Back to SafariSource page
SafariSource free download for Mac

SafariSource Reviews

1.8.1
04 July 2010

Add HTML syntax coloring to Safari source viewer.

Mkay
25 September 2009

Most helpful

badly missed in SL/Safari 64bit :(
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4

Read 34 SafariSource User Reviews

Rate this app:

Cottser
02 September 2011
Works just fine on Safari 5.1 on 10.6.8. Wish I would have found this much, much sooner.
Like
Version 1.8.1
I liked Safari Source, but it has been a long time since it worked. Apparently now it does work, but not if you use Saft, for some reason. PithHelmet, which is also a SIMBL plug-in, works just fine now with the latest version of SIMBL (0.9.7); and if I don't use Saft to launch Safari, Safari Source shows up as expected in the Safari preferences. But if I do use Saft, Safari Source disappears from the preferences. I'm not sure what the problem is, but I think it's time all these old Safari hacks took advantage of the new Safari extensions capability and left all these compatibility issues behind. I would probably be willing to pay for the free ones, like Safari Source, if it was developed as an extension rather than the now very problematic SIMBL plug-in architecture. I have paid, after all, for Saft and donated to PithHelmet.
Like
Version 1.8
2 answer(s)
Frankof
Frankof
04 July 2010
Blame the developer of Saft for his missing efforts to make his once-useful plugin into something that works well also with newer versions of Safari. In fact, Saft has now been a matter of trouble and constant payment for ever-worse updates for YEARS. I paid three or four times, now it is OVER. Not only does the plugin not work well, also is the developer unresponsive and does not reply to bug reports and feature requests. Get rid of Saft, use Glims instead, or use various new Safari extensions for adding features you'd like to have.
Like
Version 1.8
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
04 July 2010
I may have to do just that. In order to accommodate both the 32 and 64 bit versions of Safari, Saft has become something of a kludge. It remains to be seen if extensions for Safari 5 can provide the same level of service all these hacks have offered over the years. No doubt it will take a year or so for all this to be sorted out. But I would be more than happy to see the end of SIMBLE plug-ins and as many Internet plug-ins as possible, including Flash.
Like
Version 1.8
Roro01
03 July 2010
Still Incompatible with Safari Cookies. You can't use both together otherwise Safari crashes.
Like
Version 1.8
1 answer(s)
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
04 July 2010
Safari Cookies 1.4.4, should now be compatible.
Like
Version 1.8
Utrunn
03 July 2010
I'm pretty sure syntax highlighting already exists in Safari as part of the Inspector. The Inspector includes highlighted source code, resource lists, scripts, timelines, and more.
Like
Version 1.8
Roro01
29 October 2009
IT WORKS NOW BUT ... ... it is not compatible with Safari Cookies so Safari crashes. I would be very grateful if the developer could fix this problem.
Like
Version 1.7.4
Mkay
25 September 2009
badly missed in SL/Safari 64bit :(
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4
1 answer(s)
Section8
Section8
08 February 2010
please port to 64 bit/SL!
Like
Version 1.7.4
Roro01
25 February 2009
This version doesn't work on my iMac Intel 10.5.6 with Safari 3.2.1. It doesn't show in Safari preferences. I think it is to do with security and permissions so a package which installs this plug-in is required. If you give yourself the permissions and drag it to the location specified, Safari sees this as a security breach and would not load it.
Like
Version 1.7.4
Roro01
13 February 2008
Works as described. Many thanks.
Like
Version 1.7.3
Tekl
13 February 2008
As I remember right, SafariSource worked together with SafariTidy in Tiger. Now in Leopard SafariTidy will overwrite SafariSource.
Like
Version 1.7.3
1 answer(s)
rhudhy
rhudhy
13 February 2008
Not only in Leopard, in Tiger since I'm using Safari 3.0 SafariSource is overwrited by SafariTidy...
Like
Version 1.7.3
Yoxi
13 February 2008
I Leopard, it's not possible to make the Strings bold even if the prefs say they are (i.e. in Courier New where there is a Bold option).
Like
Version 1.7.2
Snarb
30 June 2007
Great, works perfectly. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.7.2
Richard97
29 June 2007
Great plugin! Line numbers would be a great addition.
Like
Version 1.7.1
mac-34
24 June 2007
thanks for the safari 3.0 support!
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
03 November 2005
this is my favorite safari plugin. but since the 10.4.3 update it's not working anymore. hope it gets updated soon, thanks a lot!
Like
Version 1.6.3
2 answer(s)
Cpruitt
Cpruitt
27 December 2005
I have no problems running it on 10.4
Like
Version 1.6.3
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
01 June 2006
No problems here and i'm running 10.4.6
Like
Version 1.6.3
Anonymous
12 December 2004
With the addition of a preference pane for choosing the colors, it's fantastic, just wonderful. I spend all day looking at html. This makes my life easier! Maybe the next feature would be to add a color/font preset menu to make the code look like BBEdit (like I have it configured), or Dreamweaver or Go Live, etc.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
24 November 2004
Not sure if it's 10.3.6 conflict. Once the source screen is poped up, the other tab windows are hanging until you close the source window.
Like
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Kballard
Kballard
10 December 2004
Never heard of that issue before, and nothing I'm doing in SafariSource should be able to cause that.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Webgod
02 November 2004
Awsome!!! Installed painlessly and did exactly what it is supposed to do. This is a feature that I have been dying for Apple to include in Safari. Great work!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Jan Riggert
26 October 2004
Excellent This was the only thing that was bothering me at Safari. Together with SafariSpeed its all I need. Thank you! Even the control panel works perfect on my Powerbook G4 / Safari 1.2.3 / OSX 10.3.5
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
26 October 2004
This is a great little plug-in! Thanks so much for writing it. Very handy. Kudos!
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
18 October 2004
Unfortunately, I am unable to see the Preference pane in Safari, but I like everything else.
Like
Version 1.5
3 answer(s)
Kballard
Kballard
18 October 2004
Somebody else reported the same problem and said that deleting the array of preference module identifiers from Safari's preferences solved the problem. I haven't a clue what's causing it, but please try the following: 1) Quit Safari 2) Open Termin.app 3) In a Terminal window, type 'defaults delete com.apple.Safari "NSToolbar Configuration NSPreferences"' (without the single quotes but with the double quotes) 4) Open Safari If that doesn't solve the problem for you please contact me by email.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 October 2004
Kevin, THANK YOU very much as it worked beautifully--even bringing up another long lost feature by another Developer.
Like
Version 1.5
Kballard
Kballard
18 October 2004
I'm glad that worked. Now if I can only figure out why that's happening...
Like
Version 1.5
KRC
18 October 2004
I actually found a decent use for this program. It actually makes it a little easier for me to browse around code since I'm more of the colour-guided person. I thought the code viewing would be a little slower like some source viewers (I have to agree with the previous guy that the Mozilla viewer seems slightly draggy at times but the one on FireFox doesn't have the same hinderance) but actually, I don't see any performance impacts on Safari at all so that's a good thing. It works and now learning basic HTML code is a bit more fun. Yay!
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
16 October 2004
What's the point ? I think Safari is better with no colours and no formatting for source code. In fact I was so pleased that it didn't do anything fancy with it. Worst is Mozilla with it's bloated slow sluggish rendering of source. Yuk yuk yuk If I want to see pretty source colours I can open a page in BBedit or any page editor. This app has no point and no use
Like
Version 1.0.5
4 answer(s)
Kballard
Kballard
17 October 2004
What do you mean, no point and no use? Most people like to see nicely-colored source. It makes it much easier to read. You are definitely in the minority in that you want uncolored source. Surely you must be able to figure out that most people like syntax highlighting. So, based on this, how can you say that SafariSource has no point? You may not want to use it, but that doesn't mean it has no point. That's like saying Quark has no point because I have no desire to use it.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 October 2004
If you don't want to have color, you don't have to install this :D
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 October 2004
Kevin(Dev) you are right, sorry just reread my post i looked a bit of an a**s. yeah it's cool, i just meant I thought safari was ok without the source colour thing but it's nice to have the option anyway. thanks for sharing what you have written
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 October 2004
Woah... thats the first time I've heard someone just up & admit they were too harsh. Anon, I really respect your reply & apology. Kudos my friend...
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
15 October 2004
Terrific. Works like a charm. It is weird safari provide such as a shabby original source view. But now I have no complains. Nice job!
Like
Version 1.0.5
Gmachaut
15 October 2004
looks good. can you write something like this to push the source into an external text editor, like bbedit or dreamweaver?
Like
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Kballard
Kballard
15 October 2004
I was actually inspired to do this because of SubEthaFari, an input manager that pushes the source into SubEthaEdit. You can find it with a quick google search. And since it comes with source, you could modify it to use a different app than SubEthaEdit if you wish (it's just a string or 2 you'd have to change).
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
15 October 2004
Oooh! Look at the pretty colurs! I don't remember ⌘F working before, either - thanks!
Like
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Kballard
Kballard
15 October 2004
⌘F always worked in the source view. I didn't do anything to change that. Thanks for the rating :D
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
15 October 2004
I have latest OS X software but I am sorry I have no any color identified HTML codings! I does not work folks!
Like
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Kballard
Kballard
15 October 2004
Did you install SIMBL, as the ReadMe clearly describes (and using the installer I helpfully bundled with SafariSource)? My guess is no. Either that or you installed it in the wrong place. Or you didn't restart Safari. Anyway, please actually read the ReadMe and follow the instructions it lists.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
15 October 2004
Works exactly as promised, and fixes the one part of Safari I always found severely lacking. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.0.5
Kballard
15 October 2004
I'm sorry, I just discovered that SIMBL itself requires Panther to operate and will crash Safari on Jaguar. I will update the requirements list to show the correct information. I'm sorry I can't make SafariSource work on Jaguar but it's out of my control.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
15 October 2004
First, many thanks for writing this! Second, can you please indicate the version in it so that it shows up in the info window? Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
14 October 2004
Still no joy on Jaguar.
Like
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Kballard
Kballard
15 October 2004
Yes, I'm looking into it right now. I should hopefully have a solution shortly (or if not I'll bump the requirements).
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
14 October 2004
Great! One item gone from the long 'safari-to-do-list'.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Kballard
14 October 2004
You *do* know that you can increase/decrease font size with cmd + and cmd -, right? And I'll bear in mind your suggestion for changing font
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
14 October 2004
Works just fine for me... (10.3.5 / Safari 1.2.3) I'm digging all these little SIMBL add-ons for Safari. They made me return from browsing with Firefox/Camino. Thanks for your efforts. Now can you make 'view source' use a different font/font size? ;)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
14 October 2004
Causes "The application Safari has unexpectedly quit." on Jaguar (10.2.8) with Safari 1.0.3 (v85.8). I have SIMBL 0.5 installed.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Kballard
Kballard
14 October 2004
I'm sorry to hear that, but posting a bad rating here instead of emailing me privately is not a good way to get your problem fixed. I don't have Safari 1.0.3 to test against and I naively assumed that, as the source viewer hasn't appeared to change in any update to Safari, that the internals for HTMLSourceDocument would still be the same. In fact, it shouldn't crash even if HTMLSourceDocument is different, it should just log some messages to the Console. If you want your problem fixed, please email me privately with a crash log. If instead you just want to publicly complain about a bug (an incorrect requirements list at worst) and rate me badly because of it, please ignore this message and continue with your life.
Like
Version 1.0.1