Back to viJournal page
viJournal free download for Mac

viJournal Reviews

2.5.2
05 November 2012

Personal journal.

Xplicit
08 January 2009

Most helpful

One of the best Journal applications ever, if not the best. Even better with the new redesign. Stable, reliable, simple. Support is good also.
Like (3)
Version 2.1

Read 46 viJournal User Reviews

Rate this app:

brad-57
26 August 2018
Solved it. Just created a new backup of the iPad files with iExplorer and the viJournal folder and files were all in the new backup. Then transferred to desktop. Now to transfer to another Journal app....unless someone is working on resurrecting viJ?
Like
Version 2.5.2
brad-57
26 August 2018
I've tried using iExplorer to search files on the iPad but I don't find any remaining files on the iPad even though the icon is still on the desktop. Is there any way of loading viJournal to iOS 11 without iTunes....Phoneview maybe?
Like
Version 2.5.2
brad-57
26 August 2018
Has anyone found a solution for retrieving viJ files from iOS when they no longer allow you to download the app from iTunes......please? I have also lost hundreds of entries.
Like
Version 2.5.2
ibalek01
01 April 2017
It was a wonderful app - absolutely loved it! It is unfortunate that the app is no longer available. To Other Users: I am working on an initiative to bring back this app in one form or the other. Please ping me at twitter.com/alexlinu if you want to help me. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.2
8 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
04 May 2017
I have no experience in coding, but would definitely purchase an updated version of something like viJournal if it becomes available.
Like (2)
Filp
Filp
12 May 2017
Ditto to Gazman. Sorry to see such a convenient and comfortable product seeming to just... vanish. Come back! I'll buy!
Like (2)
rdangel
rdangel
30 June 2017
Hello all: I am looking for some help regarding viJournal. I began using it in 2006 and was very sorry to see it go. I have close to a thousand entries. However, I've somehow lost a way to open them!! Years of memories I can't access. I see all the entries as .vjentry files, but I can't open them. I'm sure I did something stupid, but don't know what. I can open the app, but it doesn't let me access these files. I'm desperate for help. Any ideas?
Like (1)
Filp
Filp
01 July 2017
rdangel -- have you tried downloading a new copy of the app? The Scooby Soft site is a dead blank, but I think you can still download a copy at CNET.
Like
ibalek01
ibalek01
01 July 2017
The initial version of the app is launched, though some features are still pending to be done. Visit Dyrii.com for more information.

@rdangel - I have a bunch of these .vjentry files in my file system and when I try to open them the app says "The document could not be opened. viJournal cannot open files in the viJournal Entry Document format".

These are package files. So, you can right click on these files and select on "Show Package Contents" and it will show you the contents.

As part of Dyrii, I have an import feature from other apps such as DayOne. I can write an import code for Vijournal. Let me know if know if there is enough interest in this and I will add this as a feature to Dyrii.
Like (1)
rdangel
rdangel
01 July 2017
Flip: thanks for your response. I have downloaded the viJournal app and can open it. However, I can't make it find my accumulated entries. It shows that there are no entries at all to be looked at. I have all of the files sitting on my desktop as .vjentry files. Is there a way to have the app recognize those files?
Like
Filp
Filp
01 July 2017
@rdangel: Functional intricacies of any program are above my pay grade. Only thing I can suggest is to check viJournal —> Preferences —> Storage, and make sure that first item points at your entries. It will expect to find them at Library/Application Support/viJournal. If they're someplace else, you can try using the "Change..." button to aim at their present location, or move the entries, in viJournal folder, to that location.
Like (1)
ibalek01
ibalek01
15 July 2017
We have added import from DayOne v2 and Dayone Classic to our app. We are now evaluating import from viJournal but not sure how many users might even be interested. Ping me or comment on our community site post, if you are interested in this feature.
https://community.dyrii.com/i60-migrating-from-vijournal
Like
Dear, beautiful, lovely developer(s) of ViJournal, please come back. Don't listen to the critics. Remember that satisfied users rarely leave reviews.... so don't take the criticisms too much to heart. Your app is the best of the bunch.

I've been trying to pay for the pro Vi version, or even just clicking the "make a donation" button, but they both lead to the dead Skoobysoft site.

Since I found out that Vi (that's what I call her, my most beloved ViJournal, my bestie, my confident, and blog post incubator), was no longer supported, I got a bit scared that she would no longer work if I did any OS updates, so I bought MacJournal €39.99 and DayOne €9.99 to try them out, about 9 months ago. Since then I've used all three extensively to compare them, spent hours and hours learning to use MacJournal, and yet I just keep going back to Vi because she is so much like a real, old fashioned paper journal, but with superpower features. You can add as many images as you want per entry, unlike DayOne, which only allows one; the interface is simple and straightforward yet elegant and eye-pleasing, unlike MacJournal, the search feature is the best of the three, displaying all results in a condensed, tidy list with sneak preview... oh the list is endless. Please, please come back, dear, wonderful developers!!! Please do the updates so that Vi will remain compatible with my Mac and my iPhone for years to come. Please! :)
Like (2)
Version 2.5.2
3 answer(s)
chotudipha
chotudipha
04 June 2016
I, too, love this journal and fear to update my OS. Years ago when I purchased it I naively never considered that the product would no longer one day be supported. It still seems so superior to so many other journals out there. Have you found an easy way to transfer entries into MacJournal? I've been unable to get anything to work to my satisfaction yet, and fear I may laboriously have to copy individual entries by cut and paste as I did years ago when I first transferred thousands of entries into vi Journal. Please drop a line if you found a solution.

Thanks.
Like (2)
ViJournal-is-the-best
ViJournal-is-the-best
07 June 2016
@chotudipha - Sorry, I haven't looked... in fact, I am now in the process of copy-pasting all my MacJournal entries back into ViJournal Lite -- I miss Vi that much. I keep a backup disc running that I will be able to restore entries from, if ViJournal Lite ever breaks, but for now, I am hoping that the developers will return, dust off this awesome product and start supporting it again, and make it so we can support them in return!
Like
Paul-ce261670
Paul-ce261670
24 August 2016
I agree completely. I still rely on ViJournal, but I just noticed, for the first time, that I can no longer do a search without crashing the app. I'm running under OS 10.11.6 on a 2013 Mac Pro. I'd happily purchase an update if one were available.
Like
danieloconnoris
27 December 2015
Its a disaster. I had been using this for 4 years on a daily basis. I had backed up all my diaries. About 2 years ago I had to format my harddisk and start off as new. The back ups I made do not work. I have 10 GB of diaries and no way of opening them. I have been trying on and off for the last 15 months to restore my backups hoping there would be a thread of people with a similar problem who may be able to help but I've seen nothing so far. I tried to contact the developer Jeremy whom I had spoken to before but the emails dont send anymore. His email address no longer exists. I am heartbroken to have lost all those journals I painstakingly kept. The least he could have done would be to have kept his email and helped the people who bought and supported his app when he was interested in it. Don't use this fly by night rubbish so many hours of my life wasted on this junk.
Like
Version 2.5.2
2 answer(s)
brentdey
brentdey
14 February 2017
I have the same problem. Journal entries about my daughter's births, trapped in an inoperable file. Did you ever figure out how to open it?
Like (1)
a-104
a-104
05 November 2019
This is Nov 5, 2019 and I registered here specifically to answer anyone who has troubles to open their ViJournal entries. I had used ViJournal in 2010 and 2011 after MiLife and before Day One. Recently I decided to move all my old entries to my current app and I found that I can no longer launch ViJournal. I have all my data under Users/Library/Application Support/viJournal but couldn’t open them. I googled and found here, and learned that viJournal is a folder despite the icon it has. So I right clicked on it and selected “Show Package Contents” and entered the folder. Here I saw all of my three journals. They are normal folders so you can just left click to open them. Under each of them are years, then months and you can still open them as normal folders. Then under months are the files like: 01 Tuesday.vjentry, 02 Wednesday.vjentry, 31 Thursday.vjentry etc. My ViJournal app didn’t work so I couldn’t open them using left click, but I found that they are also folders. So I right clicked on 01 Tuesday.vjentry and left click “Show Package Contents” then I entered that day’s folder. There’re four files here. I don’t know what other three .plist files are but I do know they are some system files and all my personal data are in that 01 Tuesday.rtf. It is a .rtf file so you can just left click and open it. It has all the content of that day. I have 522 entries in that two years so that’s a lot of work of copy them out one by one but at least there’s a way to retrieve them. --- Update: Just half hour ago I installed ViJournal Version 2.5.0 (2.5.0) on another Mac with Mojave 10.14.6 and it worked. I set up the password first and then pointed the Storage to my backup folder. It didn’t give me error this time and this will greatly reduce the workload. I compared the content in App and the content in the .rtf file and confirmed that everything is in the .rtf file with formatting. I just want to share my experience with retrieving ViJournal entries here. The .rtf method always works as long as you still have the data but there’s lots of work involved (opening every day’s folder one by one). The installing app method works much faster but I’m also not sure because one of my computer worked and another one didn’t. I downloaded it from CNet and am more than happy to help if you have any questions.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.2
valdormar
24 December 2015
I miss viJournal. I,m now in the process of moving all my Journal entries over to MacJournal. What a shame. :(
Like
Version 2.5.2
1 answer(s)
chotudipha
chotudipha
04 June 2016
valdormar,

See my above comment - have you found an easy way to transfer to MacJournal?
Like
Gazman
08 January 2015
Well, the writing was on the wall - well, on the date the last update posted on the side of this page anyway. It seems Jeremy has abandoned viJournal - his website is no longer functioning. Which is a pity. In it's day this was the best journal program, and I've pretty much tried them all. In recent times I've reluctantly switched to MacJournal just because it played nicer with more recent versions of OS X, but in terms of usability and UI viJournal suited me down to the ground. Thanks for a great program Jeremy and best of luck in your future endeavours.
Like
Version 2.5.2
janiceteo1
07 January 2015
I know this is cheeky cos this is a Mac site, but I use both Mac and Android devices - my desktop is a Mac, I have an iPad but I have a samsung phone - and I would just love it if vijournal was available for Android as well. Have tried going onto the developer's website but can't seem to get to it. Clicking on the in-app help button/leave feedback button does nothing. Has this app been closed down or something? If anyone can help me get to their website I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!
Like
Version 2.5.2
mcgap235
08 November 2013
I see that there haven't been any comments about this app in a long time and wanted to update my experience with it. I have been using both this app and its companion app on the iPad since 2008 for the most part every day. Although there have been a few hiccups over the years, I have always found the developer to be very responsive and we have worked out any kinks. I have NO problem syncing my iPad to my Mac (running Mtn Lion at the moment) and back and forth. I particularly like that the app makes backups when I exit it and also that I can export any and all journals as rtf documents either as single entries of as whole journals. I have yet to see another app provide so much versatility and well thought out layout. I especially like maintaining control over my journals and keeping it within my personal network rather than in a cloud. I realize others prefer that option. But it if this is the kind of journal app you're looking for, it's just great!
Like
Version 2.5.2
Pusfarm
07 July 2012
I like this app, but gave it up awhile ago in favor or a different app due to flaky syncing and some quirks that bothered me. Thought I'd try it again with the new version, but sadly the sync (and quirk) issues remain. I deleted an entry on the desktop side then synced, only to have the "deleted" entry reappear on the desktop (no changes were made to the iphone side). I like that this journal handles images, unlike my current app, even if they are sometimes rotated (which they're not if I open them in any other app). I'm sure I'll try it again if there's another update.
Like
Version 2.5.0
Sheagirl
26 January 2012
Is anyone still using this? It looks like what I've been looking for but I am a bit concerned that the last comment good or bad seems to be from 2009? I also went to the mobile review and it does have good reviews but very little info on this app on any site. I am concerned that there seems to be no user forum either...makes one wonder? I'd appreciate any feed back.
Like
Version 2.4.0
1 answer(s)
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
08 February 2012
I'm using this as my journal since 2008. Love it.
Like
Airwing
02 December 2009
This is definitively the best journal program available! I've tried all the alternatives, but I always return to viJournal. It has a very elegant and friendly user interface. You can find and show your entries in various ways. The last major to viJournal 2.x made this application the winner in its class. I use this program everyday, and I love it! Highly recommended if you want to keep track of your workout, daily life or a vacation in an elegant way!
Like (3)
Version 2.3
Just-A-User
27 June 2009
I really enjoy using it and I especially like the possibility to sync with the iPhone. I actually also have MacJournal but use that for totally different things. I wish the iPhone sync would work better/more reliably, maybe the new version is an improvement concerning sync...
Like (1)
Version 2.2.6
Xplicit
08 January 2009
One of the best Journal applications ever, if not the best. Even better with the new redesign. Stable, reliable, simple. Support is good also.
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Gazman
13 December 2008
Two days ago I emailed the developer to tell him about a couple of minor quirks I had discovered in the latest version and to ask for a new feature. Within 24 hours he had emailed me back thanking for letting him know about the bugs and the idea. This morning a new version is out with both bugs fixed, the feature implemented and some other fixes as well. You can't beat that for service.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Xplicit
21 November 2008
Nice redesign Jeremy. I like it.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Gazman
01 December 2007
Yes! Like Antichrisis below me I have been eagerly awaiting a Universal Binary of this program. I was actually expecting it be a version 2 release and I was getting ready to pay the upgrade fee to (IMHO) the best journaling program out there.
Like
Version 1.8
Antichrisis
01 December 2007
Finally viJournal is back!!! After I've read a few months ago that this application was meant to be discontinued, I looked for alternatives: I've tried MacJournal but then choose Journler, as it seemed to be the better solution for my needs... but nothing seemed to be as good as viJournal when it came to keeping a digital diary! And so I've started copying 7 years of diary entries from the old version of viJournal to Journler: an interesting way to read old entries again, but also a lot of work... and now that I'm almost finished with copying, this new version of viJournal appears out of the blue, which makes me wanna use some really bad swear-words if it wasn't for the simple fact that I'm so relieved to see viJournal back in the ring again... Thanks to the developer for not having dropped the best software diary for OS X!
Like
Version 1.8
Hauslendale
19 October 2007
PLEASE where is our Universal build?? We all want it, need it, I would even pay for the app again.. COME ON.......
Like
Version 1.7.6
Gazman
03 August 2007
Its such a pity this program is no longer being developed. I have tried MacJournal, Journler and heaps of others and this one fits best with what I want a journal program to be. However, it is getting left behind now that all the others are Universal Binaries and run much faster on an intel mac.
Like
Version 1.7.6
Terre-Spencer
16 January 2007
And another ten stars for the developer and his outstanding support! I have used viJournal for almost four years, keeping daily journals as well as additional journals for chemotherapy, dreams, a family genealogy project among others. I have been quite the chronicler. All that to emphasize the degree of usage that I have given this delightful, feature-rich, solid application. When Unsanity's APE crept in the programming of many of my favorite apps causing crashes and peculiar behaviors, (viJournal being one of them), I was alarmed that I might lose all that I had written. One email to ScoobySoft was all that it took to begin the process of restoring viJournal safely away from the clutches of such an invasive program. Even though it was not a viJournal problem, ScoobySoft walked me through the entire reparation process. Four years of writing is safe and I am one very happy user. ScoobySoft knows that by writing software for journaling, the firm has entered the realm of the very personal and responds in a caring, concerned and dedicated-to-the-satisfaction-of-users fashion. I cannot praise ScoobySoft more than this. The program itself reflects that same dedication. It offers many delightful and immanently usable features such as the ability to change the theme from Metal to Aqua (let's face it, Aqua IS more personal and intimate, like journaling), custom cover page even page colors, hefty typesetting features, security features, notes, easy image importing, to-do lists, a great drop box and cratch pad---all-in-all a robust thoughtful program written to be used and enjoyed. , If you ever record anything for yourself or others, this is the program to use.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.6
Xplicit
04 August 2006
Having testet viJournal for some time now I can say that I'm very satisfied with this app. It has a clean and elegant interface, easy to handle security features and all the other functions I expect of a journaling application. Not overloaded like other apps. Very easy to use, just read the tips for a few seconds and get startet right away. Good work.
Like (1)
Version 1.7
Lev
22 April 2006
Handsome interface, stable, secure; like the "drop box" for file aliases, and the gallery for pic - accessible from any entry. Purely subjectively, it seems smoother than MacJournal; since I use other apps for the "extra" power of MacJournal, I don't need them for my Day Book and Journal. If you want a catch-all text repository, maybe this isn't for you; but for a dedicated, clean journalling app, viJournal gets my vote.
Like
Version 1.6.4
T3do3
20 April 2006
I'll buy this app as soon as UB version is out... (when?)
Like
Version 1.6.3
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
31 July 2006
I just got my new MacBook today and even running under Rosetta viJournal is just as fast or even faster than it was on my G4 PowerBook.
Like
Version 1.6.7
Anonymous
15 April 2005
I just want to thank the developer for the excellent support. Only a few days ago I emailed the developer asking about the possibility of a full-screen editor and he has already incorporated it into this latest version, making an outstanding journal app even better!
Like
Version 1.5.3
Anonymous
21 October 2004
For those of you commenting on the constant nagging, have you tried the Lite version which is free. I have registered this app, after trying numerous journal/diary apps I decided that this was by far the best in terms of my usage and the interface is by far the best. Plus the author of this software is a published novelist so its good to see him also putting his time into developing good writing software. I haven't had a single glitch or bug in over 3 months of using this program.
Like
Version 1.4.6
Dbrennan
12 October 2004
Also available as viJournal Jaguar 1.4.5 for OSX 10.2.8. As yet untried, myself.
Like
Version 1.4.5
Melissa
27 September 2004
I loved this journal app, and I even considered buying it to get rid of the unlicensed nags, but then I realized that it had deleted all of my 3-months-worth of entries. Of course, the dates and subjects are still in the browser, so I didn't know they were gone until I tried the nostalgia function. Now I'm missing a huge chunk of this year, including the entries that I moved into viJournal from my previous journal app. Should've just stuck with the old one, although it was never as functional as this, but it was easy to use and never deleted anything of mine. The thing that pisses me off most is all of the stuff I've lost!
Like
Version 1.4.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 April 2005
If the dates and subjects are listed in the browser, then the entries are still there. This sounds like it could be a problem with your encryption key. Please contact SkoobySoft support for help.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Brildenlanch
22 September 2004
Pretty good app. Had to take off a star or 2 for the horrendous bugging to get me to register, which I won't do now out of principle.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Sid3
30 August 2004
Best Diary application out there - period!
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
26 July 2004
Response to dagaz: Actually, the launch-time "Unlicensed" reminder only appears on 3 days out of 7. Also, you must be more absorbed in your writing than you thought - you actually get 15 minutes (not 5) before the overlay Unlicensed text appears. All you need to do to get rid of it is switch to a different entry and then back again. Not so subtle, perhaps, but remember that NO features are disabled, and there is NO limit on how long you can use the software unlicensed.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
25 July 2004
I really like the interface and the basic premise of this piece of software - unfortunately I have to say I like it more than the freeware MacJournal. What I don't like is the 'subtle' reminders that youi are using an unlicenced program - I only downloaded it yesterday. Every time you start up you get a message to register or use unlicenced then when you start writing you only get about five minutes before big purple writing about this being an unlicenced copy which eventually takes over the whole window. And the developer calls this subtle! I will probably end up buying a licence but thought I would vent a little here first. The other thing that needs work is the 'check spelling as you type' seems to work sporadically.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
23 July 2004
Apologies to all about the bad dmg. It seems to have got corrupted during upload. A fresh, working dmg has now been put in place.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
23 July 2004
I hope you write better code than you make a disk image! This disk image will not mount in 10.3.4, 10.3, or 10.2.8 "Error" IMAGE REASON viJournalv134.dmg Function not implemented
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
12 May 2004
Very nice job. I love the interface.
Like
Version 1.2
Jimw
14 March 2004
Not a bad program as journals go. Better than most. However, I still like MacJournal, especially considering the cost - free, and it is full featured as well. This one has a more traditional GUI however that users may prefer and may be worth the shareware fee to some, which is not unreasonable, considering the features of the product.
Like
Version 1.0b3
Anonymous
14 March 2004
Nice app. Simple and elegant interface. Just enough for a personal journal. I like it very much!
Like
Version 1.0b3
cafelatte
12 March 2004
Still a little rough around the edges but this app has great potential. I really like the local hyperlink feature. Attached notes can not be searched (yet) and only one entry at a time can be exported. Starts up ok in 10.3.2.
Like
Version 1.0b2
Anonymous
11 March 2004
b2 still crashes on startup (OS X.10.3.1). Thanks for your effort, but you could do at least some basic testing before releasing a program on Macupdate. This is surely not the best way to introduce a new app.
Like
Version 1.0b2
Anonymous
10 March 2004
The startup crash bug has now been fixed. It was caused by the application asking for a font which is not necessarily installed on all machines. The app now uses the default system font.
Like
Version 1.0b1
Anonymous
10 March 2004
This app is one of the BEST non-functioning software releases I have ever used. It offers consistent crashing on startup and maintains a 100% physically unsuable status... amazing! Additionally, it wasted 10 minutes of my life (including the time spent writing this... iJournal made me do it) and treated me to a non-functioning download link on author's (Jeremy Dronfield) website. Quality control? Not here! This app (did you check to see if the name iJournal was already a registered trademark? Nope) is the very definition of craptastic.
Like
Version 1.0b1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 March 2004
The startup crash bug has now been fixed. It was caused by the app asking for a font which is not necessarily installed on all systems. The app now requests the default system font.
Like
Version 1.0b1
Anonymous
10 March 2004
This is *NOT* iJournal, the LiveJournal client for Mac OS X that has been around since 2001. It's some other app by an apparently clueless developer.
Like
Version 1.0b1
Anonymous
10 March 2004
The name iJournal is already taken, and has been for a few years. http://www.os10.org/osx/iJournal.html Might want to change that...
Like
Version 1.0b1
Anonymous
10 March 2004
Same here. 10.3.2 too
Like
Version 1.0b1
Anonymous
10 March 2004
Crashed instantly when launched the app. (Mac OS X 10.3)
Like
Version 1.0b1