Back to FontAgent page
FontAgent free download for Mac

FontAgent Reviews

9.1.2
11 September 2019

Font management and repair utility.

Tony-Aguila
02 December 2008

Most helpful

I think this is the first time that FAP gave the user the choice to selectively install auto-activation plug-ins for Adobe Creative Suite (all versions), as well as QuarkXpress, the first time you run it. Not sure if it will persist with the dialog if you choose not to install the first time. Very convenient. I am gratified that even before this update, they made plug-ins available for Adobe CS4, and this updated version is now even quicker with auto-activation in InDesign. Illustrator is still slow to react, but there is no more need to close and reopen the document. I own and have used ALL of the other font management programs out there, and still maintain my licenses, but FAP is definitely my first choice for managing my 7,000+ font library. The only problem discovered so far is that the update deleted all the names of my font sets. Fortunately, the contents seem to have been unaffected. My long-time gripe remains. When running Font Player, you cannot pause it. Whenever you stop/pause, it will have to start from the very beginning (or very end) of the set. Thus the reason for 4 stars for features.
Like (4)
Version 4.0.3

Read 158 FontAgent User Reviews

Rate this app:

Cookie08
12 September 2019
Currently is the best even works with other apps not needing a plugin ie pages word etc and fast the others biggies don't work properly outside of Adobe etc and smoothly with Catalina OS
Like
Version 9.1.2
Tony-Aguila
20 August 2019
The latest version of FontAgent does not run in macOS Catalina beta, and I cannot find availability of beta versions to try out anywhere on their website. This is where maintaining similar/competitive apps up-to-date. FontExplorer X Pro works in macOS Catalina with no apparent problems.
Like
Version 9.1.1
1 answer(s)
Cookie08
Cookie08
29 August 2019
The app runs fine in Catalina Betas it might give a warning message dismiss this and the app works as always the background loader works flawlessly.
Like (1)
Version 9.1.1
Geoff6
02 July 2019
I have been using FontAgent Pro for 20 yrs after fontreserve disappeared. It was good and i was happy with it until around version 6 then everything seems to slide downhill, i just tried to download the free trial for 9 (I currently use 8 though the dropdown wysiwyg doesn't work in illustrator) and they can't even get requesting the trial to work. properly. When I go to fill out my details to request the trial, it crashes. Not impressed.
Like (1)
Version 9.0.9
spinko
27 March 2019
I don't understand what makes this app so popular ? Version 8 cannot even handle system fonts properly. Multiple calls to the support line didn't yield any solution for me. And stupid long font lists negate the usefulness of this app.
Like (2)
Version 9.0.5
dbblanchette
11 December 2018
I like FontAgent and have been using it for years. Tried all the others, none of them works as soothly as this one.
Like
Version 8.3.3
Tony-Aguila
12 October 2018
At least with version 8.3.1 the Adobe CC plug-ins are now compatible with Mojave. Oddly enough, automatic activation worked with Mojave (even the beta versions) WITHOUT the plug-ins. With the updated plug-ins, auto-activation is a bit faster than without. In a way, the previous version of FontAgent, without the auto-activation plug-ins, worked better than this latest. A number of bugs have developed which were not present in the previous version, but I have learned to work my way around them, or at least put up with them. In my experience, there’s no use in sending them feedback or request for beta versions, so I will not even try.
Like
Version 8.3.1
1 answer(s)
Kdeda
Kdeda
13 March 2019
Hi Tony

v9 has been completely re-writen in swift to better use apple's latest tech. It cost us a lot of work, but as a benefit, we are now able to auto activate much better and do more.

email me privately kdeda at mac.com and i will upgrade you for free.

Like
Jer
27 September 2018
As a longtime user, since version 1, I've given up on Font Agent and moved on. The last couple of major versions have slowly removed some features, mostly stuff I could learn to live without but now Font Classifications is gone. On top of that, it will no longer run if it doesn't approve of the OS version you are running - the final nail in the coffin.
Like (1)
Version 8.3.1
2 answer(s)
Kdeda
Kdeda
13 March 2019
IMHO, Classification as it used to be done was a bit of a joke.

The product you remember has been re-written a few times. It's the cost of fast moving apple ecosystem. With v9 we have set up the foundation for much better than that. It is called tagging and opens up a lot more options.
Like
Jer
Jer
24 March 2019
In reply to Kdeda, March 13 - I've installed the new demo. The tag system, while it may be powerful, is basically a blank slate. Who is going to spend time tagging thousands of fonts? Previously FontAgentPro had a database out of the box, at least in part. The ability to generate a list of all slab serif fonts, for example, is gone, which was a huge time saver in my job. Other than the new tags, new UI and new app foundation, I see nothing new and lost functionality not replaced.
Like (2)
Cookie08
19 June 2018
Currently out of the big three this the best now at 8.2.1 it is fast and gets all the fonts right. The latest suitcase is good but often misses some fonts. and the interface is going backward try grouping fonts by foundry not possible the font list default by expanded family is now crazy long. FontXpro is pretty good but why is the main app have to be open to work sucking up a lot of ram also the interface is a bit needlessly complex and does mis fonts occasionally. Fontagent I am finding the best so far. I have about 15000 fonts in the FA font folder handles this with ease. Also foreign arabic etc font are at least shown in there default western font with the glyphs in the panel at the bottom. Suitcase in the new versions just shows the question mark box instead a font even the glyph views do not often work just the question mark box until this is fixed have given up on suitcase.
Like (1)
Version 8.2.1
Maclover1-1
05 December 2017
The only one that seems to be able to handle my thousands of fonts.. Suitcase started to get gruelingly slow to preview, so slow that looking through my fonts feels like a nightmare. So had to make a decision.. seems am back to Font Agent, that I stopped using a couple of years ago (not sure why, I think IT as the one giving me slowness isuses then..)

But you actually have to exchange emails back and forth with someone at Insider to get an update.. no straight-forward pathway where you go check your price, make your payment.. and be done, this feels so 1995.. I have yet to get an answer btw.. I wrote them twice so far in a couple of weeks... Maybe once I pay they actually send true little gnomes to come organize my fonts by hand.
Like
Version 8.1.0
Miner
27 September 2017
Not amused that within a year I would again have to pay for an upgrade. Despite my move to High Sierra, I will let FontAgent go.
Like (4)
Version 8.0.1
Sleav
14 June 2017
OMG What happened. FontAgent was always wonky to use - the developers seem dead-set on avoiding Mac-based User Experience protocols (like forcing one to store your fonts in a folder named "My Fonts"), but now they've gone off the edge. I just wanted to sort out what fonts were what, and version 7 took all my installed fonts and ZIPPED THEM UP ARCHIVED THEM, without giving me a chance to veto that plan. It took me hours to unzip and put them all back where they needed to go, trash all the stupid "Fontagent Pro zip files" and folders created and get my documents to open up with the right typefaces again. Sorry, FAP - it's bye-bye for this long-time user.
Like (3)
Version 7.1.3
1 answer(s)
spinko
spinko
27 March 2019
totally agree ! I'm going crazy with the longest font lists I have ever seen... most duplicates are system fonts. Somehow, FAP cannot get this right. I'm looking for a better alternative as well.
Like
Mikemuc
11 June 2017
bye bye Fontagent. I've used it since v2 but now all features I loved are gone. Everything was simple. Today I had to install v7 behause of Sierra and I'm sad to say that I don't like the new version These are my beloved features in earlier (better) times: - left side installed fonts, right side my own Sets. Was easy to use. Is it possible to get the old 2 column view back? Is it somewhere hidden? - I've had a to of Subsets. Now everything is in a very long list on the left side. - Buttons for switching Sets on and off in the Toolbar. Gray in grey, but impossible to see which of them is for on or off. Bad design, unusable. All this is based on the current v7.2.2
Like (4)
Version 7.1.3
Fontman
04 February 2017
I liked the easy install of the software and was surprised by how well the Migration from 6 went . It converted all my libraries to sets and saved all the fonts . Also they both can be on the computer at the same time with any issues witch is great . I found that the Verification process works much better than font doctor, I found that FontAgent 7 looked more points of data in each font. I found this very important when sending my files out from print. Moreover installing the plug ins was fast and easy. I look forward to more features soon.
Like
Version 7.1.3
Tony-Aguila
21 September 2016
This update having been issued at this time made me assume that we finally had a macOS Sierra-compatible version. Alas, it still doesn’t run in macOS 10.12. To the FontAgent users planning on upgrading to Sierra, don’t! Not yet.
Like (1)
Version 7.1.2
2 answer(s)
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
29 September 2016
Alright! With the latest version (7.1.2) FontAgent now works in macOS Sierra, even in public beta 10.12.1. It has been a long wait but this release is very timely since the “other” app, although it worked in Sierra before, suddenly exhibited major problems with 10.12.1.
Like
Cookie08
Cookie08
19 December 2016
7.1.2 and .3 run fine in Sierra10.12.b6 I am on beta 6 have no problems and it is fast opening fonts as needed also has beck foundries and families
Like
Tony-Aguila
24 July 2016
When the group-by-family feature went away with version 7, that was the deal breaker for me. Scrolling through a list of about 10,000 items becomes a nightmare, and some font families can be rather large; e.g., the Adobe version of Kepler contains 168 fonts!

Fortunately, I maintain current licenses to both FontAgent and FontExplorer X Pro, so I was able to switch fairly easily. I tested the latter, by the way, in macOS Sierra (beta) and it works flawlessly, and in El Capitan, is much quicker than FontAgent in auto-activating fonts.

Who knows? Maybe in a couple of years, FontAgent will prove to be the better app. If this comes about, I will not hesitate to make another switch.
Like
Version 7.0.8
6 answer(s)
Cookie08
Cookie08
30 August 2016
7.1 Family grouping is back
Like
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
30 August 2016
Good to know. Thanks, Cookie08. But I have become quite comfortable with FEX Pro so I will wait until FontAgent matures some more before giving it another try.
Like
Cookie08
Cookie08
30 August 2016
Hi Tony I have always had problems with FEX not loading the requested fonts and it always has to have the the main app open to actually work a bit weird as all the others have a small background app that works fast. the the main problem is not loading requested fonts where as Suitcase 8 and FA 7 very accurate and reliable.
Cheers
Like
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
30 August 2016
Cookie08, I tried it but it refuses to run in Sierra (beta 7). It launches but quits after you dismiss the warning.
Like
Cookie08
Cookie08
30 August 2016
I emailed Erik about this. The background app woks fine and starts font requests as usual it is just the main app they put this in for the Sierra betas weird as the 7.0.9 works great in Sierra?
Like
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
30 August 2016
Didn’t get around to trying 7.0.9. Now I’m past the point of no return when I updated my main Mac Pro to Sierra. All my Macs are now on it and I don’t have an El Capitan installation to test it. Hopefully they can fix all the bugs by the time 10.12 officially comes out.
Like
Tony-Aguila
15 July 2016
I don’t see where, or if there is a way, to view the font list by family groups, as version 6 could. With close to 10,000 fonts in my library, scrolling through the list can be overwhelming. It also does not have the auto-activation plug-in for Illustrator CC 2015.3. Fortunately, the plug-in from FontAgent Pro 6 still works. You just have to move it from the previous location.
Like
Version 7.0.8
1 answer(s)
Cookie08
Cookie08
18 July 2016
Hi Tony yes a few bugs have been fixed with putting the wrong plugin in the PS and not putting any in Illustrator the 7.0.9 release fixed this. I emailed the developer about these and a few other bugs they fixed then inside 2 days pretty good for a new release. I also miss the family group setting try and email them thy have always responded quickly. One thing it does activate the fonts very fast. At least you get feedback when this is happening. Through the mac alerts system. I am finding the actual app much faster than the old V6 perhaps as the whole thing is fully 64 bit.
If they fix the family group view the world will be happy again I also have 15000 fonts in my vault do a lot of design work. Email Erik at the support and put your suggestions.
Cheers
Like
Sleav
10 July 2016
FA6.x was so slow and unhelpful (admittedly, as a designer, I have a very large type library) that I gave up and have been managing fonts manually. This time we were off a really good start, with Insider's Font Agent Pro 7 installing itself not in the Applications folder of my startup drive, but on an attached hard drive that happens to have OS X installed. Deleted that, and started again. Second time was the charm — although I confess I'm amazed that Insider still resorts to the 1990's convention of sticking their apps inside of a folder. Are there FA plug-ins I'm missing? Anyway, this is a comment - I'll review once it's been road-tested.
Like
Version 7.0.8
Jer
19 October 2015
Dear MacUpdate: you list this update as being released Oct. 19, 2015 yet I've had this update installed for months. Maybe even a year. The update adds "support for Yosemite" which came out a year ago. Perhaps that is a clue?
Like
Version 6.302
Hermie
01 May 2015
Regularly activated sets will just not show up in font menus. Force quitting a couple of times usually does the trick. When importing new fonts the app insists on checking them, which cannot be turned off. The problem with this "feature" is that it operates way too strict. Fonts that FontDoctor says are fine and never gave any problem with 3rd party printers are bluntly rejected by FAP, which often renders it useless to me and make me switch to a workaround. I'm talking about commercial fonts here, not internet freebies. So in all I'm not happy with FontAgent Pro and will probably count my losses and ditch it.
Like
Version 6.206
Ranjansen
01 December 2014
FAP 6.206 crashes evertime in Yosemite.
Like
Version 6.206
neartheredrocks
17 April 2014
QuarkXPress 10 is out since September 2013 and as of today (April 2014) there is still no support for it in FontAgent Pro. Why?
Like (4)
Version 6.102
Opeter
12 February 2014
This new version of FontAgent Pro (6.102) needs to be activated over the internet. The application will contact insidersoftware.com servers.
Like (1)
Version 6.102
Panthera
04 November 2013
Can anyone comment on how well this software works with Mac OS X Mavericks?
Like
Version 6.012
1 answer(s)
Waveman
Waveman
11 December 2013
Works fine.
Like (1)
Orion-Mk-V
13 September 2013
Important to note that version 6 is NOT a free upgrade from version 5, so you might want to add that to the description and MacUpdate Desktop. Just important to know for people before installing upgrade.
Like (2)
Version 6.008
3 answer(s)
Jer
Jer
13 September 2013
Interesting that version 5 isn't all that old. I still don't see much different from version 4.
Like (3)
Hal2007
Hal2007
10 January 2014
Version 6 has new toolbar icons. Yay.
Like (2)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
06 February 2014
Not really worth the upgrade, from what I see. I'm sticking with the older version.
Like (1)
neartheredrocks
19 September 2012
On my Intel iMac and with Indesign CS3 and CS6 the automatic font activation works only randomly, is more often not working than working. Also randomly it is not possible to add fonts to the startup set. Not more than one star therefore from me.
Like (2)
Version 5.022
2 answer(s)
Waveman
Waveman
15 October 2013
Clear your font caches. Make sure any other font managers are not conflicting.
Like
wintermute
wintermute
05 January 2014
I am having the same problem with FAP. I used Smasher and FAP still randomly won't load some fonts. Seems to get less and less reliable. Fonts validate fine, fonts can be activated with Font Book app. I used to be a big FAP advocate, but their upgrade policy is criminal... we should not be paying for bug fixes! There is a difference between an update and an upgrade. I have not seen any actual upgrade in FAP since version 3 and things have only gotten buggier.
Like (1)
Fontman
06 September 2012
Upgraded to Fontagent pro 5 . Working perfectly with my CS 6 . Seems to be faster . Also received the Incopy plug -in. nice. The icing on the cake was Smasher is now included . it is nice to have the font cache cleaned out in the background . what a time saver.
Like
Version 5.022
Robgor
31 August 2012
As a long-time user of FA Pro, I depend on it for my day-to-day work. With it's stability, intuitive interface and support for CS6 auto-activation, makes upgrading a no-brainer.
Like
Version 5.022
Jimmy-D
14 August 2012
FontAgent Pro is and has always been the best and only stable, safe choice for an advanced font manager. With that said, I upgraded to version 5 for Mountain Lion and CS6 compatibility. The new icons are nice I guess, but I can't find any new features. A word of caution to Quark 9 users. Their installer litters your XTensions folder with all FAP extensions for Quark 5 through Quark 9, and doesn't delete the old FAP4 extension, so you'll have multiple FAP extensions running unless you delete the extras. And if you're confused when you're manually cleaning up their installation, their Quark 9 version of FAP5 is incorrectly labeled as version 4.18 even though it's 5.x. I've contacted their tech support and was told their developer, a third party I assume, appreciates the bug reports and they will fix all of this in another release. They also auto-install a Font Agent Pro Server app and Server Preference Pane that I don't need, so I deleted those.
Like (1)
Version 5.020
1 answer(s)
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
20 August 2012
Agree. FAP has remained the best font manager I've used to date. Version 5 does seem to little more than a cosmetic change with some bells a whistles thrown in. The GoogleFonts is merely a Applescript link to a downloadable archive of open source fonts. Smasher can now be invoked via a menu in FAP. Aside from that, I don't really notice much else, but then again there's not much more I need in a font manager, so as long as it's improved behind the scenes, great. However, you're right I didn't need it to install extra extensions or the server.
Like (1)
fontguy9
03 August 2012
Been my favorite since my first copy of FontAgent Pro 3, the only font manager to use in my opinion.
Like (1)
Version 5.020
Jer
03 August 2012
I've been a FAP user since version 1 and a strong advocate for years. I tried the demo of version 5 and I must say I was not left with a good first impression. There is nothing much visually that has changed. Perhaps most of it is under the hood, but the list of changes specify an improved and simplified interface. The only difference I saw was the icons - the main window is basically unchanged from version 1. Maybe that's why there are no screenshots on the website. Look into the documentation and you'll see the Quickstart Guide isn't even updated for FAP5, it still references FAP4. And to top it all off, the uninstaller doesn't even uninstall everything because it won't let you re-install FAP4 afterwards, you have to run a couple of commands in Terminal to do that (according to Insider tech support). The upgrade is not worth $50 for version 4 users.
Like (4)
Version 5.020
mark-bischoff
02 August 2012
the developer is fooling his costumer since a very long time. with lion he said his soft is lion compatible - fact is it is not because it have no 64 Bit, not suppoerting any lion feature, activating font works not over the system only with adobe and quark so if avid asks for a font this soft does not help. apple dicribes verry clear waht does it mean to be lion or mountain lion compatible and the soft does not offer any of that. sorry and for that i shuold pay so much money for a update? look for somthing better
Like (1)
Version 5.020
4 answer(s)
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
02 August 2012
Version 4 fully supports SYSTEM-wide font activation (you can opt to just activate adobe and quark) and runs great under Lion. Based on the demo, so does v5.
Like
mark-bischoff
mark-bischoff
04 August 2012
sorry system woe activation is not available. try it in Final Cut, avid, in servel other apps - it does not work! same as 64 bit sorry this is not what they promise. it is a old app with a verry old architecture and developer without any interest to listen to users but with a high intrest to your money!
Like
fontguy9
fontguy9
06 August 2012
Final Cut and Avid don't update their font lists automatically. You need to close and open the app for the font menu to update. Other applications are like this as well, they expect the fonts to be active at launch.
Like (3)
Fontman
Fontman
19 July 2013
No issues with 10.7 or 10.7.5 . the only thing that is not 64 bit is the system control panel . but that no bering on anything related to performance.big deal . software work great and it is the only Font Management that returns your calls .
Like
Sleav
02 August 2012
I've been a dedicated fan and owner of FA Pro 5 since v.2, but this version appears to be off to a not-so-good start, at least in my experience with the demo. First of all, I'm surprised that Insider is still trying to force us into setting up a library named "FontAgent Pro Fonts" in our documents folder. All I want is a folder named "Fonts" and I again have to try and outsmart FA Pro's default behavior on this. I should have the easy, no thinking about it option to store my fonts (over 10,000) where I would like them, and name the folder what I would like, without having to delete folders set up for me and backtrack and re-do the program's defaults. This version asked to create a new library of fonts in spite of my FA Pro 4 fonts folder being already set up - ok. So I asked FA Pro to import my fonts, and about 10 minutes later.... the program crashed. Also, I don't know why but FA Pro seems to be rendering in the "Player" 2/3 of my font collection in the system default font instead of previewing the font. If, however, I locate the same font in the finder and double-click it, the font preview opens and shows the font A-Z, 1-0 perfectly. Truetype seems particularly troublesome for FA Pro 5. So far, I'm glad I haven't plunked down my upgrade fee - yet.
Like (1)
Version 5.020
6 answer(s)
Jer
Jer
02 August 2012
What are you talking about "Forcing the name" - it clearly lets you name the folder when you select where you want to save your library.
Like
Scottstoel
Scottstoel
02 August 2012
Sleav, if you contact Insider Software, we will be happy to assist you with any issues you are encountering with FontAgent Pro.
Like
Sleav
Sleav
20 August 2012
Jer - OK, perhaps "Forcing the name" wasn't correct - one can name it what you want. But, meanwhile, FAP has already created, named and installed a folder named "FontAgent Pro fonts" in your User (~) folder. Creating and naming another storage location will work - but the FontAgent Pro folder is there - to discover and delete later, I suppose. In much the same philosophy, when one goes to create a new library, FAP gives you the option of the default library "My Fonts" - but if you create and name a new library, the "My Fonts" folder has already been created, named and installed in your fonts storage location, whether you like it or not. I'll contact Insider about the repeated Application crashes I've experienced with every attempt to import all fonts from my User folder, but I am surprised that FAP has'nt use this "upgrade" to change what I feel is Microsoft-like user interface behavior.
Like
Jer
Jer
20 August 2012
Sleav, check out my post higher up about the version 5 "upgrade". I was happy when I read the release notes saying they enhanced the interface but it's not true, it's exactly the same but with new icons. The interface needs an overhaul. I'm sticking with version 4 since it works fine with Mountain Lion and my apps.
Like
Sleav
Sleav
20 August 2012
Yes, me too. After the fifth unexpected quit during imports - and because of a lack of any perceptible improvement in the interface, I'm sticking with 4 as well. Tx
Like
Jer
Jer
20 August 2012
I see they released a new version... 5.022 vs. 5.020 - maybe it includes the new interface they forgot initially?
Like
Professor2
02 August 2012
Hey! Why isn't this great software listed in red? Its the best on the market
Like (2)
Version 5.020
Hal2007
02 August 2012
FontAgent Pro 5 is out now, and obviously addresses the mentioned problems. Demo is available here: http://www.insidersoftware.com/downloads/FontAgentPro5.dmg
Like
Version 4.202
Fontman
31 July 2012
Find the CS6 plug ins here. https://insider.infusionsoft.com/app/form/cs6-plug-ins
Like
Version 4.202
3 answer(s)
Hal2007
Hal2007
01 August 2012
Okay, but even when I submit my information, nothing ever happens. Am I supposed to be contacted by support staff, or what...? I'm sooo puzzled. I never had to *beg* for a demo, as experienced here... Strange.
Like
Hal2007
Hal2007
01 August 2012
Follow-up to my previous post. That's what you get when you submit info: "Thank you for submitting your information. An Insider representative will contact you regarding your upgrade to FontAgent Pro 5 with Adobe CS6 plug-in options." It's about time to make it public, folks!!
Like
Snapjack
Snapjack
02 August 2012
You mean they don't have the plugins available right now?
Like
Maclover1-1
28 June 2012
I don't understand why it always takes so long for InsiderSoftware to release Adobe Plugins.. shouldn't a pro company be able to do it as soon as Adobe releases their new versions/suite ? Just like say developers prepare for a Mac OS release ? And a re showtime ready as soon as the new OS is available. It's not like FAP is a hobbyist shareware gadget. Every time this happens I'm wondering if I should not just go with FontExplorer after all. I don't especially want to change, not so much for the money to pay for FontExplorer, but just because changing always brings up issues and at times hours of troubleshooting to make sure everything works well.
Like (1)
Version 4.202
9 answer(s)
Hal2007
Hal2007
02 July 2012
I found this interesting video: http://vimeo.com/44691933 This tells us two things: - FontAgent Pro plug-ins are coming very soon - FontAgent Pro 5 is underway And I guess the latter is the reason why releasing the plug-ins takes them so long. They're still polishing v5.
Like
Snapjack
Snapjack
10 July 2012
Trouble with Hal2007's reply is this is normal for FAP. The last update for CS5 took months too. Ridiculous for a pro app. They should have the plugins available on the same day as Adobe releases their updates.
Like (3)
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
17 July 2012
Just so you know, Linotype is also taking its sweet time issuing auto-activation plug-ins for CS6. Last time I checked with them they stated that as soon as Adobe releases CS6 the plug-ins would be released, but even then CS6 had already been out, and now, after almost three months, still nothing. I had been using FAP for a number of years and it was only recently that I was forced to switch to FontExplorer X Pro, not because of the plug-ins but because fonts activated by FAP would not show up in the system and the only way I could make it work again was by uninstalling and reinstalling FAP. After a while it got to be too tiresome. Too bad because it has features that I still miss in FontExplorer.
Like (2)
Insider Software, Inc.
Insider Software, Inc.
21 July 2012
As many posts on Macupdate have noted, Insider Software provides products of the highest reliability. To ensure that our products meet the highest standards, we have very strict testing requirements. Even so, we often are the first to market with new features. We were first with an OS X font manager, first with a plug-in free architecture for auto-activation, first to offer the full set of CS6 plugins that included Photoshop, faster to market with a font server for OS X than some other well-known competitors and the first to ship a CloudServer for font management. Maclover 1.1, if you contact Insider Software, anyone will be happy to assist you with upgrading to the new version of FontAgent Pro with Adobe CS6 plugin support.
Like
Hal2007
Hal2007
21 July 2012
So, everybody who needs a working FontAgent Pro copy for CS6 needs to contact Insider Software? Most embarassing.
Like (2)
Snapjack
Snapjack
21 July 2012
That answer sounds like a politician talking, no real answer just deflection from facts. Going on 4 months and counting. Next up will be problems with Mountain Lion keeping it from being updated.
Like (3)
Josue64
Josue64
22 July 2012
I'm in agreement with you Maclover1.1, Adobe CS6 has been out since May and no update from FontExplorer. What's bothering me the most and making me want to change software is that Insider Software does not communicate with the customers. They should have something on their webpage, on their social media sites, but nothing. This is what bothers me the most. I'm not bashing the company. The product has worked in the other versions, and I've used the app since version 3.3 and it's been great. Very disappointed that we have to wait so long.
Like (3)
Catalystworkshop
Catalystworkshop
23 July 2012
I contacted Insider Software about this. Was given a ridiculous run-around, being asked all kinds of questions before they'd answer me, and then never giving me a useful answer. Their customer support always leaves me frustrated. I am considering moving to Font Explorer, but will wait and see for now.
Like (2)
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
23 July 2012
Update: Linotype just issued plug-ins for CS6. It was an auto-update triggered by FontExplorer X Pro. Nice. Auto activation seems to be working properly for InDesign, InCopy, Illustrator, and Photoshop.
Like (2)
Xandra
02 June 2012
PROs: FAP excels at the most important characteristics of a font Manager: Stability and Reliability. I'm unaware of FAP EVER causing a system or Application crash. All in all a VERY STABLE, RELIABLE product. I've often forgotten to disable before major system updates, with NO issues. Databases seem to survive through multiple Apple software updates, which makes me suspect Insider adheres to and/or keep up with Apples' guidelines. Amazingly, I can't recall a conflict with any major program (bear in mind, I never update anything when it first comes out). A very flexible, functional 2 pane interface that's reasonably attractive. Unfortunately marred by occasional dependance/funkiness in dragging operations. They DO steadily add missing features usually without charging. They do a better job at handling the Adobe Creative Suite than any Font Manager that I've tried (And trust me, this is no simple task, since Adobe seems to thrive on disregarding Apple's Font management guidelines. -- Ah… but that's another rant) BIGGEST COMPLAINTS (YMMV): (Note that they all have to do with painful setup - painful at least for experienced fontheads and control freaks) 1) There's no proper way to transfer DB from computer to computer. 2) Setting it up for all Users on a computer, is a complex pain (I've done it at least 4x now, and I still have to reread instructions multiple times. C'mon Insider: This REALLY should be a script which users could download and run. 3) Lastly, but most annoying: I purposely have my fonts organized exactly as desired (Like many folks who really require a product like this) (in my case based on source, FontFamily and font type/style). Recreating this in FAP is a multiday affair, since it does not recognize subfolders on your HD. So If you drag a folder named for example TEXT SANS (which has subfolders for Avant Garde, Futura,FuturaCondensed, etc) ALL of the fonts are imported into one set - instead of a set with subsets.) Suitcase and FontReserve, handled this flawlessly. USAGE ANNOYANCES (Many RELATIVELY minor): Poor handling of System Fonts: You should be able to SEE these from within the FAP Database window without having FAP actually manage them. (including System, Library & User Font Folders) Still Doesn't handle all font types: doesn't do Apples Font Collections, or PC Fonts, poor rendering of many symbol/pi fonts. No Activation by Application. Poor handling of user comments. No way to store user info about a particular font FAMILY. So you need to access by each font face, and even after that, you have to double-click a face to access that info. This may seem irrelevant to some, but the Source of the font is pretty important when dealing with duplicates. Very minimal font information Available. Apple's Font Book is far superior for this purpose (as was the bygone FontReserve) Could definitely use a more serious AppleScript Dictionary to fill in gaps. ------------- The only anomalies I've had: In very rare cases (which I believe to be written with improper font handling by the apps' devs - NOT Inisiders') fonts wont be activated. The only ones on my system are: Toast (when you create a titled DVD) and LaCie's Lightscribe Labeler - and I've got hundreds of Programs. FAP Sometimes activates fonts that are NOT required (ex: a card game I used to have (Mike's Cards?), and also when sending/receiving formatted email in Entourage it activates ALL OSX fonts) In the end pretty harmless but disconcerting, and likely a result of irregular programming by certain developers. ---------- SUMMARY: I HIGHLY Recommend this Font Manager above all others (I've tried at least the top 5 current options) for anyone who has fonts beyond those included with than MacOS and Microsoft Office. It may not do everything, but what it does, it does very well. Nonetheless, It won't get 5 stars from me until it's dealt with at least some of my gripes.
Like (3)
Version 4.202
3 answer(s)
Josue64
Josue64
03 June 2012
Excellent review. I agree with your comments. I bought FontAgent pro years ago after being a loyal Suitcase user, but then Suitcase was taking their time updating in order to work with Adobe CS. That's when I switched. Now years later, Font Agent pro is taking their time updating to CS6 compatibility. I still love the program though.
Like (1)
Snapjack
Snapjack
13 June 2012
Excellent review and spot on. I agree it is the best out there but I find it ridiculous that they can't have an update the day Adobe delivers a new version of Illustrator. What else are they doing? Their core customers are undoubtedly using Adobe CS products but they can't seem to get an update out for months afterwards. Very difficult to recommend this product to serious graphic professionals based on their slow development.
Like (1)
Hal2007
Hal2007
02 August 2012
Still sports the same dated interface and has few new outstanding features that justify the upgrade free. I have the feeling that this new version has been hurriedly put together especially for their new CS6 plug-ins they strongly refused to publish since months. Very disappointing release. We waited so long.
Like
Snapjack
22 May 2012
Now the long wait for CS6 compatibility. I would guess 3 months.
Like (1)
Version 4.202
3 answer(s)
Hal2007
Hal2007
23 May 2012
I sincerely do hope that the wait will be shorter than that.
Like
Snapjack
Snapjack
20 June 2012
Two months and still waiting
Like
Hal2007
Hal2007
20 June 2012
@Snapjack You might have been right after all. It's a shame. By the way, Extensis Suitcase Fusion has already been made compatible to CS6. I do hope Insider Software already noticed that.
Like
Sonja-R-
02 March 2012
I've been a graphic designer for over 10 years and accumulated over 20,000 fonts over the years. After having issues with Suitcase and FontExplorer, I decided to try FontAgent Pro based on the comments here. I was blown away from the beginning; their font integrity import process was so easy. In fact, a lot of my fonts had issues that I didn't know about until FontAgent. With 20,000 fonts being managed and organized properly, my life is much less hectic. Thank you FontAgent Pro!
Like (1)
Version 4.200
Tomi-G
01 March 2012
Tired of the "Blame Game"? I have been a loyal user of a program called Suitecase from the very beginning up until 3 weeks ago. I like others here had the same problem with CS5 hanging up with the dreaded spinning beach ball, not sure about you but if a beach ball is going to be part of my life I want to be sitting somewhere enjoying myself and not pulling out my hair while losing work I just finished because of programs not playing well together. I can not tell you who is to blame but I do know one thing FontAgent Pro WORKS!!!!! just as they promised. I am a font freak and I run a ton of fonts and that is no lie, I have at this very moment 30,000 fonts installed, as a graphic designer I feel the font is just as important as the design they all need to look perfect together, so I need a dependable program managing all of them. I can promise you if you are in need of such a program FontAgent Pro is the way to go. And don't forget to look at "Smasher" also, imagine a program running in the background watching your font library making sure they are all working well and if not keep your system clear of corrupted fonts. I don't know about you but time is money and sitting and watching your programs held hostage by the spinning color wheel is frustrating. If anything try the trial you will not go wrong and I will bet after you see how well FontAgent Pro works you will buy it for sure. How can you not want harmony this is a no brainier. 5 out of 5 adds up to value both time and peace of mind.
Like (1)
Version 4.200
3 answer(s)
H-a-l-
H-a-l-
13 April 2012
I'm always suspicious when a lengthy, glowing review like this, which sounds good enough to be written by the software's PR department, appears as the first review written by someone who joined this site the same day they wrote the review.
Like (2)
Prlab
Prlab
14 April 2012
Slick review.
Like
Waveman
Waveman
14 April 2012
H.a.l., I dig where you are coming from but, the review is dead on. I've used FontAgent Pro since v2 and it is much better than the rest of the font management utilities. Part of my basic setup, would not try to do serious work without it.
Like (1)
Orion-Mk-V
23 February 2012
I've commented about FontAgent Pro before. It's been my go-to font manager for years and I've tried MANY others, but NONE have proven as easy to use or reliable. That said, I had suddenly had a critical issue with FAP not working right with Adobe CS4 apps and my recent upgrade to Lion and nothing I tried seemed to fix it. To my pleasant surprise Erik, one of the tech supports at Insider Software, was able to address my issue in a prompt, friendly and clearly directed way. This is how tech support should be. Now I can enjoy designing knowing FontAgent Pro, Adobe CS4 and Lion all can share the savanna.
Like
Version 4.200
Caberlin
19 September 2011
For me it does not play well with Lion. Maybe it cannot see and resolve conflicts correctly any more with the new MacOS. 1. Safari shows AAAA (generic "last resort" replacement font). A well known problem that FAP still cannot handle for me. Support blames Apple, which I find not helpful and an indirect hint that they know of this problem and have no solution to this incompatibility. Maybe FAP cannot see and consider the fonts in Lion's system library? 2. I have problems trying to convince Pages to show freshly activated fonts by FAP. 3. It seems not to play well with certain software upgrades behavior. Example: On every Adobe CS upgrade, Adobe throws all fonts into the system folder. Even if those same fonts already exist from a previous CS install and are managed by FAP. I would FAP expect to be able to clean up that mess for me and show me the duplicates and offers me to also mange those fonts which were added to the system folder. FAP even let me activate those duplicates (yes both duplicates at the same time) without any warning. Support offered no help (they simply chose not to reply on my various reports) and left me alone with this situation.
Like (1)
Version 4.200
6 answer(s)
Dialing-wand
Dialing-wand
02 October 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share even if the review isn't positive. I've found Insider to be very forthcoming as a company (we were trying to find the EULA after install - and they were a huge help) but these issues are concerning. I've been trying out the FAP demo on Lion and haven't seen any of these issues, but the Adobe CS5 core fonts (those that shipped with it) and the Apple supplied-fonts (system fonts/etc) I leave in the OS X font book. I wonder if that's the difference?
Like
gryphonent
gryphonent
30 November 2011
Second all of your experiences. Contacted customer support as well about the "last resort" replacement font and they suggested not to use Safari. Now, that's a real helper! I've deinstalled FontAgent Pro for the time being. Been using it since version 2, but with Lion the app just shows its age and the developer seems unwilling to fix bugs. Or maybe they're just waiting to cash in on version 5... who knows. They certainly lost my trust. I'm using Apple's FontBook now. It's not perfect, but at least compatible with Lion and working fine.
Like (1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
05 January 2012
The "Last Resort" font issue in Safari was a well-documented bug in Safari 5 after Lion came out. Same thing happened to me when using FontExplorer X Pro, so that was not an issue caused by FontAgent Pro.
Like (1)
Mark-Lee
Mark-Lee
23 January 2012
Fontexplorer X Pro has similar problems. Especially with Adobe apps. No response from their support either. I assume charging 100 bucks for crapware is profitable enough for those developers not to bother with fixing anything and keep current users from leaving.
Like
ErikT
ErikT
26 January 2012
Hello Caberlin! I'm a support engineer at Insider Software. I was perusing the internet to see if anyone was in need of help with FontAgent Pro, which is how I came across this post. I apologize for not seeing it sooner. The Last Resort font issue in Safari (and Chrome) is a pain for many Lion users. I think since the 10.7.2 update the issue has pretty much been solved in Safari, and Google released a new version of Chrome that also addressed the issue. We didn't release any update to address the issue because the actual issue at hand was out of our control (it wasn't our code to fix). This is why anyone with any 3rd-party font managers that was experiencing the issue. So that would be my recommendation if you are still having issues: update to the latest version of 10.7 (Lion) and make sure you're running Chrome 16 or higher, if you're a Chrome user. Note: You might also need to clear your OS X font caches after installing 10.7.2 and/or Chrome 16 to fully solve your issue. The issue you are seeing with Pages not seeing newly activated fonts, is likely due to a corrupted or failing font cache. Again, clearing the OS X font caches should help this issue but proper font management practices can go along way to avoiding corrupted font caches. For example, make sure you do not have a ton of fonts active all the time and that you don't startup with fonts that get reactivated. Many users tend to get a corrupted font cache because of too many active fonts, then they restart, which activates that same number of fonts which results in a corrupted font cache. You basically get stuck in a loop! The way to solve this is to not start up with any fonts. I agree that font cache issues are a pain, but like the Safari issue you were seeing, font cache behavior is not something we can help because FontAgent Pro doesn't create or modify the OS X font cache directly—only OS X does that. As for the issue with Adobe's installed fonts: FontAgent Pro can manage these by simply turning on the "Manage System Fonts" feature. This brings all of the fonts that are located in the /Library/Fonts/ and /Users/[your username]/Library/Fonts folders. Let's say that feature was already turned on, then Adobe puts more fonts into the /Library/Fonts folder, simply turn off the "Manage System Fonts Folder" then turn it back on. This will sort out any duplicates that you might have in those libraries. And finally, I must offer an apology about your claim that support offers no help your support requests. I encourage you to either email or call our support again with any further issues you might have. The support line is open Monday - Friday 9:00am to 5:00pm Central Time. Thanks! -Erik
Like (5)
Xandra
Xandra
02 June 2012
Folks having issues should follow Dialing's advice. This has worked for me through all versions of FAP and AdobeCS. You really only need to do it with Adobe's required fonts (Myriad Pro etc) the extras like GiddyupStd etc can go into FAP.
Like
Mikebenda
29 July 2011
I just installed the application and ran it in demo mode. It seemed to import my fonts just fine but I couldn't get past the interface, which to me felt like a throwback to OS9. I ran the accompanying uninstall application which deleted the app and it's enclosing folder. It didn't move them to the trash, rather it just deleted them, which I thought was strange. Upon further inspection, I found that the uninstaller left a *lot* of files on my computer, including Adobe app plugins (which I had chosen to not install) and the enormous font folder it created. This seems like really sloppy programming.
Like (1)
Version 4.200
Mikebenda
29 July 2011
This application seems promising due to all the positive reviews. However the screenshot (with the colorful icons and pinstripes) looks dated, like something running on Cheetah. It makes me wonder how well it will run under Lion... or even Snow Leopard.
Like (1)
Version 4.200
Hal2007
19 July 2011
From their website: Version 4.2 of FontAgent Pro is ready for Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and includes auto-activation plug-ins for Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 and QuarkXPress 9.
Like (3)
Version 4.200
1 answer(s)
Xebrawerx Inc.
Xebrawerx Inc.
19 July 2011
Great news all around!
Like
incrzr
16 July 2011
Here's the updated auto-activation plug-in for CS 5.5.1: http://knowledgebase.insidersoftware.com/file/213/3/
Like (1)
Version 4.140
1 answer(s)
D9
D9
19 July 2011
Also on their website: The updated plug-ins support both CS 5.5 and the recent Creative Suite 5.5.1 update, and are available for installation using the Install Plug-ins/Xtensions manager in the FontAgent Pro pull-down menu. /
Like (1)
Jer
19 November 2010
WTF. This update was released months ago.
Like
Version 4.140
1 answer(s)
Jer
Jer
29 April 2011
The latest version is actually 4.160
Like
Tony-Aguila
19 November 2010
Why is MacUpdate announcing this as an update when the linked file has a modification date of July 17, 2010? Did not version 4.14 come out back then? I've had version 4.14 even longer, but I still wonder what triggered this "update" notice. Very confusing indeed.
Like
Version 4.140
Mikellanes
19 November 2010
The linked version is 4.140 BTW...
Like
Version 4.120
Geoff6
14 November 2010
I also have been having trouble with FAP not activating fonts properly in CS4 Illustrator. I verified the fonts with the app and they appear to be OK in FAP but when activated do not show up in Illustrator's list of fonts. I miss Font Reserve!!
Like
Version 4.120