Back to Macabinet page
Macabinet free download for Mac

Macabinet Reviews

1.8.3
05 November 2005

Customizable drawer to store files.

Anonymous
10 August 2003

Most helpful

Very groovy. And the author seems very responsive. My only wish is that I could change the side of the screen it appears on, luckily the author says that will be in the next version.
Like
Version 1.0

Read 28 Macabinet User Reviews

Rate this app:

Porcustal
02 February 2007
still a very useful app after 3 years! could definitely use some work though! the multiple cabinets is a bit sketchy, but the fact it stores actual files in a nice accessable way and not just aliases is what i like.
Like
Version 1.8.3
Tim27
27 July 2006
well, don't bother buying this software. or any other radical breeze software. the author has decided to abandon the mac platform and switch to linux. unfortunate, as they made decent software. but don't waste your money, since they probably won't update anymore.
Like
Version 1.8.3
Anonymous
17 July 2005
Macabinet started to drive me nuts with its hit and miss of opening folder and other quirks. Although a registered user I switched to FruitMenu, by Unsanity that has all I need in the way of what Macabinet once provided and more. This Developer is waiting much too long to improve this app. R.I.P.
Like
Version 1.8.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 August 2005
I wanted to a follow-up to my migrating to FruitMenu. All I can say is WOW! Not only do I have instant access to my folders (I simply made an alias of my existing Macabinet folder), but you can preview a thumbnail of any graphics you have without actually opening the file! I have also put what I need into the contextual menu through FruitMenu. Best $10 bucks I've spent on software in a long while! Another thing, I noticed and do not miss with Macabinet--it's a memory hog. There are far better utilities that use much memory. Don't believe me? Go the Activity Monitor and see just how Macabinet uses compared to other apps.
Like
Version 1.8.2
Anonymous
27 May 2005
I am the only one who wants this app to work correctly? You have to repeatedly click on the folders to get them to open; custom folder icons do not show up; it is simply not there yet and I keep waiting for a version that works without the bugs. Too much to ask?
Like
Version 1.8.2
Anonymous
24 May 2005
Locks up my Log Out at times.
Like
Version 1.8.2
Frederick
19 May 2005
Whoever is first, drop drawers looks terrible. At least Macabinet looks like it is part of the system. If it also has XShelf functionality, then that's two birds with one stone. (although XShelf is great). Wish we has those pop-up drawers back as part of the OS. Big loss there.
Like
Version 1.8.2
Anonymous
15 May 2005
1.8.1 and Tiger has some anomalies, the main one being the folder are now surrounded with a black box.
Like
Version 1.8.1
Anonymous
27 January 2005
I would like to see the following: 1) "New Folder" ability in the open Macabinet window. 2) Alias' versus the actual folders being kept in Macabinet's drawer folder. 3) Background picture ability. I use this app a lot and these features will add to it.
Like
Version 1.7.7
Anonymous
13 November 2004
Didn't DropDrawers do this first? And very efficiently? DD is completely customizable, including transparency, pics to uses as backgrounds, uses extremely little cpu and is placable where ever you want it. DD has been my favorite for years.
Like
Version 1.7.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 November 2004
Actually, if you want to go back to who did this very first, it would be CE Software's Tiles program. The only reason it did not continue was Apple Released AtEase, which copied most of the functionality of Tiles.
Like
Version 1.7.5
Anonymous
03 September 2004
I second the comment below.
Like
Version 1.7.3
Anonymous
03 September 2004
I use this app extensively, but I wish that it had a "New Folder" feature so that I can easily add a folder to the list.
Like
Version 1.7.3
Anonymous
03 September 2004
I don't understand how this app uses any cpu cycles at all, especially when it's idling. I do pretty much the same thing with finder in the dock. I like what it intends but it's lacks some elegance in it's execution.
Like
Version 1.7.3
Anonymous
01 September 2004
Very few utilities have such an amazing production value and support forum. Top that off with a real (fairly) original idea? And the execution is flawless. Maybe a bit overpriced - but anyone who needs this kind of thing will want this.
Like
Version 1.7.2
Anonymous
30 August 2004
Now there's a real improvement : CPU usage has been reduced in half. Keep on the good work !
Like
Version 1.7.2
Anonymous
27 August 2004
To be honest, I see no big difference with the CPU usage.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
14 July 2004
I've been using Macabinet for some time now and welcome the fixes. I miss being able to alter the background color and would like it back, including a means of placing a picture in the background. I also wish I could "size" the window to show more instead of scrolling.
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Delphian
Delphian
15 July 2004
A pretty major (but free) update has been in development for some time and isn't very far from being released. Without saying too much about what will be in the new version... let me just say that I think you will be quite pleased.
Like
Version 1.6
Delphian
14 July 2004
There are no plans to charge for an update to Macabinet. Certainly not any time soon (for 2.0). The $10 price hike was debated for quite some time here. Eventually it was decided that $20 was a nice price-point. (And existing users who purchased it before the increase, obviously, do not need to pay any extra.) Macabinet is receiving a LOT of development and graphic design time right now. The fruits of which will be very apparent before long. The small increase in price helps to offset that cost for us. It's also worth noting that one can purchase Macabinet, DiscBlaze and the rest of our applications for only $35. We try to keep things as cheap as possible for our users while still allowing us to put food on the table.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
13 July 2004
This new version (which was direly needed) has also brought with it a one-hundred percent price increase. I paid ten dollars for it and now it is twenty. I'm not sorry to say that Macabinet is by no stretch of the imagination worth twenty dollars. I only imagine that programmer will ask a ten dollar update fee when he or she takes it to version 2.0 (synonymous with their DiscBlaze app)--neither are worth the update price. A cute and sometimes useful app, Macabinet is worth ten bucks, but no more.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
09 April 2004
If you are seeing that crash, try deleting the prefs file ("MacabinetPrefs" in your ~/Library/Preferences folder). A handful of users are having this trouble, and this seems to solve it for them. Not an elegant solution, but it works. I'm also working on a new release that should take care of this problem.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
09 April 2004
It'd be nice if it didnt say "An exception of class NilObjectException was not handled. The application must shit down." every time I launch the app. Doesnt seem like its all that stable on OS 10.3.3
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
07 April 2004
This version fixes about the only issue I had and that was when you assigned a double-click command to one of your mouse buttons and clicked on the folder you wanted opened it did not work. Although not listed in the fixes section, it now works beautifully. I use this for my projects, especially those I put on the back burner, but constantly need a reminder of doing. All works well for me and like that it keeps the folder you last visited highlighted when to go to open Macabinet again.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
19 November 2003
What's the point? Effectively it's just a folder system. I can see how the OS vaporware "piles" would be helpful. But this? Not worth paying extra money IMHO.
Like
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 April 2004
I guess it really just depends on how much you hate desktop clutter. I personally cant stand it & keep a "Junk Drawer" folder that I constantly just move all of my desktop files into. This app does much the same thing but in a more conveniant way.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
08 September 2003
Excellent utility to keep frequently viewed folders/files/apps off of the desktop. . . author is VERY responsive to questions and is eager to hear feedback to improve this product. Great job . . . KOKO!
Like
Version 1.3
Dana-Sutton
01 September 2003
I want to live with this a few days before I make any judgment about its usefulness. Note that MacCabinet costs $10, not $19
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
22 August 2003
Well, a folder(s) on the desktop would be adding to the clutter, not quite the idea behind Macabinet. Keep that folder you would make, and anything else you want, out of the way, and out of view. I really like the app -- it does what it says, and does it very well. It's already got some nice features, and I expect it will grow into an even more mature app with cooler features to come.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
22 August 2003
What's the difference to a simple folder on the desktop? - As far as I see only the access method differs. Is this all?
Like
Version 1.2
piterpan
16 August 2003
Great utility! This is what I've been looking, for ages. A simple and fast way to keep my desktop clean! thank you. :-)
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
10 August 2003
Very groovy. And the author seems very responsive. My only wish is that I could change the side of the screen it appears on, luckily the author says that will be in the next version.
Like
Version 1.0