Back to About This Particular Macintosh page
About This Particular Macintosh free download for Mac

About This Particular Macintosh Reviews

18.04
06 April 2012

Online independent Mac magazine.

Dana-Sutton
03 November 2010

Most helpful

If anybody has any lingering doubts about the superiority of OSX over Classic, all he has to do is look at the icon associated with ATPM: it's an eloquent reminder of exactly how bad the bad old days really were.
Like (6)
Version 16.11

Read 23 About This Particular Macintosh User Reviews

Rate this app:

gameboyalpha
21 July 2012
Although through my rants about a year ago, I have got to write a Eulogy for what was a great ezine. Michael and I did finally exchange email when the May issue came to be the last issue and yes I did shed a tear for ATPM. I even offered some help to bring it back by going on hiatus and rebuild from the ground up. I still have good connection and for me it would not take much to find more writers to bring ATPM back. But, I guess Michael was too burned out and had to watch the mag die. ATPM was one of the best Mac ezines out there. I felt so strong about the mag that I went to the people of MUD and got them to add them to their list. I was very proud to work and write for ATPM. When I wrote the 3 part article called Got Vinyl I got letters from all over the globe. In all the years of writing that wound up to be my finest article I ever wrote and Michael even with his anal ways helped me refine the article. That was because I was in uncharted land. I was learning as I wrote and even some of the other contributors helped out when I needed something explained to me. When I was there we were more of a family who worked together to give Mac readers what they needed. Although I was there about a year due to medical problems, that was some of the best memories I have from that time. I will miss ATPM very much and if someday Michael wants to resurrect ATPM, I would love to help. I am also happy that one of my close friends had a few articles published there. So next you are among friends, raise your glass and say a toast to ATPM. End of Line...
Like
Version 18.04
Caslon
15 May 2012
The May 2012 issue was the final one. See: http://www.atpm.com/18.05/publishers-letter.shtml
Like
Version 18.04
DelportF
08 January 2012
As always, top notch and up to date.
Like (1)
Version 18.01
Cowicide
03 December 2011
Cow is eating popcorn and watching this thread full of crazy people. Continue!
Like (4)
Version 17.12
2 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
04 December 2011
It's amazing how much time these people waste with their rants. They could have gotten a college education in less time. All this time wasted over something that's distributed as free. I guess some people just have to have a soapbox...
Like (4)
Buhbye
Buhbye
04 January 2012
I only come here for the lunacy, to be honest. Are we not going to get a mega-rant for December???
Like
Afcgbbob
02 November 2011
This is just a comment no more ranting. MacUpeDate gave me an idea and I thought I would give it a shot. This comment is to the MacUsers that can write and know how to put a real ezine together. By MUD I would like to try my hand at putting out an ezine of my own. I already have a few articles that ATPM refused but I need writers, proffers, people who can just write about the Mac in ways to help people in plain English get better use and solve problems with their Mac. I need someone who knows how to put all together once all is turned in. Reviewers will get to keep their software they review. My goal is to create a ezine for the MacUser that helps them. If you are interested write me at gameboybob@aol.com. I also invite educators to write about the Mac from an educational view point as well. I want the ezine to be be as broad in spectrum as it can be. ATPM you had your chance for help and you kicked me where the sun does not shine. So now I will try to venture into waters unknown. End of Line...
Like
Version 17.11
Afcgbbob
22 October 2011
I was browsing my profile and was looking over my comments back to 2003. I found a rebuttal to a person that was really downing the the mag. Since nobody wrote a rebuttal at the time I was not going to sit there and let him trash us. The rebuttal is a bit of a review as well. My rating is based on how it is as of today. The rebuttal went like this: Afcgbbob commented on 06 Jun 2003 Leonard just what is your problem? If you take a minute and look at the number of downloads you would see that over 17,000 people think we must be doing something right and that does not include those who subscribe to our ezine. Even the UK edition of Macworld thinks enough of our mag to include it on their monthly CDs. For two months you have bealched out your negativite atitude of ATPM. If you find it so bad, then why do you even go to our site to look at it. Because we are an online magazine, we can expand on material that print magazines lack the room for. I wrote the article about transfering LPs to CDs over a 3 month period. If not for the flexability of the online word, such coverage could not have been done. We have an excellent staff at ATPM who work very hard to do up to date articles. So next time you decide to get on your pedistal, try to back your words up. End of Line... This is how I felt about ATPM back then and that is why it is killing me to what is happening to what has turned into more or less a news letter. Some of you say move on. But, what I see is when CompUSA died which I worked at. To understand how I feel you just need to go back in the archives and how polished the mag was. Read my column Whats Under the Hood and tell me if you agree that I was a poor writer. Michael only out is to attack my writing. It is hard to move on when an SOB him him cannot forget and allow me to write. Right now I have two great articles on how to raise the Mac from the grave and what to do when you Mac acts up and avoid wiping the drive. But he does not want any quality that can really help the MacUser. He would rather do a review on a laptop laptop carry case. That is the biggest joke I ever saw for a review. So go the F ahead Mr Anal M but, I will shed a tear when atpm shuts down for good due to your stupidity. BTW- I still have all my contacts with the companies I worked with in the early years. In fact they sometimes send me stuff to look at and test to get feedback from me. Right now I am beta testing the next release of Hear by Prosoft. Can you even come close to what I have and could bring back to ATPM? But I guess you would rather scrape the walls for stuff to review. People read the archives and judge for yourself. End of Line... (again)
Like
Version 17.10
1 answer(s)
Buhbye
Buhbye
04 January 2012
Eight and a half years ago? Good lord, man. Let it go.
Like (6)
Afcgbbob
03 September 2011
I felt that my reply was also in a way a review, so I am also poting it as a review as well. You know, you should look at the archives before saying what you said. The newsletter was a true ezine with many writers and a heck of a lot more articles dedicated to the mac user. Go back and look at them. The Ed Mr M is killing the news letter because that is what it has become. He refuses to take articles from me that Mac users would befit from but that would mean dropping down his anal ego. He would rather kill the news letter than someone help to revive it back to a true ezine. Mr M can you at least tell us the readers why? I also think I know places where I can get new blood for the letter. Why are you so scared? We may of had our differences in the past but, that is water under the bridge. How can you hold on to something for over 10 years? Are you like this with all people? That may be why you have no writers. ATPM was a great Mag. To those who interpreted as an app you have the wrong idea about ATPM. It or was an ezine for the Mac User. I was the one that got it posted on MacUpDate. But, the mag has gone down hill on a very sharp curve. Look at the archives and you will see what a great mag it was. It was easily rated as a 4 to 5 star mag. Now it is barely just a 1 star. Mr M why can't you get past your ego and let me help rebuild ATPM to what it should be. Why are you on a self destruct path? I guess only time will tell. You said when we got into it 10 years ago that I needed help and you were right and now I say you need help or some guidance if you are to save the letter! End of Line...
Like
Version 17.09
1 answer(s)
xati-ba
xati-ba
04 October 2011
How is it even possible to attain this level of butthurt? You gotta move on, man. Every second you spend whining on this site is time wasted for finding a new career. The editor won't pay attention to your pleas since nobody likes a bitter loser with a distorted sense of self worth and entitlement. Just deal with it, dude. You still live in the first world. You still can enjoy food everyday. It's not the end of the f***ing world.
Like (10)
Michel-Tribet
02 September 2011
For a Mac user, I think it has the best price (free), I download it since my switch to the Mac and I do (and I'll do) it with a great pleasure ! ATPM, continue the good job, I enjoy what you do !
Like (1)
Version 17.09
Afcgbbob
01 August 2011
MT what are you dong??? Why are you killing what was such a precious ezine? Like the guy before me said, this is nothing more than a newsletter now. Why are you being so stupid and pig headed about letting me write for the mag again? All the BS you have sent my does not cover your anal attitude over something that happened almost 10 yrs ago. I know I can find writers to give ATPM real article articles again and bring it back to what it was back in 03/04 when I did my Under the Hood column. I was the one that got ATPM posted here on MacUpDate and all I see is the mag fading into oblivion. Why for God sake are you doing this? Do you want the mag to die? Right now all I can see is a fool sitting in an ivory tower thinking he is the king and does not care what the faithful readers want back. It breaks my heart to see the self destruction you are doing to the mag. People, go back into the archives and see the real ATPM for yourself. You have gone from a 5 star mag to a 1/2 star. Why are you doing this? The readers should demand a new editor because you are obviously unfit for the job anymore. You have less writers and articles every month. What do you Mac readers think about the sad direction MT has taken ATPM. Make you voice heard or very likely it will be just a matter of time before ATPM dies for good. I was so proud when I wrote for the Mag, in fact my best article "Got vinyl" made me so proud. I got letters from all over the globe. Now ATPM cannot even hold a candle to those years. People, start writing, demand change, demand that ATPM is bought back to it's original level. I already have several article roughed out that would not take much to expand on and mucho reviews of utilities and who knows what. That was why my column was called Under the Hood because it was not stuck to one topic each month which MT hated with his anal attitude about that everything written had to go under a specific place. Well I had my say, now I put it to the readers, what do you think? Go to the archives and look at when ATPM was at its glory and WRITE to demand change. End of Line...
Like (2)
Version 17.08
1 answer(s)
Evaluator
Evaluator
02 August 2011
Damn buddy, if you have some much passion, start your own periodical. It drives me crazy when people spend more time bitching than changing what they don't like.
Like (6)
Afcgbbob
09 May 2011
I had just found all my ATPM from 2003-2004 and compared it to the latest issue. All I can say is this is no longer a ezine but has down sized to a news letter. They have so few writers now band so little original columns and specialty how to's and ways to get the most out of your Mac that it is down right sad. The editor will not respond to my comments and I again offer my services to write and bring in new talent to the to bring ATPM to the state it was i will not say names but I cannot believe the EDITOR can hold a grudge for almost 10 years. I have tried to apologize to him and even told him that he got caught in my fall out when I had a breakdown. Yet he cannot look beyond his nose and let it be water under the bridge. This show his lack of maturity and I dare him to tell me either. Just go back to those years and look at those issues and you will see what I mean. Maybe if we started writing ATPM wanting it to regain the quality it had at one time, then maybe he will accept my olive leaf. End of Line...
Like (1)
Version 17.05
Afcgbbob
06 April 2011
This is a rebuttal about the nature of ATPM. At no time was the mag designed for just the classic users. If you read what I wrote and go to the achieves and go back in time you will see what ATPM was all about. So read on... I agree, but, if you look through the archives you would see how the mag has seriously degraded over the last 7 years. I know I wrote for them and I know the personality of the editor. This mag use to have 1,000s of DLs and look at it now. It is dying a slow death. They need writers but, I am sure some left due to the editor. I offered an Olive Branch to write for them again and he turned me down with an article on how I revived my Mac after it and I fell down a second story flight of stairs. Mac Users would have eaten it up and learned a few things that are not well known or known at all. He lets his ego run the mag and that is why there are such a low number of writers. I offered to bring in new blood to increase the number of articles. The goal of the mag was never about just Classic, it was about the whole gambit. Read the archives and you will see what I mean. My column was called Whats Under the Hood which was meant to be a po pouri of topics. But, due to his anal nature he hated it because he could not put my writing under specific classifications. What ever the case, the mag has drastically changed from good to bad in amount of content. They even have to resort to reprinting articles from elsewhere. The mag needs new blood to bring it back to what it was in 2003-2005. End of Line...
Like (2)
Version 17.04
Afcgbbob
03 November 2010
What I am about to write comes with a heavy heart. I wrote for atpm until 2003 when sadly I had a nervous breakdown and it affected my writing and caused a major rift between the Editor and I. Since then I have written on and off but the fire between him and I was on MacUpDate Recently I fell down a flight of stairs with my G5 Tower in hand. After going to a neurologist it was discovered that my cervical bones in my neck were pushed together and out of alignment surrounded by arthritic tissue below the brain stem. When I got home, I needed to find out if I could revive my Mac. I talked to my mentors and Apple techs and came away with a 60% chance of fixing it. Believe it or not due to my extreme Mac knowledge base and advise from the Apple Techs and Apple Geniuses around Houston, after a month and a half of work, prayer and patience, I brought that G5 back to 100% operation and expanded my knowledge base in ways I could not measure. I have a site on myYearBook.com where I first wrote an initial blog on the repair. But, being a professional writer, I wound up turning it into a full pledge article that any Mac user would get much from if they read it. So I wrote the Editor of ATPM and open my guts up to him telling him the cause of 2003 and other thing that occurred to me including the neck problem. I even sent a copy of the article to him with a photo as well. With all that I said in my letter, he flatly turned me down not willing to let go of something that happened 7 years ago. I also suffer from severe depression and I was able to read between the lines. He said everyone there felt the same way when I knew that not to be true because I was good friends with the staff. He also hated my column What's Under the Hood because I always did a different topic each month and he is highly anal about things and he just could not handle the fact that my column was a po pori of topics. I also by myself got ATPM listed on MacUpDate by myself with no thanks from him. If you wish to see my column go to atpm.com, select archives and look for my column. I brought a lot to atpm and in my darkest time all i got was a kick in the face. I am not going to drop to a a level of bad words, all I wanted to do was state how he hurt me. I have had people read the article and said it needs to be published. But, at this point I have yet to find a publisher. I am on SSDI and Food Stamps because I cannot work and have to rely on God to get though each month. I wish there was a magazine that would pick me up that paid for my work but, that is just a dream. I gave a great deal to atpm when i wrote for them and I know he will attack my writing even though I have been doing it for 25 years+. It is sad when a person lives in a glass house and cannot see into himself as I have over the last 5 years. End Of Line... One last thing, if you go to my Yearbook.com and look for Robert Lewis you can see some of my blogs about the Mac. Recently I copied some of them into word and cleaned them up a great deal and plan to replace some of them in the near future. My resume is there too but it did not copy over well. Thank you for lending an ear (or eye) but I had to do this for therapy for myself. I just could not hold it in.
Like (6)
Version 16.11
5 answer(s)
xati-ba
xati-ba
01 March 2011
It's spelled "potpourri".
Like (8)
Buhbye
Buhbye
02 May 2011
I think you mean "full-fledged," which refers to a bird having all of its feathers, rather than "full pledge."
Like (5)
Cls9
Cls9
03 June 2011
ATPM got tired of editing your writing. You are a very poor writer! Take a few English classes, then some writing classes, then invest in an editor and maybe ATPM or other mags will accept your articles. I’m not crazy about ATPM as there are a lot of better Mac-related mags on the market, but it’s not as horrible as you would like us to believe. Can you say, “SOUR GRAPES?” For goodness sake, move on!
Like (7)
Afcgbbob
Afcgbbob
04 October 2011
So you want to attack my writing! I still have my original copies of what I sent in and from what I saw was very few changes some very minor or anal. Every time I wrote an article, I had it proof read by people versed in the English language and would send their corrections back to me before I would ever submit anything. It would be proofed by at least 3 different people who would look at it in a different light. I wrote for my User Group where I also became Contributing Editor, Inside MacGames where I eventually became the Education Editor until the publisher of Inside MacGames stopped paying the educators who were doing the writing. He was a total cheap skate and destroyed an excellent section. Even today he still does not pay his reviewers yet makes a ton of money on all the adds he runs. I also wrote for MacHome a print Magazine and many other ezine publications. The only article I had some problems with was my LP to CD article because I was learning as I went and the last article I was working on even I admit was trash because I was on the verge of a breakdown and I was too sick to write. When I submitted that article on how to pull a Mac from a grave, that would had been so beneficial to so many MacUsers and yet you denied MacUsers with knowledge that could help them. My primary goal of writing is to inform, teach and discuss tricks that can be done to get the most out of their Mac. My SIG Seminars helped so many people that I cannot even count. So maybe my grammar was not up to your anal level but, it sure was for every other mag I wrote for. That is why I can call myself a Professional Mac Writer. How many Mags did you write for and how many years?? I wrote for the Apple barrel for about 25 years. Can you even come close to that? I was on the A list for games and utility software and they still send me material to look at to get my opinion. So you can take your comments and shove them up where the sun does not shine. END OF LINE...
Like (1)
Buhbye
Buhbye
04 October 2011
Wow.
Like (6)
Dana-Sutton
03 November 2010
If anybody has any lingering doubts about the superiority of OSX over Classic, all he has to do is look at the icon associated with ATPM: it's an eloquent reminder of exactly how bad the bad old days really were.
Like (6)
Version 16.11
2 answer(s)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
03 November 2010
I mean, of course, the traditional icon they have insisted using until this latest version.
Like (2)
Version 16.11
Afcgbbob
Afcgbbob
03 November 2010
I do not know if I can agree about what you say about the pre OS X days. I have used a Mac since the 128k Mac in 1984 and used it for teaching. I used MS Power Point to do the grades, MacWrite to do test and quizzes and MacPaint to draw material to include in my notes. The Mac had a great influence on me as it evolved in OS and Machine. I had a Mac Classic, a IIsi that I over clocked and got more speed out of it, I then went to a 7600 and finally a Quicksilver that eventual evolved to OSX 10.1. But I started with OS 1.0 and ran the gambit to 9.2.2. I was also a SIG leader for two areas on the Mac for the Houston Area Apple User Group. I did game and utilities. I also was a Forum Consultant for AOL Mac Game when AOL was a real place to visit and explore. I do not know your age but, the first 15 years of the Mac were a very exciting time. One fun point was when Apple sued MS about their new OS that was too much like the Mac and they lost and had to go back to square one. That is why windows has alway been one step or two behind the Mac OS. End of Line...
Like (3)
Version 16.11
Anonymous
03 October 2005
Yeah! The past returns!
Like (3)
Version 11.10
Sanwamac
02 October 2004
This is a blast from the past. I remember this on Mac Format and Mac World CDs from 1997. Although I fully understand ATPM is not ABOUT OS 9 it illustrates an interesting phenomenon and a real problem for Apple: OS 9ism won't die. Look, lets be honest; OS X is pretty cool and has some fantastic features, Unix is a great development platform but Mac it aint. When I think of Macs I think of OS 9 not OS X as will most of all old skool Mac users. When Apple turned it's back on it's core market in favour of the iBimbo and the Unix geek there was bound to be some unrest. And that unrest isn't going away. Apple needs to think hard about where it is actually going and how long they can live on the self generated hype and spin of their product portfolio which has now got out of control. ATPM are doing a good job of remending people what the Mac experience perhaps should be about and successfully offering an enjoyable Mac read free from the nauseating hype and lies that has abounded almost everywhere without antidote since Mac OS X first appeared. 5 stars
Like (2)
Version 10.10
11 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 October 2004
Your review of OS X doesn't really belong here. Put it on your blog instead. As someone who enjoyed using System 6 & 7 and OS 8 & 9, I think I'm qualified to completely refute your assessment of the relative qualities of OS 9 vs OS X. I recently installed a new hard drive in a friend's old iMac, and she'd temporarily buried her OS X CDs, so just to check it was all working, we installed OS 9. After using OS X for years, I have to say that OS 9 is ugly and feels clunky in comparison. It constitutes hack-upon-hack just to make it work with modern (albeit outdated!) hardware. Just go to the index of MacUpdate and see: most of the software released just wouldn't exist for Mac if it weren't for OS X. Nostalgia is one thing: being a Luddite is another. You remind me of the worst of the Amiga frothers. The only difference is that Amiga counted engineers among its loyal fans, with the result that a completely reengineered Amiga OS4.0 isn't far away, and MorphOS has been around for years (Google them). You're welcome to do the same thing. I look forward to seeing Classic OS 10. It should be an interesting diversion... ...with no apps.
Like (15)
Version 10.10
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 October 2004
OS X is an absolute dream come true. OS 9 is, in retrospect, garbage in comparison. I have owned Apple computers since 1978. Get a clue.
Like (10)
Version 10.10
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 December 2004
As a Mac user since 1986, when I think of the Mac, I think of OSX, thank you very much. OS9 is a distant, vaguely unpleasant memory. If it weren't for OSX, and if OSX wasn't Unix-based, it's extremely unlikely I'd be using a Mac today.
Like (6)
Version 10.12
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 December 2004
Well, I agree with d_arrow...to a degree at least. OS 9 and earlier were Mac systems. OS X is a Unix system. Completely different animals. Personally I prefer OS 9. That doesn't mean I'm anti-OS X...it's just my preference. Before there were Mac users and Windows users, now the Mac world is split into Classic users and OS X users. So what? What gets my goat is that Apple released OS X and turned their backs on Classic users. They support Windows more than they support OS 9. That leaves little room for brand loyalty. I don't know about down in the States, but here in Canada I've seen lots of TV commercials from Apple...all for the iPod. When it comes to selling Macs, I think Apple's following the Atari Marketing Guide. Steve seems convinced that lack of brand loyalty and no advertising is the way to market the Mac.
Like
Version 10.12
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 April 2005
OS 9 is long gone. Hearing someone talk about how they miss it or prefer it is the tech equivilant of grandpa talking about how much better it was in the old days ("we didn't have these fancy flush toilets... and we LIKED it that way"). I started out with an Apple IIe and then moved on to the Mac when it became available. I've used OS 6, 7, 8 and 9 at both work and home and can say, without reservation, that OS X beats them all up and down the block and around the corner. If you don't think OS X is superior to OS 9 you obviously have not used it much.
Like (5)
Version 11.04
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 September 2005
There are always diehards (some audiophiles still prefer vinyl records to CDs and even vacuum tube amps to ones with transistors). I sure am not one of these. I keep OS 9 on my hard disk because I still have some valuable data on Hypercard and one item of specialized academic software I still use is also Hypercard-based. I wish there was some OS X workaround, then I'd file it away with my ex-wife and other bad memories.
Like (4)
Version 11.09
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 September 2005
Working in a press environment, i'm using mac on a every day basiss. I've agreed for long that OS 9 was (and still is) a Mac OS of choice because of the complete control I got over it. Since about 2 years, buying a new mac came with OS X platform, and there were no way to getting them to startup in plain OS 9 only. So I had no choice but getting used to working in OS X environment, trying to get things done has best as I could, working around bugs created by some compatibilities isues due to old PS printers and work flow. Once those ploblems solved, I have to admit that OS X gave me more control over my working environment than I had with OS 9. OS 9 is still great, but OS X is REALLY great, once we get used to it. After all, who am I to hold back the technology evolution. Must move forward!
Like (1)
Version 11.09
Thus-spake-z
Thus-spake-z
02 November 2009
I cut my Mac using teeth on OS 9; and most of my memories of it are saturated with rememberances are of CRASH! CRASH! CRASH! CRASH! CRASH! Jesus Christ, did it ever drive me to near insanity. Now, OS 10, especially in its later incarnations.....AHHHHH! Near Nirvana. Which is not to say that I haven't had any Pain in- the-ass issues with OS 10, but nothing remotely like the OS 9 experience.
Like (4)
Version 15.11
Thus-spake-z
Thus-spake-z
02 November 2009
Hmmm, didn't notice that the comments above mine were all posted more than 5 years ago. Oh well, I guess I got to say what I needed to say, though.
Like (3)
Version 15.11
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
02 June 2010
Well I have to use OSX everyday but I have an old Indigo iMac running OS 8.6 and am struck every time I go back on it how fast it is for such an old machine. Quark 4.2 in particular runs circles around the current version on my iMac Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz. OS 8.6 was extremely stable. My suspicions are that Apple screwed up OS9 to make the unfinished OSX look better when it came out. OSX has got so many really bad cosmetic only Interface stupidities it still puts my teeth on edge 10 years later. Appalling font handling and the stuffed up Colorsync filters really get my goat as a designer. There are some very good things about OSX that make up for the inept UI, but just imagine where we could have been if they had kept the original MacOS GUI and consistency and put it on top of the security and stability of UNIX. Instead we got the baby thrown out with the bath water.
Like
Version 16.06
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
03 June 2011
@Rubaiyat, OS 8 might seem fast, but you can't multitask on it! Did you forget that? With OS X I can launch Photoshop and switch back to Safari and keep reading. I can launch ten applications if I wanted to, and it wont stop what I'm doing, except for the annoying feature of them jumping to the front! I started out with System 7.5, and have used every version of Mac OS since, including System 7.7, which was renamed OS 8, so that it wouldn't be confused with Copland, or System 8. I've been using OS X since 10.0 "Cheetah". I didn't bother with the public beta. There are a few things I find annoying in OS X, such as the aforementioned applications coming to the front, but it is heads and shoulders better than OS 8/9! I still have my PowerComputing PowerCenter 132 running OS 9. ;)
Like
Anonymous
01 August 2004
I've enjoyed reading ATPM for the past five years, thanks to all who have contributed to make ATPM what it is today.
Like (1)
Version 10.08
Anonymous
04 January 2004
The latest issue should open in your preferred browser, not (necessarily) IE. We're working on high-resolution Mac OS X icons. Thanks for the feedback.
Like
Version 10.01
Afcgbbob
03 August 2003
Dear readers, I want to thank everyone for all the kind words I have received since writing for ATPM. Sadly I am no longer connected with ATPM. Due to a lack of work with my business the quality of my writing was affected when I was working on an article about the history of the mouse. Instead of my editor being understanding he decided to fire me without letting me try to rewrite the article. I offered to rewrite it and if he did not like it to not print it but he just yanked the rug out from me. . ATPM is a great mag but I am sorry to say that it has an editor that has the compassion of a brick. I just hope they do not steal the idea about my article because I am looking elsewhere to publish it. As of this point I cannot even write or respond in the forum sections of my articles. If you have any other question pertaining to any of my articles you can contact me at: afcgbbob#aol.com or maclewconsultant@aol.com Again I want to thank all of you for the kind words sent to me about my articles. Robert Lewis
Like (2)
Version 9.08
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 November 2003
Power does tend to make certain people very, very sick. Take heart. PM
Like (1)
Version 9.11
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 January 2004
Robert Lewis misrepresents the circumstances surrounding his departure from ATPM. In fact, we were understanding of his situation for months and months, and the mouse article, which was riddled with factual errors, was the last straw. Robert is welcome to post in the forums on ATPM.com if he stays civilized and on-topic. Off-topic posts and ad hominem attacks will be deleted, such as when Robert posted a lengthly diatribe more than a hundred times.
Like (3)
Version 10.01
Afcgbbob
Afcgbbob
06 January 2004
Now that Mr. Tsai has made his rebuttal, now I will reply to it. First he says I misrepresent the circumstances surrounding the departure from ATPM. Mr. Tsai says that my work was a problem for several months. To be honest Mr. Tsai wears blinders when it comes to style of writing. An example: if I wrote ...x, y, and z he would go ballistic on me for not using serial comas. If I miss capitalized a technical term again he would be all over me. Someone tell me what proofreaders are for? I have been a Mac writer since the original 128K Mac for several magazines (hard copy and online) and not one editor was so anal about style structure as he is. It is very true that my article about the history of the mouse was grossly written. I wrote that at a time when my Consulting Business went bankrupt and I were at a total low emotionally. When I tried to discuss the article with him his reply was that the article made him so disgusted that he wanted to throw up. He then went on to say how my utilities and game article were totally inaccurate as well. Great way to kick a guy when things cannot get much worse. When he told me he was yanking me from the mag, I tried to write the other writers to tell them my side. Instead as soon as Mr. Tsai saw the letter he revoked my ability to contact them and no one ever heard my side. I even wrote a letter saying that I was going to just take some time off from writing and redo the article in a month or two when I was in better shape. That fell on deaf ears. Mr. Tsai was never happy with my Under the Hood column because it did not fit into any of the ATPM category styles. I tried to tell him that it was an open-ended column and just leave it at that. But he could not bend or allow the creativity of my column. I covered topics from the best utilities, games, Mac tips, and the article about Converting Vinyl to CD. I do admit I did have some problem with my jargon and structure since this was the first time I ever wrote an article like this because I went into an area that I actually had to learned as I wrote it. The staff was of great help in giving me suggestions as I wrote it. The series of articles bought more feedback to ATPM than ever before. Also due to my networking with all the major software companies, I was able to make them aware of ATPM. I even got the guys at ResExcellence to plug the mag for a few months and bear in mind that no one on the mag gets paid for our work. I write because I enjoy it. Mr. Tsai says I tried to post comment to my readers about how I was fired from the mag in detail. That is very true, but as soon as he saw it, they were yanked. After leaving ATPM I got about 30 to 40 letters from readers letting me know that it was my column that kept them coming back to ATPM. I sent these letters to the editor to see if he had the guts to print the comments from my readers. I figure for every letter that I got there were even more people who felt the same way. Anyhow, not one of these letters was posted. It is my opinion that Mr. Tsai is more afraid to let both sides of the coin is heard. I could go on (too late) but I will end it here. I think the writers of ATPM to be a great bunch of folks to work with. It is just a pity that the main editor is so narrow minded. End of Line.
Like (3)
Version 10.01
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 August 2004
if the mangled syntax and stodgy style of your above posting is anything to go by, it amazes me is that you weren't booted out sooner!
Like (4)
Version 10.08
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 August 2004
You haven't read ATPM then. I read this years ago before a home net connection removed the need, and it had it's fair share of errors from all the writers, including the editor. Way to kick a guy when he's down BTW, it takes a special kind of wanker to do that.
Like (2)
Version 10.08
Hausmann
02 July 2003
ATPM is a very useful and informative resource. Also, I'm thankful not to have to pick up all those little cards that fall on the floor, reminding me to subscribe to MW.
Like
Version 9.07
Afcgbbob
06 June 2003
Leonard just what is your problem? If you take a minute and look at the number of downloads you would see that over 17,000 people think we must be doing something right and that does not include those who subscribe to our ezine. Even the UK edition of Macworld thinks enough of our mag to include it on their monthly CDs. For two months you have bealched out your negativite atitude of ATPM. If you find it so bad, then why do you even go to our site to look at it. Because we are an online magazine, we can expand on material that print magazines lack the room for. I wrote the article about transfering LPs to CDs over a 3 month period. If not for the flexability of the online word, such coverage could not have been done. We have an excellent staff at ATPM who work very hard to do up to date articles. So next time you decide to get on your pedistal, try to back your words up.
Like (1)
Version 9.06
Brad-hutchings
06 June 2003
As a software developer, I love ATPM. Way back when I released the first version of Bosco's Foto Trimmer, I got an e-mail from these guys enthusiastically wanting to do a review of the product and it generated a lot of interest in my product and traffic to download it. ATPM is still influential because it is topical and thorough. Like TidBITS, always worth a little time to sit and read.
Like
Version 9.06
ATPM is one of the oldest Macintosh ezines available, and they've been running for a long time. This is why we choose to list it on the MacUpdate website. They are dedicated to the platform that you have grown to prefer.
Like
Version 9.05
Anonymous
05 May 2003
This should not even appear on MacUpdate, in my opinion. It was this type of nonsense that finally urged me away from VT. (Well, VT's horrendous UI did it, too). This "zine" is marginally interesting, but would work better as a well-designed website. Perhaps, before the web, zines made sense as a main distribution method. Today they are anachronisitc, except as an option for those who want to veiw content offline. Looking at ATPM's poorly organized website, though, one could see why they chose the zine route.
Like (2)
Version 9.05