Back to Missing Sync for Windows Mobile page
Missing Sync for Windows Mobile free download for Mac

Missing Sync for Windows Mobile Reviews

4.0.5
02 October 2009

Pocket PC connection and backup tool.

Wmac
03 November 2008

Most helpful

Has anyone experienced the inability to synchronize calendar events and tasks between Entourage 2008 and a PC based cell phone? After several emails with Mark Space support, I was able to confirm that contrary to their indication that you can sync calendar events and tasks with Entourage 2008 and your PC based cellular telephone, it cannot be done. And even more disappointing is that they refused to refund my purchase price even though I could not use the software as Mark Space indicated it could be used. The explanation that I was given is that it is a problem with Entourage, but not with Missing Sync. But the problem with that explanation is that they said it would work and had they not said so, I would not have purchased Missing Sync. As people have mentioned, Entourage actually syncs with iCal rather than directly with your PC based cellular telephone. Entourage sends and receives calendar events and tasks from a special Entourage calendar in iCal. The problem is that your PC based cellular telephone doesn't send information to the Entourage calendar in iCal. Thus, there is no way to sync information from your PC based cellular telephone to Entourage. I also experience all the duplicates and failures that many others have mentioned but was able to work through all of those serious inconveniences. In fact, my MacBook Pro even began to freeze which had never happened prior to installing Missing Sync. The inability to sync information from my PC based cellular telephone to Entourage was the reason for purchasing Missing Sync and Mark Space clearly indicated I could do that so when it failed I thought they would have no problem refunding the money I paid. But to my surprise, they refused. I eventually had to completely re-install Leopard, wiping out everything to get the problems to stop. I have now re-installed all of the software except Missing Sync and my MacBook has not frozen since.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.3

Read 78 Missing Sync for Windows Mobile User Reviews

Rate this app:

J-k-J
12 December 2010
My OSⅩ 10.6.2 can't install
Like
Version 4.0.5
Dteiram
02 August 2010
Very difficult to work with. Unstable, typically cannot close this software because it stops responding.
Like
Version 4.0.5
Luc-Piguet
02 June 2010
This application is unstable and crashes OSX.
Like
Version 4.0.5
A-prompt
10 December 2009
SyncMate is really nice. There's a free version of it, though of course it has less features, and by the way CD is not obligatory to buy, you can remove it on the purchase page.
Like
Version 4.0.5
Brownhawk
15 November 2009
Recently bought a Samsung Omnia and thought I could sync my calendar and contacts with the "missing sync". Prior to the purchase of the handset I had read about the "missing sync" and I was quite optimistic about it ,having read that this was an award winning software(?). To my dismay I could not sync my device no matter what the help pages told me. Fortunately I had used the demo version. I then downloaded 'Syncmate" another application which worked very well. Unfortunately "syncmate" is priced twice the "missing sync" because it is mandatory for the buyer to purchase the CD($19) along with the "software download"($39).
Like
Version 4.0.5
Technosorcerer
02 December 2008
I never heard of Missing Sync before, but I'm glad I found it. Works like a charm with my Diamond. I mean it just worked - no problems. I just installed it, connected my Diamond, hit the sync button and it put all my contacts and schedule on my phone. Huge kudos for Missing Sync!
Like
Version 4.0.4
Kparvez
02 December 2008
I love this program. I had bought a HP iPaq 210 in September and I couldn't install programs since I use a macbook. I had to borrow a friend's PC to install software. I wanted to download and install software via my macbook. At the time, I had downloaded Missing Sync v4.0.2 and it didn't work for me. I couldn't manage to get my iPaq to sync to my macbook. Recently, I read somewhere if you turn off 'advanced network functionality' on your iPaq 210 device (via "Settings" and under "Connections" and under "USB to PC") it might help. So I clicked off that function. Then I downloaded Missing Sync v4.0.4 and lo and behold, I have Missing Sync working and connecting to my macbook. I also managed to install programs and update my itunes onto my windows mobile device. YAY! I thought I'd pass on this good news to everyone who may have had issues in the past.
Like
Version 4.0.4
Wmac
03 November 2008
Has anyone experienced the inability to synchronize calendar events and tasks between Entourage 2008 and a PC based cell phone? After several emails with Mark Space support, I was able to confirm that contrary to their indication that you can sync calendar events and tasks with Entourage 2008 and your PC based cellular telephone, it cannot be done. And even more disappointing is that they refused to refund my purchase price even though I could not use the software as Mark Space indicated it could be used. The explanation that I was given is that it is a problem with Entourage, but not with Missing Sync. But the problem with that explanation is that they said it would work and had they not said so, I would not have purchased Missing Sync. As people have mentioned, Entourage actually syncs with iCal rather than directly with your PC based cellular telephone. Entourage sends and receives calendar events and tasks from a special Entourage calendar in iCal. The problem is that your PC based cellular telephone doesn't send information to the Entourage calendar in iCal. Thus, there is no way to sync information from your PC based cellular telephone to Entourage. I also experience all the duplicates and failures that many others have mentioned but was able to work through all of those serious inconveniences. In fact, my MacBook Pro even began to freeze which had never happened prior to installing Missing Sync. The inability to sync information from my PC based cellular telephone to Entourage was the reason for purchasing Missing Sync and Mark Space clearly indicated I could do that so when it failed I thought they would have no problem refunding the money I paid. But to my surprise, they refused. I eventually had to completely re-install Leopard, wiping out everything to get the problems to stop. I have now re-installed all of the software except Missing Sync and my MacBook has not frozen since.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.3
1 answer(s)
Osirusxiii
Osirusxiii
05 February 2009
I'm currently running version 4.0.3(438) with my HTC Tilt and Mac Office 2008 without a problem, if I had any complaints it would be a doubling of my Entourage calendar events on my phone.
Like
Version 4.0.4
Thebattman
11 June 2008
Downloaded and used for a couple of days as functional Demo. Worked very well. I decided it was a much needed app, so I coughed up the $39.95 and received my registration info quite quickly. After entering my registration info, I now have lost the ability to sync my contacts, and my calendar. I can't think of any more important plugins to work than these two. Don't be surprised if you see this error: SyncClient error. Can't register sync client. I used the technical support submission form on the Mark/Space web site. When they say 24-48 hours, they mean it - it took nearly two days for a response that just mirrored the generic suggestions on their tech support page (reset iSync's sync history). That had not worked the several times I had already tried it (and had indicated in my support request). I did find that Mark/Space "conveniently" has Premium Support where you can schedule and PAY FOR a support phone call. I will be more than happy to update this review if/when my situation is resolved.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3
1 answer(s)
Thebattman
Thebattman
11 June 2008
Found the solution, with no help from Mark/Space. Found an old post via Google of a person with the same problem/error. His solution was to remove an apostrophe from his device name and make sure the full device name is shorter than 14 characters.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3
Niccolo-m
01 June 2008
I was quite happy with Missing Sync f. Windows Mobile (MSWM) 3 under Tiger. However, updating to Leopard required also an update to MSWM 4, but even the latest version (4.0.3) does not work at all, even in the most straightforward circumstance. The USB connection just never gets established. So I do not even get that far that I could start a sync. I seem not be the only one to whom this happens. Unfortunately there is no other software out there that can sync Windows Mobile 5 with a Mac - but MSWM is too unreliable to use it. If it fails even in the most simple circumstances, then the quality assurance must be really lousy. Syncing is usually required for data which are important and precious - therefore the level of quality and support provided by MSWM 4 is completely unacceptable.
Like
Version 4.0.3
Mikita
29 May 2008
I am quite disappointed it took so many months to cough out a leopard compatible version. Hello? We are talking about a decimal-update
Like
Version 4.0.3
Rentalsguy
08 May 2008
I am using the latest version of Missing Sync with my HTC Touch and a Macbook Pro. The *only* problems I have with the software is that for some reason the bluetooth activesync occasionally doesn't see the mac or vice-versa. I had the exact same problem (actually far worse) when running Vista and Windows XP machines...so I would probably attribute these issues to the PocketPC and NOT to Missing Sync. I'm writing this comment to make sure that others who are reading comments here moderate their reactions to the negative reviews of the product. Others probably did have had the problems they list -- but as is usually the case, you'll see negative reviews FAR outweigh positive comments on web sites like these. I'm not saying others didn't have their problems...but there are probably hundreds of people who experienced NO problems for each person who has a negative comment here. I had NONE of the issues that are stated in other reviews...and, in fact, I have even had fairly good response from the company via e-mail. It took them 2 days to get back to me...but when they did it was a complete answer to my questions and I was given someone's direct e-mail address to contact if I had further issues. 2 days isn't GREAT...but it's definitely not the 5 days or "NEVER" that I've read in other reviews.
Like
Version 4.0.2
1 answer(s)
Paf
Paf
03 June 2008
I have been very disappointed with my new wmd and Missing Synch and regret that I had to migrate from Palm because the new Palm phones have such small keys and no stylus. Missing Synch does not work properly, does not communicate with the Orbit 2 properly, has caused other problems for my iBook and the tech help is slow and does not address the problem properly. The latest upgrade (I foolishly hoped it might resolve issues) took a long time to download and then told me my old version of Missing Synch was newer. So I tried again and this time installed it and now Missing Synch seems unable to synch at all. Does anybody know of a more reliable way of getting a wmd like the XDA Orbit 2 to speak to a Mac. I synch Entourage remotely NOT via my computer so I am not interested in this aspect, just in actually installing files and software and backing the clumsy thing up. Oh and don't get me started on O2 tech help, they take several days at best to respond, if they respond at all.
Like
Version 4.0.3
Arobulack
25 February 2008
The current version 4.0.2 is horrible. I've uninstalled it and reinstalled it numerous times and it continuously fails to sync much of anything. To be more precise, sync attempts with iCal tasks or calendar events, or Address Book contacts, consistently result in errors with little or no data being synced. Folder syncs tend to quit after only a few items at either end of the sync transfer, and even then each item is usually only partially transferred. Syncs for videos consistently fail. I'm forced to resorting to emailing all the videos to myself. Current documentation for the product states that I should be able to mount the device on my Mac desktop as a hard drive, but there is no such feature in this product (and just having that one capability would alleviate so many other frustrations). What's more, Missing Sync constantly locks up with a spinning lollypop and quite often I must reboot my Mac entirely to even get it to respond to the Windows Mobile device after that happens. Probably my first line of advice would be to avoid Windows Mobile like the plague anyway. It's the most horrible excuse for an operating system I've ever been exposed to. However, if you must use Windows Mobile and have a Mac, just plan on syncing your iCal calendar events and Address Book contacts, and use Plaxo (which is free) rather than this product from Mark/Space. Plaxo's (www.plaxo.com) Windows Mobile conduit works flawlessly over the air and requires almost no configuration. This poor excuse for a piece of software from Mark/Space is an endless source of extreme frustration. It's a complete and utter waste of time and money.
Like
Version 4.0.2
1 answer(s)
Rentalsguy
Rentalsguy
08 May 2008
If you look in the pull down menu when Missing Sync is running you'll see a command called "Mount". If you select it, you'll see your PocketPC appear on your Mac desktop in a few seconds...
Like
Version 4.0.2
Eric-Caldwell
04 April 2007
I purchased this product because ALLTEL is now offering a Motorola Q. If I had know that support was non-existent, I probably would have stuck with my Razr. After initially purchasing my Moto Q I was happy with the software until I tried to get support from them. Wow, talk about terrible support! I used the support request form from the MSpace web site and it took 4 days to get a response. The question was regarding the Mount feature not working. Their answer was to do it another way and that response was cryptic at best leaving me further confused. So, I'm stuck with a product that partially works. I responded back and 2 days later, no response! My advice, don't purchase the product until the company decides that customer support is just as important as sales! I run my own web design and hosting business. If I supported my customers this way, I would be out of business. MarkSpace, you listening?
Like
Version 3.0.1
supernitin
24 March 2007
Missing Sync for Palm worked great but there Windows Mobile product is horrible. It worked once and now whenever I try to sync I get an error message. Customer service is horrible. Even though there is an update available the software thinks it is already up to date. I will never buy anything from these guys again.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Dsfqfdssfqdfsqd
18 January 2007
the price is high and there are some quirks (I always get 8 unresolved items , the same, over and over again in my contacts) but overall it works like expected, which is a lot. I want my syncs to go unnoticed and most of all, no nasty surprise. I can handle having contacts in double, but not erasing them all! both of which haven't happened yet. so, i'm pretty happy with it, and wish the developper will concentrate on furthering robustness and reliability instead of adding features. also, I wrote a question to tech support and got a response in 3 days (personal) so that's good, too.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Mackidd
16 January 2007
You need to reinstall the version 3.0.0, and install the new version 3.0.1 again. You will get it...!
Like
Version 3.0.1
Jim-Weisbin
06 December 2006
Installed the update but it still shows "version 3.0.0", not sure if this really is a newer version or not.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Androjen
02 December 2006
I've used Missing Sync for Palm and Windows Mobile for a number of years and it's always worked very well. Although the cost is relatively high, in addition to it's basic features, I've found it invaluable in moving calendars and contacts from Macs to PCs and back again.
Like
Version 3.0
Hairbear
12 November 2006
Apart from this disgraceful decision for all v2.5 users to pay for an upgrade to v3.0 (I have only had this software for a few months), I have had endless problems with the v2.5 software. The software will not synchronize calendars or tasks. I am forced to do a full overwrite of the calendars each time. This process takes about 75min!! MissingSync support........ah hello? anyone there? Your very delayed and useless response was unhelpful to say the least. I am sure that if this software company was operating out of Australia, they would have criminal charges against them unfair trading practices....
Like
Version 3.0
Bubbajim
10 November 2006
Though I do agree that for major updates to the software should incur a cost, I think it's quite lame to impose it on users who just recently purchased the product. Giving the product upgrade for free to users who bought it little over a month ago and giving a 50% discount for users that bought it before October 1st just doesn't sound right. Just doesn't seem fair. I was more hopeful this update would fix the many bugs that this app has, but alas I would have to now pay to see that happen. I would pay again for it if I had it for a year, but 2 months old and now I have to buy it again??? NO Way! Time to find another solution.
Like
Version 3.0
/dev/niall
02 November 2006
Syncing is not transparent as I have to select/override a device partnership every time I sync, despite the fact that my Macbook is the only computer I sync with. The application interface is somewhat cumbersome, mainly because it rarely works. Option windows consistently fail to open when activated. The application often hangs, and on several occasions has completely hung my computer requiring a reboot. I'm a recent convert to the Mac, and this application is the single thorn in my side. It is unintuitive and unstable. In my opinion, it's not worth paying for. If there were any alternative I would switch to it without a second thought.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Soulbarn
13 September 2006
I've owned both Pocket Mac and Missing Sync. I can't comment on the customer service issues (people seem to have complaints about both companies) but I can say that Missing Sync is - to me - the better of the two programs. The downside is that this means that Missing Sync works more often (and fails less often) than Pocket Mac. But MS does have plenty of glitches, some of which lead to if not data loss, then date headaches. Pocket Mac led to more data loss for me, and was far more glitchy in terms of crashes, installs, speed, recognizing my devices, and consuming system resources. Neither of these programs is elegant; MS is more successful because it sticks to the core functions - syncing your contacts, tasks, and appointments - and does it at a C+ to B- level of acceptability. The lesson here? I'm betting that getting these complicated Windows Mobile devices to sync to non-Windows computers, with non-Windows software requires kludges beyond belief. -
Like
Version 2.5.1
Mike-Ognall
22 August 2006
I own a Motorola Q and I naturally bought the latest verion of Missing Sync (2.5.l). I have struggled mightily and have failed to make the Q sync with my G4 Powerbook. The Missing Sync website suggests various "fixes," none of which worked. I was eventually told, by Missing Sync tech support, that it "sometimes does not work with the motorola Q and that they have no fix." What surprises me is that there is nothing on their website which suggests that there might be NO way to make it work. To do them justice, they are currently processing a refund.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Mwiseman212
21 August 2006
This is the worst Mac product I have ever seen. Tech support is awful. They close incomplete tickets. They do not read what the customer writes. They ask for the same logs sent multiple times. Heck, I could have bought a PC to sync with by now. Save your money and keep your blood pressure stable
Like
Version 2.5.1
Mac0852
02 August 2006
I bought Missing Sync because it was listed on the Apple website as a viable solution for syncing my Windows Mobile phone with my new MacBook Pro. For the most part, it's fine. Nothing fancy and a few minor glitches that I could deal with. However, as of the last sync, *ALL* of my appointments (both future and past) and some contacts on *BOTH* devices (MacBook Pro & phone) have been DELETED. Gone. Nada. Zip. What type of crap software DELETES information it is supposed to help syncronize between two devices?? Apparently, Missing Sync for Windows Mobile is that software. I would recommend that everyone avoid this software if they even remotely care about their information.
Like
Version 2.5
MacUpdateSucks
25 July 2006
Pretty good initial release for Windows Mobile 5.0 Syncing with bluetooth is still a little buggy with my Moto Q. Hopefully that will see some improvement in the next version.
Like
Version 2.5
Lothar67
20 July 2006
I own the T-Mobile MDA Vario Smartphone with Windows Mobile 5 on it. So, until Apple won't bring up a Smartphone I've to use this mess. I've a windows PC laptop, but I hate this ugly Windows XP GUI. So I had to find a way to synchronize it with my Mac. I bought Missing Sync for Windows Mobile version 2.02 and tried the 2.5 alpha to their latest beta. Thanks to Mark/Space! It's great to have the opportunity to use it at your own risk and help to expose bugs. The support was all the time fast and friendly. Most of the trialperiod they had good idears to solve my problems and answer my questions. If you are able to read the manual, this product works fine and does what it's promising. I don't understand most of the poor critics here. Thanks for making it possible to synchronize Windows Mobile with my Mac!
Like
Version 2.5
Westy
20 July 2006
I have been running with 2.5 for the past couple of days on an iMac Core Duo - coupled with an iPAQ 2215. I have had no problems at all - the upgrade from v2.0 went really smoothly, and I have not lost any data, or recieved duplication issues in either iCal or Address book. I also Sync the same iPAQ with my work XP machine, which I thought may cause issues, but Missing Sync just takes this in it's stride. A great upgrade, and looking at the amounts of issues listed amazed that it is free for v2.0 users.
Like
Version 2.5
-section8-
20 July 2006
looks like this got a HUGE overhaul. anyone tried this out yet?
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
26 October 2005
I have had nothing but trouble with this product and their tech support is not really helpful. I've had calendar events completely dissapear. I can't get the mounting to work reliably at all. When I lost a whole bunch of data I tried tech support...they told me to do what I did again. Right...I'm gonna risk losing all my data again so I can test the product for them! This product is not ready for commercial use.
Like
Version 2.0
Michael
23 October 2005
I have a brand new iMac G5 w/ isight that I got yesterday and this program is absolutely unreliable and cannot sync with anything. I have tried to sync with my brand new Dell Axim X50V many times and it has never worked.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
04 September 2005
Don't Buy! Got missing sync to hook Mac Powerbook to Dell Axim Pocket PC. After one month of efforts, same result as others; double, triple, quadruple (I think if would go on if you are foolish enough to keep trying to sync) entries appearing on both machines, and then some new entries never sync at all. Multiple queries to customer service result in only the most basic advice and platitudes. No change with update to 2.0 (another suggestion). Refund is the least of the problems, databases on both sides are nearly unusable (multiple entries for repeating events are sent backward and forward infinitely).
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
29 August 2005
After a Sync with my PocketPC and the new version I have lost all my contats and cals... Thanks,...
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
29 August 2005
MISSING SYNC IS CRAP TECH SUPPORT IS WORSE MARK/SPACE SUCKS!!!!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
18 August 2005
I have spent months trawling the net looking for reviews of both Missing Sync and Pocket Mac. The only two software apps that I know are able to sync a Pocket PC. I think I must have read every article there is and every review out there ! I finally decided to go with Missing Sync for Windows Mobile 2.0 after reading this review of both Missing Sync and Pocket mac on MacMerc.com: http://www.macmerc.com/reviews.php?op=showcontent&id=122 I very rarely buy software unless it has a demo mode but because I really didn't want to re-enter hundreds of contacts and appointments by hand on my pocketpc I took the plunge! After reading reviews on this site and version tracker I have to say I really was expecting lots of problems, duplicated entries etc etc. Missing Sync was a breeze to install and took only a few minutes. I backed up my address book and ical on the mac, crossed my fingers and pressed the Sync button !! Everything synced straight to the pocketpc without any problems. I doubled checked all a random selection of my entries and evrything is there correctly. So far so good. Very impressed. The next test was to then sync my pocketpc with my pc at work which uses MS Outlook for my contacts and calenders. Used MS Activesync which comes with all Windows and all my data synced with my work PC. End result is that I have for the last several days been syncing all my data between work on a pc and at home on my mac via my little pocketpc. All very smooth with no problems. Fingers crossed it will stay that way! It was without doubt the best $40 I have spent on a peice of software as it has saved me literally days of entering data. I don't understand why all these other people are having so many problems. Maybe it has something to do with different set ups. My congiguration is a G5 iMac running Tiger 10.4.2., IBM PC at work running Windows 2000 Pro and my PocketPC running Windows Mobile 2003. Best of luck all.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Susieq
Susieq
06 February 2006
It would be wonderful to say that there were no problems with Missing Sync. Impossible. After getting lots of 11/30/1999 birthdays added to many of my address lists thanks to syncing with Entourage, I learned that that was a bug. Then started trying to synch with ICal and Mac's Address book....after copying a multitude of addresses into the program. Now there is a message that Missing Sync cannot open its Monitor application. File not found.....so where did it go? Do I have to pay for another program? Do I want to? I really wanted this to work. It is important that there be a program that will sync with OS 10.4.4. Can anyone help? SusieQ
Like
Version 2.0.2
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
06 February 2006
You might get help here at their application support site.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
18 August 2005
I never write reviews, but I'm so angry about this. Same dupli-tripli-quadriplicating problems that others have experienced. Events don't sync at all. It has completely loused up my contacts database and absolutely NO response tgo three emails. They should be ashamed. How do you get your money back? I live in the UK. There's protection under the 1974 Sale of Goods Act for UK offline things. Can't somebody start something like this online?
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
16 August 2005
Installation Ok. sync bad. I have duplicated some contacts, triplicated and more in each sync. I can install only cab files. Developer says that you can install exe files using VPC! are you kidding? I sent emails without answer except auto reply. 40 dollars for nothing.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
15 August 2005
STILL DOESN'T WORK!! I waited months and months and paid an extra $20, and I still can't sync with my iPaq 1940, which is supposedly a supported device. I constantly get "Mingling" retries and then failure with no further explanation, or "Communication error, please restart" (restart what? the program, the PPC, the Mac?). Tech support is absolutely no help. Mark/Space now has 60 of my hard-earned dollars, and I still have nothing. PocketMac is garbage, but this is worse. Maybe you just can't use PDAs with Macs anymore. I'm not going back to Palm.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
11 August 2005
Finally I can sync my iPAQ with my Mac. However this product is really unstale: as others pointed out, sometimes weird things happened. When I installed the software and syc my iPAQ with Entourage the first time, only calendars and contacts could be synced, but the tasks failed to be synced. I uninstall the software completely and re-install the program. This time I can only syc between PDA and Entourage contacts. The calendar and tasks failed to sync. I uninstalled and reinstall for over three time. All gave the same results. Then I try to use apple iCal and Address book to sync with the PDA. Strangely it works well. To my opinion, there are absolutely some bugs in this version. They need to improve and kill the bugs soon.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 August 2005
OOPS, should have beem: "but after resetting the Pocket PC and rebooting I have NOT had it anymore."
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 August 2005
Yeah, we had to wait and had to pay, but now that I've installed and used it, I am happy with it. It is much faster than the old version on re-syncs, and I like the battery charge level display, the clock setting function, and the "connecting" overlay display. The interface is nice and understandable. It just pops up when needed and works. I too had that problem where it would not connect a 2nd time, but after resetting the Pocket PC and rebooting I have had it anymore.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
31 July 2005
I was very disappointed when my upgrade to Tiger a while back broke The Missing Sync, and was further disappointed when Mark/Space told me that they were going to charge me another $20 for a product that I had used for about three months. I bought the new version yesterday and was amazed that I was immediately able to sync with Bluetooth and mount the PDA and transfer over a song from iTunes. Everything seemed to be going well. Then the sync hung at one point and I had to turn off my Axim x50v to break the connection. That started a bizarre problem in which I was no longer able to connect. I restarted the PDA and computer, reinstalled The Missing Sync, did a soft reset, went through every setting I could find on both the computer and PDA, all to no avail. I finally resorted to the USB cradle, which seems to work reliably. And after using USB, I could mysteriously use Bluetooth to sync. But further bizarreness is occurring, and I can only sync with Bluetooth once, and then I need to USB sync to "reset?" the Bluetooth syncing. This bug is very reliable and no amount of fiddling (around five hours of it) has fixed it. You might want to wait until they fix this version before buying it, but like I said, USB syncing is reliable, fast, and simple (no more iSync).
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 August 2005
in a lot of place I read "support developers" when this things happens I feel good when I don't support them stealing their software. I have a pda2k in the customs ready to pick up. i'm waiting the way to bypass reg. and use it without fault.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 July 2005
I just love how Missing Sync license binds to your PDA... what if my PDA dies? I shouldn't have to beg for a new serial, which is why is switched to PocketMac and haven't looked back since.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 July 2005
This comment is not correct. Missing Sync is licensed on a per-computer basis, not a per-handheld basis. You may use as many handhelds as you like on up to two Macs you own/use (ie, home & work or laptop & desktop) per copy purchased, and may deactivate and move a license from one mac to another if you trade up/sell/etc your Mac.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 July 2005
For the record, PocketMac DOES NOT WORK with Tiger...PERIOD. Absolutely no comment from tech support, and no way to make it work with USB, internet access, file sharing, etc. without causing a kernel panic and shut down. Once Tiger was released, neither product for syncing with Pocket PCs worked. Perhaps Apple is as much to blame as either of the other offerers. However, I do agree with the pricing practices complaints.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
29 July 2005
The onus of making a bloody product work for the Mac should be on the hardware manufacturers, and not on us who want it. It breeds this type of adverse situation where you are "held-up" for the stagecoach money by the bandits.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
28 July 2005
Markspace has truly breached "shareware ethics," if such a thing exists. I owned this application for far less than a year, but as soon as I upgraded to Tiger, it became incompatible and I was notified I'd have to pay 20 dollars (on top of the 40 dollar original price) for an upgrade. Customarily, shareware upgrades are optional unless there has been a drastic OS change- a developer has to _earn_ upgrades by including new features or improvements. Bugfixes and compatibility fixes, in both the shareware and commercial software world, are usually free. And while markspace claims that Tiger is radically different than Panther, why did Pocketmac (the alternative PocketPC sync program) allow Tiger compatibility in just a free point release? Shame on Markspace for at least not extending their free upgrade cutoff time to 1 year. No one should purchase software with an active life of half a year. Markspace is abusing its userbase.
Like
Version 1.0.4b2
Anonymous
30 June 2005
Well the updated version for Tiger that we all have the pleasure of being charged for is now no longer going to be out in June. When was the announcement made? June 29th. Way to go Markspace. Keep on treating your customers like garbage and you'll starve. All the way through June we were told it was on its way and now this slap in the face. How the hell are we supposed to belive the new release date? Are we supposed to wait another month before syncing PocketPCs to Macs running 10.4?
Like
Version 1.0.4b2
Anonymous
20 June 2005
I feel that MarkSpace has already done two things that were very wrong: 1. Charging for the Tiger update 2. Saying they will not make the Tiger update available until the end of June But they now have about 10 days left before they blow their own deadline, which would be a third thing. But PocketMac is so bad that I will still fork over the $20 if the new version ever comes out.
Like
Version 1.0.4b2
Anonymous
07 June 2005
Just a little update, FileJuicer now supports extracting CAB files from EXE files. Worked with 10 out of 10 EXE's I tried. Gone are the days of having to use Virtual PC to get the CABs! http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/16101
Like
Version 1.0.4b2