Back to iMote page
iMote free download for Mac

iMote Reviews

2.3.2
17 August 2009

Control iTunes via hotkeys and menubar.

Bigbadvoo
16 August 2003

Most helpful

Would be cool as one of the only remotes that doesn't require 10.2, but didn't work on my iBook 300, 10.1.5 w/o BSD.
Like
Version 1.0

Read 37 iMote User Reviews

Rate this app:

Ben42
06 January 2008
Very useful program, but there's a bug -- it seems to hang for a minute or two after I quit iTunes. That is, if the menu extra is enabled and set to disappear when iTunes is off, it stays on after quitting iTunes for a while. And if I quit iTunes and then restart it immediately, iMote doesn't work at first and and then after a similar length of time starts working. (It works fine as long as I just leave iTunes on all day.) I emailed support and got no response. I'm running 10.4.11 on a PPC and iTunes 7.5.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Jobby
28 October 2007
Seems to work on Leopard, except the menubar item never appears. The error in console.log is: iMote[146] Unable to add iMoteMenu.menu, error = -108 (don't know whether that helps or not :)
Like
Version 2.2.1
Irchamandy
16 September 2007
I would caution anyone considering buying this software because when a problem arises with it, the developer stops responding to support requests. After I ran the new version of SOCKS, another application by this same developer, it wiped out my Mac's ability to use keychains properly. Requests to the developer on how to fix the problem created by SOCKS have been ignored. It still isn't working properly and I have no idea how to fix it. It was suggested to me by a Mac journalist on another site that I might have to do a clean install of the OS. I suspect that the developer is panicking either because he doesn't know how to solve the problem or he doesn't want such a serious, intensive fix associated with his software. Keep this in mind when considering buying any of his software.
Like
Version 2.2.1
hced
21 January 2007
Absolutely fantastic, and free!! Thanks. A few requests: - Keyboard shortcut for changing Albums! - No more .sitx files for the program distributions ;)
Like
Version 2.2.1
Dabigdjin
18 January 2007
Awesome...simply the best.
Like
Version 2.2.1
I wanted to try this but I opted not to because it's compressed in a .sitx file which needs stuffit. The developer should consider moving away from .sitx. You only have to go to the stuffit page to see the problems many people have with stuffit.
Like
Version 2.2.1
2 answer(s)
Attentionwandered
Attentionwandered
18 January 2007
you can use the unarchiver(freeware) to unpack stuffit files.
Like
Version 2.2.1
anonymous-aardvark-2081
anonymous-aardvark-2081
29 April 2007
At the time I did try that with some other software but it didn't work. There was a known bug that prevented it from dealing with stuffit files on intel macs. I don't know if it's been fixed, but then I don't really care. Stuffit needs to be made obsolete.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Sidetracked
15 August 2006
My favorite of the iTunes controllers. Everything is easily customizable; hot keys, info floater, ( I prefer the app's built in floater to the optional Growl - easier to position and control). I use it all the time without having to think about it. What more could you ask? The one time I had a question, the developer got back to me right away, even if there wasn't a ready answer. There is a minor bug that I reported that apparently has appened to a few other people as well. If the menu extra is on I have to quit iMote before the computer will let me quit iTunes. No big disaster, and the developer said it will be addressed in the next version.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Jobby
17 June 2006
Great - this has replaced GrowliTunes for me. The Show Growl Notication action doesn't work when assigned to hotkey 9 for some reason. It would also be nice to be able to choose the hotkey activation sequence - some of my apps use Command-Option shortcuts extensively, and I'd like to be able to change it to Ctrl-Command. Even better would be setting it on a per-hotkey basis. Would it be possible to have Rate Previous Track commands? If a track finished before I can rate it, I have to go to iTunes and rate it in there, which is a pain. Shouldn't be too hard to keep a note of what's just finished playing, hopefully :)
Like
Version 2.2.1
Pedro-Fardilha
20 April 2006
Simply the best!
Like
Version 2.2.1
Anonymous
29 August 2005
Absolutely wonderfully wonderful. Does absolutely everything I want it to, and now even has growl support. YAY! Would be really really cool if it could read album graphics from an external file though, like growltunes did (now scrapped from my computer, thank you very much! :) and possibly download it from amazon, like growltunes did. I know there are apps that loads the images into the mp3-files for you, but I have one of the 4Gb iPod minis and I'm really tight on space in it as it is. I'm gonna have a look-see to see if I can whip up a cooler app icon as well, would be glad to contribute to this awesome software.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Attentionwandered
Attentionwandered
25 August 2006
if you uncheck "show album art on ipod" or something like that, in the ipod preferences (in itunes) it doesnt copy the artwork. well at least on my ipod nano it doesnt
Like
Version 2.2.1
Anonymous
28 July 2005
great! the best one iTunes controller I've tried....
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
31 May 2005
Very good iTunes controller, does things elegantly for free where others charge. Strange thing is that sometimes the floater will not show up on song change... I tried quitting iMote 2, switching some features off and on again, I tried quitting iTunes, to no avail. Do I have to log out to get it working again? The key combos work still fine, however. Cool software!
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 May 2005
have you used X-Tunes? how does iMote compare to it? btw, X-tunes works fine with 10.3.9, don't know about 10.4
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 June 2005
Thanks for the hint! While X-Tunes is really not bad and very effective to use, it does not display any artwork for iTunes songs, and that's exactly what I wanted to have.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 May 2005
. Very nice. Does the key things that Synergy does but is free. Here are a few things that would be nice if added: 1) Allow floater to be up until I tell it to go away. (I use this feature to always show me whats playing as I work) 2) Floater should be allowed to be postioned anywhere on the screen. 3) Floater should be allowed to resize. 4) Customized fonts? 5) Customized song info (time, genre, album, artist, rating etc.) 6) And here is an idea that I have yet to see, a party mode. Where the screen is black and you have all the floater info in the center of the screen extra large with big album art. That way everyone can see what is playing on the screen.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Morgan
Morgan
09 June 2005
You can move the floater by dragging it (in version 2.0). 2.1 will allow it to stay open as well.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 May 2005
Forget any other iTunes remote! If you need a simple, elegant, light remote for iTunes, try iMote 2.0. I used iMote 1.2 since months, then I switched to other iTunes remote because version 1.2 was missing some interesting features. This is not true anymore. This long awaited release I best than ever. I JUST LOVE THIS SOFTWARE. Big thanks to the developer.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
15 May 2005
Works exactly as it claims on 10.3.9. No problems with quitting iTunes as another user reported. It relaunches if you hit the shortcut key, but this isn't a problem... it's kind of convenient. Free, stable, functional. Without the delay of Logitech keyboard buttons. What else to say?
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
27 October 2004
This would be even better if you could assign keyboard shortcuts to all the other functions, say, Synergy has.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
24 June 2004
issues/bugs: -itunes can not be quitted if imote is loaded. If quitted it starts up over itself. Must be quit by process-viewer by force-quit! -itunes starts up automatically at login!
Like
Version 1.2
Luke Riutzel
21 June 2004
i thhink this is a great app for OS X and works fine on my 10.3.4 build
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
17 June 2004
Seems to be buggy sometimes, but I'm not sure exactly what the circumstances are. Things I noticed were iMote getting confused of what song was playing and losing funtionality of previous song key or volume.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
14 June 2004
Play/Pause does not work. Just interrupts the current track for a short moment. cntrl opt cmd v launches the menu twice in the menu bar. Once with the current song info on top. Once without any info.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
26 April 2004
iMote... does what it says on the can. Very simple, very easy, no overhead.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
08 February 2004
iMote 1.2 opens automatically iTunes at startup.. i think this is a little bug!
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
07 February 2004
I'm just like to say that in my opinnion X-Tunes is completely different from iMote.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
07 February 2004
This is similar to x-tunes. U can find it here. Personally i think that x-tunes is better than this one. Both are very similar and both get the task of easy itunes control done very well.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
13 January 2004
You won't think you need iMote until you use it... it makes itunes SO much easier to use.
Like
Version 1.1
Alexander Klar
09 January 2004
Wow! I was really missing this functionality in iTunes - and iMote gave it to me. The fact that you can't change the hot keys is no problem since the key combination is very easy to remember and does not interfere with any programs I've used (in fact I even hit the iMote keys when being in iTunes now). Also, I would like to point out that iMote's reaction time is great! Even when two programs are launching parallely iMote reacts immediatly when I hit the buttons. Great, great piece of software!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
15 November 2003
Wow, so simple yet so helpful. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
10 November 2003
this is wonnderful, does what it says, blah blah blah. the simple key combo is beautiful. it's so beautiful I want to hide it from my girlfriend like it's porn. I love it because I don't have fumble with my damn trackpad. I'd suggest a way to hide the menubar icon, but that's just me. MORGAN YOU'RE MY HERO!!!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Wen-Tzu
09 November 2003
iMote does what it claims. It's fast, simple, very handy and much cheaper than the bulky alternatives (eg. Synergy). Great app! :)
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
09 November 2003
Doesn't work on my G3 10.1.5 (launches, but doesn't react to inputs).
Like
Version 1.0.1
Robert
09 November 2003
Does exactly what I need it to do. Thanks to iMote, I can even control iTunes when my screensaver is running. It's quick, simple and convenient. It seems to work only with iTunes 4, but I don't mind.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Roger14
09 November 2003
Simple wonderful!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
02 September 2003
Very Very good product!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
18 August 2003
It works for me, simple, cool!
Like
Version 1.0
Morgan
17 August 2003
Hmmm... It's entirely simple code... I'm pretty sure you're just not using it correctly... ;)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
17 August 2003
rubbish. simpley DOES NOT WORK.
Like
Version 1.0
Bigbadvoo
16 August 2003
Would be cool as one of the only remotes that doesn't require 10.2, but didn't work on my iBook 300, 10.1.5 w/o BSD.
Like
Version 1.0