Back to Psst page
Psst free download for Mac

Psst Reviews

2.1.1
31 October 2007

Restart your Mac without the chime.

Dawda
21 April 2012

Most helpful

This is a wonderful little utility. After downloading the DMG from MU I got the message that it's corrupt. After searching the web i FINALLY found one that worked. I uploaded the working one to my dropbox for you to download. I'll have it there for as long as this one does not work. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/14060155/Psst%202.1.1.dmg I scanned it with avast, nothing. But please tell me if you find something wrong with the file.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1

Read 32 Psst User Reviews

Rate this app:

Steve K
01 January 2015
Been using this since it was released, on multiple Macs and versions of OS X, and its always worked for me. I'm currently using it on a mid-'11 iMac i5 with Yosemite and it's still going. I set to the quietest setting, but not silent, so I can still tell if the machine is restarting properly but it won't wake up the whole house. Perfect.
Like
Version 2.1.1
IanB3074
16 October 2013
I have tested Psst on my 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac running OS X 10.8.5 Mountain Lion and it works perfectly, either completely muting or reducing the volume of the startup chime.
Like
Version 2.1.1
tommytune
02 June 2013
I Love this little utility app - I've used it for 6 years on a G4 Powerbook, a G4 Digital Audio, a MDD G4, and a G5 dual 2.0 (all running Tiger 10.4.11). Also worked on the G5 & the Powerbook under Leopard 10.5.6. After years of "too loud" startup chimes waking the kids at 3 AM [and freaking ME out as well!], I finally have the perfect solution! The app is 'persistent', so set it and forget it! (unless you want to make changes, then just relaunch & move the slider volume). One of my all-time favorite apps!! Does EXACTLY what it needs to, and DOESN'T mess with anything else! I've never had any app or sys process conflict with it.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Dawda
21 April 2012
This is a wonderful little utility. After downloading the DMG from MU I got the message that it's corrupt. After searching the web i FINALLY found one that worked. I uploaded the working one to my dropbox for you to download. I'll have it there for as long as this one does not work. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/14060155/Psst%202.1.1.dmg I scanned it with avast, nothing. But please tell me if you find something wrong with the file.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
ric0ric
ric0ric
22 January 2013
Thank you
Like
Swordfish
11 November 2011
For those wondering, Psst works in Lion, 10.7.2
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Spudboy
Spudboy
24 December 2011
Once I attach my external speakers, it doesn't control the volume anymore. Never had this issue before. Any ideas?
Like
Magosilvan
09 December 2008
I downloaded v.2.1.1 for my wife's new iMac. I setted near to zero the volume and tried to reboot without submitting an answer to developer's question. The system told me Psst prevented to relaunch. I tried to quit it, but it refused. I was forced to a forced quit. So I relaunced and I answered it didn't work. Then I CLOSED the submitting window and, surprise, relauncing again I discovered it works. After many attempts I can confirm that it works flawlessly. The problem is all in that window! It's impossible to submit before trying. It should have a short time persistence then automatically disappear. Add iMac 2,66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with OsX 10.5.5 to compatible Mac list.
Like
Version 2.1.1
JollyRoger8X
14 September 2008
StartupSound.prefpane doesn;t sem to work at all on Intel-based Macs. This utility, on the other hand, works flawlessly on both PowerPC- and Intel-based Macs. So I'm revising my review rating for it. : )
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Contributor
Contributor
03 January 2011
Hi. It's been a couple of years since you commented on Psst, stating that StartupSound.prefpane didn't work on Intel-based Macs, but there's now an updated version that does at http://www5e.biglobe.ne.jp/~arcana/software.en.html.
Like
Gilwestfall
19 February 2008
i upgraded to iLife '08 and then my sound stopped working... internal speakers were not listed in my sound preferences. during the iLife install the machine deleted some of my system caches. i uninstalled Psst & the sound came back... could have been a coincidence but if someone else has the same combination maybe removing may be worth a try. i didn't try to re-install it.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Bztranier
12 November 2007
Started using Psst 2.1 in June 07 - worked fine for a couple months. Then stopped working. Trashed it and downloaded again, and again it worked fine till yesterday. Trashed it and downloaded 2.1.1. So far, no joy. Intel iMac 1.83 GHz, OS/X 10.4.10
Like
Version 2.1.1
maconnect-1
09 April 2007
This software is great. Thanks a lot to his autor. Works fine on a MBP and iMacG5.
Like
Version 2.0.8
nowheredense
08 April 2007
Another freeware to consider, if Psst does not work, is StartupSound.prefPane 1.1b1 http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/16425 It has worked flawlessly both of my G5 Tower and MacBook Pro.
Like
Version 2.0.8
Swordfish
04 September 2006
Something very annoying about the intel Macs is that they don't remember the volume setting between restarts, and they *still* chime if headphones are plugged in. With Psst, you can set the volume so it's always at the level you want it when you restart your Mac, and you can lower the chime volume or mute it altogether. Small memory footprint, invisible, Psst is great!
Like
Version 2.0.6
Sibelius
17 March 2006
Should work with 10.3.9? Sadly, it doesn't. Nor does the uninstaller, you have to take it out manually. Very disappointing - especially since it would be a useful thing to have, and the only alternative (Startup sound) doesn't work either.
Like
Version 2.0.5
8oo8
21 February 2006
Psst! works flawlessly. I installed it without problems a few months ago, set the chime volume level to it's lowest setting, and haven't given it another thought. Works perfectly every time. It's simple and reliable.
Like
Version 2.0.5
JollyRoger8X
06 January 2006
StartupSound.prefpane has done this flawlessly for a long time: http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/16425
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Swordfish
Swordfish
04 September 2006
StartpSound.prefpane requires you to install a kernel extension. No thanks, I like to keep my system stable.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Lnr1
05 January 2006
Everytime i try and run the program i get an error about not being able to name something in the login items or something... Running PowerBook G4 OSX 10.4.3 Whats up man? Cant rate it as i cant get it to work... Would love to use this software but....
Like
Version 2.0.3
Mistatree
05 January 2006
Whyatt, 2.0.3 should fix that!
Like
Version 2.0.3
Whyatt-Thrash
05 January 2006
I started up the app and got the message "Where is PsstDaemon?" and a list of apps. The PsstDaemon wheren't within the list of apps, so I force quit the app, showed package contents of it and then restarted the application. It opened up just fine, and I set the startup volume. Haven't yet tried if it works, but this is definetily a bug in any case. Using 10.4.3...
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
02 August 2005
If you have troubles with Psst! 2.0.1 you might want to take a look at this: http://mistatree.org/Freeware/PsstTroubles.html
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
28 March 2005
Use your imagination... Starting up your Mac without a chime would serve as the best alarm clock of all: music; whatever music you like... Without the chime, you hear nothing but the song that you added to your startup items after your Mac has started up using the automatic Start Up feature in the Energy Saver control panel. Not useless, not at all...
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
20 February 2005
How is this different from just muting the sound on your mac before you shutdown/restart? I don't see the point...
Like
Version 2.0
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 February 2005
Well, for one thing, that method doesn't work for everyone.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 February 2005
on new macs, like my iMac G5, the output control is software instead of hardware, so if you have an output cable connected in, it won't prevent your mac from sounding... and so can't the "mute"
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 May 2005
b/c its likely you forgot to mute your mac before you started it up....
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 August 2005
Many people like me might have some music in the startup folder..so instead of waking up to that annoying chime then the music...i wake up to music...good old Bob Marley. If you mute it wen you shut down..music will be playing without sound..derr.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
20 February 2005
Hmmm, Startup Chime Stopper has NEVER worked on my mac, and PSST! doesn't either... but at least I didn't pay for PSST! ..maybe I'll try this other program!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
19 February 2005
StartupSound.prefPane 1.0.2 (which is also free) does the same thing if this app. doesn't work for you.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 February 2005
Well, actually, StartupSound gives you control over the chime's volume, where this just mutes it, I believe.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
19 February 2005
I would use StartupSoundPrefPane to adjust the sound. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/16425
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
15 February 2005
Works. BUT when I removed it from Startup items (System Preferences>Accounts>Admin>Startup Items>click minus sign) my G5 iMac still starts up silent. The app is no longer there but the chime is still gone. How do I get the chime back? G5 iMac 20" OSX 10.3.8
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
3818
3818
19 February 2005
Try resetting your NVRAM. At startup hold down the following keys all at the same time: COMMAND OPTION f o When the update screen appears, follow the instructions, and at the appropriate point enter the following commands: reset-nvram press RETURN
Like
Version 2.0
kwatz
08 January 2005
Well - some keys just don't work on some user's keyboards - and even Panther Help file has: "If you use an Apple Adjustable Keyboard with a Power Macintosh G3 (Blue & White) the Volume, Mute, and Record keys do not work." And that's what "Psst!" is for - pure silence… No problems - even with restoring chime again. kwatz
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 February 2005
I have an Apple Adjustable Keyboard on a Blue & White G3. The Volume, Mute and Record keys work fine for me.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
04 January 2005
You don't need to use this program, and you don't need to mute the volume before you turn the computer off. Just hold down the mute button on the keyboard as the computer starts up and the chime will not sound while the volume level for the computer stays the same.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 February 2005
Where is this mute botton?
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 February 2005
F3 at PowerBook keyboard...
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
27 December 2004
Dont Work on iMac & Quicksilver! : ((
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
26 December 2004
You may think it's useless but on my Pismo , under system 10.3.7, muting the volume doesn't always work. Plus, what if you forget to mute? There's nothing worse than restarting the PB right in the middle of a large lecture hall. :(
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 December 2004
You got it, JB! JB: "There's nothing worse than restarting the PB right in the middle of a large lecture hall" And what if you want your loved Mac to start in silence in general? You would have to mute your Mac every time you shut down! That's what Psst! is for!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
26 December 2004
this is useless, you can simply mute the volume and restart and there won't be a chime. this app has no point.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 December 2004
If you read the first post below, you'll see that even though some of us set the volume to zero at shutdown, the chime still blasts at full volume on restart. So, useless the app is not, as long as it does what it promises to do. Instead of just knocking the developer's efforts, why don't you suggest something productive like covering the Mac's speakers with duct tape? Or covering the computer with several blankets and putting it in a closet for startup?
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
26 December 2004
This may be a bad idea, considering that the chime can also indicate that something's wrong with your system (if the sound changes, I believe). Using something like StartupSound.prefPane (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/16425) to change the volume of the chime (and yes, silence it completely, if that's what you want) might also be an option.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
25 December 2004
This would be great since my Mac has a glitch that makes it play the startup chime at full volume, no matter what the system volume's been set to. But since the chime is hardwired into the computer, I have to wonder how safe this is. Think I'll wait until others, more brave than me, have tried the app and given an all-clear to download.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 December 2004
Hmm..I dont think it will be too dangerous. I hav'nt tried the app but I would imagine it would just mute the mac just before it shut down and then restore the volume once it reboots. No harm done then.
Like
Version 1.0