Back to iuLoan page
iuLoan free download for Mac

iuLoan Reviews

6.1.2
09 June 2006

Loan solver with amortization features.

Anonymous
02 April 2003

Most helpful

Major improvement on version 1 and 2. Great work! This is shaping up to be the best all-in-one loan tool.
Like
Version 3.0

Read 21 iuLoan User Reviews

Rate this app:

Anonymous
21 February 2005
WARNING! you must read all the changes at the Developer's website as it will destroy template data. There is NO mention about a mandatory upgrade fee--which there is. This is a BETA, and I do mean beta! The GUI is much nicer, but honestly I see no reason to upgrade from version 4. Also, be forewarned that once you install and register any version of iuLoan on a specific hard drive, the Developer will require payment for the entire application again, if you upgrade to a newer Mac or even another Mac should you decide you want to run it elsewhere. This is foolish, and I wanted to stop using it on my desktop and travel with it on my laptop, but the Developer is entirely unforgiving and will ask for the FULL amount of the application. I like iuLoan, but I will not be upgrading to version 5 as there are other applications available that do the exact same thing for less money and much less foolishness.
Like
Version 5.0
Anonymous
29 April 2004
Legitimate registration is nothing sort of ridiculous. Windows popping up all over the bloody place; then it states the registration information is incorrect. Have paid for the latest version (4.x) but still a nuisance. I'm certain this programmer works for Microsoft.
Like
Version 4.3
Anonymous
27 April 2004
Using this application in my office for over a year now, I am can safely say this application is unequaled on the Macintosh. I have since put away my financial calculator. 1. Accuracy While this is not the reason why I bought this application, I later found some other applications to be seriously flawed in their calculations. I base my test upon both the Loan template in Microsoft Excel and my loan calculator. I found iuLoan to be accurate to within a cent in almost every situation I have tried. Importantly, it is consistent with Excel. For example I put into the excel loan template: $250,000 loan at 8.25% over 30 years and 12 payments per year and iuLoan and excel agreed upon the total interest, total payments, and the principal and interest of every period in the amortization schedule. 2. User Interface Not only is this application easy to use it also looks good when showing my clients. I found the brushed metal a disappointment at first, but since Apple seems to be bringing more metal out all the time, I am getting used to it. The graphs are great and the way information is divided across the tabs is also a plus. I am glad the developer elected to keep a calculate button. This gives me the same feel as using my financial calculator... some on-line apps have tried to remove this. The icons are good and in keeping with the quality one expects from an OS X application. 3. Features I have owned several versions, and it just keeps getting better. I have made some suggestions to the developer over the last year, and most of these have been implemented. In fact the only major suggestion I have not seen so far, is a French version. iuLoan lets me print or save any of the loan information it generates. It also lets me work on multiple loans at the same time: I use one for figuring while editing a working loan (side-by-side). It has a loan comparison tool, but I prefer to do it this way. One of the biggest pluses I have found is the ability to export the schedule to a comma file. I often use this for import to Excel. iuLoan comes with a bunch of tools as well, which I don't personally use much, but its a nice addition. The built in mini calculator is nothing but handy. 4. Pricing A good financial calculator might cost more. This software in my opinion is priced correctly. I would have paid more (say $45) if it came in more languages. 5. Support I have had a prompt reply to every question I have had so far. They even have a small support forum with some information. The has various help links built in, including a link to a bug report form. Support for this product is excellent in my opinion. 5 Stars!
Like
Version 4.2.5
Anonymous
23 April 2004
Tried many freeware and other loan apps.This is great for comparing loans. I have yet to find any software which compares for the price. Great work, and I recommend over other apps.
Like
Version 4.2.5
Anonymous
09 April 2004
Junk. Inaccurate. Waste of time. Period.
Like
Version 4.2.1
Anonymous
09 April 2004
Can't get it to work. No windows appear. Try "new" and nothing. So much for the trial period I guess. I am not giving it any stars as I cannot evaluate 4.2.1 and therefor have no clue how to rate it.
Like
Version 4.2.1
ParanzaSoft
27 March 2004
We're sorry to hear that FinKit is being "eaten". Please read the Liability Limitations before continuing as it may be hard to digest ;-) Seriously, with FinKit we didn't want to make yet another loan calculator, but provide a toolbox of related time value of money calculators (29 and counting) that are easy to use and try: no more than 6 inputs, no calculate button, no incessant nag screens... BTW, "Any type of loan": does iuLoan do Rule of 78 amortization or will that be "added" next in the process of "eating" FinKit?
Like
Version 4.2
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 March 2004
We will continue to add in whatever features are requested most often, or those we feel meets the goal of a this loan application. Soliciting customers by commenting on a competitor's product review is not a practive we would engage in though. We receive a great deal of constructive feedback via our website, and encourage others to do the same, including yourself. We wish you luck with your application, and we will continue to provide a useful loan management tool to both the Mac in Windows (soon) platforms as I am sure you do. As for rule of 78, we have never had a request for this, and until it seems useful enough to add, it will be considered for inclusion in a possible freeware loan application we are looking at releasing later this year. We feel the lesser used functions should be made available for free. Our products are built mainly on customer feedback sent to us by existing customers. Cheers
Like
Version 4.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 March 2004
Wasn't FinKit the subject of the "eating" post? Where else should we respond? As for constructive feedback, here are e few things we noticed: - quarterly compounding requires the TPYIC or compounding frequency to be set to 4, not 3 as is indicated in the iuLoan Help (CPY 3 = four-monthly compounding). - as far as we can tell, iuLoan only calculates for fixed payment intervals, but in real life payments rarely occur on the dates in the original amortization table. With actual payment dates your program could be used to track these loans. - when allowing skipped payments, there's the problem of interest on interest (US Rule) or negative amortization. We believe that in most US states negative amortization is illegal. See http://www.promsoft.com/usrule_ex.htm#us_rule for a detailed explanation.
Like
Version 4.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 March 2004
Cheers, and thanks for the comments.
Like
Version 4.2
Anonymous
26 March 2004
Awewsome. This eats FinKit, and is well worth the bucks!
Like
Version 4.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 March 2004
I don't see how? FinKit has many more serious and complex financial solutions available.
Like
Version 4.2
Anonymous
26 March 2004
This program has gotten worse and worse when in comes to its silly registration. For what it now offers and its constant pricing increase (although I have already paid and currently not subject to it) you'd think the author is passing the inflation rate on price hikes. This guy must work for Homeland Security and I personally have had it with this Fort Knox attitude. It's a stupid finance program for Pete's sake!
Like
Version 4.2
Anonymous
02 February 2004
Too many hoops to jump through on registration that simply do not warrant an application like this. And once you have locked it into a your computer that's it, so if you replace your hard drive or computer you have to purchase it all over again. I'm gone. Pretty efficient in what it did, but I stopped using it due to the insipid registration policy and have been using another application instead. My switch was worth it as there are more updates with my replacement application (FinKit) and some very serious allied applications that are made by the same author. As the saying goes, "Burn me once...shame on you." "Burn me twice...shame on me." No longer the fool I've moved on.
Like
Version 4.1
Anonymous
28 November 2003
It should be clearly understood that the transition from version 3.x to version 4 is substantial and requires an upgrade fee of $10. I personally have no problems with this as I had asked the author to consider comparison loans and what happened -- he did it! This is a major timesaver for those shopping loans feature gives you a major advantage when loan shopping, well worth the full price of iuLoan alone. This author is very responsive and has done an excellent job of developing a serious financial application. He gets my upgrade fee.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
09 May 2003
Too cool. Excellent app and getting better all the time. I too like the comparison solver.
Like
Version 3.3.1
Anonymous
08 May 2003
WOW! The Comparison Solver is super! Money well spent.
Like
Version 3.3.1
Anonymous
07 May 2003
Damn, I had written the Developer about this side-by-side feature and listed it as one of my desires and BAM--behold the power of the internet! And now iuLoan, absolutely no equal! Period. This is it, you don't need to look elsewhere.
Like
Version 3.3.1
Anonymous
05 May 2003
Excellent value for the money. Keep those updates coming!
Like
Version 3.3
Anonymous
04 May 2003
Great, the printed report is what I have been waiting for! Very professional looking, I must say. Keep it up.
Like
Version 3.3
Anonymous
04 May 2003
Keep it up!
Like
Version 3.2.3
Anonymous
04 May 2003
Very good indeed! Despite what seems to be a divided opinion these days, I really do like the metal look, and the whole design and feel of this application. I certainly has that OS X feel about it. I have watched this one grow from, ummm cr*p to something I cannot do without. I have two licenses... registration is not too bad a process, I think it sucks so many people pirate software, especially cheap ones like this... I am sure the developer makes very little and does this out of the love of it. I have put in a few suggestions for some features I would like to see. COOL!
Like
Version 3.2.3
Anonymous
03 May 2003
I bought it. Don't really care much for how you have to register it, but I guess it's a front line defense against piracy (pity). Very good program, but I wish I could do a side-by-side comparison with a base loan to compare several others against like the old program called Compare-A-Loan (which had five side-by-side loans showing on the screen), that way you can deal better when shopping for mortgages and while dealing on the phone with mortgage pukes. Other than this one feature I like what it has to offer.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Anonymous
02 April 2003
This loan app is very good. I have tried the free ones (all of them I think), and while some of them are ok, they lack many of the essential features I found in iu-loan. I live in Canada, and I found that this is one of the few applications around which can handle not just Canadian loans, but any loan. I am impressed with the addition of the handy calculators, and I am going to suggest some more for adding in. If you already have a loan, or multiple loans, or even if you thinking of buying something on loan, this is certainly the application to get. Good work guys!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
02 April 2003
Major improvement on version 1 and 2. Great work! This is shaping up to be the best all-in-one loan tool.
Like
Version 3.0