Back to Televio page
Televio free download for Mac

Televio Reviews

1.7.1
02 October 2003

Use various TV video cards.

Anonymous
03 January 2003

Most helpful

Can not rate this as it is in German. Sure would be nice to list that so no one else wastes their time downloading this and can't use it...
Like
Version 1.5.2

Read 13 Televio User Reviews

Rate this app:

Anonymous
21 October 2003
Dumb question I hope someone will answer. I really only want to use the product as a tuner, not really as a recorder. Does the tuner still require processing power (as in, does the video get translated to another format like quicktime no matter what) just to view (not record) TV? Basically, I want to use the product to watch TV on my computer monitor without much processing or reduction in video quality.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
02 October 2003
It sounds like the software has some support for some other cards, but none of the info I could find identified which. I, too, would appreciate a product bring OS X support to the iX Micro iXTV card. The Televio card does appear to have many superior features (stereo, SAP, remote and more). I've been wondering if there will be some sort card supporting U.S. DTV/HDTV (off-air use) and/or something that could handle the non-premium channels for digital cable tv.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
02 October 2003
I have read alot of reviews for Televio and the majority of them are bad. This I don't understand. Televio is a great application and works flawlesly now that version 1.7 has been released. I have been using it for about 6 months now to view and record TV programs after i bought the PCI card and the Televio software. Its picture quality is far better than any USB television peripherals and recording is easy and is of high quality. No crappy 320*240 MPEG1 recording here. Just use whatever quicktime codec you want (i tend to use MPEG4 or Componant Video). You'll need alot of disk space for full size Compnant Video which can take up to 1 gig a minute at 756*576. Televio however does siphon alot of processor power (50-60% on my G4 400) to process the video and sound. but picture quality doesnt decrease if you are doing things in the background. The only thing i would like to see is a scheduled recording feature and perhapse a default recording directory. (instead of having to choose where to save the .mov everytime you click record). The support for different TV cards depends on the chipset that the card uses, look on the Millenstein site for those details. Overall its a great app and getting better all the time. Good ol German enginuity. :)
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
25 September 2003
Yes, I am dying for someone to write a driver for the IX-TV Card! Please!!!! I will pay for it.!!! Thanks
Like
Version 1.7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 January 2004
ditto on the ix/micro driver. it made it tough for me to switch to OS X.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
25 September 2003
All I needed was a TV Tuner application, that occasionally I could use to record clips from shows. This does all that I need, and does it well. It's nice to see the developer keeping the product up-to-date with new features and bug-fixes too. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
05 September 2003
This is NOT a mature product. Not as good as ElGato EyeTV. Software is painfully slow and has bugs. Cannot open QuickTime files after recorded. Quality of video is poor; simple compostive video. FM quality is decent but FM channel changing is a nightmare. Developer response is quick but no solutions. If you want to record video to watch, ElGato's Eye TV is it. If you want to edit full screen video after recording from TV, this is NOT it. Formac's DV Firewire product has best overall video quality but software has major problems.
Like
Version 1.6.4
Alex Downey
25 August 2003
Ordered the card, was charged for it, got an e-mail informing me it shipped. It didn't arrive in the specified time. I sent e-mails to the developer. No response. Totally ignored. Its been over a month since it "shipped" and still no card and no response from the company. Think about that before you invest in this software. Since I paid for it and essentially got nothing, I think my review is justified.
Like
Version 1.6.3
Anonymous
25 August 2003
Yes! ixTurboTV support would be great.
Like
Version 1.6.3
~AcK!
10 July 2003
Error: There was no system support found for your TV card. Please install the software again. (So i removed the application and it's other components then reinstalled and tried again) Error: There was no system support found for your TV card. Please install the software again. I suspect that the developer has a good start on this program, however, the developer should also include support for ixTurboTV cards as well. I will send you a the installer for ixTVdesktop if you would like to include this support as i'm confident there are still ppl on this planet who still own ixTV cards. The GUI interface looks promising. Other language support should be added as well. (not all of us understand German) Please continue to develope this product for OSX. There should be more ppl out there converting programs from OS9 to OSX. I look forward to being able to use ixTurboTV in OSX. ~Ack!
Like
Version 1.6.2
Derdirk
09 July 2003
Starting with version 1.6 the interface is localized to English, German, French and Spanish. So no need to worry if you don't understand German.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
05 July 2003
don't listen to anonymous, if you can't work out the interface (hmmm.. i wonder what the options box with 'o Antenne o Kabel o Antenne & Kabel' could possibly mean?) then maybe you have been watching TOO much TV anyway...
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
03 July 2003
Incredible good TV/Radio card for OSX. Picturequality is very good and u can record in several formats. I'm using it for converting VHS to DVD and it's working fine. The radio is OK and the Tuner works as it should, but the coolest feature is the remote and fullscreen viewing.... my 17 inch monitor is bigger than my 14 inch TV, sooooo...... !!!!! Highly recommended :-) ... and cheaper than the rest !!!!
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
03 January 2003
Can not rate this as it is in German. Sure would be nice to list that so no one else wastes their time downloading this and can't use it...
Like
Version 1.5.2