Back to Islands Mini-golf page
Islands Mini-golf free download for Mac

Islands Mini-golf Reviews

1.5
11 January 2008

3D mini-golf game.

Anonymous
25 March 2004

Most helpful

Takes farr too long to load scenes due to "star" effect. This effect should have a disable option to make the game faster, and therefore more usable.
Like
Version 1.0.1

Read 17 Islands Mini-golf User Reviews

Rate this app:

MacManX
04 August 2007
BUYER BEWARE: This game freezes on new MacBook Pros with nVidia Geforce 8600M GT graphics during the very first loading screens whenever "Edge Smoothing" is enabled. The developer appears to be ignoring my bug report, which I have submitted numerous times over the past month. As with any shareware application, try this game before you buy it.
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
MacManX
MacManX
22 January 2008
Version 1.5 appears to have fixed the fore-mentioned problem. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.5
Applecrypt-Mods
01 February 2007
this is a great game but with a serious 3hole limit on demo release. Plus there are some camera angles that are a little duff... overall pretty darn excellent game. Real good fun! Buuuut 25smackers is far too much. Sorry 4/5 otherwise 5/5 with a more realistic price tag. Say, a tenner?
Like
Version 1.4.1
Moogle
20 April 2006
Very fun little game. Good when you want a quick fix. Not $25 fun, however. The controls leave a lot to be desired. Note that the download here is outdated. The developer's site hosts a Universal Binary. Direct download link: http://www.danlabgames.com/download.php?id=islands&computer=mac
Like
Version 1.4
Louzieann
12 April 2006
Game is too expensive to register. I think it's a great game, but it's not worth $25.00.
Like
Version 1.4
Amcan12
12 April 2006
Too bad that it is not Intel compatible - game rocks on first generation iMac G5, but is slow with terrible graphic on MacBook Pro...
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
09 March 2005
I'm not a pro gamer so maybe this isn't a good game at all ... but really, I just like it a lot! Very intuitive and simpel to begin with, but after some rounds you get hooked trying to come near the course par score ... because you know it is possible ... %@#&*% ... in the water again!
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
31 January 2005
I agree with Ozzpot; there has been a disturbing absence of minigolf games for OS X. This nicely fills the void, with good graphics and an overall slick presentation. Controlling with a mouse needs a bit of work, though.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
02 December 2004
A correction to the other comment about not being able to look around enough. The numeric keypad lets you change the view persepective and from one of the perspectives, you have full control of the current view by using the arrow keys. It is a little cumbersome, but it effectively lets you view and line up your shot. It looks to be very entertaining and the quality is nice, but there's no way I'm going to drop that much cash for a registration when i can only play three levels that hardly have anything to them. Release a new demo version with a full round (18 holes) of varying degree and I might be inclined to buy it. Also, the demo version won't allow you to do the training mode, which kind of sucks.
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 December 2004
OK, you want to play almost a thrid of the game for free so you can decide if you are going to buy it. This is not realistic.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 December 2004
I agree with the above that it might be a little unrealistic to ask for a full 18 holes. (Ignoring the fact that iD, who really got the shareware thing going in the first place very successfully with Wolf3D/Doom, gave the first episode out of three in the demo.) However I do think that the reviewer does have a point. Personally I would prefer it if there were nine holes just from one course available, or, if the three courses needed to be represented, then perhaps three non-consecutive holes would be good, since then it would give a greater overview of what the holes are like. Look at something like Marble Blast 3D. Yes, they only give you a few levels, but they are across the difficulty spectrum to give an idea of what to expect. As it is, I would prefer a better indication of the later levels before I parted with my money.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
02 December 2004
$25? you've got to be kidding me...
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
01 December 2004
Nice, but TOO HARD!!!
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
23 June 2004
It has a lot of potential, but the player is unable to adjust the camera angle very much, or look around the course at all before taking a shot (in order to get some idea of what is around the corner). It would be nice if it would at least let you know which in direction to find the pin as the view will occasionally settle facing in the wrong direction. The multiple camera tracking of the ball is disorienting at best and the confusion is compounded as it continually breaks the plane. Perhaps setting a standard camera height could be of benefit too, as often you will go from a worms eye view to a birds eye view in one shot something which almost never happens when playing real mini golf. Overall it's playable and somewhat fun, but the camera movement is poor and it detracts from the "mini golf" experience. The course design is fun, but I was unable to play more than two holes without giving up out of frustration with poor visibility.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 September 2004
please read the doc ! you can press F1, F2, F3 and F4 to change camera view
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
17 June 2004
Nice game, but quite expensive, if you can´t even save a game...
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
30 May 2004
Works fine on my G4 iMac running 10.3.4 - nice fun game. Probably a bit too pricey for me personally, but the Demo allows you to play the first three holes of three different courses.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Marius
16 April 2004
Same here, just launches then quits. checked the log: "Bus error". Using an iBook. Too bad, prob a great game.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
14 April 2004
This game just doesn't work on my powerbook. I start the game, and it quits silently without any error message. Rather dissapointing.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Ozzpot
25 March 2004
For as long as I can remember I've wanted a really nice mini golf game to play on my computer. It's just more fun and interesting than normal golf. Unfortunately mini golf games have always been hard to come by. I scour shareware sites looking for them. Every time I see one I download it, and every time I am disappointed by awful graphics, awkward gameplay and shoddy presentation. When I saw this I thought "Hmm... it's got a nice icon. That makes a change. I bet the rest of the game sucks, though. Oh well, I'll give it a go". Right from the start I was blown away by this. It is slick and colorful and definitely has a Nintendo feel to it. Maybe it reminds me of Mario Golf or Super Monkey Ball or something. The graphics are impressive, the presentation is bold, beautiful and instantly accessable, and the controls are intuitive and responsive. Of course, you would expect all this from a game that costs $25 I suppose, although I have seen a lot worse games than this released commercially on consoles for $50. I paid for this game within 10 minutes of playing the demo, and I expect to have a lot of fun with it for a long time. The only problems I have come accross with it are a dodgy camera view occasionally which can make some shots very very hard, (but all games like this experience that). The learning curve is a bit up and down I think. Some holes are very easy and some are extremely frustratingly difficult, and these holes are not necessarily in any order. I have also experienced a very occassional graphical glitch where textures do not display properly, and I think on one occasion my high score submitted to the wrong course page. Overall though, I love this game. It is commercial quality and a lot of fun, and well worth $25.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
geoffh
geoffh
21 April 2004
I thought this was a fantastic game at first. Then came the random camera angle. At first, all camera angels are user friendly to where you can see the hole you are shooting at. After a couple plays of the game however, the game would randomly choose a camera angle at which the player cannot see where the are aiming. If not for this problem, I would have bought the game instantly. It has great graphics, a fun music score, and overall a very charming atmosphere about it.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
25 March 2004
Takes farr too long to load scenes due to "star" effect. This effect should have a disable option to make the game faster, and therefore more usable.
Like
Version 1.0.1