Schwarz
Posts: 8
Smile Score: +4
About Me
I am a Free member


Visit Stats
Member Since: 05 May 2008
Profile Views: 959

Schwarz's Posts
Average Rating from Schwarz:
(1)

sort: smiles | time
burypromote

Schwarz reviewed on 09 Sep 2010
FLAMINBANANA is wrong, their free trial does have limitations. There's no README with the app that tells you so, nor any other indications (warnings on launch or even anything in the EULA that I can find), but it will bite you in the end.

The trial will let you add and manipulate thousands of files to your heart's content (I waited 6 hours for it to run the "Auto Correct" feature on my library, not to mention a few hundred by-hand corrections), but then once you're done it will suddenly inform you it will only save all that data for 20 of the files. What a massive waste of my time.

If you want to restrict the trial to 20 files at a time, that's no problem. Just do it like all the other apps do: only allow people to add 20 files. This seemed like a great app up until it decided to spring that BS on me from out of nowhere.
[Version 3.7.1]


1 Reply

burypromote

+4
Schwarz replied on 10 Sep 2010
"Of course if after doing the correction you were pleased with the results, you could have made a purchase, installed the license and saved your remaining changes without restarting Jaikoz."

Unfortunately, this was not true. Because it's not obvious you have to "save" after editing (ie. iTunes just commits the changes immediately), when I was done I simply quit Jaikoz. At that point, a dialog popped up to say I should save. Not a problem, except that when I hit the box's "save" button, it starts saving, then suddenly when it hits 20 informs me of the limit and promptly finishes quitting (really there's barely even time to read that final message).

I appreciate your quick response though.
burypromote
-3
Schwarz commented on 03 Jun 2010
This app defaults to checking for updates and sending the developer your system profile without ever asking. The default behavior for the update framework (Sparkle) is to ask for permission on the second launch of the app, so this was clearly an intentional (and rude) decision by the developer. Unannounced opt-outs to giving up your info is something I expect from jerks at big companies like Facebook, not from Mac shareware devs.

I deleted this app immediately due to this offense, so I don't feel right giving it a rating.
[Version 4.2.3]


1 Reply

burypromote
+3

+4
Schwarz replied on 26 Jul 2010
Sorry my idea of consumer protection and privacy offends everyone so much. A few points:

Yes, I can disable it in the preferences, but not necessarily before the 'damage' is done. Your response is like saying a hotel whose doorman pokes you in the eye on the way in has a perfectly reasonable policy, because all you have to do is walk in to the lobby, [get poked in the eye,] and tell the front desk you don't want to participate.

Since the app never informs people that it is sending their data to the developer, they won't necessarily think to look in the preferences to begin with. By posting about it here, I was hoping to help others at least be aware of it, as well as let the developers know of my displeasure - apparently that bothers quite a few people!

This may run afoul of privacy laws in countries with stricter standards (ie. Germany). In any case, it's rude.

As I pointed out, Sparkle's default behavior is to ask the user for permission. Why not just leave it this way?
There are currently no troubleshooting comments by this member.

Displaying 1-2 of 2
Please login or create a new
MacUpdate Member account
to use this feature


- -