Back to FileStorm page
FileStorm free download for Mac

FileStorm Reviews

2.0.2
26 January 2010

Create custom software installers for OS X products.

Feh-App-Store
08 January 2010

Most helpful

Wow. Haven't seen this in years. Free update for us 1.X owners, listed improvements are good. Props.
Like (2)
Version 2.0

Read 15 FileStorm User Reviews

Rate this app:

CFrag
24 July 2012
FileStrom used to be one of the best disk image creation tools available for the Mac. Unfortunately, lack of updates and issues with representations on 10.7 Lion have forced us to switch to another tool. Definite pluses for FS are the ability to run scripts, the automatic uninstaller, and its ability to create backdrops for your images. It's really a shame that the backdrop feature is broken in 10.7. If you need to create disk images that looks appealing to your client (which is part of what we do), FS is now straight out. A shame, really, because FS used to be a good tool.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Pukky
07 February 2010
The best software-install disk image creator for Mac! FileStorm was a must-have tool for all the software comapanies that publish their software!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Feh-App-Store
08 January 2010
Wow. Haven't seen this in years. Free update for us 1.X owners, listed improvements are good. Props.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Pedro-Fardilha
20 February 2008
Hi. I will need to make an installer in the near future so I'm quite curious about how is this any better than using the (free) Apple PackageMaker. If someone could give me some hits that would be great. Thank you so much! Pedro
Like
Version 1.9.5
@timi
20 February 2008
FileStorm is great! It has never failed me! MindVision support is always on top of trying to help you, and the program makes disk images professional. Just drag and drop your files in, and move them where you want them. It really couldn't be easier! I use it to package all of my software, and it's really bumped up the way people look at my software!
Like (1)
Version 1.9.5
Maruko-Drinking-Team
11 February 2008
This is quite literally one of the worst software purchases I have ever made in my entire Mac-using life. Due to several different bugs that I discovered while trying to use it, I never did use FileStorm beyond that first project that I bought it for. Nevertheless, every time I update that old project, FileStorm fails in a different way. Broken disk images, crashes, or error alerts stating that my valid license code can't be used due to error number whatever. Each time I use this app, I end up having to email tech support, wait for their reply, and then do something like run some typo-riddled installer (not a standard installer, mind you, but the crappy one this company makes), which they email me as an attachment, giving admin privileges and let it do lord knows what to my system. Stay away from this junk!
Like
Version 1.9.1
Sosarian
16 January 2008
FileStorm 1.9.1 usually fails in its disk image finalizing process under Leopard (10.5 and 10.5.1). They have apparently fixed this problem internally a couple of months ago but are sitting on the fix for some reason. If MindVision could just release 1.9.2 with this one fix, FileStorm would be great again. I hope they're not expecting to make people pay for an upgraded 2.0 in order to get a fix for this problem. Bottom line, if you're a Leopard user, 1.9.1 may be a waste of your time and money.
Like
Version 1.9.1
1 answer(s)
karsten-1
karsten-1
02 February 2008
yeah that's true... this app is insanely great for creating cool custom dmg files, but it's most unfortunate that it behaves so badly in 10.5... if you need to finalize a dmg more than once while your mac is running it's really hard to do so. it seems that sometimes the dmg is not unmounted properly and then you really have to restart your mac to have the finalization process working again :-/ anyway, still the best app to create custom disk images
Like
Version 1.9.1
Abhi-Beckert
23 December 2005
Do your users a favor and avoid third party installers if at all possible. Use a dmg for apps, and show any license agreements/read mes the first time a user opens the app. If you need to install extensions or something, use a standard installer package. User's are familiar with them, they work well, and you never have to worry about bugs in future versions of the OS.
Like
Version 1.8.2
Anonymous
06 May 2005
I have been happy with FileStorm until now. It doesn't seem to work properly on OS X 10.4 Tiger. The resulting disk image opens, but the layout is completely messed up. Hope there'll be a fix soon.
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
24 April 2005
Insanely easy to create customized disk images with license agreements, etc. Bought it right away. Nice work!
Like (1)
Version 1.8
Anonymous
24 February 2005
great software. nice price (free licensing once bought) anonymous surely has never used system software which needs to place files at specific places. (think any kernel extension, third party system preferences, etc...)
Like (1)
Version 1.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 February 2005
1. User's shouldn't be installing kernel extensions. 2. Pref panes get installed by System Preferences.app on double click.
Like
Version 1.8
Mere-Mortal
24 February 2005
This is a great application. It makes it very easy to create professional installers. And the price is very reasonable. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
24 February 2005
Installers are a symptom of a badly designed operating system. Mac OS X does not need them, and the use of an installer actually reduces the value of the software that uses it.
Like
Version 1.8
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 February 2005
Sure. Let's tell our users that they have to work out how to store the necessary files across the usr/bin and Library folders themselves. Installers are hardly a sign of a badly-designed OS. If you're going to be distributing a single app which you can just drop off in Applications, then yes, you don't need an installer. But if your app requires libraries stored in one or more different places, etc. (such as Apple's software does), then you're going to need an installer. Unless you want to leave it up to the end-user and then field many, many complaints from those who couldn't figure out how to get it to work.
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 February 2005
Sure. Let's tell our users that they have to work out how to store the necessary files across the usr/bin and Library folders themselves. Actually, let's. At most, provide a shell script to do it. If they're knowledgable enough to be using these things, they're knowledgable enough to use the cp command.
Like
Version 1.8
Sosarian
Sosarian
16 January 2008
FileStorm is a utility for making disk images, not necessarily including an installer at all. Developers indeed should only use installers when absolutely necessary, but that's really nothing to do with FileStorm.
Like
Version 1.9.1
Anonymous
30 January 2004
Easy to use and very elegant tool. I love drag install (as a developer and as a user).
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
30 January 2003
This update is great! It's icing on top of an already great product.
Like
Version 1.5