear what happened here, and anyone willing to step back and remove the emotion and think it through, it becomes clear. Prior to overwhelming success of iOS, iWorks was on a path of constantly adding functionality. People saw it as the Apple answer to MS Office, not because Apple ever said that is what it would be, but because that is what many people WANTED and HOPED it would be, so they imposed their desire and reflected it in their reviews and feedback to Apple, which at the time, continued to march down the functionality curve of continued adding of functionality. MS Office sells for +$100. iWorks was much less, and for some Mac owners came with their Mac. At some point point Apple started doing the math; "Wait, what are we doing here, we keep heading down this path, in 3 to 5 years people are going to be expecting Pages to be a competitor to Adobe InDesign, all for $20." Is the destiny of iWorks to be a Office or Adobe competitor selling for $150 or more? Is that really what we want?" At that same time, iOS is taking off in ways Apple could not have even imagined, especially tablets, and the need to have some type of iWorks running on tablets, and the need to have a cross platform solution was more important that maintaining the functionality curve on the desktop. At that point, Apple had to decide if the desktop version of iWorks needed to be rebranded to a "professional" pro-sumer product, for several hundred dollars, with constant functionality improvements, while the iOS brand with greatly reduced functionality (due to the hardware/software limitations of tablets versus desktop) was maintained as a separate product platform. The decision was this, if we provide cross platform products brands, this will improve the adoption of iOS and the tablet as a 'serious' platform that can do serious work, not just reading email and playing games. Once that decision was reached, limitations in iOS mandated and the need to have one code base, resulted in the desktop version having to be paired back down. Once desktop and iOS got to a common base, you now seeing functionality being added BACK in to subsequent versions of the desktop version and iOS version concurrently. Having said that, Apple has decided the target base for Pages is NOT as a direct competitor to higher end document processors. Pages is not supposed to be "Adobe InDesign LITE" for lack of a better term, which sells for hundreds of dollars, while Pages is only $19.99 and for many if not most, if you first install iWork 09, the app store will still upgrade your copy to the latest (provided you have Yosemite or later). Some users are expecting InDesign functionality out of a $19.99 app. I have not paid for any updates/upgrades to Pages, Numbers or Keynote since my original purchase of iWork 09, SEVEN YEARS ago. Lastly, people talk like they are being forced to upgrade. There are many options: 1) keep an old Mac around running older OS X and iWorks, 2) run virtualized installs of older OS X; 3) if you have a Mac capable of running older OS X and latest, partition the drive into bootable partitions of older and newer OS X. Again, the expectations of what we want Pages to be need to be balanced by the fact that is is a $19.99 app (or a free upgrade to many/most previous users), which provides cross platform compatibility with iOS.. It is not Adobe InDesign Lite and never will be. That doesn't make Pages a bad product for NEW users looking for basic to moderate word processing. I"m not discounting people's frustrations, I get it, so it isn't necessary to respond back about how much you invested in previous documents, and so on, I GET IT. For new users, considering Pages, they need to realize, that for $19.99, you are getting a very decent piece of software that is meant for entry level to low moderate document generation needs. Your a working Mom that needs to punch out a quick flyer or one page newsletter for your church or kids' softball group, and you only have 30 minutes? Pages is GREAT for that. Now if you're a company, looking to do commercial level, or even pro-sumer level document generation, or if your needs lean towards to book publishing, template management, multiple master pages, complex text flow, etc, a $19..99 app is not going to meet your needs. Forget that the Pages from FIVE years ago could handle it. At this point, the reality is, stop expecting Apple to restore Pages to what it was; they don't want it to be the answer to Office or Adobe desktop publishing. iOS is the cash cow for Apple now, not desktop. The cart has become the donkey. Until the day there is a massive evolution in the processing and interface of iOS devices, and as long as they want to maintain some level of functional coherency between desktop and iOS, the desktop version will continue to suffer. Otherwise it's back to splitting up the platform versions again and functional disparity between the two platforms, and then you MIGHT see something like 'Pages Pro version" come out for the desktop, not for $19.99 but for $199.99. But again, there is no business reason for Apple to do that; why devote the development resources to a high end product that may only sell tens of thousands of copies, when you can devote that to the $19.99 product which drives sales of Mac hardware, desktop and iOS. Higher end users can go with Adobe, or you can run Office 2016 for Windows virtualized or with boot camp, and use Microsoft Publisher, which by the way, is a great product which basically comes included with most versions of Office.
Like (6)
Version 5.6.2
2 answer(s)
peterbreis
peterbreis
08 July 2016
What a lot of rationaising!

People saw iWorks as the replacement for Ms Office because that is what Apple sold it as. Period.

And Pages 5 does not only fail as a DTP App it equally fails as a Word Processor particularly since it has DTP features shoe horned into a Word Processor that stops you doing what many other Word Processors can do, and then failks as a DTP App.

...and the fact that Pages '09 (which worked with the previous iOS version), a seven year old App, STILL runs circles around Pages 5 makes all of that even more stark.

Many people ARE being upgraded, without their knowledge and to their great confusion and damage of their files, when they open them in Pages 5.

We've been through all this thousands of times since Pages 5 was released almost 3 years ago and the results here, the App Store and on the Net show what the vast bulk of users (at the least the ones who have a clue what has happened) think of it.

Apple has stuffed up what was an amazing and unique set of very powerful and accessible productivity Apps. We are still discovering new bugs and deficiencies in the much touted new set of iWork Apps that in IMHO render them if not useless largely pointless.

What is most SAD is that despite being written from ground up for the new hardware and Systems it runs so badly. I got it to bring a Mac Pro, with massive amount of RAM and fast drives, to a grinding beachball eternal spin out on a file that Pages '09 breezes through.
Like (4)
Andy-Hewitt
Andy-Hewitt
27 October 2016
I'm fully with you there, in that Pages is a good functional document processor, and that it's not really intended as a direct competitor for software such as MS Office. However, my main complaint is that it does lack some basic fundamental tools that it did used to have, but have now been removed - one such , for me, is text box linking. A major omission IMHO, that is a basic requirement for anyone needing page layout functions.

It's also terrible with handling other text functions, such as smart quotes, and find/replace, both of which are badly broken in the latest Pages. All of which have previously worked fine in all versions of Pages (and indeed AppleWorks) before that.
Like (2)
jason-44
27 January 2016
Good Lord this update (5.6.1) is horrible. We were using Pages to create documents for our business that were accessible for our entire team without requiring advanced design software or skills. We had constructed nice style sheets for various types of documents only to have everything we had created stripped away with this update. No real Master styles anymore and when we import our old documents it removes our company logo from the header—A complete Hot Mess from Apple. I gave it a 1 Star just so I could have the satisfaction of taking 1/2 of it away to return the favor for Apple taking 1/2 the products features away.
Like (3)
Version 5.6.1
nikki-1
15 December 2015
I loved this software so much that I very recently purchased another iMac, but the new version of Pages (5.6.1) is HORRIBLE!!! OMG I hate it! My older iMac has hundreds of frames, I can move sections between documents... UGH! Apple seems to have removed a lot of really nice features; don't know why, and honestly I can't figure out what they've added to improve it. SHAME ON YOU APPLE!!!
Like (3)
Version 5.6.1
1 answer(s)
peterbreis
peterbreis
08 July 2016
SHAME indeed.

But just keep using Pages '09 v4.3 until something better comes along.

You DO NOT HAVE TO UPGRADE!

And you can have both Pages '09 and Pages 5.62 on the same Mac at the same time, using the one you want, which in most cases will be Pages '09.
Like (3)
Marcelo Leite
18 October 2015
App fantastic.
Like
Version 5.6
rk9577
17 October 2015
Still a bungled mess:
--no facing pages (or alternating left/right headers/footers)
--no bookmarks (!)
--no text-box linking (!)
--no non contiguous selection
--no mail merge
--crippled find/replace
--can't print comments
--no interdocument hyperlinks
--no support for RTF
--clicking footnote number goes to note, but clicking note number does not go back to text: why?

Avoid this misbegotten mess
Like (5)
Version 5.6
1 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
10 May 2016
I have been begging and begging Apple to resolve these issues, but no joy. Seems like they really don't care about UX.
Like (2)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
16 October 2015
I haven't tried it yet, but this update would seem to put to bed the concern that Apple will be abandoning the iWork apps—assuming the listed improvements, like improved compatibility with Word are all they're cracked up to be. This is good news for people who have developed a workflow around the iApps.
Like
Version 5.6
1 answer(s)
peterbreis
peterbreis
08 July 2016
Good that you haven't tried it, because none of that is true.
Like
chawya22
16 October 2015
Finally Pages 5.6 will open Pages '08 documents. Long overdue but glad Apple finally addressed this oversight.
Like (1)
Version 5.6
1 answer(s)
Abysmillard
Abysmillard
17 October 2015
You mean they added basic functionality to Pages?
Like (3)
Andy-Hewitt
16 October 2015
Still no linkable text boxes, this is a basic feature that's been around since at least ClarisWorks days. This alone makes Pages 5 unusable for me. If it wasn't for that, among a few other things, it could be such a good app.
Like (4)
Version 5.6
Glidagida
04 August 2015
I can not leave 0 stars, but if I could I would. As a long time Pages user who writes books and Newsletters for a living I had enjoyed Pages growing maturity on handling long files/complex layouts. Pages 4.4 was very good as a semi Page-layout programme, very flexible, quite powerful and a reasonable UI. Then Pages 5! What a disaster. Apple put Pages back into nappies. I can no longer edit my Newsletter, I can't handle my books. It has been dumbed down amazingly. Hopeless. I have uninstalled V5 and reinstalled V4.
Like (7)
Version 5.5.3
1 answer(s)
Ddh
Ddh
05 October 2016
I find that written material and images are difficult to maintain once they have been set in place. Each time I open the ePub template document the images and text are all out of alignment. I spend more time attempting to put everything back into order ... write ... and do the same thing all over again pretty much on a daily basis. I going to look for a better system to write my book.
Like
Kzx72
11 June 2015
I know everyone on here is quick to bash 5.0 (and along with many others, I still prefer the interface of Pages 4) but there are some improvements. There's a more minimalistic design, it feels snappier when you're writing, the find and replace works better. Like another user said, as a word processor, it does what it's supposed to which is what I was looking for. Once you adapt to a few changes, it's not a lot different and doesn't warrant a two star rating.
Like (1)
Version 5.5.3
3 answer(s)
peterbreis
peterbreis
08 July 2016
It is not snappier it is vastly slower and often locks up on files that Pages '09 has no trouble with, the Find and Replace is hopelessly crippled, it is vastly buggier and lacks over 120 features that are still in Pages '09, which still works.

Other than that SPOT ON!
Like
Kzx72
Kzx72
08 July 2016
Since I posted this last year, I've had absolutely no problems with Pages and speed. The find and replace hasn't been an issue either (and I don't think it should be if you know what you're doing). What are the 120 features lacking in Pages 5 which Pages 09 had and how exactly is it "vastly buggier" ?
Like
peterbreis
peterbreis
09 July 2016
If you know what you are doing you would not need to have the missing features, bugs and bad UI explained to you.

Apple relies on users such as yourself, having no clue about what is going on.

Just one very simple test of just how badly written Pages 5 is written is to repeat an array of objects until it goes into the eternal spinning beachball. I did that as a test to find out why so many users were getting unopenable documents and/or creeping slow responsiveness and typing.
Like
Kzx72
11 June 2015
I know everyone on here is quick to bash 5.0 (and along with many others, I still prefer the interface of Pages 4) but there are some improvements. There's a more minimalistic design, it feels snappier when you're writing, the find and replace works better. Like another user said, as a word processor, it does what it's supposed to which is what I was looking for. Once you adapt to a few changes, it's not a lot different and doesn't warrant a two star rating.
Like (1)
Version 5.5.3
joris-3
14 May 2015
Warning !! Everything made in 5.5.3. cannot be openend in 5.5.2 of earlier. Correct me if i am wrong.
Like (2)
Version 5.5.3
gene-3
22 April 2015
I converted from a PC to a Mac back in 2007. On the PC, I used MS Publisher, which was fine, but was very poor in the image management department. However, it did allow for many nice features such as mail-merge and working with booklets. When I moved to the Mac, I began to learn Pages. Since that time, I have become very comfortable with Pages (4.3) using it for most every document and publication that I create, which are hundreds each year. I do have an Adobe CC subscription as well, and have learned how to use InDesign, but prefer Pages over InDesign because it seems easier to use. Even Pages 4.3 had its shortcomings though. One could not create booklets with ease, especially when it came to imposing. I needed to download a plugin in order to impose my pages into a booklet as part of the printing operation. It also did not allow one to choose CMYK output, which is needed for pre-press work. But I think the most frustrating thing was that, even though it allowed one to see a document as two-up, it did not allow one to spread a graphic across facing pages, which is required for many booklet-type documents. It also did not help with full-bleed documents, showing cut and safe lines. One had to size the paper larger to allow for the bleed. I had really hoped that the new version of Pages would have become more and more robust as a publishing tool, much like PageMaker or InDesign. Unfortunately, Apple decided to forsake its "professional" users in favor of the "template" user, in essence dumbing it down to allow it to match its iOS devices. I'm sure of one thing, I will not be using my iPad or iPhone to design an 8-page booklet any time in this lifetime. That's precisely why I bought a 27" iMac and added a 28" monitor beside! Apple, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE stop forcing your power users to use a mickey-mouse app that someone would use to make a party invitation once in their lifetime! Instead, make an app that competes with the professional stuff that is out there today. I know you can do it, and I know that people would be willing to pay real money for it!
Like (5)
Version 5.5.3
Swo
22 April 2015
There's a lot of talk about how Apple took features away in the latest versions of Pages, based upon Apple's effort to make it work the same in the iOS and desktop environments, and while that 's essentially true, much of that lost functionality has been added back.

It's a versatile word processor that exports to Word and other formats, and is easier to use than Nisus Writer Pro (it's also less powerful, but why use a howitzer when a .45 will do just as well?) and does what it's supposed to do.

Its development has been a bit uneven, but it feels to me that all the rough spots have been sanded smooth, and it's well-worth the (very reasonable) cost.

Additionally, it's available via iCloud in browsers, on iOS devices and the desktop application, all able to work seamlessly with each other.
Like
Version 5.5.3
1 answer(s)
ferben
ferben
22 April 2015
Unfortunately – keeping the same EDITING options on OS X /iOS/Web is not right way. Even today you cannot do exactly the same things on OS X, iOS and iCloud. But I want to say ALOUD: „18 months is really enough time to bring back many features".

For example Pages has GUI localized into Czech, but without SpellChecker (has workaround on desktop, only) and hyphenation (without workaround even any invisible character like 'break-here' for manual hyphenation).

Missing facing pages or possibility to show two pages side-by-side on my 27" iMac or iPad in Landscape orientation.

Missing creating customizable numbering of tables and images (for example "Table X: Examples") and create TOC from this, for my dissertation.

I really want print table with 0.5 pt solid 100% Black cell border but not grey.

I really miss links/anchors to another part of the same document (link to another Chapter… and export this link as clickable link to PDF.

I really miss any possibility to print and export Notes to PDF (not only export to DOCX).

I really miss correct Find&Replace function – I don't want find page "~ 5 ~" number when I search two spaces next to each " " … etc.

I really want export TOC into PDF as PDF native table of content (appear in left navigation panel in Reader or Preview instead of pages thumbnail).

All this bug I've report to Apple more then 12 months ago, but we get only "stability improvements and bug fixes" several times, nothing more.

Sorry, I'm tired…
Like (3)
Whitebuck
22 April 2015
Apple has absolutely lost their way! The new Apple Pages is worthless Garbage! The numerous reasons why. Have been exposed many times over. But for myself, the Search or Find option/tool in Pages 09 Version 4.1 (923) is the feature I miss most. Unfortunately, I have not been able to discover another Word Processor with a comparable Search/Find option/tool. It is/was the best and most uniquely functional and I say this after trying the available alternative Word Processors. Calligra Words is the only W.P. I found to have a functionally comparable Search/Find tool. But that was on a Linux OS and the OS X version is unfortunately, not yet ready for prime time. Sadly, Apple has forced myself and many others to continue using Pages 09 until it no longer works or Apple rectifies their insane blunder. If they do not realize and correct their egregious err, I will never, install or use the "New" Apple Pages! Their latest egregious software blunder has forced me to uninstall iPhoto and the new Photos Application, in favor of alternative software, Lyn and Gimp. They just don't get it!
Like (8)
Version 5.5.3
3 answer(s)
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
23 April 2015
I downloaded and installed the Office for Mac Preview and found that the "Find and Replace" search function works almost exactly like Pages 09 Search.

So now, I have no choice but to pony up and purchase the Office for Mac final version. Thanks Apple or more precisely, the clueless Task Master Tim Cook.
Like (1)
Sjha
Sjha
26 April 2015
May I suggest that you try Write from Growly Software (http://www.growlybird.com/write/index.html). This is my word processor of choice now, an excellent versatile programme with first-rate support from the developer. I have no connection with the company, just a very satisfied user
Like
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
23 September 2015
On Apr 22, 2015 Whitebuck wrote: "Unfortunately, I have not been able to discover another Word Processor with a comparable Search/Find option/tool."

Then you should take a serious look at Nisus Writer Pro. It has definitely the best and most customizable Search engine of all word processors on the Mac. You can find literally everything: text, images, tables, the second word of every chapter, or whatever you can think of. Macros can show you matches as a list with hot links to jump directly to the found location. Try for example the "Find All Showing Context" macro. If you have a particular idea about how you want your search results to be presented to you, then ask the people in the Nisus Forum for help (<http://nisus.com/forum/>).
Like
ferben
22 April 2015
Pages 5.x is the worst part of new iWorks. There are missing a lot of features which has been in previous versions. One and half year and we are still waiting…
Like (1)
Version 5.5.3
Palex
24 March 2015
The best text editor
Like
Version 5.5.2
dguerra-1
23 March 2015
I've had my mac for about 4 years and love it. Also loved Pages. Could do anything with it, easy to figure out and understand. Then Best Buy destroyed my computer and they bought me a new one - with Pages 5.5. Hate it, hate it, hate it. Can't open my old documents without updating them to the new version, can't find commands that were on the old version - terrible. (simple example - when I made a change to a document on the old pages and didn't like it, I just shut it down. It asked if I wanted to save the changes, I said no, and it didn't save the changes. Simple. Not pages 5.5! I found out the hard way that it doesn't ask, it just saves. So I finally found the "save as" command. STILL didn't save the old version of the document. Just one of many, many things that have been totally screwed up.
Like (1)
Version 5.5.2
1 answer(s)
Steve K
Steve K
04 April 2015
@dguerra_1: That's not Pages saving your changes, that's the new OS X way of things. You can turn it off in Preferences > General > Ask to keep changes when closing documents

Hope that helps!
Like
BuffaloJohn
18 March 2015
Seems stuck in place. Still hasn't completely caught up with the old version. Very disappointing that I couldn't open old templates.
Like
Version 5.5.2
Andy-Hewitt
09 January 2015
I've already left a review, so posting only a comment this time. This new update still has no linkable text boxes, so for me is completely useless. For tasks that don't require this feature, it's OK. Swift Publisher makes quite a good alternative too, but as a rule I still stick with Pages 4.3.
Like (2)
Version 5.5.2
1 answer(s)
peterbreis
peterbreis
14 January 2015
…or require facing pages, Textbook linking, bookmarks, outlining auto capitalisation, function list styling, external links, importable styles or over 100 other removed features.

Other than that it is terrific …except for the bloated file sizes, constantly changing and incompatible file formats, unparseable content when it inevitably fails, incompatibility with 3rd party servers, slowness, inefficient use of screenspace, bad Ui, …
Like (2)
Cattus-Thraex
09 January 2015
Pages remains one of the most enigmatic apps ever created by Apple. After the last revision, when it lost some features, but got others (among these, something I really appreciate, working with combined diacritical marks, something only few apps can handle, e.g. Nisus, Mellel and, now, Pages), it remain eerie in not importing RTF files, which reportedly is the reference format in OS X. How come? Reference format not importable in Pages? Strange, isn’t it? RTF is the typical interchange format.
Like (1)
Version 5.5.2
Cattus-Thraex
09 January 2015
Pages remains one of the most enigmatic apps ever created by Apple. After the last revision, when it lost some features, but got others (among these, something I really appreciate, working with combined diacritical marks, something only few apps can handle, e.g. Nisus, Mellel and, now, Pages), it remain eerie in not importing RTF files, which reportedly is the reference format in OS X. How come? Reference format not importable in Pages? Strange, isn’t it? RTF is the typical interchange format. Perhaps the team, which has been working with Pages, will clarify what they really wish to do, and what is the reference format in OS X. RTF also is a very good cross-platform format, good, but not for Pages. Apple team, make up your mind, and decide what you plan to do with us, and with Pages.
Like (1)
Version 5.5.2
The-Equalizer
31 December 2014
Too clunky. Creating and editing tables is a total nightmare now. My workflow and time spent working on lesson planning, course design and desktop publishing used to be a breeze, not to mention a pleasure when I used Pages. Sadly, those days are gone. I can no longer utalise my creative skills and I'm tired of trying to figure out why nothing, or the wrong thing, is not selected when I click on it; why I have to scroll-click-select-scroll-click-select all the time. Above all, I hate it when apps such as this wants to take me out of the driving seat by making decisions for me. Thank Heavens for Pages-to-PDF / Word convertors. These have been a God Send for teachers like me who were all iWork users, but who've now made the switch back to using tried and tested alternatives.
Like (2)
Version 5.5.1
marikay-mccabe
03 December 2014
DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS NEW VERSION!!! You will not be able to open documents created in 09 version or share your newly created documents with colleagues with 09 version. Apple has gone too far this time!!
Like (3)
Version 5.5.1
gq555
18 November 2014
3:30am. I've been wrestling with Pages for a few hours trying to get it to some very basic things. I'm done with it. I will be installing Office tomorrow. It boggles my mind that Apple would remove fundamental features. Jony Ive is wrecking the company. He doesn't understand that hardware simplicity doesn't translate to software. An elegant interface is fine, but you don't make software better by removing all of it's features.
Like (3)
Version 5.5.1
ylluminate
14 November 2014
The disappointment continues. The UX team at Apple has really been dropping the ball lately on things and I'm growing increasingly concerned. With Pages I am finding that it takes me 25-100% longer to perform tasks than with the previous version on this release. There are still some odd glaring issues such as eliminating feature like multi-selection within text. It is more time consuming to modify sections and other (probably) less accessed functions. The last version was more of a Word competitor than this and I find myself (very angrily) moving back to MS Word more and more with this release or simply using the old Pages where I can. I'm generally becoming disenfranchised by Apple with the UX team's focus on touchability and things that are not friendly to traditional power users. I'm sad to say that even problems are bleeding over into the OS design with Yosemite here and there. Apple, you really need to get it together and understand that differentiating user experiences for desktops vs mobile devises is NOT wrong.
Like (5)
Version 5.5.1
1 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
14 November 2014
Sorry, I should have said 125%-200% in that last post. I inferred that it was the standard time PLUS the percentage, but I don't think it came off right and sadly there's no edit function here... :)
Like (5)
peterbreis
09 November 2014
Leaving aside the fatuous excuses for this really bad "upgrade" it is a lie to say that iWork '09 did not work with iPads and iOS. It did, and not much worse than this version does. It is hardly an improvement to drag down the Mac version to the iOS version level and even there still have features that you can't do in the iOS version. Pages has become abandonware. So many major features are gone, it doesn't take it up to the old Pages let alone MsOffice. If you are amongst the lucky few who haven't noticed much change, you haven't lost a file that won't open and never did much anyway so there is nothing to miss, even if the file can't be opened. So Pages, and the rest of the iWork apps, has become for users who never rise above a Twit or a selfie. So the reason it has been dumbed down the way it has is because Apple's users have been dumbed down. Try doing support for these on Apple's forums, you can not believe just how stupid and helpless the users have become. It has become a self fulfilling policy, the dumber the App the dumber the user, repeat.
Like (8)
Version 5.5.1
4 answer(s)
Kzx72
Kzx72
08 July 2016
Peter - Do me a favor and provide a link to the 120 features that have been removed from Pages 09.
Like
peterbreis
peterbreis
09 July 2016
@Kzx72 They have not been removed from Pages '09, they are still there and still work, but are not in Pages 5.x

For quite a long time we ran an enormously long post (over 100 pages) in Apple's Pages for Mac Forum, detailing all the features missing, UI blunders and bugs. Apple has since done to their Forums what they did to Pages and it is well nigh impossible to find anything.

We all got tired of just chronicling the rolling disaster and have posted the extra problems as uncovered throughout other threads. The latest popping up is the failure to retain cmyk color spaces when exporting to pdfs and reducing everything to sRGB. I also detailed how Pages 5 can bring a fully tanked up Mac Pro to its knees simply by having too many objects (which are OK in Pages '09) in a document.

Other people posted copies of my list at various stages on the Net, just do a search if you are genuinely interested, but there is little you or I can do about it (almost 3 years later) as Apple has largely neglected Pages 5, with only minor changes since it dumped it on its users.
Like
peterbreis
peterbreis
09 July 2016
I had to search via ArsTechnica to find the old forum thread within Apple's own Forums! :D

We gave up on a pointless exercise, Apple isn't listening or going to do anything, but here was the list, plenty to add since then:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5468056?start=1530&tstart=0
Like
Kzx72
Kzx72
09 July 2016
Peter - Yeah, I found your "post of grievances" by doing an online search through google earlier this afternoon. I used Pages 09 for writing articles for several months last year and never ran into major problems with performance but my main focus wasn't on the details of a word processor, just the bare bones. After a while I got used to it even though some of the changes felt awful. I have my own gripes with Apple's native software (read GUI changes or lack of any color in folders, icons, scrollbars, no theming etc). Not to mention this new System Integrity Protection B.S.. I often think about downgrading to Yosemite as there are many programs I could use (including Pages 5) that are not compatible with El Capitan. Anyway, I admire your persistence two plus years later.
Like
larrymcj
08 November 2014
I honestly think users need to determine whether the latest version of Pages is suited for their needs. Power users that do tons of formatting, etc., will likely not like the latest version. I happen to like it, but my word processing needs are very basic. Additionally, if you meet the "basic needs" criteria, then Pages integrates and syncs perfectly with iCloud Drive (of course, you have to have Yosemite installed)...and I do. This means it also syncs all your documents perfectly with your iOS devices. For me, this is important. Maybe rather than forcing opinions on folks who ask for help here, we should do our best to look at what the poster's needs are (if stated). For many years I've relied on MacUpdate for these valuable opinions and I hope I'll be able to continue reading them.
Like
Version 5.5.1
3 answer(s)
Spank-Me-Baby
Spank-Me-Baby
08 November 2014
Or maybe it is the fact that people don't need to upgrade OS X and other Mac software if what they have at the moment works perfectly fine and has the features they are looking for. Why should Apple force users to upgrade Pages with a message that will not go away only to find that users will have to upgrade to OS X Yosemite as well and later all the subsequent additional upgrades and updates needed to get users back to a reasonable standard of performance and stability?

What is relevant to Lvdoc, and certainly to others here who have Pages but may not want to upgrade, is how to stop the message from appearing.

If it turns out there is no easy solution (not even a tweak of the preferences file for Pages to switch off the message), then this is likely to reveal more about the state of OS X Yosemite (and possibly even the sales of traditional Mac computers at the present time). More specifically, Apple is probably struggling to get enough people to install and use OS X Yosemite (and with it the extra profits in selling more RAM and new Macs)t. Instead, people are happy to purchase iPads and iPhones for now and so Apple is trying to cater to this group of people even to the point of trying to modify OS X to make it look more like iOS. Apple is even trying to dumb down Pages in the UI design and number of features to help entice these people to purchase a Mac. Unfortunately, the plan may not be going quite as well as Apple had hoped.

If this is what's actually happening at the moment (which would explain why this nagging message has appeared from Apple), then Apple needs to be careful not to alienate the more experienced Apple users of Mac computers. And certainly it should not be annoying users to upgrade something they don't need to which would only result in more time and money spent to get everything back to a reasonable state of useability and stability. People have better things to do in their lives than fixing up their Macs to make things work again.

If OS X Yosemite is as great as some users and Apple make it out to be, other users will naturally discover it for themselves and they will rave about it in great numbers. And if Apple is even vaguely smart, it will make sure the apps users have in previous OS X versions (certainly from Mountain Lion onwards) can still continue to run well in the latest OS X version. Do this and Apple will see users flock to OS X Yosemite in huge numbers (so long as it s not too taxing on the capabilities of older Macs; otherwise be honest and say everyone needs the latest Mac to run the OS so at least users know where they stand but don't constantly nag people to upgrade).

If OS X Yosemite is suppose to be a fantastic upgrade, just tell people who have Pages how to stop the nagging message.

I think that is what's relevant here.
Like (2)
peterbreis
peterbreis
09 November 2014
@Spank-Me-Baby Uncheck > Menu > Apple > System Preferences > App Store > Automatically check for updates

Just one of many cases however where Apple changes something and leaves its users to struggle with the unwelcome changes.
Like (3)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
26 November 2014
Far from integrating and syncing perfectly with iCloud drive, Pages 5.5.1 sporadically will not save, objects to the number of characters in the file name or simply disappears users' work.

Not what I would call perfect, unless you mean a perfect sh¡t!

Can we have less of the excuse making and running shotgun for Apple's stuff-ups?
Like (2)
Lvdoc
07 November 2014
I liked iWork 09 but was okay with the update and decided to use it. (My needs are minimal.) I use Mavericks and have no plans to update to Yosemite. Nonetheless, nearly every time I open Pages or Numbers, I get a notice telling me that a new update is available; yet I can't use said update except on Yosemite. If I weren't already heavily invested in Mac software, I'd seriously consider looking into non-Apple alternatives. And I've been using Macs since 1987!
Like (2)
Version 5.5.1
12 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
07 November 2014
And why aren't you using Yosemite? You can't expect to be able to use new versions of software if you are sticking to an older OS.

Yosemite works great. They have added nice new features and fixed some things from Mavericks.

Or are you just being a Luddite?
Like
Spank-Me-Baby
Spank-Me-Baby
07 November 2014
Not helpful advice.

I think RavenNevermore has missed the point. Lvdoc said that he has "no plans to update to Yosemite". Why should Lvdoc be forced to upgrade his OS X just to stop a simple update or upgrade notice from appearing all the time just to keep Apple happy that people are moving over to the latest and greatest thing (if you can call it that with OS X Yosemite)? Lvdoc clearly sees no need for Yosemite and its memory-hungry features and requirements but just wants to use his application in the way it should be intended and without all the annoyance added to it by Apple. In fact, he probably can't move over because his system setup and specs are probably a bit underwhelming compared to what's available in the latest Macs of today, which is perfectly understandable. Not everyone has the latest "you beaut" Mac. Otherwise, he and others will definitely lose performance on his Mac like nothing on earth (and especially after running an application or two and then quitting and discovering the inactive RAM is not cleared out properly). All those machines that are more than 3 years old, are probably ancient technologies according to Apple. Either buy more RAM to make OS X Yosemite work properly (and hope the machines have the grunt to make those fancy translucent windows in Yosemite work nicely), or get a new Mac (preferably the latest one available in the Mac store right now). As Apple believes, we certainly can't have those people using old machines now that Yosemite is out and demanding a lot out of a Mac machine these days to make it work.

Now really?

Seriously, we have to remember that some people can still use these older machines perfectly fine (yes, even one of those really old Macs from 2011 or 2012 still do exist and works too, believe it or not). Not like RavenNevermore who probably has at least 24GB of RAM and all the latest specs on his brand-spanking new (just come out of the box "last week") Mac. And that's just the start. We could go on talking about the UI design of OS X Yosemite and how not everyone likes it. But that's another story.

What Lvdox is probably more interested in figuring out is how to switch off the update notice from Apple? Far more useful than saying, "Oh please, for goodness sake, just join the update/upgrade bandwagon and you won't get annoyed by Apple".

Rubbish!

If it turns out there is no option to turn off this notice, I think a lot of people would be interested in learning about this, because it suggests to me that Apple is getting quite desperate to get enough users to use Yosemite (and with it, new purchases of extra RAM or new machines if the speed is still not adequate), and need every way possible to annoy them to do so (if it means Apple can make a little extra profit).

It is a bit like the annoying notice users have noticed when launching iTunes telling them their Macs are not connected to the internet. Yeah, we can see that. But doesn't Apple know yet that it isn't necessary to connect to the internet just to play music. Users just want to play their music and that's it. Why the annoyance? Is it because Apple can't see what users are doing if they are not online? Well, if this isn't true, the funny thing is, there is no option to turn this notice off in iTunes.

And now, it appears, we see the same thing with Lvdoc's updated iWorks 09? What a remarkable coincidence!

It this is true, then personally I feel Apple should not be dictating to users to do something that is not necessary just to use certain applications that work perfectly fine with their current system setup. There is no need to update/upgrade (unless Apple can prove it is for a very good reason like, say, the sky is going to fall on people if they don't upgrade or update). Apple should just make their software work on any existing OS X version that most people are using (which apparently is not OS X Yosemite at the moment, or even the latest 2014 Macs), provide enough easy-to-use features to help people achieve their goals in the digital world, and let them work in peace.

Surely that is not a lot to ask for in this day and age.
Like (5)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
07 November 2014
@Spank etc:

"Otherwise, he and others will definitely lose performance on his Mac"

Actually: no.

I had Mountain Lion and then Mavericks on one of the first Aluminium 24in iMacs (with a 2.8 GHz Core2Duo CPU and 4 GB of RAM) from 2007, so a far cry from the new Macs and not just 3 but 7 years old. It ran so slow under Mavericks that I seriously considered going back to Snow Leo despite that not getting security updates anymore.

When Yosemite came out I installed it on this Mac just to see how it looks (as I was going to flatten it anyway and did't want to use my main machine, a MacBook Pro) - but Yosemite runs very nicely on it, at nearly SnowLeo speed.

So if you can give Yosemite a try.
Like (1)
Stevie-Ackerman
Stevie-Ackerman
08 November 2014
Many of us do not live on the cutting edge... I find it crazy to move to a new OS in its initial release. I almost always wait until at least 1 or 2 updates.
Like (1)
Spank-Me-Baby
Spank-Me-Baby
08 November 2014
Shock, horror! No one is experiencing any slow downs during normal use of OS X Yosemite, even after launching and quitting a few applications and having a number of caches already created and built up over time by OS X? That's news to my ears. If this is true, then somehow Apple must have made significant improvements to the memory management under OS X Yosemite compared to Mavericks following the 10.0.0 release in October. Does this mean we don't need things like a memory clearing app to fix up the inactive memory lock down after quitting an application causing a downgrade in performance on a Mac? And we don't need to purchase extra RAM for our older Macs to solve this issue? That in itself it almost worth the upgrade to OS X Yosemite, if only it is true.

Even so, +384 has admitted Yosemite is still not quite as fast as Snow Leopard (but is a little faster than Mavericks). So that clearly tells me it is better to give the latest 2014 Macs a try as well just to see how fast everything looks. Either that, or do as Stevie says and wait for a few updates to OS X Yosemite. Whatever we do, I'm sure one day everything will look fast again (even faster than Snow Leopard), especially if you have the latest Macs. Just so long as you don't tell users to install Snow Leopard on the latest Macs, everything about OS X Yosemite should look great. Yes, that has inspired me with great confidence in wanting to use the latest offering from Apple.

Well, let's assume we all live in an ideal world and OS X Yosemite and the latest Macs are the panacea for all the performance issues raised by other users. The other thing we have to contend with are third-party applications that users have paid for that do not run (or run with stability) on the latest OS X. In this situation, users are hoping the developers of these applications will provide a "free" update to make them work. However, not all developers are quite as generous in this regard. Knowing that some people have mission critical applications and some developers prefer to see people pay for upgrades (unfortunately people still like to make a profit, which they are perfectly entitled to do given the way society works today and how people have to survive) and not everyone wants to fork out more money to get everything working again on the latest OS X (users have to survive too), some people just like to be able to use their applications on the OS version they are on in a relatively stable (and peaceful) way. And, heaven forbid, if they have to move to the latest OS X, it would be nice if those applications continue to work (and without the annoying messages too). But if not, please provide an update to make them work, preferably without additional costs. If users want more features, sure we are happy to pay. But if not, why pay more after upgrading OS X?

I agree with RavenNevermore in that users cannot expect to always run the latest applications on an older OS X version, or even older applications on the latest OS X version. But if Apple updates an older version of Pages or Numbers and starts pestering people with a message to constantly upgrade OS X with no option to stop it, then that is plain silly. Even more silly is the suggestion of upgrading OS X just to stop this message. And now users are hearing the UI and some features in the latest Pages are not as good and even less useful than the previous Pages version. Not sure it is even necessary to update Pages at the present time if what some users are saying about Pages 5.5.1 is true. And all this before users discover some things about OS X Yosemite they may not like.

But leaving all this aside, if, and when, people do decide they need to upgrade OS X (and/or their applications) on a Mac (and by no means does this guarantee users will upgrade to a Mac again), a number of people would certainly do as Stevie said of waiting until Apple has made adequate improvements to OS X Yosemite through various updates before people would consider moving on to the latest technologies. It is silly to move to the latest stuff straightaway and then deal with the unexpected issues of software not being compatible and needing more updates or upgrades to get them to work, and/or even new hardware to get the decent performance required to run everything.

Until people do decide to move to the latest technologies, the real question raised by Lvdoc has yet to be answered. Specifically, why does Apple need to annoy users with a message to update and not be able to stop it just because Apple likes people to upgrade? We can understand the purpose for doing so: it only makes Apple richer (which, as a shareholder company, is what it is there for). But, of course, it comes at the expense of wasting extra time and money for Mac users in getting everything working again..

Okay. I'm sure a lot of people appreciate how wonderful OS X Yosemite is for some people, What I prefer to know, just as Lvdoc does, is how to stop the message to upgrade from appearing in Pages and Numbers.

I think that's the point Lvdoc is trying to make.

Or should we suggest to Lvdoc to re-install iWorks and not update the applications because of this one annoying message popping up during launching?

That is sounding sillier by the day.
Like
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
08 November 2014
Maybe he has an app that won't work under Yosemite. Maybe it's something else. Whatever his reason is, it's his business and irrelevant here.
Like
Spank-Me-Baby
Spank-Me-Baby
08 November 2014
Or maybe it is the fact that people don't need to upgrade OS X and other Mac software if what they have at the moment works perfectly fine and has the features they are looking for. Why should Apple force users to upgrade Pages with a message that will not go away only to find that users will have to upgrade to OS X Yosemite as well and later all the subsequent additional upgrades and updates needed to get users back to a reasonable standard of performance and stability?

What is relevant to Lvdoc, and certainly to others here who have Pages but may not want to upgrade, is how to stop the message from appearing.

If it turns out there is no easy solution (not even a tweak of the preferences file for Pages to switch off the message), then this is likely to reveal more about the state of OS X Yosemite (and possibly even the sales of traditional Mac computers at the present time). More specifically, Apple is probably struggling to get enough people to install and use OS X Yosemite (and with it the extra profits in selling more RAM and new Macs)t. Instead, people are happy to purchase iPads and iPhones for now and so Apple is trying to cater to this group of people even to the point of trying to modify OS X to make it look more like iOS. Apple is even trying to dumb down Pages in the UI design and number of features to help entice these people to purchase a Mac. Unfortunately, the plan may not be going quite as well as Apple had hoped.

If this is what's actually happening at the moment (which would explain why this nagging message has appeared from Apple), then Apple needs to be careful not to alienate the more experienced Apple users of Mac computers. And certainly it should not be annoying users to upgrade something they don't need to which would only result in more time and money spent to get everything back to a reasonable state of useability and stability. People have better things to do in their lives than fixing up their Macs to make things work again.

If OS X Yosemite is as great as some users and Apple make it out to be, other users will naturally discover it for themselves and they will rave about it in great numbers. And if Apple is even vaguely smart, it will make sure the apps users have in previous OS X versions (certainly from Mountain Lion onwards) can still continue to run well in the latest OS X version. Do this and Apple will see users flock to OS X Yosemite in huge numbers (so long as it s not too taxing on the capabilities of older Macs; otherwise be honest and say everyone needs the latest Mac to run the OS so at least users know where they stand but don't constantly nag people to upgrade).

If OS X Yosemite is suppose to be a fantastic upgrade, just tell people who have Pages how to stop the nagging message.

I think that is what's relevant here.
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
09 November 2014
I did not update to Yosemite because I don't like it. (I did try it. I went back to Mavericks. At the very least, I don't like the UI of Yosemite.)

My concern regarding the "update" message (which I'm still getting, even after the program has been open for awhile) is that it means one of two things:

1. Apple's programming is flawed. The App Store very clearly shows these updates under the drop-down list of “show list of incompatible apps.” Clearly, the App Store knows I’m on Mavericks. If that is so, why doesn't Pages also recognize this and not bother to notify me, given that it, too, should know that I'm on Mavericks?

2. Apple is deliberately introducing annoyances in the hopes of getting me to upgrade. If that is so, I don't need the "you will be assimilated" attitude that we used to so criticize Microsoft for. Further, this is simply insulting. Once it has notified me and I click "Okay," my memory is sufficient to register the fact. I now know there is an update, so the remaining action on my part should be to decide if and when I want to go there. The fact that it continually reminds me suggests that it's saying "hey, stupid, didn't you get the memo?" I don't need that attitude.

Like
Spank-Me-Baby
Spank-Me-Baby
10 November 2014
Well said Lvdoc.

In fact, I would be inclined to go with point 2 in what you have said after noticing Apple has just released Safari 8.0 so soon after OS X Yosemite 10.0.0 appeared for download. Kind of like within a couple of weeks I would say. What's a couple of weeks to Apple just to ensure Safari 8.0 is included in OS X Yosemite. But now that we see a separate update to Safari is provided, well guess what? It only works if you have Yosemite installed (a bit like Pages 5.5.1). What? Pages and Safari can't run on Mavericks (or Mountain Lion, or ....). Blimey.

Apple must know a lot of people use a web browser to access the internet. Hence the reason for the separate Safari 8.0 install file. But to deny Meverick users the latest Safari 8.0 and yet not include it in the Yosemite install? I don't buy it.

Indeed, I can't see what is so special about Safari 8.0 or Pages 5.5.1 that they cannot run on the previous OS X version. My ass they only work on Yosemite.

I bet my money that Apple is having a hard time selling a lot of Macs at the moment (especially to those iOS users) and getting people to move onto Yosemite even if the company does not want to admit it.

And knowing Apple is foremost a marketing company, I would not be surprised if Apple pays some of their employees (or anyone else) to come onto MacUpdate to tout the brilliance of OS X Yosemite in order to get everyone to try it out, even if there is no solution to the nagging message problem in Apple Pages.

Good one Apple!
Like
Spank-Me-Baby
Spank-Me-Baby
10 November 2014
Alright. I do see our resident Mac expert peterbreis has come up with what he perceives to be the solution to Lvdoc's problem. His suggestion, as of 8 November 2014, is as follows:

Uncheck > Menu > Apple > System Preferences > App Store > Automatically check for updates

Just as a side note, we should add that for those people who don't use Mavericks or Yosemite, you should try the Software Update system preference pane (I take it that Peter is using OS X Mavericks, unless he is a newbie to the Mac world, in which case he is using OS X Yosemite).

Yes, technically this should work for Lvdoc. However, on looking at this more carefully, I have to say, this is a bit of an overkill. I would imagine, as Lvdoc might argue, that he would probably want to selectively tell Software Update/App Store not to be informed of the Pages update but still receive notifications of other updates (e.g., Security Updates etc), which he assumes will not continue to nag at him as well.

Or why not just allow the user to click a check box in the nagging update/upgrade message itself to say, "Don't remind me again"? (Dare I say it, even Microsoft now finally provides this option in various dialog boxes – not that I use PC, but I do use a Windows emulation program on my Mac when my work demands it). Clearly this is the next most logical thing to do under the circumstances. Unfortunately there is no easy option anywhere in the latest OS X Yosemite or in OS X Mavericks as far as I am aware of to do such a thing except for the really older versions (e.g., OS X Snow Leopard).

As I see it, Peter's suggestion is more of a "tell me all the updates even if I already know about them ", or "you won't get told about any updates at all (ha ha!)".

In ancient times (according to Apple's thinking), there was once an option in Software Update where users could see all the updates, select one of the updates, and choose under the File or Edit menu to no longer receive notifications about this selected update (thereby assuring no nagging messages will appear) while still being informed of other updates.

I think many users would agree that this latter approach is the most helpful.

But since those days are long gone and OS X has undergone a few changes courtesy of our beloved Apple, it is clear that we no longer have this option.

Add to this the fact that this nagging message to update or upgrade is something that I have not seen with respect to any Apple or non-Apple applications throughout all the previous iterations of OSX (or OS9) installed under my various system setups, and I have to say that this is the first indication that something is just not quite right for Apple at the moment. Seriously, this is the first time I have heard about the problem, and in relation to Pages from one user while he is running Mavericks (certainly not on any older OS X versions). In other words, this is a recent observation. Why specifically Pages? And so soon after OS X Yosemite has been released? Sounds to me like the above suggestion is really a quick overkill (i.e. to stop all the updates, and with it any further embarrassments for Apple) to avoid what is really an unexpected situation for Apple (if only I could be a fly on the wall in the Apple CEO's office right now to see what he is saying with regards to all those sales charts and stats for various Apple products) in the sense that not enough users are running OS X Yosemite (bad enough if iOS users are happy with their iPads or iPhones but don't care too much about Macs).

Without some means of selecting updates and controlling these nag messages. I feel this latest observation is more to do with showing the state of Apple today. While the above "clearly imperfect" solution compared to what we had before is designed to create a perception for all potential Mac consumers that OS X Yosemite is suppose to be the most awesome software on the planet and, therefore, everyone must be using it on their Macs, when in reality, the uptake by users to the latest OS X has been somewhat lackluster at the very least, and probably closer to the fact that it is an overly fancy and machine demanding OS that few are willing to go for unless it is the only OS version available to them (i.e., they are Mac first-timers who have just bought the latest Mac installed with Yosemite). Otherwise, if experienced Mac users are given a choice (which they often do), many would wisely choose an older OS X version.

And now that Apple has managed to quietly make enough changes to the update/upgrade procedure through Software Update/App Store, the company has now decided it wants to find out what happens when it can exercise greater control over users by continually nagging at them to upgrade because it knows it is in trouble with OS X Yosemite as well as the selling of the latest Macs.

It kind of makes sense to me.
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
16 November 2014
One more addendum: I've opted to go back to iWork 09. I noticed that when I first opened Pages, it said "there's an update." My options to dismiss that included the ability to check a box that says "Do not remind me again." Now that's putting the customer first!
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
20 November 2014
@RavenNevermore Hardly surprising to get another "It's all wonderful, no problems" from yet another user who frankly doesn't know what is going on. Apple has a surfeit of them now, reminding me of the WALL-E lard arses in floaty chairs, who don't even know there is a gigantic swimming pool right n front of them. I run several versions of OSX on multiple Macs and Yosemite is distinctly slower and absolutely clearly the most incompatible Mac OS yet.

I really want to not be able to exchange files even with myself, let alone a myriad of other Mac users! Just like I really want to saw my head off with a rusty butter knife.

So you may be dead ignorant, but just keep giving freely with that advice, really invaluable. Don't know what we would do without you.
Like
FengW2189
07 November 2014
iWork is no longer a product for Apple computers, but for mobile products. It is designed to help sell more phones and pads, so is the new OS.
Like (1)
Version 5.5.1