Back to mlDonkey page
mlDonkey free download for Mac

mlDonkey Reviews

3.1.0
08 February 2012

Client for eDonkey file sharing network.

truthhurts
29 July 2011

Most helpful

MLdonky project only provides PowerPC binaries, which are nonfunctional on Lion. Compiling from source is decidedly non-trivial due to ocaml dependencies. All major graphical interfaces are defunct. I managed to get mlmac to compile some years ago on PowerPC, but have not managed to cajole it into working on Intel. This makes the project - and eDonkey network - effectively dead for Mac users.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.7

Read 15 mlDonkey User Reviews

Rate this app:

truthhurts
29 July 2011
MLdonky project only provides PowerPC binaries, which are nonfunctional on Lion. Compiling from source is decidedly non-trivial due to ocaml dependencies. All major graphical interfaces are defunct. I managed to get mlmac to compile some years ago on PowerPC, but have not managed to cajole it into working on Intel. This makes the project - and eDonkey network - effectively dead for Mac users.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.7
1 answer(s)
Caonima
Caonima
13 May 2013
AFAIK, SpeedTao is using mldonkey as its P2P backend on Mac. And they got all things working out of box, like uPNP and stuff. Grab their build of mldonkey even you don't use their GUI.
Like
SickTeddyBear
06 August 2010
The main thing holding back mlDonkey is the lack of a currently developed GUI. There used to be several, but they are all defunct and/or way out of date.
Like
Version 3.0.3
4 answer(s)
Jostras
Jostras
18 October 2010
There's at least one that's nowadays on development...Rmldonkey. http://sourceforge.net/projects/rmldonkey/
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
adarkenigma
adarkenigma
31 December 2010
@ Jostras how do u install rmldonkey on mac tho... i only see files for linux n windows
Like
Mgruber
Mgruber
22 January 2012
I recommend sancho-gui
Like
Caonima
Caonima
13 May 2013
Man you need SpeedTao.
Like
Trifolium
17 March 2006
I only have terminal icons. no app. well, useless to me in this case...
Like (1)
Version 2.5-16t
funnellpd
05 May 2005
A little intimidating at first, but is extremely powerful after learning the basics.
Like
Version 2.5-16t
Anonymous
11 February 2005
Sucks! This isn't really a program at all. How in the hell am I suppose to use it? The install.txt doesn't help at all.
Like (1)
Version 2.5-16t
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 February 2005
This program works beautifully if you just search around and tweak it. But seeing your comment, may be you shouldn't be using programs more sophisticated than Calculator or TextEdit as it might prove mentally challenging for you.
Like
Version 2.5-16t
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 April 2005
No reason to be rude there, after all we didn't buy a mac to launch things from the terminal. I think it is a bit offending to post a one star rating though. Just download and install mlmac, it will setup the 2.5-16t deamon for you and provides a nice interface so you'll never have to worry about this stuff.
Like (4)
Version 2.5-16t
Anonymous
20 March 2004
Wow, sorry i dont have a degree in computer engineering to open this thing i am told its works well .
Like (1)
Version 2.5-4
(express)
01 January 2004
edonkey 2000 is my all time favorite p2p ap why becouse of its files theres so many rare ones. Like full albums discographies and such i never came across p2p ap with such value. This one beats them all.
Like
Version 2.5-4
Anonymous
13 October 2003
This software is great! I have accumulated quite a bit of experience in filesharing over the last few years and never had a software that shows so many results and has so fast downloads. When downloading several files at one time I get download rates between 2 and 30 kB/s on a ADSL line (300/50) which is much faster than anything I've ever seen before including Windows. I'm still running 2.5-3 since 2.5-4 seems to be unstable until now.
Like
Version 2.5-4
allard
22 July 2003
This programme is great for finding stuff which is hard or impossible to find elsewhere ...the only problem is that it takes ages to get a good file downloaded ( i have high speed internet and it is of no use with most files found...). Also I have had tons of problems with the programme "quitting" whenever I use another application at the same time ( ie word, etc).A further problem is that i have lost, on several occasions, files that I have just completed or am in the middle of downloading...I have mixed feelings about mldonkey as it has proven to be rather unreliable...Worth a try anyways...
Like
Version 2.5-3
Anonymous
10 July 2003
Can take a little while to setup but it is worth it. The script( makes it cake to connect!
Like
Version 2.5-3
Anonymous
06 June 2003
For me, it's at least five times faster than the Windows version. I've got two Divx movies in less than a day. I never got that rate with the Windows version. I use the EN 0.1 gui found at http://homepage.mac.com/michelmoreau
Like
Version 2.5-3
Anonymous
27 May 2003
fasttrack support is fantastic! remember to enable the network in the options as it's still beta and then select the network when you do a complex search. overall an excellent app, very stable and screamingly fast downloads from multiple sources. can take a little bit of setting up but once your away your away! prefer the web interface as you can just set and forget your downloads, easily checking in every now and then while your browsing... then like magic your download arrives.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
26 May 2003
Like a donkey, it's slow and steady. It has a robust community for distribution of files + media, but is not for the faint of heart to use. Those concerned about parity with Windows/Linux/etc. platforms are welcome to volunteer their time and money for accelerated development. FEATURES: 4 stars; very configurable, very broad client. Interfaces with many networks. EASE OF USE: 2 stars; lots of work to get running at optimum and to find good downloads at reasonable speeds. VALUE: 5 stars; what's better than free? STABILITY: 5 stars; runs as command in background (hidden terminal) with no crashes (system or program) that I can attribute to MLDonkey.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
26 May 2003
2.5 is great and I haven't had any problems with it so far. Personally, I think that any of the available GUI's available arern't very good so I just stick with the nice web-based interface.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
26 May 2003
Definetly a good app, would have been better if it came with a GUI. Windows verisons are atleast 10 years ahead. Why do the developers think that they are doing us mac users a big favor by writing applications for us. It is 2003 but thus applcation gives me a feeling of 1980 with the bare minimum gui it has. Thanks to all the developers. It is about time when developers started treating mac users as first class ctizens in the computer world.
Like
Version 2.5