Back to ffmpegX 0.0.9y-L r2 page
ffmpegX free download for Mac

ffmpegX Reviews

0.0.9y-L r2
04 August 2011

Versatile video encoder & decoder; supports many formats.

GeogProf
31 July 2011

Most helpful

“Oh my God...is that.......Lazarus? It is, it IS Lazarus!” “I thought he was dead.” “He was dead, for at least 2 or 3 years, but someone brought him back to life.” “That’s not natural, man. Just look at him; He can barely walk, he’s nothing but skin and bones, and he looks like he’s in a lot of pain.” “Oooh...he stinks, too! I can smell him all the way from here!” “Yeah, whoever brought him back didn’t do him any favor. All his friends have either died, moved out of town, or just moved on to bigger and better things. And they hang out with a whole different crowd now, too. Even his wife got remarried, and to a much younger dude! Who’s gonna hang out with that shriveled up, sad looking boney cripple who smells like ass in August?” “Not me, man. In fact, I have a date tonight with Lazarus’ hot, nubile cousin iFFmpeg!” “Yeah, I’d like to git me some of that!” “When I’m done with her, you can — she even costs $5 less than Lazarus does despite his sorry state, and she’s got more chops in her young ass than Lazarus ever did, even in his prime.” “Jeez, that ain’t right. When something’s dead, it should stay dead.” “Word."
Like (5)
Version 0.0.9y-L

Read ffmpegX 257 Reviews

Rate this app:

g-balogh
03 October 2015
Like
Version 0.0.9y-L r2
Fabro
29 September 2013
Like
Version 0.0.9y-L r2
GeogProf
01 October 2012
Anyone know if this works on Mountain Lion?
Like
Version 0.0.9y-L r2
GeogProf
01 October 2012
Is v. 0.0.9z still in the works (as the developer said in his reply to Yazarim below)? That would be GREAT because although I bought and regularly use iFFmpeg — probably the best overall video app available (especially at only $12) — it’s best at transcoding rather than the many utility video manipulations (e.g. demuxing, cropping, muxing, joining, etc.) that ffmpegX was good at. If it were updated, I’d use it at least once a week.
Like
Version 0.0.9y-L r2
Aargl
03 July 2012
Well, I thought until a few days ago this was my only choice, with iFFmpeg, to convert .ts files, but I have errors reading those files now and searched for alternatives. Try "Free MTS M2TS Converter" and you'll be amazed as I was! (http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/42968/free-mts-m2ts-converter) Cropping and the likes are easy as can be, no crash, works for many formats if not all, what can one want more? P.S.: for those who don't know yet .ts can be either MPEG2 or H264 and the latter is not managed by MpegStreamclip or this.
Like
Version 0.0.9y-L r2
5 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
04 July 2012
Aargl, you have this review on both this listing and iFFmpeg, could you clarify for me if you were experiencing the same thing with both pieces of software?
Like
Aargl
Aargl
04 July 2012
Yes indeed. :-) Unfortunately. I must say I was rather a (sporadic) user of ffmegX rather than iFFmpeg and it worked for me in the past, but at that time I wasn't aware of the different blends of .ts so it's very likely that the ones I succeeded converting then were mpeg2 while the ones I need to convert now are all H264, I suppose this is the issue. I was so happy that I have discovered a freeware that does the job so easily and fast that I wanted to share this news with the other users of MacUpdate, that's why I have only commented and not reviewed! I'm not related in anyway to the makers of M2TS converter. Is it a problem to share my experience with the other members or should I only give 5 stars to the products I love and be silent regarding anything else? ;-) Keep on rocking, Ryan! MacUpdate forever! :-D
Like
Aargl
Aargl
04 July 2012
To show you I'm a good boy ;-) there's also Media Converter which is great for my purpose, and 64 bits but has very few settings. (I found both M2TS converter and Media Converter thanks to MacUpdate! :-) To be even more precise: with the same files, ffmepgX doesn't even load them while iFFmpeg does but crashes when I launch the conversion. Once again M2TS Converter and Media Converter both do the job without an itch.
Like
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
04 July 2012
You most definitely can recommend other software :) In this case I just wanted to clarify. Thanks for all the support of MU, we appreciate it!
Like
Aargl
Aargl
04 July 2012
I was just kidding, of course. ;-) Long live MU! :-)
Like
Semplicita
12 September 2011
Like
Version 0.0.9y-L r2
Mammut
25 August 2011
Like
Version 0.0.9y-L r2
69number69
16 August 2011
It's nice to see ffmpegX is back again.I'm registered user a lot of years,but the last 2 years very rare i used.I forgot it! But now with the new updates i started again. It works like a charm in Lion!
Like (2)
Version 0.0.9y-L r2
Macinman
04 August 2011
I have to say I'm surprised to see this application updated. I thought it had become dead software as it hadn't been updated in so long. I used to use it quite a bit before switching to iffmpeg. I'll trly the new version to see how it works these days :)
Like
Version 0.0.9y-L r2
major4-1
03 August 2011
I'm posting today a bugfix version restoring DVD soft subtitles encoding and consolidating several components compatibility with OSX "Lion". Thanks to Yazarim and anyone who sent me reports.
Like
Version 0.0.9y-L
PorkPieHat
02 August 2011
OMG, it must be 1997 again. From the “new” version’s (o.0.9y-L) ReadMe: "Make sure that your startup disk has no spaces or special characters in its name.” Indeed, that could really throw my DOS for a loop.
Like (1)
Version 0.0.9y-L
2 answer(s)
major4-1
major4-1
02 August 2011
Well, it is just some third party command line tools not liking it, as this is just a GUI.
Like
major4-1
major4-1
02 August 2011
I should add the requirement is not strict. My startup disk is named "Macintosh HD" and I can use the app for 99% of the use cases.
Like
Yazarim
01 August 2011
I download the thing, I do not understand anything about how to use it (the online manual is fixed on Toast 6, and I have 11!). In any case I pay the 15 $ registration fee. PayPal says OK. Did I receive a key, a code, a number, you name it? No. Probably the developer is spending his well deserved summer holidays…
Like
Version 0.0.9y-L
4 answer(s)
major4-1
major4-1
02 August 2011
@Yazarim: Thank you for your support. I'm not in holidays, and I did not receive a registration under the name "Yazarim". Most probably it is under another name and it has been processed immediately but it landed in your spamfolder or there has been some other email-related issue. Please in any case contact me directly at major4@mac.com about this kind of issues if you want to have them solved within a few minutes. I found your comment here by chance.
Like
Yazarim
Yazarim
02 August 2011
@major. Not "immediately" but after several hours of waiting on my part… And I do not have any spam folder. And, since we are here, a little "polishing" to your manuals so that even dumb people like me can understand what to do? Upgrading from Toast 6 to,Toast 11, for istance?
Like
major4-1
major4-1
02 August 2011
@Yazarim, I should have been writing to allow up to a few hours for processing registrations as I answer manually. You're right for the need of updates in the manual, I will do it for 0.0.9z – about Toast, it is used just for burning so of course you can use the latest version, or you can also burn with Disk Utility. If you have support questions, please email to major4@mac.com and I will be glad to help.
Like (1)
Yazarim
Yazarim
03 August 2011
My apologies to the developer. We had a very quick exchange of emails and my problems were solved (not only MY problems, I think…). Very sono there should be a new version… Very well working
Like (1)
Joshmunkey
31 July 2011
ffmpegX used to be my go-to for video encoding... and it still has that potential, if Major has some big things up his sleeve that he's been keeping hush-hush for years. But frankly, applications like Handbrake have suited me fine for quite some time in ffmpegX's absence. It'll take some convincing to draw me back, but I'll keep apprised of where ffmpegX goes in the coming weeks/months. If Major wants to really wow me, he'll tackle an area relatively neglected by most encoding apps: robust handling of stylized subtitles ((advanced) substation alpha) with regards to burn-in on encoding. It's an anime fan niche to be sure, but frankly with how jam-packed the encoder app scene is these days maybe appeasing a subculture would be a smart way to stand out.
Like (3)
Version 0.0.9y-L
GeogProf
31 July 2011
“Oh my God...is that.......Lazarus? It is, it IS Lazarus!” “I thought he was dead.” “He was dead, for at least 2 or 3 years, but someone brought him back to life.” “That’s not natural, man. Just look at him; He can barely walk, he’s nothing but skin and bones, and he looks like he’s in a lot of pain.” “Oooh...he stinks, too! I can smell him all the way from here!” “Yeah, whoever brought him back didn’t do him any favor. All his friends have either died, moved out of town, or just moved on to bigger and better things. And they hang out with a whole different crowd now, too. Even his wife got remarried, and to a much younger dude! Who’s gonna hang out with that shriveled up, sad looking boney cripple who smells like ass in August?” “Not me, man. In fact, I have a date tonight with Lazarus’ hot, nubile cousin iFFmpeg!” “Yeah, I’d like to git me some of that!” “When I’m done with her, you can — she even costs $5 less than Lazarus does despite his sorry state, and she’s got more chops in her young ass than Lazarus ever did, even in his prime.” “Jeez, that ain’t right. When something’s dead, it should stay dead.” “Word."
Like (5)
Version 0.0.9y-L
3 answer(s)
Yazarim
Yazarim
01 August 2011
But unfortunately iFFmpeg does not do anything with subtitles. Or am I wrong?
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
03 August 2011
Yazarim, I’m not sure what you mean. iFFmpeg does support subtitles. Settings for it are on the first page of the “Advanced” settings (page titled “General”). Right now, it may not be the most complete app for movie en/transcoding with subtitles, but it supports them fine for my purposes. AFIK, its developer has already surpassed all other attempts to create a GUI for the entire ffmpeg specification, but he’s not done yet — I’ve never seen a dev build out a system so systematically or rapidly. He adds new capabilities every couple of weeks that would take other devs months to get right. And he’s the most responsive dev in history — just look at the comments on his MacUpdate page of the literally dozens of people whose requests for features he added within a week or two (I asked for 3 separate features, and each was added to a newly released version within 4 days!). I’d bet serious money that he’d add anything you want within a month, as long as it’s part of the ffmpeg spec. But it’s an unbelievably ambitious and comprehensive roadmap, so the chances of your request not being part of the spec are pretty low. Check for yourself: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/35846/iffmpeg .
Like
Yazarim
Yazarim
05 August 2011
@Formica. I read on their FAQ page: "- iFFmpeg cannot handle burning subtitles. Why? iFFmpeg is a front-end for FFmpeg which means it is depending on the possibilities of FFmpeg itself. With the current FFmpeg versions it is not possible to burn subtitles. However, If this becomes available, iFFmpeg will support this." Did I understand wrong? http://www.iffmpeg.com/styled/howto.html
Like
Leoofborg
31 July 2011
Major *is* still working on this. The main problem is if you did not do an 'upgrade' to Lion and if the MPlayerOSX binaries are missing (mine were not). Information at this link: http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/337435-ffmpegX-0-0-9y-L-for-Mac-OSX-10-7-Lion-released Looks like a 'z' version is coming soon...
Like (1)
Version 0.0.9y-L
Guguilviz
30 June 2011
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Corpsecorps
01 August 2009
The old question: Is this project DEAD? What about 1.0? Work under way, or abandoned? Site has looked the same for a LONG time. Discussion continues on the forum, but Major hasn't posted in ages. :(
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Aikousha
12 January 2009
Where is Progress.app? Good questiion, since it's in the package itself, yet, the dialogs do not let you navigate to inside a package... So everytime I try to use it, it just takes a couple of minutes to locate every app on every connected drive... gives the selection dialog, and any exit attempt (by selection or cancellation) ends up with the GUI's "Encode" button waiting to be pressed again. How can an app not locate a tool that's part of itself? Anybody have a simple fix for this?
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Vanhooteghem
26 December 2008
When encoding a .mov into another format, ffmpeg makes an html file en refers to my Firefox working under Windows (parallels)
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Bambooken
24 December 2008
Does ffmpegX stitch videos together?
Like
Version 0.0.9y
1 answer(s)
Flash1296
Flash1296
04 August 2011
BEST way to "stitch" is to use Visual Hub.
Like
Chris-Fam
05 December 2008
Too bad still cannot convert RM and RMVB video. Penguin --- a late comer already did that also using mencoder binaries.
Like
Version 0.0.9y
BobaFett555
07 June 2008
Freezes completely when I try to open a file with it.
Like (3)
Version 0.0.9y
3 answer(s)
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
29 September 2008
Shouldn't review it if you can't use it!
Like (5)
Version 0.0.9y
BobaFett555
BobaFett555
29 September 2008
My opinion is invalid because of a problem out of my control? Tell you what, if you're so smart, then you tell me how to fix it.
Like (2)
Version 0.0.9y
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
11 April 2009
"If i'm so smart"? Did i claim i was? It just doesn't make sense to give something the minimum rating if you never actually investigated it's functionality. Since other people obviously HAVE used it successfully, that suggests the problem lies with the files you're operating on, a conflict on your system, missing libraries, or something you're doing wrong. It would just be more appropriate to post a comment or troubleshooting post. You can't really objectively review software never having actually used it's features.
Like (5)
Version 0.0.9y
Squida
07 May 2008
I am also having problems with the "progress.app". I have tried to crtl-click to download. I have removed the ".intel.txt" from the end of the file and yet I still am having problems. Any help would be appreciated.
Like
Version 0.0.9y
1 answer(s)
Squida
Squida
07 May 2008
I found the answer elsewhere... to locate progress.app simply click the ffmpegX icon in the applications window. This solved all the problems and the software is working BEAUTIFULLY. Thanks
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Slvtnplt
06 April 2008
When I try to encode, it asks me for "Progress.app". I read some of the earlier comments that said it's in the "ffmpegx bundle" but I can't seem to be able to view the package info or anything? When I try to preview, it gives me this error message: --- libdvdread: Couldn't find device name. Using AltiVec optimized IMDCT transform Checking for AltiVec resampler : 0x00000002, 2 Using AltiVec optimized resampler The selected video_out device is incompatible with this codec. Also, try adding the scale filter, e.g. -vf spp,scale instead of -vf spp. MPlayer interrupted by signal 11 in module: decode_video - MPlayer crashed by bad usage of CPU/ FPU/RAM. Recomple MPlayer with --enable-debug and make a 'gdb' backtrace and disassembly. Details in DOCS/HTML/en/ bugreports_what.html#bugreports_crash. -MPlayer crashed. This should happen. It can be a bug in the MPlayer code _or_ in your drivers _or_ in your gcc version. If you think it's MPlayer's fault, please read DOCS/HTML/en/bugreports.html and follow the instructions there. We can't and won't help unless you provide this information when reporting a possible bug. Quartz error: CDSequenceEnd (-50) --- Yeah, sorry, REALLY long. But any help would be appreciated! ffmpegx used to work fantastically for me, so I have no idea what's up with all this.
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Mrtn
27 January 2008
Whu can't subtitles be burnt in the iPhone preset?
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Bugdave
27 January 2008
It's good to know that this application is still being developed. Thanks!
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Dom21
27 January 2008
The URL supplied by the app to download the mpeg2enc component doesn't work for me: http://mjpeg.sourceforge.net/MacOS/mpeg2enc.intel
Like
Version 0.0.9y
6 answer(s)
Dom21
Dom21
27 January 2008
And what is this "progress.app" it keeps asking for?
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Dom21
Dom21
28 January 2008
I'm using Safari Version 3.0.4 (523.12.2). I had no trouble with the other two downloads, maybe because they end in ".zip"? I've never seen a file end with 'intel' before. Thanks for answering about progress.app, but if it's bundled in why does it ask where it is?
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Neonblue2
Neonblue2
29 January 2008
That is really odd. Can you still download it though? And just check inside ffmpegX for the progress app. Right click, Show Package Contents, and it should be inside the Resources folder.
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Phaedracook
Phaedracook
07 February 2008
I am having the same problem with this version asking for progress.app. I've done a search for this file and it is not bundled. I may look for an older version of ffmpeg. Maybe this one has a problem?
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Dom21
Dom21
08 February 2008
Neonblue2, since my last post I figured out a way to dl the needed file, but by now I forget how lol. Also the progress app was indeed inside but for some reason was not being recognized. With the successful download accomplished I'm happy to say all is well. Although... I wish ffmpeg or some other program would let a Mac Intel user reencode the old Indeo3,4,5 codecs.
Like
Version 0.0.9y
ianianianian
ianianianian
04 March 2008
Or if you're using safari (not sure about other browsers), paste the URL into the downloads window. You'll still have to remove the .txt from the end.
Like
Version 0.0.9y
Kmsm
23 December 2007
the only converting app you might need
Like (1)
Version 0.0.9xr2
Corpsecorps
16 December 2007
Badly needs an update to 'y'. Or hopefully to version 1.0.0? Nothing for a long time. 8'o( .
Like
Version 0.0.9xr2
Brian Kendig
02 January 2007
A really useful program. The only annoyance is that it mishandles the height and width of video files - for example, I have an mpeg file recorded from TV in 4:3 aspect ratio, and ffmpegX says that the video is "480x480" resolution; and when I select a Quick Preset to convert it to, it defaults to wanting to make it "640x352" which is 16:9 widescreen (which ends up stretching the video). Every time I select a Quick Preset, I have to hit the Video tab and change it back to 4:3 output.
Like
Version 0.0.9xr2
Aikousha
08 December 2006
I just want to convert a 320MB MPG4/AAC file from a camcorder with self created subtitles, to an MPEG4 or XVID AVI file, reducing the file to half the size (about 170MB). The program allows me to do all the proper selections (except some refuse to let me set the subtitles to position 92% -- which is mandatory, subtitles aren't subtitles when they appear centered at the 2/3 mark from the top). The preview looks perfect, but in all 4 video out selections, the progress box, in about 1-2 seconds, rings, and says it is complete, with a zero size file as output. I even tried audio passthrough to hopefully reduce conflicts -- no luck. Everytime I've ever tried this program, this is the result. If for some reason, it can't go from one type to another, it should tell you, and offer suggestions, not output "completed". What's up with this... I do like the tools UI revamp, but the program seriously needs more of this kind of UI redo. And I don't know if it works in the tools, since I tried to mux another video MP4 and AAC, and it keeps failing... but both files are playable through QT, VLC, MPlayer, and practically everything else I have. In the end, I had to recode with QTpro, which took a couple of hours, instead of the hopeful quick job through ffmpegx.
Like (1)
Version 0.0.9xr2
Bucho
15 October 2006
I've been away from Mac OS X for awhile, but I've finally ditched my PC for a new iMac. I must say, in all that time, one of the apps I missed terribly was ffmpegX. There is simply no tool for the PC that comes close.
Like
Version 0.0.9xr2
smtips
25 July 2006
This is a comparison of encoding an IDENTICAL file, the first encoding on a G4 Sawtooth PPP machine, the second on a new iMac Intel G5 2.0GHz machine. My only question is WHY are these different?? If you notice, the G4 is outputting in XVID codec even though Avi Divx is the selected encoder. Talk about a BIG BUG, this is apparently why this won't export Divx properly on my G4. And YES all the binaries are installed correctly on both machines. All output settings are exactly the same on both machines, we have the same version of the app and everything. I'd sure like the authors to address this question. G4: Forcing output fourcc to 58564944 [XVID] Building audio filter chain for 48000Hz/2ch/s16be -> 44100Hz/0ch/s8... Building audio filter chain for 48000Hz/2ch/s16be -> 44100Hz/2ch/s16be... VDec: vo config request - 672 x 272 (preferred colorspace: Planar YV12) VDec: using Planar YV12 as output csp (no 0) Movie-Aspect is 2.47:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect. SwScaler: using unscaled Planar YV12 -> Planar YV12 special converter videocodec: libavcodec (672x272 fourcc=58564944 [XVID]) Writing AVI header... G5: Forcing output fourcc to 58564944 [DIVX] VDec: vo config request - 672 x 272 (preferred colorspace: Planar YV12) VDec: using Planar YV12 as output csp (no 0) Movie-Aspect is 2.47:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect. SwScaler: using unscaled Planar YV12 -> Planar YV12 special converter videocodec: libavcodec (672x272 fourcc=58564944 [DIVX]) Writing header...
Like
Version 0.0.9wr5
smtips
24 July 2006
Well I tried this again because I'm a glutton for punishment. This time I cranked the video bitrate up to 1350 from the appr. normal default of ~940 that the program puts on a 700 meg (appr 1 hr or so) file. I thought that may solve this issue of it not making Divx files that are playable on Divx home players like the philips dvp642. Silly me...I've wasted my time again. They can't get it right. Interestingly enough...I can take a file that won't convert in Dvision, convert it in ffmpegx, then re-convert it again in Dvision and usually it will work in my philips. But these guys say they offer DIVX exporting they're pulling your leg. The option may be named that in the app, it might LOOK like a Divx file on the computer when you look at Movie info in QT or VLC, but it is NOT or it would just work on a divx player.
Like
Version 0.0.9wr5
1 answer(s)
Bastibense
Bastibense
03 October 2006
Same problem here with my Sony player. The problem with most players is that they only support DivX(1) video. AFAIK, ffmpeg and mencoder only encode DivX3, which is a different codec afterall. Dvision allows you to encode it to DivX(1) and that's why it plays fine on your player. ~Cheetah
Like
Version 0.0.9xr2
smtips
03 July 2006
Does this fix the problem of re-coding muxed mpeg4 to divx and having them play on a Philips DVP642 player? Because I did a buttload of those and then I discovered that NONE of them will play on the philips player even though they appeared to encode just fine and play on the computer just fine, and VLC and Quicktime identifies them as Divx 4.1.2. I wasted a lot of time reencoding those and pretty much gave up on ffmpegx being reliable at all if this kind of garbage is gonna go on. The REASON they won't play is, ffmpegx was encoding the bitrate at less than half of what it said it was...e.g., the windows all said the video bitrate of the output was like 940 kbits/second then the final was only playing at 550 or less and sometimes under 450. This jibes with the speed they finished too, I thought it was about 20 minutes faster than all the other video converters out there and couldn't figger out why (G4 1.2 GHz) all the others would take 45 minutes to an hour and this was whipping thru them in about 25 minutes. Guess VLC and QT can play the slower bitrates but not settop players. There's no reason for this kind of ridiculous screwup and I'd be interested to hear from anyone converting muxed mpg's to Divx Avi's using this app that has had the output play successfully on a Philips player, cuz they are supposed to play ALL divx formats. Note that I'm not talking about a re-conversion of some exotic XVID format that was made on a PC with stupid wma audio or anything like that, these were simple muxed mpeg4 and ffmpegx wasted a whole lot of time deceiving me into thinking it was doing them fine.
Like
Version 0.0.9wr5
Sbr286
25 June 2006
I have use this software a little and found i to do what it says it will very well. I had no problems installing the additional binaries at all, and I find the somewhat rude comments by others more than slightly discourteous.
Like
Version 0.0.9w
Rog
24 May 2006
I was not able to get the extra files to install either. It keeps asking for them on startup. Hitting cancel will let me do some things, but it would be nice to get it all working properly.
Like
Version 0.0.9w
Tui
01 May 2006
I used ffmpegX for the first time today. Did everything I asked it to. Very cool.
Like
Version 0.0.9w
Th3macjedi
01 May 2006
This software has been in my toolkit since almost the first verison, and it only gets better, and easier. That it costs only 15 bucks is amazing! Need to edit a dvd for a customers infomercial? got a home video that needs to be a different format? get it all done pro level with FFMPEGX!
Like
Version 0.0.9w
smtips
30 April 2006
It works. BUT even after over a year they still can't get their head together enough to make these binaries install correctly through the window they SAY will install them just fine. You have to manually install the files, you have to create ffmpegx in Application support and drag them there or you will see the below message pop up from the install window that's SUPPOSED to work and was SUPPOSED to work about 8 versions ago and STILL doesn't...DUH. I have talked to MANY people who have this issue. Authors seem to be completely ignorant about this or would have fixed it what...a YEAR and 8 versions ago?? They sure don't read these reviews or they would be aware of this. ##/bin/sh: -c: line 1: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `'' /bin/sh: -c: line 2: syntax error: unexpected end of file
Like
Version 0.0.9w
2 answer(s)
Gannet
Gannet
08 June 2006
Works fine for me. Maybe you should read the instructions properly next time.
Like
Version 0.0.9w
No_More
No_More
02 October 2006
I've never had the problems you describe and I've been using this software for a couple years now.
Like
Version 0.0.9xr2
Dombi
29 April 2006
This is probably the best $15 you will ever spend. The application support is amazing. The developer is qucik to respond and has been updating ffmpegX for a long time now making it even better. Intel support was something I have been waiting for since I got my Intel Mac. Now we have that too and encoding runs very fast. Usage might seem a bit confusing in the beginning, but take 10 minutes to read through the manual and you will see all the possibilities this application can give you. If you are looking for something to back up your videos with, this is that one application that you will need.
Like
Version 0.0.9w
Tomlee59
12 April 2006
I keep wanting to like this tool, especially given how hard the Major has obviously worked to develop it, and in view of how good his support reportedly is. But I haven't quite gotten there yet. I confess that I am a lazy person who wants tools to work for me, not the other way around. I generally want to back up my DVDs in both XviD and (X,K)VCD formats (yes, VCDs -- because they are playable on my beloved older Macs, while DVDs and DivX movies are not). D-Vision3 does an excellent job of the former without my having to do any thinking. It just works. In particular, I *never* have sync or aspect ratio problems when I use D-Vision. The app does such a thorough job of analyzing the source's characteristics that it chooses aspect ratios, bit rates and frame rates properly. FfmpegX, on the other hand, does a sloppy job at these tasks, so the user is obligated to work much harder to find just the right frame rate, for example, to prevent drifting sync if the original source material has been diabolically authored at a slightly off-standard rate. Worse, it frequently prevents the user from overriding the tool's wrong guess. Grrr. It frequently makes incorrect guesses about aspect ratio, too, again forcing you to figure out the right value. Those criticisms aside, this tool does collect a quite comprehensive array of modules that, given enough effort, primal screaming and pulled hair, a determined user can use to accomplish just about any video-related task. Given time, perhaps the tool will mature to the point where it doesn't force the user to work so hard to get a correct result.
Like
Version 0.0.9v
smtips
30 March 2006
It overwrites files of the same name with NO WARNING. If you have a list queued up and accidentally added the same one twice, first of all it LETS YOU do that, and secondly it just up and overwrites the previous file of exactly the same name without asking. That's EXTREMELY stupid.
Like
Version 0.0.9v
Darkmind
12 February 2006
Very very nice app. With a clean GUI. Yes it certainly takes some getting used to, just because of the number of things you can fiddle with, but the developer has a very comprehensive website, detailing most of the options and check boxes and such, also includes walkthrough guides of how to encode for PSP and DVD and so on, personally I just find out what the options mean, but I've been using it for a while now. My only real issue (whilst learning how to use it I had many problems, but they were usually my fault, not understanding the options and such) is that short clips have synching issues. I was trying to encode a PSP clip that was about 40 seconds long, and it just would not synch up. I extended the clip to a minute, and then it worked. So that was irritating, and it took me a long time to figure out why, especially as the problem made no sense, why a clip with the same audio and video lengths would be out of synch just because of its length. Aside from that though it is a good program, and certainly my first choice when I need to re-code and such
Like
Version 0.0.9v
Video-Tech
12 February 2006
NTSC Specifications for SD Video has pixels at a ratio of 1.1:1 vertical to horizontal (CCITT 601 July 1946)thus giving an appearance of 4:3 while maintaining an actual 3:2 ratio. Anamorphic DVD are 854x480 as per specification (IEEE 3884-September 1991 & ISO 6018 - 1992)
Like
Version 0.0.9v
Matthewshaw
02 February 2006
Please can anyone tell me how to install the all_clients-helix-20041224-macos-gcc3-pb.tar.gz.html All advice appreciated
Like
Version 0.0.9u
Iamaswissguy
22 December 2005
This app is great for what it can do, but it just doesn't do things so well. My two, and only, complaints: - Frequent audio/video out-of-syncness (It starts out fine then gradually looses it). - Low video quality (VOB to MPEG-4 is all I've tried; and yes, I have tried to up the bitrate and such. (I have tried 128 kbps audio 44100 w/e it is audio and 320x240 video with 400 all the way up to 560 kbps.)) So yeah, the idea of the app is incredible, and I love how it can convert back and forth between many, many different formats, but it just needs so touching up. Maybe an easier interface as well.
Like
Version 0.0.9u
Video-Tech
07 December 2005
This program has been pretty much useless since the first release of 0.0.9s. It forces video to be either a 4:3 aspect ratio (DVD video is 720x480, a 3:2 aspect) or letterboxed 16:9 (it won't do the 854x480 of true anamorphic 16:9 used in DVDs). Normal video needs a padding around the picture for the overscan area otherwise you run the risk of losing subtitles and such off the top/bottom/sides of the picture when played even on modern digital televisions (its part of the NTSC specification). This program overrides the padding to its own limited viewpoint.
Like
Version 0.0.9u
1 answer(s)
major4-1
major4-1
08 December 2005
>>DVD video is 720x480, a 3:2 aspect No, DVD video is 4:3 or 16:9 aspect, please note that in DVD piels are not square, so the aspect is never 3:2. >>it won't do the 854x480 of true anamorphic 16:9 used in DVDs No, anamorphic 16:9 DVDs are also 720x480.
Like
Version 0.0.9u
Sbb
01 December 2005
Brilliant application, not for everyone, but this is THE swiss knife of video encoding on Mac OS X... Keep up the good work
Like
Version 0.0.9u
Anonymous
28 November 2005
Awful - what sort of half measure is it not to include 3 of the files you need? When you get them they don't all work! You can't create MOV or MPEG4 files - so all in all this app is pretty useless.
Like
Version 0.0.9t r3
3 answer(s)
major4-1
major4-1
01 December 2005
The current version encodes MOV and MP4 fine. The 3 components are not included to comply with their license.
Like
Version 0.0.9u
Daveecklund
Daveecklund
03 December 2005
I'm thinking the reason that they don't include the binaries for the *nix tools is so they don't deliver a fully-capable "Swiss Army Copyright Infringement Machine" --and then proceed to get their respective arses sued off and/or the project shut down by the MPAA or RIAA (or insert bottom-feeding organization of your choice). It's not that tough to get and install the binaries yourself. Plus you may learn something in the process..
Like
Version 0.0.9u
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
04 December 2005
Wonderful when folks rate software low because of their own ignorance or just narrow view instead of on the software's merits. This software brings together umpteen zillion different operations with an amazing degree of organization and speed and you give it the _worst_ rating possible because you don't understand why some central components can't be included (do you know what "wrapper" means?) and it doesn't do the specific 2 operations _you_ expected it to, even though they may not even have been the intent of the author for all you know. Un-be-lievable!
Like
Version 0.0.9u