Back to Back up user prefs page
Back up user prefs free download for Mac

Back up user prefs Reviews

4.4a
07 June 2005

AppleScript backs up your user preferences.

Roberto5
15 December 2002

Most helpful

The script doesn't work on my machine and I can't find the bug because it's saved as a compilated script. I would appreciate the script if it were saved in plain text form.
Like
Version 1.2

Read 19 Back up user prefs User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jbmelby
07 June 2005
A new version has been posted to eliminate installer problems. The installation method has been changed to manual installation. If you have successfully installed v 4.4 using the installer, you do not need to download this version.
Like
Version 4.4a
Jbmelby
09 May 2005
Please note: Back up user prefs 4.3.3 is not currently Tiger-compatible. Although I have officially ceased development on this application, because of popular demand I shall release a Tiger-compatible version in the near future. Please check this page for notification of a new version.
Like
Version 4.3.3
Jbmelby
21 April 2004
There was a corrupted file in the original distribution of v 4.3 which has now been corrected. Anyone who downloaded v 4.3 before 11:00 PM EDT on April 20th should download and install it again. Please accept my apologies!
Like
Version 4.3
Anonymous
21 January 2004
when i run it i get a "parameter error"? OSX 10.2.3
Like
Version 4.2.5
1 answer(s)
M-T Software
M-T Software
17 March 2004
Could you send more information to ? I need to know where during the execution of the program this error occurs, etc. in order to pin down the cause of your problem.
Like
Version 4.2.5
Jbmelby
07 January 2004
Beginning with v 4.2.5, it is no longer the case that "Back up user prefs" will run only on an administrator account (although an administrator account is still required to run "BUUP4.2.2_for_cron").
Like
Version 4.2.5
Painztream
31 December 2003
Yeah, that roxx. Worth any Cent!
Like
Version 4.2
Jbmelby
19 December 2003
PLEASE NOTE: Version 4.2 works for administrator accounts only. (Sorry that I forgot to post this information!) For those having trouble with v 4.2, version 4.1 is available at http://www.m-t-software.com/Back_up_user_prefs-41.dmg.tgz and v 3.0.3 can be downloaded at http://www.m-t-software.com/Back_up_user_prefs-303.dmg.tgz
Like
Version 4.2
Anonymous
15 November 2003
This wonderful application was invaluable in rebuilding my system when my hard drive died recently. I kiss the ground this generous developer walks on. Thank you so very much for such an easy to use tool, one that even THIS L8bloomer can understand.
Like
Version 4.0.6
Anonymous
15 November 2003
Outstanding program. I second what the previous reviewer said. This developer is a great guy!
Like
Version 4.0.6
Anonymous
21 June 2003
This script just keeps getting better, and lemme tell ya, I had a problem and emailed the developer. He replied within just a couple hours. He even sent me a solution to my problem. This is all free of charge. I've NEVER seem this kind of "customer support" ANYWHERE. This is definitely my favorite script of all AppleScripts.
Like
Version 2.4.6
Anonymous
18 June 2003
Very slick script!
Like
Version 2.4.6
Anonymous
16 June 2003
This wonderful and useful utility is elegant, both in it's simplicity and implementation. It has saved my life countless times and it's author gets my very highest praise for constantly improving this invaluable but FREE jewel.
Like
Version 2.4.5
Ron-West
08 June 2003
Does just what it claims to! Use it!
Like
Version 2.4.4
Brian-Radford
22 May 2003
X9: There's an ancient saying that states: "There is more happiness in giving then there is in receiving" This may very well be the answer to your question regarding why this developer is giving away such an awesome tool! ;-)
Like
Version 2.4.4
Anonymous
21 May 2003
This application is AppleScript used brilliantly. Five shining stars!
Like
Version 2.4.3
Anonymous
18 April 2003
This saved me time and frustration when I ran into a preference problem. Was a little nervous following the instructions for restoring a previous backed up pref folder due to his warnings through the process. But all proceeded find and I was back to work in no time. Thank you!
Like
Version 2.4
X9
02 March 2003
What is with this guy? I mean, seriously, this is a KICK ASS program he's giving away for free. It's easy, convenient, and very handy, and best of all- FREE. He upgrades it often (I've been using it since version 2.3.2 and in the past two months, he's done 4 upgrades. It's a very stable, helpful, and considerate AppleScript. And 2.3.6 adds these nifty little features that make me do the happy dance!
Like
Version 2.3.6
Roberto5
23 December 2002
I've had some troubles using BackUp User prefs. I may have done some mistakes. After two or three attempts, it makes now its work perfectly.
Like
Version 1.2
Roberto5
15 December 2002
The script doesn't work on my machine and I can't find the bug because it's saved as a compilated script. I would appreciate the script if it were saved in plain text form.
Like
Version 1.2