Back to A-Dock page
A-Dock free download for Mac

A-Dock Reviews

1.5.6
29 May 2011

Application switcher utility.

Steven-Goodheart
08 October 2009

Most helpful

Thanks for the Snow Leopard tweaks! A-Dock X is one of my all-time favorite utilities...I use it dozens of times a day and it saves me so much time and effort. One of my favorite features is being able to type command-option-h to reveal the desktop while I'm in any program, and then hit it again to pop back to that program. Such a huge time-saver and more useful to me most of the the time than the Expose F11 reveal desktop. Great, great program at a great price.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.4

Read 60 A-Dock User Reviews

Rate this app:

zo219
21 December 2013
A-Dock was SO cool. There ought to be a law.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.6
Mac007
23 October 2013
A-Dock no longer works under MacOS X 10.9 so I guess the party is over. Very sad as this is the program that helped me make the transition from Mac OS 9 to Mac OS X.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.6
1 answer(s)
Arthur-Battram
Arthur-Battram
30 January 2016
Totally agree {sadface}
Like (1)
Arthur-Battram
02 March 2013
Hi my registered copy has weirdly started demanding a password, and won't accept mine. I went to the developers site, and when I clicked on purchase I got this at Kagi: “All our products have been discontinued. You cannot buy them anymore. Free versions should be available shortly.“ Obviously I'm keen to get the free one to replace my paid for one that thinks it is a demo - preference issue I guess - tried to repair prefs - same prob. Can anyone help?
Like
Version 1.5.6
2 answer(s)
hwgray
hwgray
21 August 2013
I am, even as we speak, using A-Dock with Mountain Lion dev release v10.8.5. However, I've noticed this phenomenon before. When 10.8.5 is released, something will have been added or removed such that A-Dock will no longer even launch, let alone ask for a password.. I don't know what ti fell you. A-Dock's author's site was last updated with the release of v1.5.6. "----- A-Dock and Lion ----- A-Dock does NOT work with OS X Lion 10.7.2 Right now A-Dock will not work with OS X Lion. As it seemed to work on 10.7 and 10.7.1 (minus a few glitches) it stopped working on 10.7.2. I've tried to find a workaround, but alas, it seems like the end of the story for A-Dock. I'll wait until OS X 10.7.3 to decide if A-Dock needs to be killed or not..."
Like
hwgray
hwgray
21 August 2013
I forgot to mention that I couldn't copy-and-paste my password into A-Dock. It wouldn't take. So, I typed it in. Ey wa-LA! Hope this helps.
Like
hwgray
15 July 2012
For what it's worth, A-Dock v1.5.6 works perfectly with the OS X Mountain Lion golden master.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.6
2 answer(s)
Arthur-Battram
Arthur-Battram
02 March 2013
Hi my registered copy has weirdly started demanding a password, and won't accept mine. I went to the developers site, and when I clicked on purchase I got this at Kagi: “All our products have been discontinued. You cannot buy them anymore. Free versions should be available shortly.“ Obviously I'm keen to get the free one to replace my paid for one that thinks it is a demo - preference issue I guess - tried to repair prefs - same prob. Can anyone help?
Like
hwgray
hwgray
19 March 2013
My own sad experience is that, though A-Dock still installs in any iteration of 10.8 after the original golden master, nevertheless, it will now neither vip nor vop. Whether it's some random kid working in his parents' basement or it's Apple, when they don't feel like bothering, anymore, to hell with the customer.
Like
Zapp-Brannigan
18 April 2012
How to fix if using 10.7.3: I went into Home > Library (it's Hidden in Lion so you have to use the Go to Folder from the Finder's Go menu and put in ~/Library/). Open Preferences. In the search bar of the window, enter adock, and choose name when it pops up. Delete any files with adock in it in the search results (I had three and one of the files had zero bytes). Empty your trashcan. Start A-Dock and it works again. It even has a trashcan at the bottom of the Dock. As others have noted, in the preferences, don't turn on 'Show Trashcan on the Desktop' in A-Dock's preferences. Survived a restart as well. Customized my settings and all is well in the universe. :) Goodbye Dragthing, hello A-Dock!
Like
Version 1.5.6
Zapp-Brannigan
03 February 2012
Well, I'm here to say that after updating to 10.7.3, a-dock still doesn't work. I really hope the developer fixes the program as I'm left with dragthing which is overkill for my needs.
Like
Version 1.5.6
5 answer(s)
Tijej
Tijej
09 February 2012
I'm as sad as you to see that 10.7.3 doesn't fix the issue This is an Apple bug, not an A-Dock one. I might have found a way to workaround the issue, but that means rewriting a large piece of code. So it will unfortunately take time to roll out a new version of A-Dock that works on Lion. Jérome (A-Dock's developer)
Like (4)
Powermac-HK
Powermac-HK
01 March 2012
I just update my 11 inch macbook air from 10.7.1 to 10.7.3 directly by combo updater (MacOSXUpdCombo10.7.3.dmg), and A-Dock X survives. Is there anyone else able to use A-Dock X on 10.7.3? Apparently, A-Dock X is not exclusively incompatible with 10.7.3: A-Dock X works with 10.7.1 and 10.7.1 -> 10.7.3 update, but not work for 10.7.2 nor 10.7.2-> 10.7.3 update. I postulate that the bug was due to a component in 10.7.2 which has not been updated in 10.7.3. Hope this can help to fix the problem.
Like
Tijej
Tijej
02 March 2012
The bug in OS X shows up if you enable the Desktop trash in A-Dock. Once enabled, you're stuck : A-Dock will never launch again. You'll have to uninstall and reinstall. But as long as you don't enable the Desktop trash, A-Dock will work fine with OS X 10.7.x
Like (1)
Zapp-Brannigan
Zapp-Brannigan
18 April 2012
Click on the Troubleshooting tab above to see how I fixed it. ;)
Like
hwgray
hwgray
15 July 2012
@ Tijej: 10.8 fixes the issue. A-Dock has risen from the dead, Trash-enabled and all! Perhaps, instead of rewriting A-Dock for Lion, you may prefer simply to improve the way that it works with Mountain Lion.
Like
Cyannah
18 October 2011
I miss A-Dock. It's useful and colorful. I wish it could be updated for Lion.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.6
Zapp-Brannigan
13 October 2011
After updating to Lion 10.7.2, A-Dock no longer works. That's too bad. I find this to be a very useful utility.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.6
Djchill1
29 April 2010
A Dock out Docks Mac's dock...so dock u rip off dockware that only pretends to do what A dock does. It should be called A+ dock because that's the grade I give it. Seriously though, if you want an actual second dock, fully customizable, with every feature of mac's default and then some, and especially NO BLOATING UR SYSTEM, then the 10 bucks is worth it. As a fair disclaimer to the developer, it could use a grid feature for stacks . I'm no critic and don't want to bite the hand that fed, but I do have ADHD and readling from the hierarchical (unless u can make it with big icons and space) is a pain. I'm not saying everyone else will have this trouble, but everyone else could benefit from the choice to switch to grid. As, minor stability issues with dragging documents into the icons i.e. folders. I guess that relates to modules, where you can only show volumes and ur trash in that seperate part of the dock, maybe every part of the dock should be like that. Get it. Forget the rest...unless its dragthing (Kagi plug=Props to KAGI and Jerome)
Like (1)
Version 1.5.5
Steven-Goodheart
08 October 2009
Thanks for the Snow Leopard tweaks! A-Dock X is one of my all-time favorite utilities...I use it dozens of times a day and it saves me so much time and effort. One of my favorite features is being able to type command-option-h to reveal the desktop while I'm in any program, and then hit it again to pop back to that program. Such a huge time-saver and more useful to me most of the the time than the Expose F11 reveal desktop. Great, great program at a great price.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.4
Easer
27 June 2009
I finally got around to playing with this and opted to buy it. Apple's dock stinks, mostly because it needs better (or any) customization options. In particular, I like that with A-Dock, I can have a transparent dock background if I wish; and I like the ability to pick and choose what actually shows up in the dock. The only other programs that came close to doing what A-Dock does are DragThing and WorkStrip. The latter is no longer supported and doesn't really play well with Leopard. (It tends to make my windows jerk a lot when resizing them, and I've found that once I use the program, then the window resizing is bad thereafter no matter what I do.) I think DragThing is an awesome program, but I really wanted it only for the ability to show open windows in a dock. Unfortunately, it does not always do this properly, particularly with iTunes and NeoOffice. A-Dock does allow me to select open windows via right-clicking on the dock icon, but I would prefer the ability to actually see open window icons in the dock and select them directly that way. I doubt that A-Dock will ever do this, but it is a feature I'd like. Overall, the program is stable and has some good customization options.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.1
Easer
30 April 2009
Okay, I tried it again a few hours later, and it downloaded decently. Must have been a glitch.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Easer
29 April 2009
I would be happy to try this if it weren't taking 6 months to download the thing. I've been waiting over 20 min., and it's barely halfway done. I've tried downloading from MU and from the developer's site. Both are giving me the same results. Not having this problem with anything else, so I'm assuming it's something on their end.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Zorrro
28 March 2009
Nice tool which does its job.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Robotank
04 November 2008
I've quickly become a fan of A-Dock. On the surface it doesn't look that much different from Apple's dock, but it offers many features sorely lacking therein. Some of its best attributes include: 1) You can add folders to it whose contents can be viewed hierarchically and dragged out of the menu (including smart folders). 2) It's far more customizable. You can tell it to show only favourites or tell it not to display individual running applications, so you don't have to have background apps that don't need to be displayed taking up screen space. It can also be freely positioned on the screen and its appearance can be altered with free themes. 3) You can select modules to add to the dock, including volumes and a System Preferences icon that expands into a hierarchical menu. 4) A-Dock can also display your trash (supports custom icons and can display the number of items within) on either the dock or the desktop and its contents can also be viewed in a hierarchical menu. There are numerous other little features in A-Dock, and as of 1.5.1, it's properly displaying all animated dock icons (though no bouncing). Perhaps its only real weak point is an inability to display minimized windows. In terms of support, A-Dock's developer is responsive and his website contains plenty of useful information. This app is well worth the $10.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
Mitch-Bicquet
23 October 2008
Adding new favorites crashes and quits a-dock on 10.5.5 macbook 2,16ghz.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Tuishimi
02 October 2008
Wow! It is great to see that the author is still maintaining this. Downloading and firing up as we speak. Thank you for not abandoning the product.
Like (2)
Version 1.5
Dana-Sutton
22 June 2008
A-Dock has some features (such as delayed-action activation) that the Apple Dock ought to have. But something important is missing. It ought to supply some instructions, or something like an Apple-Script, that would allow the user to turn off the Apple Dock. I have no idea how to do that, and I bet a lot of other users don't either. And yet if I am going to use A-Dock this is a very obvious need I'm going to have.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.7b3
1 answer(s)
Tijej
Tijej
14 September 2008
I don't recommend turning off Apple's Dock. A-Dock is NOT a replacement for Apple's Dock. I've never claimed it was. It's just a complimentary dock with some different features. A-Dock cannot emulate some of the features Apple's Dock provides, which I cannot live without : windows minimization, desktop background customization.... So you'll probably understand I'll never provide any built-in way to disable Apple's Dock. You can do it, but at you own risk !
Like (3)
Version 1.4.7b3
Emet1
07 November 2007
I started using A-Dock in OS 9, as soon as it was released. I reviewed it when I moved to OS X, remarking on how much I respect the developer for keeping this marvelous software alive and improving it every step of the way. As I was researching Leopard, one web site mentioned that A-Dock was a great replacement for the 3-D Apple Dock in 10.5. This was before this new version of A-Dock! Since then people have figured out how to mod the new dock to 2-D, but A-Dock is still a great alternative if you want the control-click expansion of docked folders, something I use all the time. It's flexible, it's fast, it's cheap. It's an essential part of my OS X experience and I find myself looking for it when I'm using other people's Macs. And no, I'm not in any way connected to the developer.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.7b3
Philsh
09 July 2006
Great piece of software. I use it probably more often than Apple's dock because of its ability to contain folders. Very low CPU usage and no crashes are also definite pluses. Now it's even better with the ability to show System Prefs in the dock!
Like
Version 1.4.6
1 answer(s)
Macericg
Macericg
14 February 2007
Apple's Dock allows folders that you can navigate if you right-click on the icon.
Like
Version 1.4.6
Applecrypt-Mods
09 July 2006
great program but i personally have two problems. Minimised apps don't shrink down to the A-Dock and we need more themes! Otherwise 8.5/10 !! :D
Like
Version 1.4.5
2 answer(s)
Philsh
Philsh
09 July 2006
Uhh... minimised apps show up in Apple's dock. Why would you want them in both places?
Like
Version 1.4.6
Applecrypt-Mods
Applecrypt-Mods
09 July 2006
bcos i don't use Apple's dock anymore..
Like
Version 1.4.6
Cobraclutch
16 May 2006
Isn't there some sort of preference pane? Or is that not available in the demo version?
Like
Version 1.4.5
1 answer(s)
Zapp-Brannigan
Zapp-Brannigan
23 April 2012
Right click on the floating dock to access its preferences. No preference pane for this app.
Like
Tuxford
28 February 2006
Essential interface upgrade lacks support from developer. One major flaw is the use of the "Shift key" to move the dock. The Shift key is used by ASM as suppression key for special features: Single Application Mode, etc. Can't use A-Dock with this ASM feature since it A-Dock reserves the important Shift key for an unimportant function better served through the preferences. Who moves his dock often to justify the use of the shift key for this function??? If he would fix this, we could turn on Single Ap mode in ASM, and have the ability to automatically hide others when switching using A-Dock, with a simple override: Don't hide others when clicking in A-Dock with the shift key depressed. Fabulous. I have asked the developer to fix this for nine months. He just doesn't get it. I give him low marks.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Anonymous
17 September 2005
You cant trash it can you? 1 dock is enough.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Anonymous
28 August 2005
One thing that apple's dock really lacks: spring loaded folders! And I like how it shows track,artist,album for itunes, definitly more clear with icons.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
22 June 2005
Bread is better with butter. A-Dock is the butter. In my case, it improves my "Aqua" experience. Keep up the good work..brutha!
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
08 March 2005
I think this is a splendid piece of Shareware, and I use it combination with Apple's dock. It has been intelligently developed & well supported. Along with Virtual Desktop, Windowshade, PopChar Pro and Path Finder it adds to the excellent Mac experience & has become indispensible.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Anonymous
08 March 2005
Very usefull little application. A good complement to Apple's dock. I put in it my frequently used folders. Good support and good price.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Anonymous
29 January 2005
I find this dock useless, Apple's is better. Plus it is slower.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Anonymous
27 January 2005
Could you provide a more specific definition of "sucks?" I've been using A-Dock since OS 9 and it has never been anything but what it says it is: a useful, customizable second dock (or in the case of OS 9 a first dock). The developer has continuously updated, improved and maintained this product and has never charged an unreasonable fee for a really great addition to both of my computers.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
20 December 2004
Wow, it was great when it was freeware, now it sucks. I'm lucky to still have a freeware copy :D
Like
Version 1.3 beta 2
Anonymous
14 December 2004
Great app. This is the only one which offers me an Apple like dock on my second monitor. And it actually improves on the original. Very nice, and despite the odd crash (it's a beta so what you gonna do?) it doesn't do anything weird to my system. Super!
Like
Version 1.3 beta 2
Anonymous
25 August 2004
This is an unbelievably cool piece of software. Worthwhile for the pop-up folders alone: you can drag stuff from your desktop (or wherever) into your Documents folder (or wherever) in A-Dock, and the folder window pops up so you can place the file exactly where you want it, in whatever subfolder you want! This is how dock folders should behave in Apple's dock, but don't (yet).
Like
Version 1.2.5a
Anonymous
12 August 2004
Happy to see there is finaly a customizable dock that is ADDED to your desktop instead of having to switch. Only thing its missing is Magnification.
Like
Version 1.2.5
Anonymous
10 August 2004
There are few apps that I use everyday. This is one of them. The app is easy to use and it serves it's function seamlessly. Store all of your frequently used applications to keep your original dock clear from clutter. Works almost the same as the finder's dock. Except it does not launch on startup. Is there an automatically launch on startup option? The only obstacle I encountered while using this app, is that I had to go back and read reviews to learn how to add icons to this alternate dock. If you have the same problem, press "shift", click and drag the app you would like to add to Adock. Thanks to the dev. for this great app
Like
Version 1.2.5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 August 2004
"Is there an automatically launch on startup option?" yes, built-in to OS X. open the Accounts pref pane in System Preferences... add whatever you like (in this case, A-Dock) to the Startup Items.
Like
Version 1.2.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 August 2004
You can use system preferences/ accounts/ startup to launch A-Dock x or any other program for that matter. As for having to read reviews to learn how to add folders... READ THE MANUAL THAT COMES WITH IT WHEN YOU DOWNLOAD THE PROGRAM. I had no problem figuring it out because I read the manual. Before you criticize a program (especially a free one), or waste your time reading a ton of reviews just to find out something simple... read the software manual that comes with it. It's usually a readable file that comes with it. You must be a newly converted Windows user.
Like
Version 1.2.5a
TwisterMc
10 August 2004
To bad I can't install themes. :(
Like
Version 1.2.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 August 2004
Why can't you install themes ?
Like
Version 1.2.5
Anonymous
02 August 2004
hmm, looks good, but am i missing something ? how is it different from original osx dock?? application swithcher?? how.
Like
Version 1.2.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 August 2004
A-Dock X does folders & files. It also does submenus.
Like
Version 1.2.5
Anonymous
31 July 2004
Can't say enough good things about this app. Jerome has put a tremendous amount of time and effort into keeping A-Dock useful and viable when the advent of the dock in OS X would have seemingly rendered it obsolete. Makes a great supplemental launcher. I have used it since 2.0 (classic version) 4 years ago and gladly paid for it when it was shareware, and I still would. Many thanks.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Anonymous
30 July 2004
Great launcher utility for the Mac. Like the ability to use the trash can on top of finder/apps. Thanks to keeping it freeware.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Anonymous
30 July 2004
A-Dock is very easy to use ! To add an idtem, just drag and drop it with the shift key down. No need to do that by a boring editor or preference pane. (Some people need to read the Quick help file before complaining here) PS : We are waiting only one new feature : multi-dock
Like
Version 1.2.4
Peter da Silva
22 July 2004
So... How *do* you add new favorite folders to ADock without editing the preferences file? I've been using Butler, and adding favorites through the configuration window is at least possible, though I'd rather drag and drop them into its docklet... and it has bags more features. But ADock *feels* more docklike. Now I'm torn. I guess I'll try both for a while.
Like
Version 1.2.3
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 July 2004
Well, the way I do it is by pressing the "Shift" key while selecting the desired folder. I keep the "Shift" key pressed as I move the folder to the A-Dock. Existing fave folders move aside where I decide to drop the chosen folder. There you go, a new fave folder is recognized. No probs. Hope this helps.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Peter da Silva
Peter da Silva
23 July 2004
Cool, well, sorta. Now how do you move them around? Shift-drag drags the whole shooting match!
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 July 2004
Just select the fave folder on the A-Dock and drag it left or right, WITHOUT pressing anything else (ie- don't press "Shift", etc...). You'll see that the other folders will shift to make room for the folder you're dragging. Then, just release when you get the folder where you want it. That should do it. Rock on!
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
22 July 2004
I love it! Best of the freeware launchers, and better than many of the $$$ launchers. I love it! It really saves a lot of hassle. BTW, did I mention that I love it? ;-) Thanks to the developer.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
30 May 2004
To "replace" Apple Dock with A-Dock: First, strip off all icons off the Apple Dock. In the Preferences folder, find "com.apple.dock.plist". Find the key "" and set it to 1 or 0.1. Save the change and relaunch the Dock (or just log out and back in) and your Dock is only about 5mm square no matter how many icons are in there. Pin it to the top-right using TinkerTool and set it to the Hide mode. Apple Dock is now practically invisible and it won't show up at all. The hotspot is so thin between the Menu Bar and the Desktop that even if you happen to hit it it would be so small and you won't notice unless you look for it. Setting that up, use A-Dock as your replacement for the Dock. The only drawback is that minimized windows won't be in the A-Dock, but you can still access them via menu. All this without having to resort to patching the system.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
13 May 2004
Call me slow but I gave up testing this app. It refused to let me add a favorite to the dock even after countless variations of using the mouse and shift key. The app made up my mind for me right when I was getting frustrated wrestling with the popup menu while still trying to add a favorite, it crashed! Adios, A-Dock! iMac 800Mhz OS 10.3.3
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Peter da Silva
Peter da Silva
22 July 2004
I had the same problem, the only way to add a favorite seems to be to run the program and make it a favorite from the menu... or edit the preferences file and add an URL string to the favorites lift... which implies that you can make anything you can describe as an URL to Adock.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
13 February 2004
suits me well, i now have a spot for some extra apps and have 2 docks. its nice for ejecting removable drives too.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Ozzpot
22 January 2004
I only downloaded this because I was desperate to have a skinned dock again, now that I use Panther which Skin-a-dock does not yet support. I was reluctant to use it because I love Apples' dock so much. I thought I'd miss stuff like magnification (call me shallow if you will), and I thought it a shame to have to use another application that does basically the same as Apples' built in dock. But now I have done it, I am very happy with it. I don't use any of the spring-loaded stuff or whatever, but my dock is now beautifully skinned, has a shadow, and a nice colour of "App running arrow" that I can actually see against my desktop. All I care about are the cosmetics of the thing, but the functionality is great too. It works just like it should, plus does more things that I will probably never use. Well worth your $7.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
21 December 2003
Question: Does a license for A-Dock carry over to A-Dock-X?
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 December 2003
Yes.
Like
Version 1.0.1
tom2323
17 December 2003
Is that Watanabi? or Wannabe? Drop the mega-‘tude, loser. I have “The Dock” stuck to the right corner of my screen for extra apps.... but it still pops up when you get too close & guess what?... there's no way to click and raise or lower it, or customize it much at all. And wasn't that the driving force behind every previous Mac OS, customize-ability???. The Dock's always there, or it's always popping up. Guess Apple found “up & down” buttons too hard to program. I have a 15” screen. I need all the real estate I can get. My opinion of the A-Dock is what it is, and I stand by every word. Let's try to leave the personally disparaging remarks out of software reviews, say whot, “little brain”? Five stars it was, and five stars it remains. If you want to suck up Apple's jive as is, and not demand they do better (Remember, they USED to BE better..... or were you in grade school back then?). Either way, you've defined yourself as a Windoz “follower drone type”. Hey that's cool. But A-Dock STILL Rocks.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 December 2003
As a Mac user since pre-System 6, I'm not aware of any point in the history of the Mac OS where the driving force was customizability. Rather it has been, for the most part, ease-of-use and approachability when it wasn't "get an OS update out now so we can make some money!" The OSX Dock is one of the biggest advances in usability, approachability, and basic good sense since the original Apple menu. I said the ORIGINAL Apple menu, not that horrid abomination submenus from hell that I need to modify my System Folder to change thing it became in System 7. I tried A-Dock and, upon startup, was presented with an ugly little clone of Apple's Dock on the right side of my screen, with a (very) few additions of questionable utility (a Desktop folder menu and mounted servers listing off the Finder icon? Why? Why would i want /Users in there when I don't have permissions to do anything with 90% of the items listed?) It doesn't support an application's dock menu either. But oh yeah, it's themable. Use A-Dock or not, pay for it or not; I don't care, but don't pretend it's as good or as integrated as the standard Dock that's free as a feature of OS X. BTW - Up & Down buttons? What are you talking about?
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 January 2004
The Dock has had the ability to be customized from the pull down apple menu in th eleft corner in Finder APPLE>DOCK You can adjust settings there Also in System Preferences you can customize the dock
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
16 December 2003
Crikey! Looks like tom2323 is the developer's boyfriend. Tom, if you've such a problem with the OSX dock why not switch to Windows? It's the perfect OS for moaners like yourself. On the review front I must say it is a handy piece of software. Not indespensible but handy. I myself can live without it but nevertheless give it 3 stars.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
23 October 2003
A-dock was the first, & remains the best shareware app I've ever registered & paid for. I've used it on every possible rev of OS 9, & figured, as others here have said, that it might be superfluous in X. NOT! NOT! NOT! NOT! NOT! If anything, in OS X A-dock is an absolutely CRITICAL lifesaving necesssity. No question. Let's face it, “The Apple Dock” bites the large hairy hard one. It represents everything that Steve Jobs seems to be about these days... Max on the Glitz, with true Microsoftian disinterest in user functionality. “The Dock” is a pain in the butt to configure & is marginally useful. That's being kind. My wife (who can't figure out, & therefore hates all computers) thinks The Dock “looks cute”. Get the picture?. Try this. Buy this. Pay for this. $7 bucks? There are jerks out there asking $49.99 to $99.99 for “Stupidware”. This one's a no-brainer. A-dock remains at the number one spot on my list of shareware values (Windowshade is #2 though buggier). Look, You can add ANTHING to A-dock... a sound, a folder a file, an entire hard drive... This is one classy elegant, productive, constantly evolving STABLE piece of software. Try it, I think you'll end up banishing ”The Dock” where I now have it stuck.... on the side of the screen containing the few things I can't cram into A-dock..... & it still pisses me off when I run the curser too close, & it jumps happily out from the side of the screen.... just to annoy me. Go Jerome!!!!! Tom Perri
Like
Version 0.9.9