Just a comment. The listed developer (AceTools) now has no mention of this product whatsoever on their website.
Either the developer has changed and it's not yet reflected here, or anywhere else (including Google), or as expressed in three year old comments below, there's something odd going on here.
I'm therefore faced with a product updated by goodness knows who, with an apparent $30 pricetag that would allow me to view (monitor) pagerank for 20 domains.
I don't think so! At least, not without vastly more information.
While I have not had any interaction with this developer or used their products, I would suggest caution, especially if you are considering any of their fee based products.
On visiting their website, the extent of information available for this product is what is in the MacUpdate description. The total amount of infor for their paid products is little more. The only support they offer is via a single e-mail address.
There is nothing about the developer, or the company on its website, other than the single email address. There is no FAQ, or indication of where they are located. There is no way of reporting issues, or any more information about their product or what it does, other than a single screenshot.
While I have no concrete reason to suggest avoiding this company/developer, the overall impression that they convey raises some 'red flags' for me and as such I would suggest being a bit wary when doing business with this developer/company until their actions prove otherwise.
Thank you for pointing out that it is also listed on Apple's web site. However the only additional information that listing provides is the release date and the fact a minor bug was fixed. Clicking on the 'Company' link directs the user to the same web page mentioned above. Just because a company is listed on Apple's web site does not necessary improve their credibility, reliability or long term viability. Sorry but the 'red flag's are still flying.
In other words, my post was not meant to mean anything other than this software is also listed at apple.com. Nothing more nor less, nothing bad, good, or indifferent. A simple statement of fact and not an endorsement or recommendation of any sort.
Thank you for the education on FWIW. As I am not a texter, I assumed they were either your screen name or your initials.
As for my comments: i generally find legitimate sites offering additional information such as physical addresses, bio's or background on the company/developer, FAQ's, more detailed info about the products, mission statements, and maybe even a phone number. For all I know this developer could be a college student trying to earn tuition for MIT or Cal Tech, a front for Bin Ladin, or anything in between.
There are currently no troubleshooting comments. If you are experiencing a problem with this app, please post a comment.
+26
Either the developer has changed and it's not yet reflected here, or anywhere else (including Google), or as expressed in three year old comments below, there's something odd going on here.
I'm therefore faced with a product updated by goodness knows who, with an apparent $30 pricetag that would allow me to view (monitor) pagerank for 20 domains.
I don't think so! At least, not without vastly more information.
+940
+5
+149
On visiting their website, the extent of information available for this product is what is in the MacUpdate description. The total amount of infor for their paid products is little more. The only support they offer is via a single e-mail address.
There is nothing about the developer, or the company on its website, other than the single email address. There is no FAQ, or indication of where they are located. There is no way of reporting issues, or any more information about their product or what it does, other than a single screenshot.
While I have no concrete reason to suggest avoiding this company/developer, the overall impression that they convey raises some 'red flags' for me and as such I would suggest being a bit wary when doing business with this developer/company until their actions prove otherwise.
+2
+334
+2
+149
+2
+334
In other words, my post was not meant to mean anything other than this software is also listed at apple.com. Nothing more nor less, nothing bad, good, or indifferent. A simple statement of fact and not an endorsement or recommendation of any sort.
I leave the red flags to others such as yourself.
+2
+149
As for my comments: i generally find legitimate sites offering additional information such as physical addresses, bio's or background on the company/developer, FAQ's, more detailed info about the products, mission statements, and maybe even a phone number. For all I know this developer could be a college student trying to earn tuition for MIT or Cal Tech, a front for Bin Ladin, or anything in between.