Back to Internet Cleanup page
Internet Cleanup free download for Mac

Internet Cleanup Reviews

5.1.1
27 October 2009

Remove spyware, kill pop-ups and protect online privacy.

8oo8
05 February 2007

Most helpful

Whoa! This thing is a disaster. I installed it (version 4.0) and restarted my Mac as required, and my Mac had a fit! Took forever to start up, then was balky, spastic and unresponsive. And my Airport connection kept cutting out. I then trashed this hideous monster as fast as I could! And I had to reconfigure my Airport connection, too. Everything was running smoothly until I installed this piece of ****. I have been using Internet Cleanup since the first version....it was always fairly buggy, but this version, version 4.0, is just horrible! I must say, I have a very low opinion of Internet Cleanup's developers. They never have been able to get their act together.
Like (3)
Version 4.0

Read 75 Internet Cleanup User Reviews

Rate this app:

lacwbo
29 August 2009
Beware, this application has not been updated to be compatible with OS X 10.6, Snow Leopard. For as long as Apple has had copies for developers, it's incredible that this Vendor has not seen fit to upgrade this application.
Like (2)
Version 5.0
Larkw
26 July 2008
I run Mac OS 10.4.11 on a mini, and have installed and reinstalled IC5.0 many times. The product continually flashes a warning saying "Processes are not working". Their website claims that only users that log in w/o admin accounts get this error message, which is a total fabrication. Internet Cleanup 5.0 does not work. To Smith Micro's credit they will refund purchases. Sad since it would be nice if the program functioned. Don't buy the product. You'll be very disappointed
Like (2)
Version 5.0
Syharris
22 May 2008
I've used Internet Cleanup over the years through several versions (first Aladdin owned it, then Allume and now Smith-Micro) but eventually abandoned it in disgust due to endless problems with it. When IC 5.0 became available, I decided to give it another try thinking, "maybe Smith-Micro finally got Internet Cleanup together".......one could hope, no? Alas, no joy...sigh. Internet Cleanup 5.0 caused my Mac to freeze, again and again; so I trashed the diabolical thing and requested my money back, which, to Smith-Micro's credit, was granted promptly and without issue.
Like (3)
Version 5.0
help me !! i just installed internet cleanup 5 on my recently bought mini mac and after strating it up it takes forever...(45 min) to start teh MAC again...it starts out with a apple sign but after awhile it changes into a (sort of) stop sign....should i keepit running (i already tried to reboot) what can i do... is this software trustwurthy? how can I undo this software download if my screen doesnt come up...its still in STOP (sign)mode please help ! steven
Like
Version 5.0
2 answer(s)
Cdm
Cdm
25 April 2008
I had the same problem (macbook pro running leopard; internet cleanup 5.0). I booted from a clone to access the hard drive (alternatively you could access your HD in target mode from another mac). I then deleted everything I could find associated with internet cleanup. I deleted a bunch of .plist files, but I think the critical files to delete were netblockade.kext and/or netspywareblocker.kext (I might be misremembering that filename, but search for .kext files and you'll see the ones I mean). After that my machine booted; I downloaded the IC software again and chose the uninstall option. Things now seem to be back to normal. Now to ask for my money back.
Like
Version 5.0
Chriskt
Chriskt
07 January 2009
My mac is freezing up too, can't get it to start at all. How do I bypass the screen with the stop symbol?
Like
Version 5.0
Tee123
14 April 2008
Help! i have the same pop up problem... I've followed the step-by-step instruction which seems to work for most of the users, however I couldn't locate the files contains 'aladdinsys' and the 'allume'..the pop up still goes on and getting on my nerves.. just to avoid seeing the pop ups, I use the Mac space function and work in other spaces...
Like
Version 5.0
Uh-huh
29 May 2007
Hunk of crap. I can NOT get this Netblockade off my mac. Furious with this developer!
Like
Version 4.0
3 answer(s)
Lrr46
Lrr46
15 October 2007
Has anyone provided an answer to removing Netblockade? I can't get it off my system either.
Like
Version 4.0
Lrr46
Lrr46
15 October 2007
thank you. I tried this, but the uninstaller didn't come up. I'll try again tonight and see if it works this time. Thanks
Like
Version 4.0
8oo8
8oo8
23 October 2007
If you still haven't been able to delete Netblockade, try using EasyFind http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/11076 It should do the trick....that's how I got rid of all Internet Cleanup's files many months ago.
Like
Version 4.0
Sgageby
05 March 2007
This programs implants NetBlockade which is practically impossible to delete. It effects many Web pages that you normally visit. Thanks to one of the comments in this forum, if you download the application and then run the installer application again, using the UNINSTALL feature, you can get rid of the pesky NetBlockade and Net Cleanup as well. Thank you for this forum.
Like
Version 4.0
8oo8
05 February 2007
Whoa! This thing is a disaster. I installed it (version 4.0) and restarted my Mac as required, and my Mac had a fit! Took forever to start up, then was balky, spastic and unresponsive. And my Airport connection kept cutting out. I then trashed this hideous monster as fast as I could! And I had to reconfigure my Airport connection, too. Everything was running smoothly until I installed this piece of ****. I have been using Internet Cleanup since the first version....it was always fairly buggy, but this version, version 4.0, is just horrible! I must say, I have a very low opinion of Internet Cleanup's developers. They never have been able to get their act together.
Like (3)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Matt-Shearer
Matt-Shearer
14 April 2008
Netblockade begain showing up on my Mac in the last two days. I have no idea how I acquired it. I read one forum comment suggesting using EasyFind to destroy the program. I was able to destroy files so I could not see them but they clearly are running in background as all Flash is blocked. My machine runs much slower when proceeding to websites. In some cases it's too slow to do business. This program is wreaking my business. Can anyone help me kill it?
Like
Version 5.0
Mac-Os-Y
04 December 2006
1) It's useless 2) It makes more damages than spyware! 3) It's very hard/impossible to remove 4) AND IT'S SHAREWARE TOO!
Like
Version 4.0
lacwbo
29 November 2006
For those of you who are having trouble removing all of the files related to Internet Cleanup, download the demo copy and use the uninstall feature. It will remove the troublesome warning during startup regarding Protection that has Expired.
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Lrr46
Lrr46
15 October 2007
I'm still trying to remove Netblockade from my MAC. I ran the installer again, but I never got the uninstaller. I went in to my hard drive and removed some of the files someone had suggested, but I'm still having problems using Firefox and viewing sites I want to view. Any other suggestions out there?
Like
Version 4.0
Rrccaakkee
08 November 2006
My MacBook Pro ran great until I bought this "just in case." They next day I started having kernel panics and had to remove the progam. Just like everyone else, I couldn't remove the program entirely without googling help and removing strange files from the hard drive. Yuck.
Like
Version 4.0
Katiem
01 September 2006
I ordered something called Internet Cleanup, from Allume Systems. It has a feature called NetBlockade, which started working immediately, though I hadn't installed anything, as far as I know. This confused me. (Part of the confusion was that I had just updated my Mac PowerBook G4 from OS 10.3.3 (I think) to 10.4.7.) Anyway, to make a tedious story short, the NetBlocade feature (whose Icon looks like like a horizontal barber's pole, but may be intended to represent a railroad blocker) was said to block pesky popups. Actually, it blocks all sorts of things I want to see, including the Yahoo chess program. I get the icon where the board should be. The very stupid program can't distinguish some aspect of chess programs and the like from popups. So literally, no more chess on this computer. I sought help from Allume, but got no response at all. Then -- unwisely no doubt -- I tried to "uninstall" by removing every reference to Internet Cleanup in my hard disk. Now there are no visible remnents of Internet Cleanup, but the NetBlockade is still in force. What can I do? Do I have to abort my system and start over?
Like
Version 4.0
Ih8internetcleanup
28 August 2006
if you are like how i was for about 6 months, you relize that even when you delete internet cleanup, and all its componints, you still get that ANNOYING messege everyime you log in that says something like Network spy alert protection has expired please run demo and purchase.(or something like that) for a while i searched the web, and finally got rid of it! heres how to do it. 1) First, go to the "Applications" folder and check to see there are NO "Internet Cleanup 1.0.x" or "Internet Cleanup 2.0.x" folders there. If there, are any, delete them. 2) Go to your "MacintoshHD:Library:CFMSupport:" location, where "MacintoshHD" is the name of your hard drive and check to see that "ICRuntimeSupportLib2" has been deleted. If it hasn't, delete it. 3) Please navigate to "MacintoshHD:System:Library:Extensions:" and make sure that "NetBlockade.kext" and "NetworkSpyAlert.kext" have been removed. If they haven't, please delete them. You'll need to authenticate to remove them. If you have trouble with step, please let me know. It's very important these files are removed or you'll continue to get expiration alerts. 4) Go to "MacintoshHD:Library:Preferences:" and remove any file that contains the "aladdinsys" or "allume" name in it. 5) Go to "MacintoshHD:Users:username:Library:Preferences:", where "username" is your login name and "MacintoshHD" is your hard drive, and remove any file that contains the "aladdinsys" or "allume" name in it. 6) Reboot your machine again. Make sure your trash is empty.** I did this, and finally got rid off that pesky messege when i log in. Hope this works. If you have any other questions, email me at colclough5992@comcast.net
Like
Version 4.0
Yott
10 February 2006
Yes, it really works and blocks the unwanted adds.... Perhaps a little to much, as with the new 3.0.2 version, I am no more able in Safari to completely see the Macupdate software pages when Netblockade. Only the reviews are displayed!! Luckily, when using Firefox, everything (except true adds) shows nicely on my window
Like
Version 3.0.1
Martin
11 September 2005
I really do not understand why this product is so severely criticized. It has functioned well for me and has let me know on numerous occasions when a piece of software wants to "phone home" without my knowledge.
Like
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Tce-Yee-Poon
Tce-Yee-Poon
23 June 2006
If you want a program that lets you know if an app is phoning home use Little Snitch. If you don't need the other tools that come with Internet Cleanup.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
10 September 2005
This program does a lot and does it well. Some of the reviewers here are missing the value of the Network SpyAlert and NetBlocade modules. Yes, most of the things this program does can be done with other weaker more cumbersome programs. So what. Internet Cleanup functions as advertised. I've never had a problem with it. Maybe it is a program that offers more value than a novice user can appreciate.
Like
Version 3.0.1
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 September 2005
LOL
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 September 2005
"Your check is in the mail." - A. Sole. director of marketing, Allume inc.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 September 2005
To the few who haven't been able to use this program successfully... user incompetence and ignorance seem to be the problem. You just can't fathom that the problem might be your skill levels. It looks like you can use a computer to type and whine, and that's about it. By the way we're withholding your GED until your I.Q. reaches room temperature. LOL - Your unemployment check is in the mail!
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 September 2005
"LOL - Your unemployment check is in the mail!". Too bad I already work for Apple.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
09 September 2005
excellent for erasing history, pop up blocker does work, and also deleting cache files... adware and spyware... no such things on macs according to apple and symantecs. so if your looking for a program to delete those internet files, this is it, or use MacScan that is free.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
09 September 2005
Come On!!! Spyware doesn't affect Macs - its all written for Windows machines, isn't it? I would say that this program is the only adware you'll have on your machine - if you install it. What is MacUpdate doing helping these isiots peddle this rubbish?
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
21 August 2005
Please help me get rid of this thing. Every time I start the computer I get a message that I should purchase "spyalert"????
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 September 2005
Hi: to get rid of it- try spotlight finder. Remove all that contains files with InernetClean up. Run permissions- restart. If you want annonymity try tor/privoxy. There are no spyware for mac to date. Good luck.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
10 August 2005
THIS JUNK IS COMPLETELY WORTHLESS!! don't waste your time. And they have the NERVE to want $30 for this rubbish?? Total scam.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 June 2005
Is that a joke - funny to see developer spending money on this crab!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 June 2005
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. (yes, i know i am shouting) fear-based uselessness. blat.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 June 2005
genius! but rather evil... trick noobs into buying it as they are scared :)
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 June 2005
Totally unnecessary in Mac OS X and they want $30?! Pull the other one.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 June 2005
Complete and utter scam. There are so many free ways to monitor outgoing connections, here try this: sudo tcpdump of course I suppose it is possible tcpdump or your entire tcp stack has been compromised, but Internet Cleanup isn't going to solve that.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 June 2005
It would be good for the developer to give 'real' reasons for using this software instead of painting scary scenarios that only fool those who are from the Windoze world or are just not too computer savvy. As the developer describes this software - it is clear that it is not necessary. This isn't even worth one's time if it was freeware - but to add insult to this whole thing, they want $30. For all people out there who see this software and think it might be a good thing to buy... please do some homework and realize this software is not necessary and that it takes advantage of people who are not in the know when it comes to Mac OS X!
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
cheryl
cheryl
29 June 2005
Thank you for sound advice, I am not OSX savy like some. However, i am security conscious & i as considering buying this. once again, thank you to all who post & help us newbies.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 June 2005
Plz tell me, what spyware is there for OS X????
Like
Version 3.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 June 2005
I don't know of any really malicious spyware on the Mac, it's a question I have asked before too. There was a time when Limewire came with 'bundled software' as they put it but I don't know if that was ever on the Mac. However there are quite a number of apps that phone home, sometimes that is to check for updates, other times as a piracy deterant. It wouldn't be very hard to write Mac spyware, but unless the entire system is also compromised it would be very easy to detect with standard tools.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 June 2005
LittleSnitch! I've been using it for years and it works with all that "phone-home" stuff
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 June 2005
They do have keyloggers, but last time I checked, nothing that could be installed without your knowledge (assuming you're the admin of your system).
Like
Version 3.0
29 June 2005
How do you delete this thing once installed?
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 June 2005
One or more methods have been listed elsewhere in the comments (click on the link to view all comments).
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 June 2005
god, how pathetic: if you really prefer to install 5 different apps that probably do the same what this app does alone - go for it. but if ur system is fucked up by third party shareware crap installers/software damaging ur system - well, whine alone (or tell it your girlfriend if you happen to have one)! cheers and have fun!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
29 June 2005
Pretty much not needed.
Like
Version 3.0
Flash1296
29 June 2005
I agree with the consensus. This is costly garbage without purpose.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
28 June 2005
I'm releasing a program called "Fear 1.0." It just randomly pops up and suggests solutions to problems that don't exist, and requests $5 for each 'repair.' If Allume found Internet Cleanup profitable enough to go the whole way to 3.0, then there must be a market of stupid people ripe for picking.. Best way to take money from a person is to play on their fears.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 September 2005
Yeah, but you're gonna have to boost it up to 6.0 real quick to make people think that there's a danger. Better yet, get rid of "upgrades" and go with that wonderful Windows term "Critical Update!"
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
28 June 2005
Absolutely everything it does can be found in other applications that are free and even if you have to pay for them--better. When Aladdin sold to Allume it was EOL for any and everything that Aladdin once developed.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
28 June 2005
It saddens me that macupdate still posts updates for this product. It sounds like at best, it doesn't do anything. I can't believe any company would make a piece of software so hard to unistall. I haven't used stuffit in years, but this makes me lose all respect for alladin. Also, I am *highly* suspicious of the 2 very positive reviews when noone else has anything but complaints. -One was a person who always used it (did it ever find anything?) -And another said it found 15 pieces on their G5... I have never heard of any spywear on OS X, let alone 15. Sounds fake to me
Like
Version 3.0
Kevin Ward
14 May 2005
DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS PROGRAM!!!! IF YOU TRY THE DEMO AND DO NOT LIKE IT YOU WILL NEVER GET RID OF IT! THERE IS A FILE IN USERS/LIBRARY/PREFERENCES/com.allume.nsapAgent.plist IT REINSTALLS ITSELF AND, SO FAR AS I CAN TELL, IS INPOSSIBLE TO DELETE. If anyone knows a way to get rid of this file, please email me @ baristacmh@yahoo.com. Attempts to reach Allume have failed totally.
Like
Version 2.0.3
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 May 2005
Try purchasing File Buddy. This program can track and delete invisibles files. Thats how I got rid of the annoying messages of internet cleanup.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Kozy
Kozy
27 May 2005
I had the same problem. The solution is to stay calm. Re download the demo, and click on the icon, and if you scroll you'll find an uninstall button, Click it and restart. The pop up goes and the icon remains. Store it in a folder......just in case you need it. S
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 June 2005
I dunno if you can boot into OS9, but if you can you can pretty much delete anything from the OSX system.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 June 2005
Or the ACP with Xfile. That's a Unix browser and will find things and do things even File Buddy can't.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 June 2005
There is no library in Users. If it's just a plist file then you should be able to delete it yourself. When you run any install, don't give your password because then you'll have to hunt your entire drive for what they hid there. If you don't give a password, they can only put the stuff in your home directory area and it's a lot easier to find. When you are about to install or run anything for the first time, disconnect from the net and 'touch' the program file you're about to run. Then after you've run it, run the following. sudo find / -newer And you'll get a list of all files and directories the program touched. And then it's a piece of cake to go out there and eradicate the junk it tries to leave behind. Good luck.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
04 April 2005
Wow...Please read the instructions for UNINSTALLing this app before you download it. You will need to scroll down...a bit.
Like
Version 2.0.3
(give valid reasons to backup your claims)I downloaded the demo and it did not do anything as it was very limited.all it did was to make an annoying pop up menu reminding me that the demo has expired.so,tried to uninstall it but still can not find the uninstall.I downloaded the whole thing again still the same problem persist.The same program that is suppose to protect me from an annoying spyware is now the very pop up/program that is annoying me.I played a dvd while watching it in full screen it minimized the size because the pop up appeared again.Now,I am thinking of filing a lawsuit against this product and the apple store /website.I am making all the papers to get rid of this company and make them pay for deceiving people.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
16 March 2005
I just purchased this program today. I did not get a chance to try the demo. The price was $29.99 from a major unnamed retail store. I have to say that I would have purchased NetBarrier Firewall instead if it was available retail. However, the outgoing connection "Network SpyAlert" caught my eye. Again another prodoct I woud have purchased is Little Snitch if it were available retail (at a store that I do not have to purchase online). Network SpyAlert is great. If you are new to mac and have recently switched from M$ CRAP then you will certainly appreciate this product especially if you were using a well know firewall called Zone Alarm by Zone Labs. No this is not just like Zone Alarm but mac os x firewall is lacking when it comes to you having control over outgoing connections. I was only expecting control over an application and discovered I have total control over which port or even a specific IP that a program can connect to. The spyware cleaner did not find anything on my mac nor did I expect it to as I have been told by many mac users that this is not M$ crap and you really do not have to worry about it too much. The cleaners (all of them) take up lots of resources while running. I would reccomend manually deleting the cookies and cache if you are using Safari. It is much faster and does not use up a lot of recources and is quick. I did not see any automatic updates and whe I went to the developers website I found the same version I just purchased. I am told there are not many spyware programs written for unix or mac but an auto update feature would be nice. one disappointing factor was the NetBlockade which blocks adds and supposedly cookies. At first it did seem to work and then I went to some sites later and discovered that it allowed every cookie. I had all the ads/popups not blocked removed hence it should not be allowing anything other than the ones I chose which were only 2 cookies. Hopefully this will be repaired soon. For now I am back to blocking all cookies and enabling them when I need to. If you really want to block adds permanately I would recommend you do a Goog%e search for host file. That is correct for those of you that used one on your M$ crap system you can do the same with mac os x. Also the list of blocked sites were lets say tiny in comparison to the list in a host file that is available now. Also the list of not blocked sites should not even be a default option. I did see some very interesting sites in there that were allowing cookies and adds by default. To the unaware user this is bad. The last feature I found to be pleasing was the chat log delete. Even though it did not find any logs because I always have chat logs turned off. It was a nice added feature to have. The secure delete (hmmm) well Let's just say nothing is ever really deleted. I do not know how many times it is overwriting the file and with what but I would say preferences would be nice to be able to choose how many times to overwrite a file and with what to overwrite it with. 32 times overwrite would be nice and a overwrite free space would be even nicer. Would I recommend this product if you were buying for the overall capabilities. The answer is no. But If you are looking for a nice outgoing connection monitor and control application then I would have to say indeed spend the money and be happy there are some other features included. Even if the other features are quite lame. The program did lock up one time.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
01 February 2005
I hate you why the heck would you give out a demo that didn't do what everybody downloaded it for. I mean anyone with a mouse and have an inkling of computer know how can erase histories and cookies. I do admit it is slightly harder to get rid of chat histories but the most important feature the one people are going to buy it for is locked. How am i ssupossed to know how good the program is if i can't use the one thing i want it for. And it is way to hard to uninstall. I will never use another one of your products.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
30 January 2005
Like so many others I installed the IC demo and decided that I did not want it. Some weeks after dumping the main program folder the persistent (to put it mildly) reminder that the trial had expired appeared. After wasting 30 minutes of my life to figure out how to deal with this, I followed the advice of downloading the demo again and at the install screen selecting uninstall. That got rid of the reminder and I thought all was well. But just now (several weeks later) I discovered a startup item called knsard still on my machine - which apparently was part of this program. Who knows what it does, but frankly I don't trust them - why would their uninstall program leave something in my startup list. Now I am also wondering what else is left and what it is doing; if someone writes a program that is guaranteed to remove IC and all its parts I for one would pay $30 for it. I am thinking of getting rid of stuff-it expander too, just because it is from the same company and the IC experience makes me uneasy with regard what it might be doing or what I might have agreed to in the click-through EULA. In the off chance the company reads these comments - I will certainly not be not be purchasing your software for any of the 20 or so computers that I have authority over.
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 February 2005
stuffit expander has been around forever, and is an excellent utility. I have been using it for more than 10 years. Any time you make a sweep or cleaning app there are bound to be problems. Dont blame stuffit though, its handy.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
28 January 2005
Demo is limited. It does not include the features that I really needed to try out. It is an absolute pain to uninstall.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
24 January 2005
Total pain to remove demo. Thanks to the person who posted the instructions here. Don't waste your time with this application.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Bill
13 January 2005
Apple, MacUpdate, MacFixit and all companies posting links to this Product should post a WARNING. It's incredible that Apple would let a company sell a product that completely destroys the reputation of stability of Mac OSX. I also tried to uninstall without success. I propose that all Mac Users boycott Allume products, and that all of us send an email to Allume to provide us with a CLEAN AND COMPLETE uninstall software. When they will have received hundred thousands of complaints, they'll get a taste of the burden they put on us, and pay respect to customers. Also, tell all your friends to boycott Allume products until they provide the Mac Community with a clean and complete uninstall application.
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 February 2005
Good luck trying to send an email to Allume. I have been trying to get them to answer a question, or just acknowledge that I've even asked them a question, for the last 6 weeks. The only emails that go through are to their sales department, and you are then rewarded with a canned reply in a day or so. It does not appear that any human actually reads the email unless a credit card number is attached.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
05 January 2005
I've FINALLY got rid of the pesky pop up after trying to uninstall the demo! See below: This was supplied by a helpful member who got it from the software development board. It seemed a common enough problem that I felt it warranted posting here to help other unfortunates who dared to trust Allume. 1) I want you to go to the "Applications" folder and check to see there are NO "Internet Cleanup 1.0.x" or "Internet Cleanup 2.0.x" folders there. If they're there, please delete them. 2) Go to your "MacintoshHD:Library:CFMSupport:" location, where "MacintoshHD" is the name of your hard drive and check to see that "ICRuntimeSupportLib2" has been deleted. If it hasn't, please delete it. 3) Please navigate to "MacintoshHD:System:Library:Extensions:" and make sure that "NetBlockade.kext" and "NetworkSpyAlert.kext" have been removed. If they haven't, please delete them. You'll need to authenticate to remove them. If you have trouble with step, please let me know. It's very important these files are removed or you'll continue to get expiration alerts. 4) Go to "MacintoshHD:Library:Preferences:" and remove any file that contains the "aladdinsys" or "allume" name in it. 5) Go to "MacintoshHD:Users:username:Library:Preferences:", where "username" is your login name and "MacintoshHD" is your hard drive, and remove any file that contains the "aladdinsys" or "allume" name in it. 6) Reboot your machine again. Make sure your trash is empty.
Like
Version 2.0.3
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 January 2005
Thank you Adelle. I have been trying to get this off of my computer for 8 months now!
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 February 2005
'Make sure your trash is empty'!!! It's really bad !
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 February 2005
"make sure that "NetBlockade.kext" and "NetworkSpyAlert.kext" have been removed. If they haven't, please delete them. You'll need to authenticate to remove them. If you have trouble with step, please let me know." Sorry, but I can't get rid of them! I tried chenging permission etc but they still refuse to be deleted. What do i do please? Thanks and regards Phil Ledger
Like
Version 2.0.3
02 January 2005
Disaster! Avoid like the plague. They should pay me for the time I wasted to try and get this off my computer.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
01 January 2005
DO NOT DOWNLOAD!!! I downloaded the demo (wish I had checked here first) and found exactly what everyone else here found. The demo is severely crippled and if you simply dump it, you will be plauged by incessant pop ups generated by hidden files. Allume is a piece of crap company and someone should sue their ass!
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
28 December 2004
DO NOT DOWNLOAD!!!! I have had this stupid program on my mac for a month now, and haven't had time to figure out how to uninstall it. I've deleted everything i can find, removed it from startup - and I STILL get annoying popups. I thought this program was supposed to stop this kind of crap - not cause it!!!!
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
22 December 2004
I went into classic mode to delete the undelete-able kext files. I agree w/others. this 'app' acts like the jusk its supposed to find or trash. Now i have a taste for what people with windoze have to go thru.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
22 November 2004
DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS DEMO - after the demo you can not get rid of the expired warning - basically it is a virus in software clothing -
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
18 November 2004
DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS! Once this software is on your machine it will take forever to remove it, and you wiil want to remove it, because if you don't buy the software it will make your computer unusable with endless popups. I will NEVER do business with this company.
Like
Version 2.0.3