Back to MPlayer 1.0 rc2 page
MPlayer free download for Mac

MPlayer Reviews

1.0 rc2
15 May 2009

Movie player supports most video formats.

Dr-Girlfriend
06 June 2009

Most helpful

MPlayer is improving, but it still doesn't hold a candle to VLC yet. Here's why: If you drag a folder onto Mplayer, it will not automatically start playing the files inside. VLC does. This is really a necessary feature if you have hundreds of organized music or video folders and don't want to open each folder, then manually drag the file(s) into MPlayer, just to make a playlist. There is no way to Save a playlist. VLC can. There are no keyboard shortcuts to skip, go back, shuffle, repeat, or add folder. VLC can do this. If you start playing a song and decide you don't like it, click remove. Watch in amazement while MPlayer removes the song, but decides to keep playing it anyway. This behavior is idiotic. Player freezes and stalls frequently. Ex: 1) Started playing an .avi file in fullscreen, pressed ESC key, MPlayer completely froze my computer. Required a Force Quit to regain control. 2) Hovering your cursor over any menu item while a song is playing will cause the song to stall. Remove the cursor from the menu and the song resumes. 3) MPlayer stalls when more files are being added to the playlist if a file is already playing. Playlist window keeps hiding behind other apps. This is annoying if you're trying to drag items into the playlist from several different windows. Can't play .m4a files. VLC, Songbird, Cog, Play, ToolPlayer all play the same files with no issues. When mixed file types are added to Mplayer, it allows all of the songs to show up on the playlist, but will not play any m4a. Skips to next .mp3 in the playlist. Shortcut For Show/Hide Playlist doesn't work. Player starts playing new files when files are dragged into the playlist. It should continue playing current file and not skip to newly added. VLC behaves correctly when new files are being added. No ability to shuffle playlist. The mini player is still too big -- it should be really mini, like Songbird. Does not respond to media keys on Apple keyboards. To be fair, VLC doesn't either, but Songbird does with this little Addon: http://addons.songbirdnest.com/addon/1408 The good thing about MPlayer is that, like VLC, it uses a fairly small amount of system resources compared to iTunes and Songbird, which are both pigs. The interface is straightforward, if a bit bland. There are too many minuses for me to recommend this app, but hopefully, it will continue to improve. You can't argue with the price.
Like (2)
Version 1.0rc2

Read MPlayer 93 Reviews

Rate this app:

pikynicu
08 April 2015
Like
Version 1.0 rc2
TheoXu
11 August 2012
Like
Version 1.0 rc2
Macsweep
21 March 2010
MPlayer does not work to play WMV streams on the sites I visit. It seems to work on just about every other format I need. The only thing I have found to play WMV streaming files is Flip4Mac plugin for QuickTime. Though I was using VLC, but that broke with the latest version.
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Dr-Girlfriend
06 June 2009
MPlayer is improving, but it still doesn't hold a candle to VLC yet. Here's why: If you drag a folder onto Mplayer, it will not automatically start playing the files inside. VLC does. This is really a necessary feature if you have hundreds of organized music or video folders and don't want to open each folder, then manually drag the file(s) into MPlayer, just to make a playlist. There is no way to Save a playlist. VLC can. There are no keyboard shortcuts to skip, go back, shuffle, repeat, or add folder. VLC can do this. If you start playing a song and decide you don't like it, click remove. Watch in amazement while MPlayer removes the song, but decides to keep playing it anyway. This behavior is idiotic. Player freezes and stalls frequently. Ex: 1) Started playing an .avi file in fullscreen, pressed ESC key, MPlayer completely froze my computer. Required a Force Quit to regain control. 2) Hovering your cursor over any menu item while a song is playing will cause the song to stall. Remove the cursor from the menu and the song resumes. 3) MPlayer stalls when more files are being added to the playlist if a file is already playing. Playlist window keeps hiding behind other apps. This is annoying if you're trying to drag items into the playlist from several different windows. Can't play .m4a files. VLC, Songbird, Cog, Play, ToolPlayer all play the same files with no issues. When mixed file types are added to Mplayer, it allows all of the songs to show up on the playlist, but will not play any m4a. Skips to next .mp3 in the playlist. Shortcut For Show/Hide Playlist doesn't work. Player starts playing new files when files are dragged into the playlist. It should continue playing current file and not skip to newly added. VLC behaves correctly when new files are being added. No ability to shuffle playlist. The mini player is still too big -- it should be really mini, like Songbird. Does not respond to media keys on Apple keyboards. To be fair, VLC doesn't either, but Songbird does with this little Addon: http://addons.songbirdnest.com/addon/1408 The good thing about MPlayer is that, like VLC, it uses a fairly small amount of system resources compared to iTunes and Songbird, which are both pigs. The interface is straightforward, if a bit bland. There are too many minuses for me to recommend this app, but hopefully, it will continue to improve. You can't argue with the price.
Like (2)
Version 1.0rc2
Spartan
22 December 2008
The fastest player on my computers, be it PPC or Intel.
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Nc2
12 May 2008
It hangs if I click mouse on video window while using "Quicktime" video module.
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Kevin-Purcell
12 May 2008
The rc2 running on my "entertainment mac" (TiBook G4 867MHz) requires more CPU than the rc1 release. Seems like it isn't an optimized build for my CPU? Or is missing out on Altivec? Measurements with typical xvid files seem to show a file that plays with around 66% CPU on rc1 now requires just about 100% on rc2. So about 50% more CPU for the same video file and same sized output. Also the default output module MPlayerOSX doesn't hide the menu bar for full screen play (a sort of inversion of a previous bug). Not a big win for me!
Like (1)
Version 1.0rc2
Buckaroo-Tofu
05 April 2008
My iBook G4 (1.33 Ghz/10.4.11) experienced a noticable delay between the video and audio when playing AVIs.
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Anoylla
31 March 2008
I don't get it. What is the right program for download? Because, you can see the same name of program with the same icon in different macupdate location, different versioning and different programmer! Take a look: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/10784
Like (1)
Version 1.0rc2
2 answer(s)
Mike-Ratt
Mike-Ratt
04 April 2008
THIS is the right choice. The other link is a proyect of Jan Volf: MPlayerOSX ( http://mplayerosx.sourceforge.net/ ).
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Mike-Ratt
Mike-Ratt
04 April 2008
And possibly a dead proyect (no update since 2005).
Like
Version 1.0rc2
stravedere
08 March 2008
the process mplayer window after some second(in play) does not answer,the player it works regularly. when mplayer remains opened in the dock without to make nothing as tonight, to the morning I have find it occupied 76 mega of ram. leopard 10.5.2 imac august 2007
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Follerec
29 February 2008
Just wondering where MacUpdate got it's binaries from, as I still don't see any in the official mirrors. The only binary that's generally rc2 is from haque.net. I'm just wondering as the download link points to macupdate.com servers and not from external servers.
Like
Version 1.0rc2
2 answer(s)
Nicolasp
Nicolasp
01 March 2008
Dont worry this is the real deal.
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Follerec
Follerec
01 March 2008
Alrighty, great! I'll be giving this a test, although I'm sure it'll work just as great.
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Morpe
29 February 2008
hi! MPlayer can convert Realmedia file to another format like Quicktime and others?
Like
Version 1.0rc2
1 answer(s)
Nicolasp
Nicolasp
29 February 2008
No but have a look at ffmpegx http://homepage.mac.com/major4/
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Katalina42
15 January 2008
Has the command key to display subtitles changed for .mkv files? I used to toggle the 'v' key but now it doesn't work. It's really frustrating!
Like
Version 1.0rc1
M85
02 December 2007
Thanks much Overlook!!! Anybody tried Overlook's build yet on Tiger or Leopard? I'm not technically advanced enough to undo any serious trouble untested software might cause.
Like
Version 1.0rc2
3 answer(s)
stravedere
stravedere
02 December 2007
i have posted link...are not mine builds. regards
Like
Version 1.0rc2
M85
M85
09 December 2007
Thanks much Insomnic!
Like
Version 1.0rc2
nymphe
nymphe
03 February 2008
they are very good. apple remote works with Mplayer too.
Like
Version 1.0rc1
J-A-X
16 November 2007
Fixed it. It involved adding a on screen display font at ~/.mplayer/font
Like
Version 1.0rc2
2 answer(s)
Nicolasd
Nicolasd
30 November 2007
could you post the compiled GUI version of rc2 somewhere?
Like
Version 1.0rc2
M85
M85
30 November 2007
Please
Like
Version 1.0rc2
J-A-X
13 November 2007
I downloaded the source and compiled it. It works fine except I no longer see the text overlay on the screen when I change the volume, seek, etc. There used to be white text that would show up with a seek bar or with the volume level. Anybody know how to enable this?
Like
Version 1.0rc2
1 answer(s)
J-A-X
J-A-X
16 November 2007
Fixed it. It involved adding a on screen display font at ~/.mplayer/font
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Nicolasd
11 November 2007
there is no file to download at this link. no one has posted an osx binary for this version of mplayer. i wish someone with the technical knowledge to do so, would.
Like
Version 1.0rc2
truthhurts
06 November 2007
404, and no sign of such a file in the releases directory. But then again, I expect this kind of slipshod stuff from MPlayer.
Like
Version 1.0rc2
Brett4
18 June 2007
If you're trying to get MKV subtitles to have proper timing, or adjust the timing with the z/x keys, don't bother- it's apparently an undocumented bug with this release. Is this abandonware, or what?
Like
Version 1.0rc1
Brettd
05 March 2007
Leaks memory like a sieve on my system and video jutters for a second or so when switching windows. The player window is still "detached" from the viewer application. Skip it and use VLC instead...
Like
Version 1.0rc1
Sgutas
07 January 2007
Great viewer for a ton of different video types. I find it faster and simpler than VLC.
Like
Version 1.0rc1
Aglee
01 January 2007
Is there some reason this comes in a .pkg instead of being drag-and-drop?
Like
Version 1.0rc1
ochyming
10 December 2006
This .app has saved me allot. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0rc1
Drtyrell969
15 October 2006
This player would have value to me if it could export what it plays. It's a remarkable player in that it can play more formats than anything else on the Mac. So kudos to you, and if anyone can help me figure out how to export this codec, I'd love it.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 final
Traildawg
18 July 2006
So far have opened a couple of dvix, wmv, and mpeg. The mpeg has worked fine, the wmv has no sound, and when playing the dvix I'm unable to move the time cursor and the 10 sec forward/reverse doesn't function (i.e. stuck in one gear forward motion with no options to move to later and/or earlier points in video. I'm using MacOS 10.4 on Macbook Pro. Anyone else with these anomalies?
Like
Version 1.0pre8 final
Endymion0000
07 July 2006
Still has a variety of visual bugs that have been around for the last few versions that would be really nice if they were fixed.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 final
Po60t
10 June 2006
How do you change the audio track in .ogm ? I have tried alt-3 it doesn't work =( Also pressing alt-3 in .mkv only changes the audio for some files. It is still quite hit and miss.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc5
Mac0852
18 April 2006
the GUI doesn't works with the command line mplayer!!!! HELP!!!! imac g3 400 MHZ 512 MB RAM OS X 10.4.6
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc5
1 answer(s)
Nicolasp
Nicolasp
19 April 2006
Please give me more information about your problem. What are you trying to do and what happen.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc5
Sextoheroe
18 April 2006
Everything good here, just one thing... when i use the volume slide, the video pauses until i let go. keep the good work!
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc5
And-roo
02 April 2006
Thank you MPlayer, you allow me to play AVI video clips from a mobile device on my Mac. Note to Apple - give up on Quicktime and QTPro
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
2 answer(s)
Vegas-Man!
Vegas-Man!
17 April 2006
uh? give up quicktime. AVI uses mpeg4 compression. which is what quicktime is based on. it the phone mfg uses a codec not in quicktime. should be supplied by phone mfg
Like
Version 1.0pre8 060416
And-roo
And-roo
18 April 2006
'AVI uses mpeg4 compression. which is what quicktime is based on'...So the Audio Video Interleave, a multimedia container format introduced by Microsoft in November 1992 is fully supported by Quicktime (/Pro) or the Mac OS is it!! You must be very green because Apple has never supported the AVI format fully. WHAT IS THE POINT OF QUICKTIME IF IT DOSEN'T A MAJOR VIDEO FORMAT! Once again many thanks to the developers of MPlayer http://www.mplayerhq.hu/design7/donations.html, keep up the good work
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc5
Spacecat85
13 March 2006
MPlayer has come far since I last tried it out! The interface on the official port is now more similar to QuickTime. While it doesn't do as much as VLC, it is much more intuitive. With the RealPlayer codecs (on the official site), it can handle most RealPlayer movies I've come across. It is even one of the few free applications on OS X that can handle FLV (Flash video) files such as those used on YouTube and some CD-ROMs, and so far the only application I've found that allows you to *resize* them for easier viewing. The only real complaints/suggestions I have are: -Playback is sometimes a little bit rough, though that might also have to do with my 5-year-old computer hardware. -I only get audio when playing Windows Media Player movies. -The ability to save audio/video streams a la VLC. -A browser plug-in would be great!
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Apfhex
16 February 2006
Can't seem to display subtitles when they're built-in to the file (such as in a MKV), and doesn't hide the menubar when in full screen. These two things make it unusable to for me... however MPlayer seems more capable of playing high-res H.264 video on my slow PowerBook, compared to VLC.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Koodough
30 January 2006
Great movie player. I just love how it can play all my media formats, well almost all. A lot better than VLC (it couldn't open most of my wmv files). One thing they could do to make mplayer the best is to be able to play .rm (Real Media).
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Endymion0000
15 January 2006
Is there any progress on a new version? There's a variety of display bugs that I wouldn't mind seeing fixed. Any word?
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
3 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
15 January 2006
Did you contact/ask the developer? That is the only person who would know.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Endymion0000
Endymion0000
15 January 2006
There's no easy to find contact info on their site for the program, much less the Mac-specific version. I think the developer reads here occasionally though. I wish they had a web forum like other sites do and not just a mailing list.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
15 January 2006
try this email address, it is supposedly the developer's address: nicolas.plourde@gmail.com
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
12 November 2005
Unable to play WMV files. Controller shows and goes through the motion of playing movie and so does playlist but no movie can be seen. MacOS 10.3.9, Quicktime 7.0.3
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
1 answer(s)
Merry-Boy
Merry-Boy
06 January 2006
same here, i want a program that can play wmv3's but this AND Vlc both just die when trying
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
lanouvellechair
18 October 2005
I had to put some fonts in the font folder because it was empty ! The result before that was subtitles as "???????????????" . The rest is great.When i open a file with MPlayer detect the .srt automatically.It's fast and the interface is a beauty.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
1 answer(s)
Chris
Chris
16 November 2005
I have the same problem with subtitles. Only ??????????? How can i fix it ? Nothing about on MPlayer OSX Help and/or www.mplayerhq.hu Thanks in advance.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
07 October 2005
A fantastic video player, as good as and sometimes better than VLC. The best player for OS X (I am using Tiger).
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
20 September 2005
I have found that about 33% of the files I attempt to play with this version play with a disabled 'navigation' function: that is- I can't move around in the video using the conroller. Does anyone else see this? It's on a file-by-file basis, whatever's happening: some files play properly, some don't. It's a REAL pain.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
1 answer(s)
anonymous-porcupine-3842
anonymous-porcupine-3842
26 December 2005
Aye, I've noticed the same thing. It's /damn/ annoying. :(
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
10 September 2005
How do you disable Altivec? It says my processor is too slow and I have to check the box to allow it to drop frames. I did that but I'm only getting black screens! The previous beta worked perfectly on my G3.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
08 September 2005
Kevin Purcell says: This is a useful improvement on the 20050726 build but I've noticed three issues with the pre8rc4 20050904 build that are specific to Panther. These problems do not happen on Tiger (I checked). Seems like more testing is needed on Panther. 1. MPlayer throws an NSInternalIncosistencyException (which is nicely caught but no option of auto submitting a bug report) after 42 to 44 minutes of play. The app doesn't crash but play stops. You can restart the video from the playlist and move the index to the crash point and the video plays normally for then on. This was also an Panther issue with the pre8rc3 20050726 build. This is a serious bug ... most of the stuff I watch is > 42 minutes. 2. When set in full screen with the MPlayer OSX output module the images of menu icons on the right of the menu bar remain on the display. A mouse click causes them to disappear. This is different from the "menu bar isn't hidden" bug. 3. When play starts in "full screen by default" the cursor shows the spinning disk (busy) cursor, the cursor obviously isn't hidden and the player doesn't accept any keystrokes. Workaround: clicking the mouse or switching with cmd-tab to another app and back allows Mplayer to accept keystrokes. All Panther specific bugs so this build of Mplayer can be a bit annoying on Panther but the feature set is nice so I still recommend the app hoping these issues will be fixed. Test system: PB G4 867; 10.3.9; Security updates;QT 7.0
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 September 2005
Follow up to my previous comments ... I put Tiger on the same hardware as mentioned before (Tibook, 867Mhz) and I find: 1. Under Tiger the player doesn't pop up a dialog to the user after playing a divx/xvid movie after 43ish minutes. But I do see a pause in the playing as, I speculate, the app is handling the exception -- play pauses briefly then speeds through the next section to get back in time. So I think the underlying problem (throwing the exception) happens on both version of the OS it's just Tiger deals with it so the user doesn't see it. Someone needs to run a movies for 43ish minutes with a debugger attached to figure out what's happening. 2. The menu bar icons display and the spinning disk cursor problem also occurs on this machine on 10.4.2. It doesn't occur on my 12" Albook 1.3GHz so perhaps this issue is more hardware specific. The menu icon draw is more obvious on Tiger than on Panther (the icons are complete ... black icon and white background) Additional issue ... in full screen mode if you click in the "right" place on the menu bar (i.e. between menus) the click gets through to the "full screen" window underneath and you can drag it around. An annoynace when you are not over a menu item when you mouse down (check behaviour in other Mac OS X apps).
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
07 September 2005
Very cool, I can see a lot of hard work has gone into this, but I won't bore you with the details as to why....
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
07 September 2005
PS: the version I was running before was "MPlayer-dev-CVS-050724"
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
06 September 2005
app does not launch under 10.3.9. Terminal gives this response. mycomputer/somefolder/MPlayerOSX090405folder/MPlayer\ OSX.app/Contents/Resources/External_Binaries/mplayer.app/Contents/MacOS/mplayer; exit dyld: /somefolder/MPlayerOSX090405folder/MPlayer OSX.app/Contents/Resources/External_Binaries/mplayer.app/Contents/MacOS/mplayer can't open library: /System/Library/Frameworks/QuartzCore.framework/Versions/A/QuartzCore (No such file or directory, errno = 2) Trace/BPT trap logout [Process completed]
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 September 2005
Requirements: Mac OS X 10.3.9 or later, QuickTime 7.0 or later.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
06 September 2005
Bit of a bug report: I can't quit if in fullscreen mode with this version, unless I click over to the playlist controller first.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 September 2005
I cant reproduce the problem. Can you give me more information please.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 September 2005
Here's what's up. The previous version, which I downloaded quite recently, launched a 2nd app (don't recall the name) which held the picture. The version we're discussing here doesn't seem to use that app. It has several operational flaws for me. • On my 2-monitor system I want the controls (playlist and controller) on my 2nd monitor and the fullscreen display on my 1st, but have to keep the controller on the first. • I can't quit unless I've clicked on the playlist. Otherwise the menu item is dimmed. • I can't Command-W to close the window, either. Does this help?
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 September 2005
PS: The version I was using before this one was MPlayer-dev-CVS-050724
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
05 September 2005
Makes a great companion to VLC! I personally prefer VLC a bit more, but can't live without MPlayer for some videos that VLC doesn't play well and vice versa.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
05 September 2005
What a great release! Thanks for making a good Mac OS X version of the best media player out there! It would be great if there where an option to make the playlist a sheet that comes out of the main window. It would make the interface even cleaner in my opinion.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
05 September 2005
For every one getting the menubar in fullscreen try using the "MPlayer OSX" video out module int the audio & video preferences.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
Anonymous
05 September 2005
great app BUT having the menubar still display while in fullscreen is really unfortunate... I'll stick with MPlayer OS X 2 for that reason.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
JeffCGD
05 September 2005
STILL no sound, as with the previous release (under Quicktime Pro 6.5.2)! Even when I installed Quicktime 7. Can anyone tell me why? or how to resolve this? Video playback is smoother than MPlayer OSX2 (the other branch of the project, which looks to have faltered). But without audio this is a dead stick. PLEASE can someone help me figure out why? Any suggestions welcome to jeffcgd@yahoo.com My Machine is a 733MHz Quicksilver Tower Running OSX 10.3.9 with Quicktime 7.01
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 September 2005
Any information about the sound card you are using.
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
truthhurts
05 September 2005
ARGH! We finally get the nice player integration that Quicktime/Xine have, and they added a pointless "You're using a G3" dialog at startup - EVERY startup. There is no way to disable this annoyance! I can't disable altivec (it's grayed out), and I setting "framedrop" doesn't work either. Has someone also not informed the developer that we're transitioning to Intel, and everything in Rosetta will appear to be a G3? So now this annoyance is showing up on a lot of older iMacs, iBooks, eMacs, cutting edge developer boxes, etc. I guess we'll now wait three months for an update to remove it...
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 September 2005
Sorry about that I will fix the box to show up only once, I forgot to do it since I dont have a G3 to test mplayer. Im aware of rosetta but I also dont have a developer kit. You can expect mplayer osx to run native as soon as i get my hand on a x86 mac (1-2 years maybe).
Like
Version 1.0pre8 rc4