Back to Nicotine page
Nicotine free download for Mac

Nicotine Reviews

1.0.8rev3
24 October 2005

Soulseek filesharing client.

Harrie22
14 October 2008

Most helpful

yea i got that and i cant open a new page and that crappy link - faq page, doesnt work!!!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.8rev3

Read 26 Nicotine User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mikael-B
21 July 2012
There's no X11 in Lion. Those damn Apples.
Like
Version 1.0.8rev3
Harrie22
14 October 2008
yea i got that and i cant open a new page and that crappy link - faq page, doesnt work!!!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.8rev3
Mariomac
07 October 2006
great! my friend have a problem with nicotine 1.08 used fink and terminal. I try this very good
Like
Version 1.0.8rev3
07 October 2005
please help. my nicotine dialog box opens. but my settings box opens when i activate nicotine. i am not abe to connect/disconnect. and i am always 'offline'. i can 'browse my shares'. and i can get to settings box only. i have tried to change my login name/password in the settings, but still no luck. this started to happen in 1.0.7. and that is the main reason i updated. anyone know what could be the problem? cheers.
Like
Version 1.0.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 October 2005
think i solved my own issue. hopefully helps others... check your 'shares' and be sue that there are directories set for incoming/sharing. this completely fixed it. not sure why my settings changed in the first place.... the entries were blank. assigned folders. online now.
Like
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
03 July 2005
Using 10.4. This program does not work. Won't try to connect, won't display a window, won't do anything at all.
Like
Version 1.0.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 July 2005
Hi Anonymous, It sounds like you may not have X11 installed properly. Have you read the FAQ?
Like
Version 1.0.8
Milutin
18 May 2005
Sorry for bad english.... I use nicotine 1.0.8 rc1 on mac OSX 10.3.9 From yesterday a recieved a message: Listening on port 2234 and nothing else.. when I restart X11 I get nicotin with settings window opened and same massage. Please help
Like
Version 1.07
6 answer(s)
Joe
Joe
30 May 2005
I have that same problem too. It was working fine untill a few days ago and it just says listening on port 2234 with the settings screen coming up. Can anyone help????
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 August 2005
had the same problem. it worked after changing the client connection ports to 2234-2240 and checking 'direct connection' (i am not behind a router) in nicotines settings.
Like
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 September 2005
Thank you Anonymous! I had the same problem and your idea worked!! great!
Like
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 October 2005
i am having same issue with dialog box. cannot connect/disconnect. always offline. tried to tick the 'receive direct connection' box. but did not help. cheers.
Like
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 October 2005
was having same dialog box issue. could not connect/disconnect. this fixed MY probelem. might help you as well. check your 'shares' and be sue that there are directories set for incoming/sharing. this completely fixed it. not sure why my settings changed in the first place.... but i'm online now. good luck
Like
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 October 2005
Mmmm, massage? :D
Like
Version 1.0.8rev3
Anonymous
11 May 2005
The program ran beautifully then all of a sudden it'll boot me off quite often (this may be the network's problem, not sure.) The main thing is that when I close the program and/or start it fresh, all my user info will be gone (including my entire qeue!). I have to re-enter all of my info, including destination folder, etc. etc. Anyone else having simlar problems?
Like
Version 1.07
gus
19 April 2005
i don't know what's happening. the thing apparently looks fine, but... just stays offline. i can't connect.
Like
Version 1.07
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 June 2005
i have the same problem. i can't seem to find anything on the net to help out. I wonder if it is a problem with X11? HELP!
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 October 2005
check your settings, and be sure that you have designated your share folders.
Like
Version 1.0.8
punksjumpup
02 August 2004
After a while my Nicotine seems to just grey out and won't open, does anyone else have the same problem?? Help me please.
Like
Version 1.07
6 answer(s)
Tadeu
Tadeu
16 September 2004
I am having the same gray window problem. It used to work, but suddenly I started to get only the gray window. Even after formating my whole HD. It didn't change anything. What's going on?
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 September 2004
type "rm .nicotine/*.db" without the quotes. thank jigsaw250, not me
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 October 2004
where to type that?
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 October 2004
WOW, that worked right away thanks jigsaw250 and driblete I have back my soulseek :D
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 January 2005
i just had the same problem. and um: yeah, where do you input that line? O_o
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 January 2005
yeh i get a 2 min burst of nicotine then i freezes again has this got anythin 2 do with havin OS X 10.3.7
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
02 June 2004
If someone developed a giFT plugin for soulseek, life would make SO much sense. It would be nice to have Soulseek support in Poisoned or Xfactor.
Like
Version 1.07
26 May 2004
well i am so sick and tired of trying to get soulseek to work on the mac....but it seems there is hope with this program....BUT how do i solve the "too many open files" problem?? nicotine can't save the config files becausee of this!!! HELP!!!
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
11 May 2004
Hey folks, To install, you just have to copy Nicotine.app from the disk image. While you certainly can install nicotine using Fink, according to Capt'n Swing's tutorial, that's not necessary to use Nicotine.app. People still seem to be having some trouble with this: To download, you don't just double-click on a search result. You have to command-click on a result, and choose "Download" from the menu that pops up. Sorry it's so difficult.
Like
Version 1.07
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 May 2004
hi there, it seems there are problems with the new OS X update (10.3.4) .... i reinstalled OS X 10.3. from the scratch (HD delezed totally), then updated to 10.3.4 ..... X 11 is starting, the Nicotine window is opening but no connecting, its not even loading up to reach the menu ...... it worked fine under 10.3.3. any ideas ?? do i need another software for it ? (fink ??) thank you in advance help deeply appreciated e.
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 September 2004
Hi, I recently installed Nicotine.app and when I Cmd-click to download (it is a file that is blacked-in), nothing happens. Why would this be?
Like
Version 1.07
Qoo
09 May 2004
slow. nothing seem to download.
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
07 May 2004
This Client is great! Congrats and Respect to the Developers ! Thanx :-)
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
07 May 2004
Yes - it works, now. Very easy to use and powerful. Recommended highly!
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
06 May 2004
comments / troubleshooting This is great! I knew this (and pyslsk, too), already. But these unix kompiling was very time intensive... So, today I was glad to find an mac-a-like solution to get acces to slsk. I was so happy about that easy downloading and installing. But I am sorry about that I can not connect - I stuck in the beginning. The application told me that it is connecting. Please, are there some hints to help me to get in? The interface is fine - full of features to make this application a strong recommand to reach slsk!
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
03 May 2004
I cant seem to get nicotine to download a single file. Is there a setting that would inhibit this function. I should just be able to double click in a file and get results right. Please reply if you have any idea on this issue. Much appreciated. Joseph Madej
Like
Version 1.07
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 May 2004
you have to hold the command button then click, and you will get options, download included
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
28 April 2004
http://captnswing.net/howto/nicotine/ How-to install.
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
21 April 2004
i had the same prob that it would just sit there and do nothing the first time i launched it. then after a minute it started up / was able to connect. just let it sit there. it looks like nothins goin on but just wait. Ever since the first time it was launched now it starts up quickly.
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
18 April 2004
I have X11 and Nicotine installed but when i click Nicotine nothing happens. I´ve checked the Read Me file and develloper website but didn´t find any tips or how-to install this app. Can anyone help ? Thanks
Like
Version 1.07
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 April 2004
Hi Smith27, You shouldn't have to do anything special to install it, just double-click--so if it's not working, it's probably a bug. Try watching Console.app while you double-click Nicotine.app, and see if any mesages show up. You can email them to me (my address is in the readme) and I'll try to see what's wrong.
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 August 2004
you might have to update your x11. i was just getting quits, then got a new x11 and it starts okay.
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
18 April 2004
Glad you're liking the package! To download, just go to the search tab, put in some search terms, and hit return. Then command-click (or right-click) on a search result and choose "Download". As for the "wishlist" feature, that's not something I can really deal with myself--you'll have to talk to the nicotine developers. I haven't heard of Nicotine stopping anybody from using the web before. One possible explanation is if you're downloading and uploading too much from Nicotine at once, there won't be any badwidth left over for other internet connections. Try changing your settings to limit upload speeds, and downloading less at once.
Like
Version 1.07
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 October 2004
First of all - thanks a bunch for making Soulseek available in a simple-to-use (ahem) version. However, I am having trouble with rescanning shares - only a small part come up - any advice?
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
18 April 2004
one word is enough: great!
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
18 April 2004
Thanks for putting this together!! Has saved me a great deal of time and effort, and I can now access Soulseek once more. However, I still have the same problem as when I previously installed Nicotine: it stops me from using the web. Why is this? Is it something to do with network ports? As soon as I exit Nicotine I can immediately surf once more, but never while it is in use. If you have any ideas or advice it would be greatly appreciated. Again though, many thanks for simplifying the installation process for all!
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
16 April 2004
I just want to say thanks. SoulSeek is the only reason I have kept my old PC around. For those who enjoy compiling stuff etc., then great. But I am happy as heck to finally have a simple solution for running slsk on OSX. Only one complaint, I wish it had the 'wishlist' feature that the PC version has.
Like
Version 1.07
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 April 2004
Yeah, slsk is the only reason I keep a PC too. Guess it's time to give X11 a shot again...
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 April 2004
ya overall Nicotine has more features than the PC SOulSeek. Now that all you have to do is install X11 and copy this app onto your hard drive it's no big deal. You don't even need to start X11 and add the app. You just double click it like a normal app, X11 opens and Nicotine opens.
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 April 2004
What's up with that sound playing all the time!?
Like
Version 1.07
Anonymous
16 April 2004
Ehm sooorry but I cant believe this...it does work under 1 minute after one has installed X11 really, all I did was CLICK Nicotine and there it goes...Xterm opens...and after a short time the Nicotine application window shows up...what is all that fuzz about hours of installing it? It does work just so! Now I dont know how to get things to download, but I am sure someone will tell me in due time. Wonderful so far...I am on Soulseek and that seemed to be biggest trouble so far, maybe thats solved by now? if theres no change, I d rather save this pp to some CD in case it wont be available anymore after some time...who knows?...
Like
Version 1.07
more
16 April 2004
actually.... no it doesnt take hours to compile and do the terminal thing any more... this is an update i think to a version ive had for a while that is allready compiled and runs perfect under x11 it took me literally 5 minutes or less to install and run.
Like
Version 1.07